DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Each of Figures FIG. 4(a), FIG. 4(b), FIG. 4(c), FIG. 4(d), FIG. 4(e), FIG. 5(a), FIG. 5(b), FIG. 6(a), FIG. 6(b), and FIG. 8, are objected to because the lines of the drawings are not sufficiently sharp and clear to distinguish the various parts of the device. See 37 C.F.R. 1.84(l).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jones (Eur. Pat. No. EP 1840918 A2).
Specifically, regarding Claim 1, Jones discloses a mechanism (11, 17; FIG. 2a) for operating a switch (13a, 13b) for a powered device, the mechanism comprising: a first manually operable member (11), and a second manually operable member (17), the mechanism being configured to activate the switch (13a, 13b) in response to a first motion (Figures 2a, 2b) and a different second motion (Figures 2b, 2c) of the first manually operable member (11), wherein the second manually operable member (17) is configured to move (Figures 2f, 2g) in response to the second motion of the first manually operable member (11).
Regarding Claim 2, Jones discloses that the second motion of the first manually operable member (11) can only be achieved after the first motion (¶ [0012]).
Regarding Claim 3, Jones discloses that the mechanism is configured to activate the switch (13a, 13b) in response to movement of the second manually operable member (17; ¶ [0025]).
Regarding Claim 4, Jones discloses that the mechanism is configured to deactivate the switch (13a, 13b) in response to a deactivation motion of the second manually operable member (17; ¶ [0026]).
Regarding Claim 5, Jones discloses that the deactivation motion of the second manually operable member (17) is a translation (Figures 2f, 2g).
Regarding Claim 6, Jones discloses that the deactivation motion of the second manually operable member (17) is a single motion (Figures 2f, 2g).
Regarding Claim 7, Jones discloses that the first motion is a rotation of the first manually operable member (11; Figures 2a, 2b, 2c).
Regarding Claim 8, Jones discloses that the second motion (Figures 2b, 2c) is a translation of the first manually operable member (11; Figures 2b, 2c).
Regarding Claim 9, Jones discloses that the second motion is a translation in a direction perpendicular to an axis about which the first manually operable member (11) is configured to rotate (member 12 translates towards 17 and perpendicular to movement of 11 that is opposite to point 12).
Regarding Claim 10, Jones discloses that the mechanism comprises one or more further resilient elements (17a) configured to bias the second manually operable member (17) towards a deactivated configuration (¶ [0016]).
Regarding Claim 12, Jones discloses that the first manually operable member (11) is configured to engage an intermediate member (12) configured to move relative to a housing (10; Figures 2c) of the mechanism (Figures 2c, 2d).
Regarding Claim 13, Jones discloses that the intermediate member (12) is rotatably connected to the housing (Figures 2c, 2d).
Regarding Claim 14, Jones discloses that the intermediate member (12) is configured to engage the second manually operable member (17; Figures 2c, 2d).
Regarding Claim 15, Jones discloses that the intermediate member (12) is configured to move in response to the second motion of the first manually operable member (11) to drive motion of the second manually operable member (17; Figures 2c, 2d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones.
Jones discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention but does not disclose the claimed resistance. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize such a resistance to not affect an initial operation movement since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 U.S.P.Q. 233.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Watanabe (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2013/0118766 A1).
Jones discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention (see Claim 1 above), but does not disclose the claimed powered device, wherein the powered device is a rammer or a plate compacter having a handle, and wherein the mechanism is mounted to the handle.
However, Watanabe discloses a powered device, wherein the powered device is a rammer or a plate compacter having a handle, and wherein the mechanism is mounted to the handle (Abstract, ¶ [0091], FIG. 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jones with those of Watanabe such that a tool impact force can be readily and finely adjusted.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY R JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831