DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Throughout the specification thermal conductivity is referred to in units of W/m/K (watts per meter per Kelvin). It should be written as W/mK or W/(mK) as a proper SI unit of measure for thermal conductivity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: conductive filler in claims 15 and 16.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
space vehicle body
interior surface
interior of the space vehicle
exterior surface
heat-conductive liquid
heat pipe
space defined between the material of the radiator and the material of the panel
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because they do not meet Standards for Drawings in 37 CFR 1.84 sections:
(b) Photograph; figures 6, 8A-8B, 15A-16B contain what appears to be photographs and are not ordinarily permitted in utility patent application.
(m) Shading; figures 6, 8A-8B, 15A-16B contain shading which prevents clear understanding of images.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 15 recite limitation “space vehicle body”. It is unclear what element is being referred to. Appropriate correction required.
Claims 1 and 15 recite limitation “interior surface”. It is unclear what element is being referred to. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 1, lines recite limitation “interior of the space vehicle body” in lines 3-4 and 7. It is unclear what element is being referred to. Appropriate correction required.
Claims 1 and 18 recited limitation “onboard equipment component”, It is unclear what element this is referring to. Appreciate correction is required.
Claims 7, 13 and 16, recite limitation “W/m/K”. This is not a proper unit of measure for thermal conductivity, and should be written as W/mK or W/(mK). Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 6-8, lines recite limitation “heat-conductive liquid”. It is unclear what element is being referred to. Appropriate correction required.
Claims 9 and 10, lines recite limitation “heat pipe. It is unclear what element is being referred to. Appropriate correction required.
Claims 15, and 16, recite limitation “conductive filler”. It is unclear what element this is referring to. Appreciate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-9 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20080164012 A1 Cavanaugh; David B. et al.
Regarding claim 1 Cavanaugh teaches, a space vehicle, comprising: a space vehicle body (fig. 4), wherein the space vehicle body comprises an interior surface defining an interior of the space vehicle body and an opposite the interior surface, and wherein at least a portion of the space vehicle body comprises a panel comprising a sheet metal (element 10); an onboard equipment component positioned within the interior of the space vehicle body (element 8); a radiator (fig. 3) positioned on the exterior surface of the space vehicle body, wherein the radiator comprises a plurality of corrugations (fig. 3), and wherein the plurality of corrugations are angled so as to reflect at least a portion of incident sunlight away from Earth (fig. 3); and a heat transport element (para 0042 cylinder, fig. 3) positioned along the interior surface of the space vehicle body so as to convey heat away from the onboard equipment component and toward the radiator.
Regarding claim 3 Cavanaugh teaches, the space vehicle of claim 1, wherein the heat transport element is oriented along the plurality of corrugations of the radiator (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4 Cavanaugh teaches, the space vehicle of claim 1, wherein the heat transport element is positioned within one of the plurality of corrugations of the radiator (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5 Cavanaugh teaches, the space vehicle of claim 1, wherein the heat transport element is defined by a material of the radiator and a material of the panel underlying the material of the radiator.
Regarding claim 6 Cavanaugh teaches, the space vehicle of claim 5, wherein the heat transport element further comprises a heat-conductive liquid (para 0040 fluid) positioned within a space defined between the material of the radiator and the material of the panel .
Regarding claim 7 Cavanaugh teaches, the space vehicle of claim 6, wherein the heat-conductive liquid has a thermal conductivity greater than 0.2 W/m K at standard temperature and pressure (para 0040 water and ammonia).
Regarding claim 8 Cavanaugh teaches, the space vehicle of claim 6, wherein the heat-conductive liquid comprises ammonia (para 0040).
Regarding claim 9 Cavanaugh teaches, the space vehicle of claim 1, wherein the heat transport element comprises a heat pipe (para 0042 cylinder fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17 Cavanaugh teaches, the space vehicle of claim 1, wherein the plurality of corrugations are further angled so as to reduce a proportion of incident sunlight that shines on the radiator (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 18 Cavanaugh teaches, the space vehicle of claim 1, wherein the onboard equipment component is one of a platform equipment component or a payload component (element 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavanaugh as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 20120125571 A1 Lutz; Martine et al.
Regarding claim 11, Cavanaugh teaches, the space vehicle of claim 1, but fails to teach, wherein the heat transport element comprises a carbon nanotube-based material.
However Lutz teaches, wherein the heat transport element comprises a carbon nanotube-based material (para 0014).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle taught by Cavanaugh with the tubes taught by Lutz with a reasonable expectation of success “for dissipating heat” (para 0014).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 12, objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art Cavanaugh teaches, heat transfer using cylinders but fails to teach “wherein the heat transport element is oriented transversely to the plurality of corrugations of the radiator” or “where the cylinder is made of “at least one of a copper-water heat pipe, a carbon-ammonia heat pipe, or an aluminum-ammonia heat pipe”.
Conclusion
/C.M.C/
Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642