DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/22/2024 have been considered by the examiner and been placed of record in the file.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (CN113232895B – English Translation).
Claim 1. Liu et al. disclose A system (FIG. 1), comprising:
a first layer of satellites (FIG. 1 and 2 show 5 layers of satellites. The bottom layer is being considered as first layer.),
wherein the first layer of satellites comprises a first satellite, a second satellite, a third satellite, and a fourth satellite (FIG. 3, shows the top view of the stacked satellites which includes 4 satellites. Any layer can be interpreted as fist one since the term is not explicitly identified.), and
wherein each of the first, second, third, and fourth satellites (FIG. 3, shows the top view of the stacked satellites which includes 4 satellites. ) comprises:
a top side (FIG. 1 and 2, all satellites have top sides.),
a bottom side opposite the top side (FIG. 1 and 2, all satellites have top side opposite to the bottom sides.),
a zenith facing side extending between the top and bottom sides (FIG. 1 and 2, all satellites have side sides between top and bottom sides.),
wherein the zenith facing side is configured to face away from the earth when the satellite is in orbit (FIG. 1 and 2, once in space one side of the satellite will face away from earth.),
an earth facing side opposite the zenith facing side and extending between the top and bottom sides, wherein the earth facing side is configured to face the earth when the satellite is in orbit (FIG. 1 and 2, once in space one side of the satellite will face toward earth.),
a left side extending between the top and bottom sides (FIG. 1 and 2, all satellites have left sides between top and bottom sides.), and
a right side opposite the left side and extending between the top and bottom sides (FIG. 1 and 2, all satellites have right side between top and bottom sides.);
a first interface element connected to the first satellite, proximate the left side of the first satellite (FIG. 3, items 10 and 13 connecting two satellites);
a second interface element connected to the first satellite, proximate the right side of the first satellite (FIG. 3, items 10 and 13 connecting two satellites);
a third interface element connected to the second satellite, proximate the left side of the second satellite (FIG. 3, items 10 and 13 connecting two satellites);
a fourth interface element connected to the second satellite, proximate the right side of the second satellite (FIG. 3, items 10 and 13 connecting two satellites);
a fifth interface element connected to the third satellite, proximate the left side of the third satellite (FIG. 3, items 10 and 13 connecting two satellites.);
a sixth interface element connected to the third satellite, proximate the right side of the third satellite (FIG. 3, items 10 and 13 connecting two satellites);
a seventh interface element connected to the fourth satellite, proximate the left side of the fourth satellite (FIG. 3, items 10 and 13 connecting two satellites); and
an eighth interface element connected to the fourth satellite, proximate the right side of the fourth satellite (FIG. 3, items 10 and 13 connecting two satellites),
wherein the first interface element connects to the eighth interface element (FIG. 3, item 8),
wherein the second interface element connects to the third interface element (FIG. 3, item 8),
wherein the fourth interface element connects to the fifth interface element (FIG. 3, item 8), and
wherein the sixth interface element connects to the seventh interface element, to prevent the first, second, third, and fourth satellites from moving apart from one another, thereby forming the first layer of satellites (read as The two adjacent satellite units 3 are connected to each other by two interconnecting columns 8 on the same side [0025]. FIG. 3, items 8 connect all four satellite together).
Claim 2. The system of claim 1, Liu et al. disclose,
further comprising:
a second layer of satellites (FIG, 1 and 2, show 5 layers, FIG. 3 shows 4 satellites on each layer.) ,
wherein the second layer of satellites comprise a fifth satellite, a sixth satellite, a seventh satellite, and an eighth satellite (FIG, 1 and 2, show 5 layers, FIG. 3 shows 4 satellites on each layer and how they are connected. Second layer from the bottom is considered as second layer, and the four satellite on this layer are designated as fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth satellite.),
wherein each of the fifth, sixth, seventh, and eighth satellites comprises:
a top side (FIG. 1 and 2, all satellites have top sides.),
a bottom side opposite the top side (FIG. 1 and 2, all satellites have top side opposite to the bottom sides.),
a zenith facing side extending between the top and bottom sides (FIG. 1 and 2, all satellites have side sides between top and bottom sides.),
an earth facing side opposite the zenith facing side and extending between the top and bottom sides (FIG. 1 and 2, once in one side of the satellite will face away from earth.),
a left side extending between the top and bottom sides (FIG. 1 and 2, all satellites have left sides between top and bottom sides.), and
a right side opposite the left side and extending between the top and bottom sides (FIG. 1 and 2, all satellites have right sides between top and bottom sides..);
a ninth interface element connected to the fifth satellite, proximate the left side of the fifth satellite (FIG. 3, items 10 and 13 connecting two satellites);
a tenth interface element connected to the fifth satellite, proximate the right side of the fifth satellite (FIG. 3, items 10 and 13 connecting two satellites);
an eleventh interface element connected to the sixth satellite, proximate the left side of the sixth satellite (FIG. 3, items 10 and 13 connecting two satellites);
a twelfth interface element connected to the sixth satellite, proximate the right side of the sixth satellite (FIG. 3, items 10 and 13 connecting two satellites);
a thirteenth interface element connected to the seventh satellite, proximate the left side of the seventh satellite (FIG. 3, items 10 and 13 connecting two satellites);
a fourteenth interface element connected to the seventh satellite, proximate the right side of the seventh satellite (FIG. 3, items 10 and 13 connecting two satellites);
a fifteenth interface element connected to the eighth satellite, proximate the left side of the eighth satellite (FIG. 3, items 10 and 13 connecting two satellites); and
a sixteenth interface element connected to the eighth satellite, proximate the right side of the eighth satellite (FIG. 3, items 10 and 13 connecting two satellites),
wherein the ninth interface element connects to the sixteenth interface element (FIG. 3, item 8),
wherein the tenth interface element connects to the eleventh interface element (FIG. 3, item 8),
wherein the twelfth interface element connects to the thirteenth interface element (FIG. 3, item 8), and
wherein the fourteenth interface element connects to the fifteenth interface element (FIG. 3, item 8),
to prevent the fifth, sixth, seventh, and eighth satellites from moving apart from one another, thereby forming the second layer of satellites (read as The two adjacent satellite units 3 are connected to each other by two interconnecting columns 8 on the same side [0025]. FIG. 3, items 8 connect all four satellite together).
Claim 3. The system of claim 1, Liu et al. disclose,
wherein the second interface element comprises a second contact surface (FIG. 3, item 8 has contacts with two satellites),
wherein the third interface element comprises a third contact surface (FIG. 3, item 8 has contacts with two satellites), and
wherein the second and third contact surfaces are in contact with one another (read as The two adjacent satellite units 3 are connected to each other by two interconnecting columns 8 on the same side [0025]).
Claim 4. The system of claim 3, Liu et al. disclose,
wherein the second interface element comprise a second body portion and a second contacting portion (read as The two adjacent satellite units 3 are connected to each other by two interconnecting columns 8 on the same side [0025]. Each interconnecting column 8 has two sides for interlocking.),
wherein the second contacting portion extends from the second body portion and comprises the second contact surface (read as The two adjacent satellite units 3 are connected to each other by two interconnecting columns 8 on the same side [0025]. Each interconnecting column 8 has two sides for interlocking.),
wherein the third interface element comprise a third body portion and a third contacting portion (read as The two adjacent satellite units 3 are connected to each other by two interconnecting columns 8 on the same side [0025]. Each interconnecting column 8 has two sides for interlocking.),
wherein the third contacting portion extends from the third body portion and comprises the third contact surface (read as The two adjacent satellite units 3 are connected to each other by two interconnecting columns 8 on the same side [0025]. Each interconnecting column 8 has two sides for interlocking.).
Claim 13. The system of claim 1, Liu et al. disclose,
further comprising:
a second layer of satellites above the first layer of satellites, wherein the second layer comprises four additional satellites (FIG. 1 and, show 5 layers.).
Claim 14. The system of claim 1, Liu et al. disclose,
further comprising:
seven additional layers of satellites above the first layer of satellites, wherein each of the additional layers of satellites comprises four additional satellites (FIG. 1 and, show 5 layers. Adding more layers is an obvious extension.).
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xue et al. (CN113619811 A).
Claim 15. Xue et al. disclose A system (FIG. 1-7), comprising:
a first layer of satellites (FIG. 1, show one layer among plurality of layers shown in FIG. 6. Any layer can be considered as first layer.),
wherein the first layer of satellites comprises a first satellite, a second satellite, a third satellite, a fourth satellite, a fifth satellite, and a sixth satellite (FIG. 1, ), and
wherein each of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and sixth satellites (FIG. 1, ) comprises:
a top side (FIG. 1- 7, all satellites have top sides.),
a bottom side opposite the top side (FIG. 1- 7, all satellites have top and bottom sides.),
a zenith facing side extending between the top and bottom sides (FIG. 1- 7, all satellites have sides between the top and bottom sides.),
an earth facing side opposite the zenith facing side and extending between the top and bottom sides (FIG. 1- 7, all satellites have sides between the top and bottom sides.),
a left side extending between the top and bottom sides (FIG. 1- 7, all satellites have left sides.), and
a right side opposite the left side and extending between the top and bottom sides (FIG. 1- 7, all satellites have right sides.);
a first interface element connected to the first satellite, proximate the left side of the first satellite (read as connecting cylinder 40 [0050]. FIG. 1 item 40 connecting two satellites);
a second interface element connected to the first satellite, proximate the right side of the first satellite (read as connecting cylinder 50 [0050]. FIG. 1 item 50 connecting two satellites);
a third interface element connected to the second satellite, proximate the left side of the second satellite (read as connecting cylinder 40 [0050]. FIG. 1 item 40 connecting two satellites);
a fourth interface element connected to the second satellite, proximate the right side of the second satellite (read as connecting cylinder 50 [0050]. FIG. 1 item 50 connecting two satellites);
a fifth interface element connected to the third satellite, proximate the left side of the third satellite (read as connecting cylinder 40 [0050]. FIG. 1 item 40 connecting two satellites);
a sixth interface element connected to the third satellite, proximate the right side of the third satellite (read as connecting cylinder 50 [0050]. FIG. 1 item 50 connecting two satellites);
a seventh interface element connected to the fourth satellite, proximate the left side of the fourth satellite (read as connecting cylinder 40 [0050]. FIG. 1 item 40 connecting two satellites);
an eighth interface element connected to the fourth satellite, proximate the right side of the fourth satellite (read as connecting cylinder 50 [0050]. FIG. 1 item 50 connecting two satellites);
a ninth interface element connected to the fifth satellite, proximate the left side of the fifth satellite (read as connecting cylinder 40 [0050]. FIG. 1 item 40 connecting two satellites);
an tenth interface element connected to the fifth satellite, proximate the right side of the fifth satellite (read as connecting cylinder 50 [0050]. FIG. 1 item 50 connecting two satellites);
an eleventh interface element connected to the sixth satellite, proximate the left side of the sixth satellite (read as connecting cylinder 40 [0050]. FIG. 1 item 40 connecting two satellites); and
a twelfth interface element connected to the sixth satellite, proximate the right side of the sixth satellite (read as connecting cylinder 50 [0050]. FIG. 1 item 50 connecting two satellites);
wherein the first interface element connects to the twelfth interface element (FIG. 1, items 40 and 50, also FIG. 4 and 5 showing items 40 and items 50 of adjacent satellites and how they can be connected with respective items 40 and 50),
wherein the second interface element connects to the third interface element (FIG. 1, items 40 and 50, also FIG. 4 and 5 showing items 40 and items 50 of adjacent satellites and how they can be connected with respective items 40 and 50),
wherein the fourth interface element connects to the fifth interface element (FIG. 1, items 40 and 50, also FIG. 4 and 5 showing items 40 and items 50 of adjacent satellites and how they can be connected with respective items 40 and 50),
wherein the sixth interface element connects to the seventh interface element (FIG. 1, items 40 and 50, also FIG. 4 and 5 showing items 40 and items 50 of adjacent satellites and how they can be connected with respective items 40 and 50),
wherein the eighth interface element connects to the ninth interface element (FIG. 1, items 40 and 50, also FIG. 4 and 5 showing items 40 and items 50 of adjacent satellites and how they can be connected with respective items 40 and 50), and
wherein the tenth interface element connects to the eleventh interface element (FIG. 1, items 40 and 50), to prevent the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and sixth satellites from moving apart from one another, thereby forming the first layer of satellites (FIG. 1, all satellites on same layer are connected together as one unit).
Claim 16. The system of claim 15, Xue et al. disclose,
wherein the second interface element comprises a second contact surface (FIG. 4 and 5, items 40 and 50 have second contact surface),
wherein the third interface element comprises a third contact surface (FIG. 4 and 5, items 40 and 50 have third contact surface), and
wherein the second and third contact surfaces are in contact with one another (FIG. 4 and 5, items 40 and 50, second and third surfaces contact with one another).
Claim 17. The system of claim 16, Xue et al. disclose,
wherein the second interface element comprise a second body portion and a second contacting portion (FIG. 4 and 5, items 40 and 50 have second contact surface),
wherein the second contacting portion extends from the second body portion and comprises the second contact surface (FIG. 4 and 5, items 40 and 50 have third contact surface),
wherein the third interface element comprise a third body portion and a third contacting portion (FIG. 4 and 5, items 40 and 50 have third contact surface),
wherein the third contacting portion extends from the third body portion and comprises the third contact surface (FIG. 4 and 5, items 40 and 50 have third contact surface).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN113232895B).
Claim 5. The system of claim 4, Liu et al. do not explicitly disclose,
wherein each of the second and third contact surfaces comprises a flat surface.
Although, Liu et al. do not explicitly disclose the shape of the connecting elements which is application related, they disclose, in FIG. 1-3, item 8 which connects two adjacent satellites.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to use the teaching of Liu et al in order to realize all limitations of the claimed invention and obtained the expected result of connecting two adjacent satellites. The motivation is keeping a stack of satellites connected as one unit as they orbit around the earth.
Claim 6. The system of claim 4, Liu et al. Liu et al. do not explicitly disclose,
wherein each of the second and third contact surfaces comprises a curved surface.
Although, Liu et al. do not explicitly disclose the shape of the connecting elements which is application related, they disclose, in FIG. 1-3, item 8 which connects two adjacent satellites.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to use the teaching of Liu et al in order to realize all limitations of the claimed invention and obtained the expected result of connecting two adjacent satellites. The motivation is keeping a stack of satellites connected as one unit as they orbit around the earth.
Claim 7. The system of claim 6, Liu et al. do not explicitly disclose,
wherein each of the second and third contact surfaces comprises a surface having a convex portion and a concave portion.
Although, Liu et al. do not explicitly disclose the shape of the connecting elements which is application related, they disclose, in FIG. 1-3, item 8 which connects two adjacent satellites.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to use the teaching of Liu et al in order to realize all limitations of the claimed invention and obtained the expected result of connecting two adjacent satellites. The motivation is keeping a stack of satellites connected as one unit as they orbit around the earth.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN113232895B – English Translation) in view of Wang et al. (CN113581499A - English Translation).
Claim 8. The system of claim 1, Liu et al. disclose,
wherein the first satellite (FIG. 1-3) further comprises a first pillar at the left side of the first satellite,
wherein the first interface element (FIG. 1-3, item 8) is at least partially within the first pillar, and wherein the first satellite further (FIG. 1-3) comprises a second pillar at the right side of the first satellite,
wherein the second interface element (FIG. 1-3, item 8) is at least partially within the second pillar.
Liu et al. do not explicitly disclose using pillars to secure the connection between adjacent satellites.
However, in the related field of endeavor Wang et al. disclose: … an unlocking cone 2 [0036]. FIG. 2 item 2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of Liu et al. with the teaching of Wang et al. in order to provide a connection, unlocking, and separation device for satellite stacking systems that can trigger all satellites using fewer separation devices, while also being flexible in layout and not limited by the number of satellites in a single layer, enabling rapid and safe launch and separation of a large number of satellites (Wang et al. [0007]).
Claim 9. The system of claim 8, the combination of Liu et al. and Wang et al. teaches,
wherein the first interface element comprise a first body portion within the first pillar (Wang et al.: FIG. 2 item 2), and a first contacting portion extending from the first body portion (Wang et al.: FIG. 2, interfaces where item 2 is inserted.), and wherein the second interface element comprise a second body portion within the second pillar (Wang et al.: FIG. 2 item 2), and a second contacting portion extending from the second body portion (Wang et al.: FIG. 2 item 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892.
Additional prior art included in PTO-892 discloses ideas related to the claimed invention. As an example, Baghdasarian (US 11577861 B) discloses an a system for stacking satellites. FIG. 3 and 4 show a structure including at 3 layers, each, containing 4 satellites. The satellites are connected through different interfaces and rod (i.e. pillars).
MOHAMMED . RACHEDINE
Examiner
Art Unit 2649
/MOHAMMED RACHEDINE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646