DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown and properly identified in the specification by a reference number, or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
a strap coupled to the first fabric material (claim 11)
a third material bonded to the second material opposite the first material (claim 20)
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
a third material bonded to the second material opposite the first material, and the third material comprising a second non-slip material (claim 20)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 20 sets forth an accessory comprising a third material bonded to the second material opposite the first material, wherein the first material is a first non-slip material, the third material is configured to contact the boat cover; and the third material comprises a second non-slip material (emphasis added). However, the specification fails to adequately disclose the claimed structure or functionality or purpose of such feature. Therefore, in absence of adequate guidance in the disclosure, a skilled person would not be able to make and/or use the claimed invention.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 7, the limitation “the corner region is free from the second material” (emphasis added) renders the claim indefinite. It is noted that the preceding claim 6 recites that the second material is continuous around the perimeter of the first fabric material. It is however not clear as to how the corner region could be free from the second material while also being continuous around the perimeter of the first fabric material. Did the applicant intend claim 7 to depend from claim 5 instead of claim 6?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rose (US 20130239328 A1).
It is first noted that the preamble limitation “boat cover” in the claim has been interpreted as any cover that is capable of being used for covering a portion of a boat.
Further, regarding claim 1, Rose discloses a cover comprising: a first fabric material [104, 106] defining an exterior surface of the cover and at least partially defining an interior surface of the cover; and a second material [108] coupled to the first fabric material, wherein the second material is a non-slip material different from the first fabric material, the second material extending at least partially around a perimeter of the first fabric material, the second material at least partially defining the interior surface of the cover (see ¶0021-¶0023).
Re claim 2, the second material comprises rubber or silicone (see abstract and ¶0021).
Re claim 3, the second material is coupled to the first fabric material by sewing, bonding, or an adhesive (see ¶0021)
Re claim 5, the second material, when formed as dots, is discontinuous around the perimeter of the first fabric material.
Re claim 7, as best understood, the first fabric material defines a corner region and an edge region adjacent to the corner region, wherein the corner region is free from the second material; and the second material extends along the edge region.
Re claim 8, Rose also discloses the use of a rubber-backed material, a flannel material or a combination thereof (see ¶0021), which suggests a use of both the rubber-backed material together with the flannel material. In the present case, the flannel material is considered to be the third, soft material different from the first fabric material and the second material, the third material at least partially defining the interior surface of the boat cover.
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Byfield (US 5,542,137 A).
As noted above, the preamble limitation “boat cover” in the claim has been interpreted as any cover that is capable of being used for covering a portion of a boat. Regarding claim 1, Byfield discloses a cover (Fig 4) comprising: a first fabric material [20] defining an exterior surface of the cover and at least partially defining an interior surface of the cover; and a second material [12] coupled to the first fabric material, wherein the second material is a non-slip neoprene rubber material different from the first fabric material, the second material extending at least partially around a perimeter of the first fabric material, the second material at least partially defining the interior surface of the cover (see abstract).
Re claim 2, the second material comprises neoprene rubber (col. 3, lines 1-2).
Re claim 3, the second material is coupled to the first fabric material by sewing, bonding, or an adhesive (col. 3, lines 5-8)
Re claim 6, the second material is continuous around the perimeter of the first fabric material.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woodruff Sr. (US 2,764,765 A)
Woodruff Sr. discloses a cover comprising: a first fabric material [1] defining an exterior surface of the cover and at least partially defining an interior surface of the cover (col. 2, lines 32-33); and a second material [26] coupled to the first fabric material (Figures 2, 11 and 13), wherein the second material is a non-slip rubber material different from the first fabric material, the second material extending at least partially around a perimeter of the first fabric material, the second material at least partially defining the interior surface of the cover.
Re claim 2, the second material comprises rubber (col. 3, lines 17-18).
Re claim 3, the second material is coupled to the first fabric material by sewing, bonding, or an adhesive (Fig 11)
Re claim 5, the second material is discontinuous around the perimeter of the first fabric material.
Re claim 7, as best understood, the first fabric material defines a corner region and an edge region adjacent to the corner region; the corner region is free from the second material; and the second material extends along the edge region.
Re claim 9, a vent [10] is disposed in the first fabric material (Fig. 8), wherein the vent is operable to create a pressure differential between an interior and an exterior of the boat cover when air moves over the boat cover.
Re claim 10, an elastic material [18, 27] is coupled to the first fabric material and extending at least partially around a perimeter of the first fabric material.
Re claim 11, a strap [23] is coupled to the first fabric material, the strap when tightened is configured to apply pressure from the first fabric material to the second material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rose (US 20130239328 A1) in view of Keller et al. (US 6,174,584 B1)
Rose discloses a cover comprising a first fabric material, as described above, wherein the fabric material is a breathable material.
Rose however fails to disclose the first fabric material as comprising a water resistant, breathable material (claims 4, 12 and 17)
Keller et al. discloses a cover comprising a first fabric material comprising a water resistant, breathable material (see abstract)
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to construct the first fabric material of Rose with a water resistant, breathable material, as taught by Keller et al. Having such a modification would have made the cover of Rose more protective against allergens and comfortable during use. With such a modification in place, the modified cover of Rose could still be used to cover a portion of a small boat.
Re claim 13, although Rose discloses the second material as being applied, adhered, or otherwise attached to the first fabric material (see ¶0021), it does not expressly disclose any specific mechanism or material used for adhering the second rubber material to the first fabric material. It is however noted that use of adhesives for adhering materials to fabric material is old and well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use an adhesive material for attaching the second rubber material to the first fabric material. Using such adhesive or a bonding agent would have provided a simple, inexpensive and efficient mechanism for attaching the second rubber material to the first fabric material.
Re claim 14, the second material comprises silicone or rubber.
Re claim 15, as explained above, Rose discloses the use of a rubber-backed material, a flannel material or a combination thereof (see ¶0021), which suggests a use of both the rubber-backed material together with the flannel material. In the present case, the flannel material is considered to be the third, soft material different from the first fabric material and the second material, the third material at least partially defining the interior surface of the boat cover.
Re claim 16, the second material extends continuously or discontinuously along a perimeter of the first fabric material.
Re claim 17, with the above modification in place, the rubber material can alternatively be considered to be the first material and the modified fabric material is considered to be the second material.
Re claim 18, the first material and the second material form an annular shape.
Re claim 19, the first material comprises a silicone or rubber material. Further, although Rose discloses the first material as being a fabric (see ¶0021), it does not expressly disclose such fabric being formed from polyester, acrylic, or nylon. However, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a material like polyester as the first fabric material. Using such a material would have resulted in an inexpensive and durable product.
Re claim 20, with the above modification in place, the third material would be bonded to the second material opposite the first material, wherein: the first material is a first non-slip material; the third material is configured to contact the boat cover; and the third material comprises a second non-slip material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stamberger (US 3343556), Timerman (US 5401074) and FR-1321203 each discloses a rubber material attached to a cover fabric material
Mazzarelli (US 8066318) shows a vent operable to create a pressure differential between an interior and an exterior of a boat cover
Langley (US 7157388) shows a waterproof and breathable/permeable boat cover
/AJAY VASUDEVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615