DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/4/26 and 12/30/24 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Verma et al (Pub No: 2019/0261369).
As to claim 1, Verma teaches a method by a wireless device functioning as a beamformer station in a wireless network (Verma, [0025][0064], a method by a wireless beamformer transmitter and a beamformee receiver) to indicate a channel puncturing pattern for a sounding null data packet (NDP) frame (Verma, [0032-0033], for indicating a puncturing pattern for a NDP), the method comprising:
generating the sounding NDP frame, wherein the sounding NDP frame indicates a channel puncturing pattern for a first subchannel of a channel and a channel puncturing pattern for a second subchannel of the channel (Verna, [0155-0158], generating a NDPA frame indicating a puncturing pattern for a plurality of subchannels or RU indexes (first and second channels)); and
wirelessly transmitting the sounding NDP frame in the channel to one or more beamformee stations (Verna, [0155-0158], generating a NDPA frame indicating a puncturing pattern for a plurality of subchannels or RU indexes (first and second channels)) [0107], transmitting the NDPA frame to the beamformee stations).
As to claim 2, Verma teaches wherein the channel has a bandwidth of 320 MHz, the first subchannel has a bandwidth of 160 MHz, and the second subchannel has a bandwidth of 160 MHz (Verma, [0320], the channel has a 320 MHz support, 2 subchannels being 160MHz and 160 MHz).
As to claim 3, Verma teaches wherein the sounding NDP frame includes a first field and a second field, wherein the first field is used to indicate the channel puncturing pattern for the first subchannel and the second field is used to indicate the channel puncturing pattern for the second subchannel (Verma, Fig 11 #1132, 1136, 1138, first and second fields that indicate the puncturing pattern for subchannels).
As to claim 11, Verma teaches a method by a wireless device functioning as a beamformee station in a wireless network (Verma, [0025][0064], a beamformee receiver method) to determine a channel puncturing pattern indicated by a sounding null data packet (NDP) frame (Verma, [0032-0033], determining a puncturing pattern for a NDP), the method comprising:
wirelessly receiving the sounding NDP frame in a channel (Verna, [0107], receiving the NDPA frame to the beamformee stations)., wherein the sounding NDP frame indicates a bandwidth of the channel, a channel puncturing pattern for a first subchannel of the channel, and a channel puncturing pattern for a second subchannel of the channel (Verna, [0155-0158], the NDPA frame indicating a puncturing pattern for a plurality of subchannels or RU indexes (first and second channels)); and
responsive to determining that the bandwidth of the channel indicated by the sounding NDP frame is a particular bandwidth, determining the channel puncturing pattern for the first subchannel and the channel puncturing pattern for the second subchannel from the sounding NDP frame (Verna, [0110,0158], the wireless devices determines the puncturing pattern for the subchannel RU indexes).
As to claim 12, Verma teaches wherein the particular bandwidth is 320 MHz, wherein the first subchannel has a bandwidth of 160 MHz, and the second subchannel has a bandwidth of 160 MHz (Verma, [0320], the channel has a 320 MHz support, 2 subchannels being 160MHz and 160 MHz).
As to claim 13, Verma teaches wherein the channel puncturing pattern for the first subchannel is determined from a first field of the sounding NDP frame and the channel puncturing pattern for the second subchannel is determined from a second field of the sounding NDP frame (Verma, Fig 11 #1132, 1136, 1138, first and second fields that indicate the puncturing pattern for subchannels).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 and 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Noh et al (Pub No: 2022/0345243) [0105]-[0107].
Seok et al (Pub No: 2022/0045725) [0032-0044]
/AFSHAWN M TOWFIGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469