DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “module configured to transmit” in the claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,002,259. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a gate-keeping module wherein all data received by the communications module passes through the gate-keeping module while a gatekeeping function is disabled, wherein no data passes through the communications module while the gatekeeping function is enabled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christopher (US-20190074002), and further in view of Wang et al. (US-20190332680).
a. Referring to claims 1, 11, and 15:
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 15, Christopher teaches a listening device comprising: a sensor configured to detect user input (Para 32…. microphone); a primary processor (Para 23… controller); and a gate-keeping pre-processor, disposed between the sensor and the primary processor, configured to: block communications between the sensor and the primary processor when a gate-keeping function is enabled (Para 32 and 33… security component that prevents the microphone from relaying data through the communication interface when the security function is enabled); receive, via an exclusive input lead from the sensor, environmental audio, wherein the environmental audio comprises a first portion and a second portion (Para 34…. voice command); analyze, the first portion to determine whether the first portion comprises a command (Para 34… analysis to recognize disable or power-off command); based on a determination that the first portion comprises the command, disable the gate-keeping function (Para 34…. disable the security component); provide the second portion of the environmental audio to the primary processor (Para 26 and 27… controller receives command); and allow communications between the sensor and the primary processor while the gate-keeping function is disabled (Para 34, 20 and 21…. allow communication while the security component is disabled).
Christopher teaches the analysis of the audio but fails to explicitly teach the analysis using artificial intelligence. However, analyzing audio signals using artificial intelligence is well known in the art and taught by Wang in Para 61…. (audio analysis using artificial intelligence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Christopher by analyzing the audio signal using artificial intelligence as taught by Wang for the purpose of improving the efficiency of the system to understand multiple audio signals and determine intent of the audio.
a. Referring to claims 2 and 16:
Regarding claims 2 and 16, the combination of Christopher and Wang teaches the listening device of claim 1, further comprising: a communications module configured to transmit the second portion of the environmental audio to a remote server after the second portion of the environmental audio has been processed by the primary processor (Para 20…. bi-directional communication).
a. Referring to claims 3 and 17:
Regarding claims 3 and 17, the combination of Christopher and Wang teaches the listening device of claim 2, further comprising: an output configured to cause a response, received from the remote server, to be conveyed to a user of the listening device (Para 20…. bi-directional communication involving the user of the device).
a. Referring to claims 4 and 18:
Regarding claims 4 and 18, the combination of Christopher and Wang teaches the listening device of claim 1, further comprising: an output configured to cause a response to the second portion of the environmental audio to be conveyed to a user of the listening device (Para 20…. bi-directional communication involving the user of the device).
a. Referring to claims 5, 12, and 19:
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, the combination of Christopher and Wang teaches the listening device of claim 1, wherein the gate-keeping pre-processor is configured to: re-enable the gate-keeping function after a predetermined amount of time has elapsed (Para 48…. automated enabling/disabling of the security component).
a. Referring to claims 6, 13, and 20:
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, the combination of Christopher and Wang teaches the listening device of claim 1, wherein the gate-keeping pre-processor is configured to: re-enable the gate-keeping function based on a determination that a second user input comprises a second command (Para 34… turning on the security component based on a second command).
a. Referring to claim 7:
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Christopher and Wang teaches the listening device of claim 6, wherein the command and the second command are the same command (Para 34…. voice command).
a. Referring to claim 8:
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Christopher and Wang teaches the listening device of claim 1, further comprising: one or more indicators configured to provide an indication of whether the gate-keeping function is enabled or disabled (Para 34…. enabling/disabling the security function).
a. Referring to claim 9:
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Christopher and Wang teaches the listening device of claim 8, wherein the one or more indicators comprises light emitting diodes (LEDs) (Para 34 and 48…. power ON/OFF indicator).
a. Referring to claims 10 and 14:
Regarding claims 10 and 14, the combination of Christopher and Wang teaches the listening device of claim 1, wherein the artificial intelligence comprises Natural Language Processing (Para 73…. natural language processing).
Conclusion
/IZUNNA OKEKE/