DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application 18/811,983 filed on 08/22/2024.
Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
For the record, the Examiner acknowledges that NO restrictions warranted at applicant’s initial time of filing for patent.
Priority
For the record, the Examiner acknowledges that NO foreign priority claimed at applicant’s initial time of filing for patent.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 08/22/2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
For the record, the Examiner acknowledges that the Oath/Declaration submitted on 08/22/2024 has been accepted.
Drawings
For the record, the Examiner acknowledges that the drawings filed on 08/22/2024 has been accepted.
Specification
For the record, the Examiner acknowledges that the Applicant's specification filed on 08/22/2024 has been accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (Hereinafter Chen), Pub. No.: US 2020/0356659 in view of Ramezan et al., (Hereinafter Ramezan), Pub. No.: US 2024/0171402.
Referring to claim 1, Chen teaches a method comprising: receiving, by an account service, an ID token (i.e., Identity Token in para. 0086) in response to an authentication request made to an authentication provider to authenticate a user with an account with the authentication provider, the ID token including an identifier of the account with the authentication provider and nonce data, the nonce data including at least a public key for an anonymous user account ID (i.e., public key in para. 0005) for an anonymous user account ID (para. 0005; public key; para. 0086 and fig. 1, ID Token; para. 0060 (identity proofing), paras. 0077-0078).
Chen does not explicitly disclose transacting, by the account service with a third-party service the transacting including a message with transaction details, the message including a signature signed using the public key in the nonce data.
However, in an analogous art, Ramezan discloses transacting, by the account service with a third-party service the transacting including a message with transaction details, the message including a signature signed using the public key in the nonce data (paras. 0057; 0071- 0113 and figs. 5a-5c; an authentication management between prover 1010 and verifier 1030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) OR before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to combine the teachings of Chen with the method and system of Ramezan, wherein transacting, by the account service with a third-party service the transacting including a message with transaction details, the message including a signature signed using the public key in the nonce data to provide users with a means for authentication methods in communication networks and, in particular, to authentication methods using zeroknowledge proof algorithms for user equipments and to nodes implementing the authentication methods (Ramezan: para. 0002).
Referring to claim 2, Chen and Ramezan teach the method of claim 1. Ramezan teaches further comprising: deriving, by the account service, the anonymous user account ID from a cryptographic combination of the identifier of the account with the authentication provider that is included in the ID token and a user code (Ramezan: abstract, paras. 0071-0113 and figs. 5a-5c).
Referring to claim 3, Chen and Ramezan teach the method of claim 2. Ramezan further teaches wherein the deriving of the anonymous user account ID further utilizes an issuer identifier from the ID token which identifies the authentication provider, whereby the anonymous user account ID is linked to the authentication provider (Ramezan: paras. 0071-0113 and figs. 5a-5c the service account credential of the prover 1010 may
comprises an email address or a login name used by a user of the prover 1010 to access
the service provider).
Referring to claim 4, Chen and Ramezan teach the method of claim 2. Ramezan further teaches wherein the deriving of the anonymous user account ID further utilizes multiple authentication provider identifiers, multiple identifiers of the user account, or multiple account service identifiers (Ramezan: paras. 0071-0113 and figs. 5a-5c).
Referring to claim 5, Chen and Ramezan teach the method of claim 2. Ramezan further teaches wherein the cryptographic combination of the identifier of the account with the authentication provider that is included in the ID token and a user is performed before a generation of a zero-knowledge proof that is provided to the third-party service to verify that the user corresponding to the anonymous user account ID was authenticated by the authentication provider (abstract; paras. 0015-0017, authentication procedure).
Referring to claim 6, Chen and Ramezan teach the method of claim 1. Ramezan further teaches wherein the nonce data includes random data (Ramezan: paras. 0071-0113 and figs. 5a-5c, randomly selected data).
Referring to claim 7, Chen and Ramezan teach the method of claim 1. Ramezan further teaches wherein the public key is an ephemeral public key tied to a key expiration listed in the nonce data (Ramezan: paras. 0071-0113 and figs. 5a-5c).
Referring to claim 8, Chen and Ramezan teach the method of claim 2. Ramezan further teaches wherein the user code can be value-less to provide a user code-less mode that does not protect Personal Identifiable Information of account with the authentication provider (Ramezan: abstract, paras. 0043-0048).
Referring to claim 9, Chen and Ramezan teach the method of claim 1. Ramezan further teaches wherein the nonce data includes policy information limiting use of the authentication or the public key to uses defined in the policy information (Ramezan: paras. 0071-0113 and figs. 5a-5c, set up infos.).
Referring to claim 10, Chen and Ramezan teach the method of claim 1. Ramezan further teaches comprising: sending a message requesting authorization by the authentication provider, wherein the message includes the nonce data to be included in a nonce field of the ID token (Ramezan: abstract; paras. 0015-0017, authentication procedure).
Referring to claim 11, This claim is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 12, This claim is similar in scope to claim 2, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 13, This claim is similar in scope to claim 3, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 14, This claim is similar in scope to claim 5, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 15, This claim is similar in scope to claim 7, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 16, This claim is similar in scope to claim 8, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 17, This claim is similar in scope to claim 9, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 18, This claim is similar in scope to claim 10, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 19, This claim is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12,101,301. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims are related to many applications authenticate users through traditional credential mechanisms like passwords. The burden of creating and remembering unique passwords, each with high enough entropy, has become a barrier to onboard users onto new applications.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The examiner nots that once the applicant overcomes the above claim 20 objections and at the same time overcomes non statutory DP rejections by applying Terminal Disclaimer and approved by the office, the claims can pass to issue.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attached PTO-892.
/YONAS A BAYOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499 02/26/2026