Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Goodsite (3,613,985). Goodsite discloses a packaging material structure (Figs. 1-3) comprising a supporting plate (11) having a supporting side (the side of the fold line 12) and a supporting surface (Figs. 2-3), a base plate (13, 15, 17) connected to the supporting side (12) and having a base plate side (18, 19), the base plate comprising two base plate folding lines (14, 16) separately disposed on the base plate, a first foldable area (the area of the supporting side 12) disposed on the supporting plate, and the supporting plate and the base plate bent toward each other along the first foldable area (Fig. 2), an inserting element (23) integrally connected to the base plate side (18), and an inserting slot (21) disposed on the supporting plate. Goodsite further discloses the base plate is for bending toward the supporting surface along the two base plate folding lines so that the inserting element is correspondingly inserted in the inserting slot.
As to claim 2, Goodsite further discloses the base plate is divided into a first portion (13), a second portion (15), and a third portion (17) by the two base plate folding lines, the first portion is connected to the supporting plate, the second portion is disposed between the first portion and the third portion, and the inserting element is connected to the third portion (the inserting element is connected a fourth portion (19) and the fourth portion is connected to the third portion; therefore, the inserting element is connected to the third portion as claimed).
As to claim 3, Goodsite discloses a maximum width of the first portion (13) is W1, a maximum width of the third portion (17) is W3, and W1
≥
W
3
(column 2, lines 41-43).
As to claim 4, Goodsite further discloses a side plate (19) integrally connected to the base plate side (18), and a second foldable area (18, 19) disposed on the side plate, and the side plate bent toward the supporting surface along the second foldable area. Goodsite discloses when the base plate is bent toward the supporting surface along the two base plate folding lines, and the side plate is bent toward the supporting surface along the second foldable area, the base plate and the side plate form a frame body, and the side plate abuts against the supporting surface (Fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-24 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 03/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not deemed to be persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Goodsite in the remarks are noted. They are not persuasive because Goodsite discloses the base plate side (18, 19) located on one side of the base plate away from the supporting plate as argued by the Applicant.
Applicant indicates that “the inserting element 131 is neither in the inter region of the base plate 120 nor across the base plate 120. … the tongue member 23 disclosed in Goodsite” is noted, but this is not persuasive because there is nothing in claim 1 requires the inserting element must be along an edge of a panel or the inserting element cannot be located in the inter region of the base plate or across the base plate.
Applicant argues in the remarks that Goodsite fails to disclose “an inserting element integrally connected to the base plate side” is noted. This is not persuasive because Goodsite discloses the base plate having the base plate side (18, 19) and the inserting element (23) integrally connected (22) to the base plate side as claimed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/LUAN K BUI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736