DETAILED ACTION
Claim 9 has been amended.
Claims 1 – 15 have been examined and are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 9 and 11 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by US Patent Application US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0287725 to Rabinovich et al. (hereinafter Rabinovich).
Claim 1, Rabinovich discloses (¶1) a method of clock management in a packet data network implementing a time-transfer protocol and a clock controller, and further it discloses:
method for detecting asymmetric path delay changes in a synchronisation network (Rabinovich discloses ¶61 clock controller calculates variation of queue-induced delay asymmetry), the method comprising:
monitoring (Rabinovich discloses ¶64 topology and configuration module 504 is configured to receive from NMS data indicative of PTP paths to be monitored and compensated), a first path delay and a second path delay over a first sample period and a second sample period, wherein the first path delay is a reported time taken for a first packet transmitted by a first node of the network to be received by a second node of the network, and the second path delay is a time taken for a second packet transmitted by the second node of the network to be received by the first node of the network; Rabinovich discloses ¶7 processing a plurality of sample delays in master-slave direction and slave-master direction of communication paths (Fig. 3: 310) to determine delay asymmetry (¶38) estimated during predefined number of consecutive collection periods (¶61).
determining that a change in one or both of the first and second path delays between the first sample period and the second sample period exceeds a first threshold; Rabinovich discloses ¶54 clock controller determines that the estimated queue-induced time delay asymmetry exceeds a predefined threshold.
and determining, when it is determined that the first threshold is exceeded and when a difference between the first and second path delays changes between the first sample period and the second sample period, that the change in one or both of the first and second path delays is an asymmetric path delay change; Rabinovich discloses ¶54 clock controller estimates (311) queue-induced delay asymmetry of each PTP path during a predefined number of collection periods, and selectively sends (312) the obtained value to the respective slave clocks (e.g. via the NMS) to be used as asymmetry correction parameters.
Claim 2, Rabinovich discloses all the elements of claim 1. Further, it discloses:
applying, when it is determined that the first threshold is exceeded and when a change in the difference between the first and second path delays between the first sample period and the second sample period exceeds a second threshold, a correction to the network, wherein the correction is based on the change in the difference between the first and second path delays between the first sample period and the second sample period; Rabinovich discloses (¶54,58) to correct the time offset at slave clocks controller can send the obtained value to the respective slave clock(s) to be used as asymmetry correction parameter only when the estimated queue-induced delay asymmetry exceeds a predefined threshold for each PTP path.
Claim 3, Rabinovich discloses all the elements of claim 1. Further, it discloses:
wherein the duration of the first sample period and/or the second sample period is less than a time constant of a synchronisation clock of the synchronisation network; Rabinovich discloses (¶6) for a PTP path, periodically obtaining during a collection period data from the master and salve nodes, and comparing estimated queue-induced delay asymmetry during a predefined number of consecutive collection periods and dynamically adjusts the collection period duration when the variation does not fit a predefined criterion (¶9 - ¶11). The reference thus explicitly monitors and shortens the measurement interval when the delay variation exceeds the network’s expected dynamic behavior, thereby ensuring that the collection period remains smaller than the time constant of the synchronization clock – i.e. within the bandwidth at which the clock can track delay changes.
Claim 4, Rabinovich discloses all the elements of claim 1. Further, it discloses:
wherein the first threshold is based on an expected dynamic Time Error, dTE, of the network; Rabinovich discloses (¶35) equations (1) and (2) produce the clock offset Δt.sub.offset indicative of time difference between the slave clock and the master clock. Rabinovich discloses (¶9, ¶54 and ¶61) clock controller changes the duration of the collection periods corresponding to the allowable time-error dynamics of the synchronization i.e. threshold for triggering asymmetry detection and correction is derived from the expected dynamic behavior and time-error tolerance of the synchronization network.
Claim 5, Rabinovich discloses all the elements of claim 2. Further, it discloses:
wherein the second threshold is based on the expected dTE of the network and/or a maximum time error which would result in a failure of the network; Rabinovich discloses (¶61) non-limiting example, clock controller can decrease the collection period if the estimated variation exceeds a predefined maximal threshold (i.e. second threshold), so for e.g. if the variation obtained during ten 60-second collection periods exceeds 1 μsec, duration of collection periods can be decreased to 10 seconds).
Claim 6, Rabinovich discloses all the elements of claim 1. Further, it discloses:
monitoring the first path delay and the second path delay comprises determining an average value of the respective first path delay and/or the second path delay over the first sample period and/or the second sample period; Rabinovich discloses (¶56-¶57) estimating queue-induced delay asymmetry of the PTP path as a half of the difference between the summaries of minimal sample delay values obtained in MS and SM directions. The term summaries denote an aggregate or averaged statistic over the collection period i.e. the mean or representative delay value derived from multiple samples. Further, (¶31 - ¶36) discloses computed mean propagation time that differs from the actual propagation times due to asymmetry and allowable time-error dynamics of the synchronization network.
Claim 7, Rabinovich discloses all the elements of claim 1. Further, it discloses:
monitoring (Rabinovich discloses (¶64) clock controller can be configured to monitor all PTP paths) the first path delay and the second path delay comprises determining a maximum value of the respective first path delay and/or the second path delay over the first sample period and/or the second sample period; Rabinovich discloses (¶56-¶57) plurality of sample delays calculated for a given direction (i.e. a PTP path) for the respective collection period. Because Rabinovich explicitly collects per-period sample delays and computes statistical summaries of these values to bound delay variation, a person of ordinary skill in art would recognize that both maximum and minimum values are inherent within the taught statistical characterization of path delay. The reference thus discloses determining a maximum value of the first or second path delay over each collection period as part of its delay-monitoring process.
Claim 8, Rabinovich discloses all the elements of claim 1. Further, it discloses:
monitoring (Rabinovich discloses (¶64) clock controller can be configured to monitor all PTP paths) the first path delay and the second path delay comprises determining the minimum value of the respective first path delay and/or the second path delay over the first sample period and/or the second sample period; Rabinovich discloses (¶56-¶57) plurality of sample delays calculated for a given direction (i.e. a PTP path) for the respective collection period. Because Rabinovich explicitly collects per-period sample delays and computes statistical summaries of these values to bound delay variation, a person of ordinary skill in art would recognize that both maximum and minimum values are inherent within the taught statistical characterization of path delay. The reference thus discloses determining a minimum value of the first or second path delay over each collection period as part of its delay-monitoring process.
Claim 9, Rabinovich discloses all the elements of claim 1. Further, it discloses:
method of for detecting asymmetric path delay changes in a synchronisation network (Rabinovich discloses ¶61 clock controller calculates variation of queue-induced delay asymmetry), said synchronisation network comprising a first node and a plurality of second nodes, the method comprising:
monitoring (Rabinovich discloses ¶64 topology and configuration module 504 is configured to receive from NMS data indicative of PTP paths to be monitored and compensated), a plurality of first path delays and a plurality of second path delays over a third sample period and a fourth sample period, wherein each of the first path delays is a reported time taken for a packet transmitted by the first node of the network to be received by one of the plurality of second nodes of the network, and each of the second path delays is a time taken for a packet transmitted by the one of the plurality of second nodes of the network to be received by the first node of the network (Rabinovich discloses ¶7 processing a plurality of sample delays in master-slave direction and slave-master direction of communication paths (Fig. 3: 310) to determine delay asymmetry (¶38) estimated during predefined number of consecutive collection periods, ¶61)
determining that a change in one or both of each of any one of the respective first and second path delays between the third sample period and the fourth sample period exceeds a third threshold (Rabinovich discloses ¶46,¶54 a plurality of second nodes and the metho applied to the plurality of second nodes. In Figs. 3-4, clock controller 101 is configured to periodically obtain data informative of queue size and link rate of at least part of transit nodes of a given PTP path) and
performing the method of claim 1 on the respective first and second nodes (Rabinovich discloses ¶43 all limitations of Claim 1 being applied to PTP paths of all transit nodes in network 100).
Claim 11, do not teach or further define over the limitations in Claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in Claim 1.
Claim 12, do not teach or further define over the limitations in Claim 1. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in Claim 1.
Claim 13, Rabinovich discloses all the elements of claim 12. Further, it discloses:
wherein one of the plurality of nodes comprises the NMS; Rabinovich discloses several nodes in the network 100 (Fig. 1: NMS 102) and the NMS (¶53) is configured to periodically poll the nodes for data and/or to request the respective data from the nodes responsive to requests received from clock controller 101.
Claim 14, Rabinovich discloses all the elements of claim 12. Further, it discloses:
test equipment coupled to one or more of the plurality of nodes, wherein the external test equipment comprises the NMS; Rabinovich discloses (¶53) NMS can be configured to periodically poll the nodes for such data and/or to request the respective data from the nodes responsive to requests received from clock controller 101. The possibility of including the NMS in an external test equipment is a feature constructional change that does not add anything of inventive significance to the method for the delay asymmetry change detection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0287725 to Rabinovich et al. (hereinafter Rabinovich) and in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0334643 to Neugeboren et al. (hereinafter Neugeboren).
Claim 10, Rabinovich discloses all the elements of claim 1. Further, Rabinovich discloses (¶2-¶7) Precision Time Protocol and IEEE 1588 Precision Time Protocol (PTP). However, Rabinovich does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the first and second nodes comprises full or partial timing support as defined by ITU-T G.8275. However, in an analogous art, Neugeboren teaches:
wherein at least one of the first and second nodes comprises full or partial timing support as defined by ITU-T G.8275 (Neugeboren teaches ¶33 ITU-T G.8275 protocol to maintain the timing and frequency synchronization. Further, Neugeboren teaches ¶35-¶36 the port sends the delay adjusted time and synchronized frequency to both the mobile network devices using the protocol ITU-T G.8275.)
It would have been obvious as of the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method for detecting asymmetric path delay changes in a synchronisation network, the method comprising: monitoring, a first path delay and a second path delay over a first sample period and a second sample period, wherein the first path delay is a reported time taken for a first packet transmitted by a first node of the network to be received by a second node of the network, and the second path delay is a time taken for a second packet transmitted by the second node of the network to be received by the first node of the network, determining that a change in one or both of the first and second path delays between the first sample period and the second sample period exceeds a first threshold and determining, when it is determined that the first threshold is exceeded and when a difference between the first and second path delays changes between the first sample period and the second sample period, that the change in one or both of the first and second path delays is an asymmetric path delay change, as disclosed by Rabinovich, and wherein at least one of the first and second nodes comprises full or partial timing support as defined by ITU-T G.8275, as taught by Neugeboren, for the purpose of (¶14) implementing techniques for a timing synchronization system.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0287725 to Rabinovich et al. (hereinafter Rabinovich) and in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0226579 to Levy.
Claim 15, Rabinovich discloses all the elements of claim 12. However, Lu does not explicitly disclose wherein one or more of the nodes supports the Small Form-factor Pluggable, SFP, interface module standard. However, in an analogous art, Levy teaches:
wherein one or more of the nodes supports the Small Form-factor Pluggable, SFP, interface module standard (Levy teaches ¶26 and Fig. 2A connectors 115 may comprise Quad Small Form-Factor Pluggable (QSFP) connectors, small form factor (SFP) connectors, CXP connectors, or any other suitable high-speed connector.)
It would have been obvious as of the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine synchronisation network comprising: a plurality of nodes; and the NMS of claim 11, as disclosed by Rabinovich, and wherein one or more of the nodes supports the Small Form-factor Pluggable, SFP, interface module standard, as taught by Levy, for the purpose of (¶2) management of communication network performance.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, filed on 01/15/2026 with respect to the Claims 1 – 15 have been fully considered and they are not persuasive. Hence, the 35 USC § 102 rejection is maintained.
In response to the applicant argument, Pg. 6, “the delay asymmetry is the time between the packet being assigned to a queue and when a single node starts transmitting the packet … the delay asymmetry of Rabinovich does not teach or suggest a reported time taken for a first packet transmitted by a first node of the network to be received by a second node of the network and/or a time taken for a second packet transmitted by the second node of the network to be received by the first node of the network. The queue-induced delays of Rabinovich measure a delay between assignment and sending, not sending and receiving”, the Examiner notes that Rabinovich clearly discloses ¶7-9 processing a plurality of sample path delays in master-slave and slave-master directions of communication paths (Fig. 3: 310; ¶52-54) to determine delay asymmetry (¶37-38) estimated during predefined number of consecutive collection periods for a given path direction (¶56,61).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H. A. K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2451
/Chris Parry/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2451