DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1 - 8 are pending. Claims 1, 5 are independent.
2. This application was filed on 8-22-2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1 - 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agrawal et al. (US PGPUB No. 20190228154) in view of Bin Huraib et al. (US PGPUB No. 20240070261).
Regarding Claims 1, 5, Agrawal discloses a system for determining malignant capabilities of one or more malwares and a method for determining malignant capabilities of one or more malwares, the system and method comprising:
a) one or more hardware processors; and a memory coupled to the one or more hardware processors, wherein the memory comprises a plurality of subsystem executable by the one or more hardware processors (see Agrawal paragraph [0077]: A system disclosed herein includes a memory, one or more processors, and a malware sequence detection system stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processor units, the malware sequence detection system encoding computer-executable instructions on the memory for executing on the one or more processor units a computer process to provide malware sequence detection, the computer process including dividing a sequence of plurality of events into a plurality of subsequences, performing sequential subsequence learning on one or more of the plurality of subsequences,), and wherein the plurality of subsystems comprises:
b) a malware execution subsystem (see Agrawal paragraph [0002]: a malware sequence detection system for detecting the presence of malware in a plurality of events. An implementation of the malware sequence detection includes receiving a sequence of a plurality of events, and detecting presence of a sequence of malware commands within the sequence of a plurality of events) configured to:
c) execute a malware application in an isolated computing environment; (see Agrawal paragraph [0016]: due to the fact that certain commands have to be run in some order related to the functionality of the malware or in combination with some other sequence of malware instructions for the malware to take effect, defense is possible if the software can be executed in a secure environment and malicious actions can be detected during this emulation.) and
e) obtain one or more system application programming interface (API) calls and executed timestamp data from the executed malware application; (see Agrawal paragraph [0020]: The client 112 may be a standalone client computing device that is affected by one or more operations of the event source 150, 152, 154, etc. For example, the client 112 may be a device that makes one or more API calls to the operating system with executable files at event source B 152.; paragraph [0034]: The recurrent layer 410 may have a number of cells for recurrent layers that may be used with long event sequences. E: [E(0)-E(T−1)] 402 is a list of events with t being the time-stamp.)
f) a malware activity capturing subsystem operatively coupled to the malware execution subsystem (see Agrawal paragraph [0002]: a malware sequence detection system for detecting the presence of malware in a plurality of events. An implementation of the malware sequence detection includes receiving a sequence of a plurality of events, and detecting presence of a sequence of malware commands within the sequence of a plurality of events by dividing the sequence of plurality of events into a plurality of subsequences, performing sequential subsequence learning on one or more of the plurality of subsequences,) configured to:
g) sort the system application programming interface (API) calls based on the obtained timestamp data; (see Agrawal paragraph [005]: Subsequently, the corpus of n-grams output by the n-gram operation 912 are sorted at 914 in order of their occurrences (based upon timestamp); paragraph [0020]: The client 112 may be a standalone client computing device that is affected by one or more operations of the event source 150, 152, 154, etc. For example, the client 112 may be a device that makes one or more API calls to the operating system with executable files at event source B 152.)
h) generate, by a trigram technique, a trigram sequence from the sorted system API calls; (see Agrawal paragraph [0032]: A parameter learning operation 320 extracts and adds additional information from the parameters associated with the events. In one implementation, the parameter learning operation 320 may include generating n-grams (e.g., a bigram, a trigram, etc.) from the parameters, sorts the n-grams and selects a predetermined number of n-grams having higher frequencies. The selected n-grams may be used to generate a k-vector representing the presence (“1”) or absence (“0”) of the n-gram with an event and a tanh, a sigmoid, or a rectified linear unit (ReLU) operation may generate an output value of the k-vector.)
i) process, by one hot encoding technique, the trigram sequence to generate one or more feature vectors; (see Agrawal paragraph [0032]: A parameter learning operation 320 extracts and adds additional information from the parameters associated with the events. In one implementation, the parameter learning operation 320 may include generating n-grams (e.g., a bigram, a trigram, etc.) from the parameters, sorts the n-grams and selects a predetermined number of n-grams having higher frequencies. The selected n-grams may be used to generate a k-vector representing the presence (“1”) or absence (“0”) of the n-gram with an event and a tanh, a sigmoid, or a rectified linear unit (ReLU) operation may generate an output value of the k-vector.; paragraph [0034]: the embedding layer 404 can be set using methods such as Word2Vec or Glove. In another implementation, the embedding layer 404 can be set using a method such as one-hot encoding. In one-hot encoding, for example, an event E(0) may be represented by setting bit 37 of an event vector 406.sub.0 to “1” and all other bits of the event vector 406.sub.0 to “0”, an event E(1) may be represented by setting bit 67 of an event vector 406.sub.1 to “1” and all other bits of the event vector 406.sub.1 to “0”, etc.)
j) a malware capability extraction subsystem operatively coupled to the malware activity capturing subsystem (see Agrawal paragraph [0040]: Using the max-pooled layer 520 allows extracting information from each event of the event sequence E(t) 502 in generating the probability of the event sequence E(t) 502 being malware.) configured to:
h) classify, by a multi-label deep neural network (DNN), the received feature vectors based on one or more malignant capabilities of the executed malware; (see Agrawal paragraph [0030]: The max-pooled layer output is classified at an operation 240 to generate a probability of the event sequence including malware. In one implementation, the classifying of the max-pooled layer output may use a machine learning classifier such as a neural network, deep neural network, decision tree, boosted decision tree, support vector machine, naïve bayes, or logistic regression. Subsequently, a determining operation 260 compares the probability value P.sub.m generated by the classification block with a second threshold to determine whether the event sequence, such as the event sequence 140 disclosed in FIG. 1 includes any malware.; paragraph [0036]: The classification block 430 may be a neural network or a deep neural network (multi-layer perceptron (MLP)) which includes one or more hidden layers 432 and an output layer 434.)
Furthermore, Agrawal discloses wherein for d) detect one or more changes in system instances upon execution in a secure environment. (see Agrawal paragraph [0016]: due to the fact that certain commands have to be run in some order related to the functionality of the malware or in combination with some other sequence of malware instructions for the malware to take effect, defense is possible if the software can be executed in a secure environment and malicious actions can be detected during this emulation.)
Agrawal does not specifically disclose for d) execution of the malware application in the isolated computing environment, and for i) generate a threat report based on analysis of the classified malignant capabilities of the executed malware.
However, BinHuraib discloses wherein for d) detect one or more changes in system instances, upon execution of the malware application in the isolated computing environment. (see BinHuraib paragraph [0031]: the dynamic analysis component 130 can execute detected malware in a safe computing environment, called a sandbox environment. As used herein, the term “sandbox environment” can refer to an isolated testing environment that can enable programs (e.g., malware) and/or files to be inspected, opened, and/or executed without affecting the computing system hosting the sandbox environment.)
And, BinHuraib discloses for i) generate a threat report based on analysis of the classified malignant capabilities of the executed malware. (see Agrawal paragraph [0056]: generating (e.g., via the profile engine 124 and/or processing units 109) one or more profile reports describing the detected malware. In accordance with one or more embodiments described herein, the one or more profile reports can include indicators, operational data, digital signatures, and/or data correlations resulting from the method 300 and/or associated with the detect malware. In various embodiments, the security software 128 can be updated and/or reconfigured based on the one or more profile reports to thwart future cybersecurity threats.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Agrawal for d) execution of the malware application in the isolated computing environment, and for i) generate a threat report based on analysis of the classified malignant capabilities of the executed malware. as taught by BinHuraib. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of BinHuraib for the enhanced security of a system that enables execution of malware in an isolated and secure execution environment. (see BinHuraib paragraph [0031])
Regarding Claim 2, Agrawal-BinHuraib discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the malware capability extraction subsystem further comprises: receiving the one or more feature vectors; grouping the received one or more feature vectors with historical behavioral instances to generate training samples; (see Agrawal paragraph [0019]: Data collected previously from the event sources 150, 152, 154 may be used to train the malware sequence detection system 102.; (historical data)), and training the multi-label deep neural network (DNN), based on the training samples, for extraction of the malignant capabilities of the executed malware. (see Agrawal paragraph [0030]: The max-pooled layer output is classified at an operation 240 to generate a probability of the event sequence including malware. In one implementation, the classifying of the max-pooled layer output may use a machine learning classifier such as a neural network, deep neural network, decision tree, boosted decision tree, support vector machine, naïve bayes, or logistic regression. Subsequently, a determining operation 260 compares the probability value P.sub.m generated by the classification block with a second threshold to determine whether the event sequence, such as the event sequence 140 disclosed in FIG. 1 includes any malware.; paragraph [0036]: The classification block 430 may be a neural network or a deep neural network (multi-layer perceptron (MLP)) which includes one or more hidden layers 432 and an output layer 434.)
Regarding Claims 3, 7, Agrawal-BinHuraib discloses the system as claimed in claim 1 and the method as claimed in claim 5, executed in a secure environment. (see Agrawal paragraph [0016]: due to the fact that certain commands have to be run in some order related to the functionality of the malware or in combination with some other sequence of malware instructions for the malware to take effect, defense is possible if the software can be executed in a secure environment and malicious actions can be detected during this emulation.)
Agrawal does not specifically disclose the established isolated computing environment is a sandbox environment.
However, BinHuraib discloses wherein the established isolated computing environment is a sandbox environment. (see BinHuraib paragraph [0031]: the dynamic analysis component 130 can execute detected malware in a safe computing environment, called a sandbox environment. As used herein, the term “sandbox environment” can refer to an isolated testing environment that can enable programs (e.g., malware) and/or files to be inspected, opened, and/or executed without affecting the computing system hosting the sandbox environment.; (sandbox, isolated execution environment))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Agrawal for the established isolated computing environment is a sandbox environment as taught by BinHuraib. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of BinHuraib for the enhanced security of a system that enables execution of malware in an isolated and secure execution environment. (see BinHuraib paragraph [0031])
Regarding Claim 4, 8, Agrawal-BinHuraib discloses the system as claimed in claim 1 and the method as claimed in claim 5, wherein the one or more malignant capabilities of the executed malware comprises at least one of a process injection capability, an anti-debugging capability, a scanning capability, a discover running processes, a crypto ransomware, an evasion capability, an alter configuration capability, an installed software exploration capability, a registry modification capability, a service impairment capability and a spying capability. (see Agrawal paragraph [0017]: In other instances, the malware may be a series of execution codes which is injected into a running process.; (selected: a process injection capability))
Regarding Claim 6, Agrawal-BinHuraib discloses the method as claimed in claim 5, wherein classifying, by the multi-label deep neural network (DNN), the received feature vectors based on one or more malignant capabilities of the executed malware, further comprises: receiving the one or more feature vectors; grouping the received one or more feature vectors with historical behavioral instances to generate training samples; and training the multi-label deep neural network (DNN), based on the training samples, for extraction of the malignant capabilities of the executed malware. (see Agrawal paragraph [0035]: The vectors of the event vector sequence 406 is input to the recurrent layer 410. In one implementation, the recurrent layer 410 may act as a language model. (see Agrawal paragraph [0019]: Data collected previously from the event sources 150, 152, 154 may be used to train the malware sequence detection system 102.; (historical data); paragraph [0030]: The max-pooled layer output is classified at an operation 240 to generate a probability of the event sequence including malware. In one implementation, the classifying of the max-pooled layer output may use a machine learning classifier such as a neural network, deep neural network, decision tree, boosted decision tree, support vector machine, naïve bayes, or logistic regression. Subsequently, a determining operation 260 compares the probability value P.sub.m generated by the classification block with a second threshold to determine whether the event sequence, such as the event sequence 140 disclosed in FIG. 1 includes any malware.; paragraph [0036]: The classification block 430 may be a neural network or a deep neural network (multi-layer perceptron (MLP)) which includes one or more hidden layers 432 and an output layer 434.))
Conclusion
/CJ/
February 9, 2026
/KHOI V LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436