DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 4 of claim 1, it is believed “a vehicle window” should be changed to --the vehicle window--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 10-12, 14, and 16-17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 35-41 and 43 of U.S. Patent No. 11,738,625. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons provided in the table below.
Application 18/812,034
US Pat. 11,738,625
Claim 1: A method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window, the method comprising: providing a removable panel sized and shaped to overlie at least a portion of an outward-facing surface of a vehicle window; providing a first retainer configured to secure the removable panel in abutting relation to the vehicle window, the first retainer including a first engagement element configured to engage a first edge of the vehicle window and a second engagement element configured to engage an inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; and providing a second retainer configured to secure the removable panel in abutting relation to the vehicle window, the second retainer including a third engagement element configured to engage a second edge of the vehicle window and a fourth engagement element configured to engage the inward-facing surface of the vehicle window.
Claim 35: A method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window, the method comprising: providing a removable panel sized and shaped to overlie at least a portion of an outward-facing surface of a vehicle window; providing a first retainer configured to secure the panel in abutting relation to the window, the first retainer comprising a first engagement element configured to engage a first edge of the window and a second engagement element configured to engage an inward-facing surface of the window; providing a second retainer configured to secure the panel in abutting relation to the window, the second retainer comprising a third engagement element configured to engage a second edge of the window and a fourth engagement element configured to engage the inward-facing surface of the window; providing a first externally threaded connector and a first internally threaded connector configured to selectively connect the panel to the first retainer; and providing a second externally threaded connector and a second internally threaded connector configured to selectively connect the panel to the second retainer.
Claim 2: The method of claim 1, further comprising: providing a first externally threaded connector and a first internally threaded connector configured to selectively connect the removable panel to the first retainer; and providing a second externally threaded connector and a second internally threaded connector configured to selectively connect the removable panel to the second retainer.
Claim 3: The method of claim 1, wherein providing the removable panel comprises providing a third retainer; and wherein the third retainer is configured to engage at least one of a fourth edge of the vehicle window and the inward-facing surface of the vehicle window.
Claim 4: The method of claim 3, wherein providing the third retainer comprises providing a generally U-shaped channel disposed proximate an edge of the removable panel.
Claim 36: A method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window, the method comprising: providing a removable panel sized and shaped to overlie at least a portion of an outward-facing surface of a vehicle window; providing a first retainer configured to secure the panel in abutting relation to the window, the first retainer comprising a first engagement element configured to engage a first edge of the window and a second engagement element configured to engage an inward-facing surface of the window; providing a second retainer configured to secure the panel in abutting relation to the window, the second retainer comprising a third engagement element configured to engage a second edge of the window and a fourth engagement element configured to engage the inward-facing surface of the window; providing a third retainer configured to engage at least one of a fourth edge of the window or the inward-facing surface of the window; the third retainer comprises providing comprising a generally U- shaped channel disposed proximate an edge of the panel.
Claim 5: The method of claim 1, wherein the outward-facing surface of the vehicle window is curved; and wherein providing the removable panel comprises pre-curving the removable panel to substantially conform to at least the portion of the outward-facing surface.
Claim 37: The method of claim 35, wherein the outward-facing surface of the window is curved, and wherein providing the removable panel comprises pre-curving the panel to substantially conform to at least the portion of the outward-facing surface.
Claim 6: The method of claim 1, wherein providing the removable panel comprises disposing at least one ornamental element on an outward-facing surface of the removable panel.
Claim 38: The method of claim 35, wherein providing the removable panel comprises disposing at least one ornamental element on an outward-facing surface of the panel.
Claim 10: The method of claim 1, wherein the removable panel comprises a substrate and a covering; and wherein providing the removable panel includes: providing the substrate, and applying the covering to the substrate.
Claim 39: The method of claim 35, wherein the panel comprises a substrate and at least one of a covering or a coating, and wherein providing the removable panel comprises. providing the substrate, and applying at least one of the covering or the coating to the substrate.
Claim 11: The method of claim 10, wherein the substrate comprises molded plastic; and wherein providing the substrate includes molding the substrate.
Claim 12: The method of claim 10, wherein the substrate comprises fiberglass; and wherein providing the substrate includes molding the substrate.
Claim 40: The method of claim 39, wherein the substrate comprises at least one of molded plastic or fiberglass, and wherein providing the substrate comprises molding the substrate.
Claim 14: The method of claim 10, wherein the covering comprises a vinyl fabric; and wherein providing the substrate and the covering includes applying the vinyl fabric to the substrate.
Claim 41: The method of claim 39, wherein the covering comprises a vinyl fabric, and wherein providing the substrate and the covering comprises applying the vinyl fabric to the substrate.
Claim 16: A method of using a removable panel assembly, the method comprising: disposing a first retainer on a vehicle window, including: engaging a first engagement element of the first retainer with a first edge of the vehicle window, and engaging a second engagement element of the first retainer with an inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; disposing a second retainer on the vehicle window, including: engaging a third engagement element of the second retainer with a second edge of the vehicle window, and engaging a fourth engagement element of the second retainer with the inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; and connecting a removable panel to the first retainer and the second retainer, the removable panel being in an abutting relation with at least a portion of an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window.
Claim 17: The method of claim 16, wherein connecting the removable panel to the first retainer and the second retainer comprises: engaging a first externally threaded connector with a first internally threaded connector; and engaging a second externally threaded connector and a second internally threaded connector.
Claim 43: A method of using a removable panel assembly, the method comprising: disposing a first retainer on a vehicle window, including engaging a first engagement element of the first retainer with a first edge of the window, and engaging a second engagement element of the first retainer with an inward-facing surface of the window; disposing a second retainer on the vehicle window, including engaging a third engagement element of the second retainer with a second edge of the window, and engaging a fourth engagement element of the second retainer with the inward-facing surface of the window; and connecting a removable panel to the first retainer and the second retainer, the removable panel being in an abutting relation with at least a portion of an outward- facing surface of the vehicle window; wherein connecting the removable panel to the first retainer and the second retainer includes engaging a first externally threaded connector with a first internally threaded connector. and engaging a second externally threaded connector and a second internally threaded connector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims, 1, 3, 5-6, 9-10, 15-16, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peries (US Pat 9,676,262).
Regarding claim 1, Peries discloses a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window, the method comprising: providing a removable panel 1 sized and shaped to overlie at least a portion of an outward-facing surface of a vehicle window (see Figures 9 and 11-12; Col. 2, lines 63-67; Col. 6, lines 25-40); providing a first retainer configured to secure the removable panel in abutting relation to the vehicle window, the first retainer including a first engagement element 12 configured to engage a first edge of the vehicle window and a second engagement element 13 configured to engage an inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; and providing a second retainer configured to secure the removable panel in abutting relation to the vehicle window, the second retainer including a third engagement element 12 configured to engage a second edge of the vehicle window and a fourth engagement element 13 configured to engage the inward-facing surface of the vehicle window (see Figures 9 and 11-12 and annotated Figure 9 below; Col. 3, lines 21-46).
Regarding claim 3, Peries discloses the method of claim 1, wherein providing the removable panel 1 comprises providing a third retainer 13; and wherein the third retainer 13 is configured to engage the inward-facing surface of the vehicle window (see Figures 11-12 and annotated Figure 9 above; Col. 3, lines 21-46).
Regarding claim 5, Peries discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the outward-facing surface of the vehicle window is curved; and wherein providing the removable panel 1 comprises pre-curving the removable panel to substantially conform to at least the portion of the outward-facing surface (see Figures 11-12; Col. 6, lines 25-45). Annotated Figure 9 above shows a curve between the first edge and the second edge of the removable panel that matches a curve of the outward-facing surface of the window.
Regarding claim 6, Peries discloses the method of claim 1, wherein providing the removable panel 1 comprises disposing at least one ornamental element 32 on an outward-facing surface of the removable panel 1 (see Figures 1-4; Col. 6, lines 41-60).
Regarding claim 9, Peries discloses the method of claim 6, wherein disposing the at least one ornamental element 32 on the outward-facing surface comprises disposing an indicium associated with at least one of a sports team, a trade, or a business on the outward-facing surface (see Figures 1-4; Col. 45-60). The display pocket can be used to hold an advertisement or resident parking permit, both of which relate to a business or trade.
Regarding claim 10, Peries discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the removable panel 1 comprises a substrate 6 and a covering 2, 3; and wherein providing the removable panel includes: providing the substrate 6, and applying the covering 2, 3 to the substrate 6 (see Figure 13; Col. 7, lines 1-9). Merriam-Webster defines “substrate” as “an underlying layer”; the “intermediate layer 6” underlies the covering of the water-repellent layers 2, 3, or “covering”.
Regarding claim 15, Peries discloses a method of modifying a vehicle, the method comprising: providing a vehicle; manufacturing a removable panel assembly 1 for a vehicle window according to claim 1; and installing the removable panel assembly 1 on the vehicle (see Figures 9-13; Col. 3, lines 21-46).
Regarding claim 16, Peries discloses a method of using a removable panel assembly, the method comprising: disposing a first retainer on a vehicle window, including: engaging a first engagement element 12 of the first retainer with a first edge of the vehicle window, and engaging a second engagement element 13 of the first retainer with an inward-facing surface of the vehicle window (see Figures 9, 11-12, and annotated Figure 9 above; Col. 3, lines 21-46); disposing a second retainer on the vehicle window, including: engaging a third engagement element 12 of the second retainer with a second edge of the vehicle window, and engaging a fourth engagement element 13 of the second retainer with the inward-facing surface of the vehicle window (see Figures 9, 11-12 and annotated Figure 9 above; Col. 3, lines 21-46); and connecting a removable panel to the first retainer and the second retainer, the removable panel being in an abutting relation with at least a portion of an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window (see Figures 11-12; Col. 3, lines 21-46).
Regarding claim 20, Peries discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising engaging a third retainer 13 disposed on the removable panel 1 with the inward-facing surface of the vehicle window (see Figures 11-12 and annotated Figure 9 above; Col. 3, lines 21-46).
Regarding claim 21, Peries discloses a method of using a removable panel assembly, the method comprising: disposing a first retainer on a vehicle window, including: engaging a first engagement element 12 of the first retainer with a first edge of the vehicle window, and engaging a second engagement element 13 of the first retainer with an inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; and disposing a second retainer on the vehicle window, including: engaging a third engagement element 12 of the second retainer with a second edge of the vehicle window, and engaging a fourth engagement element 13 of the second retainer with the inward-facing surface of the vehicle window (see Figures 9, 11-12 and annotated Figure 9 above; Col. 6, lines 25-40; Col. 3, lines 21-46); wherein at least one of the first retainer or the second retainer is movably disposed on an inward-facing surface of the removable panel to selectively engage with the vehicle window, the removable panel being in an abutting relation with at least a portion of an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window (see Figures 11-12; Col. 2, lines 63-67; Col. 3, lines 21-46).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 11-12, 14, and 17 would be allowable if a Terminal Disclaimer were filed to overcome the double patenting rejections outlined above and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7-8, 13, 18-19, and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 recites a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window, the method comprising: providing a removable panel sized and shaped to overlie at least a portion of an outward-facing surface of a vehicle window; providing a first retainer configured to secure the removable panel in abutting relation to the vehicle window, the first retainer including a first engagement element configured to engage a first edge of the vehicle window and a second engagement element configured to engage an inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; and providing a second retainer configured to secure the removable panel in abutting relation to the vehicle window, the second retainer including a third engagement element configured to engage a second edge of the vehicle window and a fourth engagement element configured to engage the inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; providing a first externally threaded connector and a first internally threaded connector configured to selectively connect the removable panel to the first retainer; and providing a second externally threaded connector and a second internally threaded connector configured to selectively connect the removable panel to the second retainer. Peries discloses a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Peries fails to disclose providing an externally threaded connector or an internally threaded connector and it would not be obvious to modify Peries in such a way given the flexible nature of the removable panel. Levinson (US Pat 6,298,590) discloses a method for manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Levinson fails to disclose providing an externally threaded connector or an internally threaded connector. Clarke (US Pat 2,917,111) discloses a method for manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Clarke fails to disclose providing an internally threaded connector. Beck (US Pat 6,116,678) discloses a method for manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Beck fails to disclose providing an externally threaded connector or an internally threaded connector. Anderson et al. (US Pat 7,007,418) disclose a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel and providing a first retainer and a second retainer; however, Anderson et al. fail to disclose the second retainer is configured to engage a second edge of the vehicle window. Repp et al. (US Pat 5,551,197) disclose a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Repp et al. fail to disclose that the removable panel overlies an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window. Agnew (US Pat 9,561,706) discloses a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Agnew fails to disclose that the removable panel is sized and shaped to overlie an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window or that the retainers engage edges of the vehicle window. The prior art does not properly teach or suggest the recited configuration, making claim 2 allowable.
Claim 4 recites a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window, the method comprising: providing a removable panel sized and shaped to overlie at least a portion of an outward-facing surface of a vehicle window; providing a first retainer configured to secure the removable panel in abutting relation to the vehicle window, the first retainer including a first engagement element configured to engage a first edge of the vehicle window and a second engagement element configured to engage an inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; and providing a second retainer configured to secure the removable panel in abutting relation to the vehicle window, the second retainer including a third engagement element configured to engage a second edge of the vehicle window and a fourth engagement element configured to engage the inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; wherein providing the removable panel comprises providing a third retainer; and wherein the third retainer is configured to engage at least one of a fourth edge of the vehicle window and the inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; providing the third retainer comprises providing a generally U-shaped channel disposed proximate an edge of the removable panel. Peries discloses a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Peries fails to disclose providing the third retainer comprises providing a generally U-shaped channel. Levinson (US Pat 6,298,590) discloses a method for manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Levinson fails to disclose the third engagement element engages a second edge of the vehicle window. Clarke (US Pat 2,917,111) discloses a method for manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Clarke fails to disclose the removable panel is secured in abutting relation to the vehicle window. Beck (US Pat 6,116,678) discloses a method for manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Beck fails to disclose providing a third retainer. Anderson et al. (US Pat 7,007,418) disclose a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel and providing a first retainer and a second retainer; however, Anderson et al. fail to disclose the second retainer is configured to engage a second edge of the vehicle window. Repp et al. (US Pat 5,551,197) disclose a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Repp et al. fail to disclose that the removable panel overlies an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window. Agnew (US Pat 9,561,706) discloses a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Agnew fails to disclose that the removable panel is sized and shaped to overlie an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window or that the retainers engage edges of the vehicle window. The prior art does not properly teach or suggest the recited configuration, making claim 4 allowable.
Claim 7 recites a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window, the method comprising: providing a removable panel sized and shaped to overlie at least a portion of an outward-facing surface of a vehicle window; providing a first retainer configured to secure the removable panel in abutting relation to the vehicle window, the first retainer including a first engagement element configured to engage a first edge of the vehicle window and a second engagement element configured to engage an inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; and providing a second retainer configured to secure the removable panel in abutting relation to the vehicle window, the second retainer including a third engagement element configured to engage a second edge of the vehicle window and a fourth engagement element configured to engage the inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; wherein providing the removable panel comprises disposing at least one ornamental element on an outward-facing surface of the removable panel; wherein disposing the at least one ornamental element on the outward-facing surface comprises installing a landau bar. Peries discloses a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Peries fails to disclose installing a landau bar. Levinson (US Pat 6,298,590) discloses a method for manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Levinson fails to disclose the third engagement element engages a second edge of the vehicle window. Clarke (US Pat 2,917,111) discloses a method for manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Clarke fails to disclose the removable panel is secured in abutting relation to the vehicle window. Beck (US Pat 6,116,678) discloses a method for manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Beck fails to disclose installing a landau bar or that the first retainer includes first and second engagement elements. Anderson et al. (US Pat 7,007,418) disclose a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel and providing a first retainer and a second retainer; however, Anderson et al. fail to disclose the second retainer is configured to engage a second edge of the vehicle window. Repp et al. (US Pat 5,551,197) disclose a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Repp et al. fail to disclose that the removable panel overlies an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window. Agnew (US Pat 9,561,706) discloses a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Agnew fails to disclose that the removable panel is sized and shaped to overlie an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window or that the retainers engage edges of the vehicle window. The prior art does not properly teach or suggest the recited configuration, making claim 7 allowable.
Claim 8 would be allowable because it is dependent on claim 7.
Claim 11 recites a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window, the method comprising: providing a removable panel sized and shaped to overlie at least a portion of an outward-facing surface of a vehicle window; providing a first retainer configured to secure the removable panel in abutting relation to the vehicle window, the first retainer including a first engagement element configured to engage a first edge of the vehicle window and a second engagement element configured to engage an inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; and providing a second retainer configured to secure the removable panel in abutting relation to the vehicle window, the second retainer including a third engagement element configured to engage a second edge of the vehicle window and a fourth engagement element configured to engage the inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; wherein the removable panel comprises a substrate and a covering; and wherein providing the removable panel includes: providing the substrate, and applying the covering to the substrate, and wherein the substrate comprises molded plastic; and wherein providing the substrate includes molding the substrate. Peries discloses a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Peries fails to disclose that the substrate comprises molded plastic or molding the substrate. Levinson (US Pat 6,298,590) discloses a method for manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Levinson fails to disclose the third engagement element engages a second edge of the vehicle window. Clarke (US Pat 2,917,111) discloses a method for manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Clarke fails to disclose the removable panel is secured in abutting relation to the vehicle window. Beck (US Pat 6,116,678) discloses a method for manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Beck fails to disclose the removable panel comprises a substrate and a covering. Anderson et al. (US Pat 7,007,418) disclose a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel and providing a first retainer and a second retainer; however, Anderson et al. fail to disclose the second retainer is configured to engage a second edge of the vehicle window. Repp et al. (US Pat 5,551,197) disclose a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Repp et al. fail to disclose that the removable panel overlies an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window. Agnew (US Pat 9,561,706) discloses a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Agnew fails to disclose that the removable panel is sized and shaped to overlie an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window or that the retainers engage edges of the vehicle window. The prior art does not properly teach or suggest the recited configuration, making claim 11 allowable.
Claim 12 recites a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window, the method comprising: providing a removable panel sized and shaped to overlie at least a portion of an outward-facing surface of a vehicle window; providing a first retainer configured to secure the removable panel in abutting relation to the vehicle window, the first retainer including a first engagement element configured to engage a first edge of the vehicle window and a second engagement element configured to engage an inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; and providing a second retainer configured to secure the removable panel in abutting relation to the vehicle window, the second retainer including a third engagement element configured to engage a second edge of the vehicle window and a fourth engagement element configured to engage the inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; wherein the removable panel comprises a substrate and a covering; and wherein providing the removable panel includes: providing the substrate, and applying the covering to the substrate, and wherein the substrate comprises fiberglass; and wherein providing the substrate includes molding the substrate. Peries discloses a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Peries fails to disclose that the substrate comprises fiberglass or molding the substrate. Levinson (US Pat 6,298,590) discloses a method for manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Levinson fails to disclose the third engagement element engages a second edge of the vehicle window. Clarke (US Pat 2,917,111) discloses a method for manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Clarke fails to disclose the removable panel is secured in abutting relation to the vehicle window. Beck (US Pat 6,116,678) discloses a method for manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Beck fails to disclose the removable panel comprises a substrate and a covering. Anderson et al. (US Pat 7,007,418) disclose a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel and providing a first retainer and a second retainer; however, Anderson et al. fail to disclose the second retainer is configured to engage a second edge of the vehicle window. Repp et al. (US Pat 5,551,197) disclose a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Repp et al. fail to disclose that the removable panel overlies an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window. Agnew (US Pat 9,561,706) discloses a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Agnew fails to disclose that the removable panel is sized and shaped to overlie an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window or that the retainers engage edges of the vehicle window. The prior art does not properly teach or suggest the recited configuration, making claim 12 allowable.
Claim 13 recites a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window, the method comprising: providing a removable panel sized and shaped to overlie at least a portion of an outward-facing surface of a vehicle window; providing a first retainer configured to secure the removable panel in abutting relation to the vehicle window, the first retainer including a first engagement element configured to engage a first edge of the vehicle window and a second engagement element configured to engage an inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; and providing a second retainer configured to secure the removable panel in abutting relation to the vehicle window, the second retainer including a third engagement element configured to engage a second edge of the vehicle window and a fourth engagement element configured to engage the inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; wherein the removable panel comprises a substrate and a covering; and wherein providing the removable panel includes: providing the substrate, and applying the covering to the substrate, and wherein the covering comprises a paint; and wherein providing the substrate and the covering includes applying the paint to the substrate. Peries discloses a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Peries fails to disclose that the covering comprises a paint or applying the paint. Levinson (US Pat 6,298,590) discloses a method for manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Levinson fails to disclose the third engagement element engages a second edge of the vehicle window. Clarke (US Pat 2,917,111) discloses a method for manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Clarke fails to disclose the removable panel is secured in abutting relation to the vehicle window. Beck (US Pat 6,116,678) discloses a method for manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Beck fails to disclose the removable panel comprises a substrate and a covering. Anderson et al. (US Pat 7,007,418) disclose a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel and providing a first retainer and a second retainer; however, Anderson et al. fail to disclose the second retainer is configured to engage a second edge of the vehicle window. Repp et al. (US Pat 5,551,197) disclose a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Repp et al. fail to disclose that the removable panel overlies an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window. Agnew (US Pat 9,561,706) discloses a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Agnew fails to disclose that the removable panel is sized and shaped to overlie an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window or that the retainers engage edges of the vehicle window. The prior art does not properly teach or suggest the recited configuration, making claim 13 allowable.
Claim 14 recites a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window, the method comprising: providing a removable panel sized and shaped to overlie at least a portion of an outward-facing surface of a vehicle window; providing a first retainer configured to secure the removable panel in abutting relation to the vehicle window, the first retainer including a first engagement element configured to engage a first edge of the vehicle window and a second engagement element configured to engage an inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; and providing a second retainer configured to secure the removable panel in abutting relation to the vehicle window, the second retainer including a third engagement element configured to engage a second edge of the vehicle window and a fourth engagement element configured to engage the inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; wherein the removable panel comprises a substrate and a covering; and wherein providing the removable panel includes: providing the substrate, and applying the covering to the substrate, and wherein the covering comprises a vinyl fabric; and wherein providing the substrate and the covering includes applying the vinyl fabric to the substrate. Peries discloses a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Peries fails to disclose that the covering comprises a vinyl fabric or applying the vinyl fabric. Levinson (US Pat 6,298,590) discloses a method for manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Levinson fails to disclose the third engagement element engages a second edge of the vehicle window. Clarke (US Pat 2,917,111) discloses a method for manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Clarke fails to disclose the removable panel is secured in abutting relation to the vehicle window. Beck (US Pat 6,116,678) discloses a method for manufacturing a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Beck fails to disclose the removable panel comprises a substrate and a covering. Anderson et al. (US Pat 7,007,418) disclose a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel and providing a first retainer and a second retainer; however, Anderson et al. fail to disclose the second retainer is configured to engage a second edge of the vehicle window. Repp et al. (US Pat 5,551,197) disclose a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Repp et al. fail to disclose that the removable panel overlies an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window. Agnew (US Pat 9,561,706) discloses a method of manufacturing a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Agnew fails to disclose that the removable panel is sized and shaped to overlie an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window or that the retainers engage edges of the vehicle window. The prior art does not properly teach or suggest the recited configuration, making claim 14 allowable.
Claim 17 recites a method of using a removable panel assembly, the method comprising: disposing a first retainer on a vehicle window, including: engaging a first engagement element of the first retainer with a first edge of the vehicle window, and engaging a second engagement element of the first retainer with an inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; disposing a second retainer on the vehicle window, including: engaging a third engagement element of the second retainer with a second edge of the vehicle window, and engaging a fourth engagement element of the second retainer with the inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; and connecting a removable panel to the first retainer and the second retainer, the removable panel being in an abutting relation with at least a portion of an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window; wherein connecting the removable panel to the first retainer and the second retainer comprises: engaging a first externally threaded connector with a first internally threaded connector; and engaging a second externally threaded connector and a second internally threaded connector. Peries discloses a method of using a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Peries fails to disclose providing an externally threaded connector or an internally threaded connector and it would not be obvious to modify Peries in such a way given the flexible nature of the removable panel. Levinson (US Pat 6,298,590) discloses a method for using a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Levinson fails to disclose providing an externally threaded connector or an internally threaded connector. Clarke (US Pat 2,917,111) discloses a method for using a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Clarke fails to disclose providing an internally threaded connector. Beck (US Pat 6,116,678) discloses a method for using a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Beck fails to disclose providing an externally threaded connector or an internally threaded connector. Anderson et al. (US Pat 7,007,418) disclose a method of using a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel and providing a first retainer and a second retainer; however, Anderson et al. fail to disclose the second retainer is configured to engage a second edge of the vehicle window. Repp et al. (US Pat 5,551,197) disclose a method of using a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Repp et al. fail to disclose that the removable panel overlies an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window. Agnew (US Pat 9,561,706) discloses a method of using a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Agnew fails to disclose that the removable panel is sized and shaped to overlie an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window or that the retainers engage edges of the vehicle window. The prior art does not properly teach or suggest the recited configuration, making claim 17 allowable.
Claim 18 would be allowable because it is dependent on claim 17.
Claim 19 recites a method of using a removable panel assembly, the method comprising: disposing a first retainer on a vehicle window, including: engaging a first engagement element of the first retainer with a first edge of the vehicle window, and engaging a second engagement element of the first retainer with an inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; disposing a second retainer on the vehicle window, including: engaging a third engagement element of the second retainer with a second edge of the vehicle window, and engaging a fourth engagement element of the second retainer with the inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; and connecting a removable panel to the first retainer and the second retainer, the removable panel being in an abutting relation with at least a portion of an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window; wherein disposing the first retainer on the vehicle window comprises engaging a fifth engagement element with a third edge of the vehicle window. Peries discloses a method of using a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Peries fails to disclose a fifth engagement element that engages a third edge. Levinson (US Pat 6,298,590) discloses a method for using a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Levinson fails to disclose a fifth engagement element. Clarke (US Pat 2,917,111) discloses a method for using a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Clarke fails to disclose a fifth engagement element. Beck (US Pat 6,116,678) discloses a method for using a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Beck fails to disclose a fifth engagement element. Anderson et al. (US Pat 7,007,418) disclose a method of using a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel and providing a first retainer and a second retainer; however, Anderson et al. fail to disclose the second retainer is configured to engage a second edge of the vehicle window. Repp et al. (US Pat 5,551,197) disclose a method of using a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Repp et al. fail to disclose that the removable panel overlies an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window. Agnew (US Pat 9,561,706) discloses a method of using a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Agnew fails to disclose that the removable panel is sized and shaped to overlie an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window or that the retainers engage edges of the vehicle window. The prior art does not properly teach or suggest the recited configuration, making claim 19 allowable.
Claim 22 recites a method of using a removable panel assembly, the method comprising: disposing a first retainer on a vehicle window, including: engaging a first engagement element of the first retainer with a first edge of the vehicle window, and engaging a second engagement element of the first retainer with an inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; and disposing a second retainer on the vehicle window, including: engaging a third engagement element of the second retainer with a second edge of the vehicle window, and engaging a fourth engagement element of the second retainer with the inward-facing surface of the vehicle window; wherein at least one of the first retainer or the second retainer is movably disposed on an inward-facing surface of the removable panel to selectively engage with the vehicle window, the removable panel being in an abutting relation with at least a portion of an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window; wherein the first edge of the vehicle window is generally opposite the second edge of the vehicle window; and wherein the second retainer comprises a biasing element configured to bias the removable panel to hold the first engagement element in engagement with the first edge of the vehicle window. Peries discloses a method of using a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Peries fails to disclose a biasing element and the first edge of the vehicle is opposite the second edge. Levinson (US Pat 6,298,590) discloses a method for using a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Levinson fails to disclose a biasing element. Clarke (US Pat 2,917,111) discloses a method for using a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Clarke fails to disclose a biasing element. Beck (US Pat 6,116,678) discloses a method for using a removable panel assembly comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Beck fails to disclose a biasing element. Anderson et al. (US Pat 7,007,418) disclose a method of using a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel and providing a first retainer and a second retainer; however, Anderson et al. fail to disclose the second retainer is configured to engage a second edge of the vehicle window. Repp et al. (US Pat 5,551,197) disclose a method of using a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Repp et al. fail to disclose that the removable panel overlies an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window. Agnew (US Pat 9,561,706) discloses a method of using a removable panel assembly for a vehicle window comprising providing a removable panel, providing a first retainer, and providing a second retainer; however, Agnew fails to disclose that the removable panel is sized and shaped to overlie an outward-facing surface of the vehicle window or that the retainers engage edges of the vehicle window. The prior art does not properly teach or suggest the recited configuration, making claim 22 allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Snider (US Pat 2,780,880) discloses a removable panel assembly sized and shaped to overlie a portion of an outward-facing surface of a vehicle window. Huston et al. (US Pat 2,127,997) disclose a removable panel sized and shaped to overlie an outward-facing surface of a vehicle window and having an indicum disposed on the outward-facing surface. Walz (US Pat 2,267,542) discloses a removable panel assembly sized and shaped to overlie a portion of an outward-facing surface of a vehicle window. Trott (US Pat 10,352,660) discloses a removable panel having a first retainer and a second retainer. Miller (US Pat 11,358,459) discloses a removable panel having a first retainer and a second retainer.
/VERONICA M CONDO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612