DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 2/10/2026 is acknowledged. Note that the applicant has cancelled claims 13-20 and added claims 21-28 within the response dated 2/10/2026. Accordingly, claims 1-12 and 21-28 are currently pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “pin rollers” (claims 11, 12, 21 and 27) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 11-12, 21 and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHRISTMAN, Jr. (US 7,216,598 B1).
Regarding claim 1, CHRISTMAN discloses a system (10) comprising: at least one tufting machine (12), each tufting machine of the at least one tufting machine defining a respective tufting zone (22) and comprising a plurality of needles (17, 18) that are configured to deliver yarn (32, 33) into a backing (11) to form a plurality of tufts (34) that extend through at least a portion of the backing, the backing having a length along a first axis and a width along a second axis that is perpendicular to the first axis (Fig. 1); at least one tensioning apparatus (51, 52, 61, 62) that is configured to guide the backing (11) through the at least one tufting machine (12) while applying tension to the backing (11), wherein a first tensioning apparatus (51) of the at least one tensioning apparatus is configured to draw the backing (11) from a backing feed roll (60) so that the backing (11) extends from the backing feed roll to the first tensioning apparatus (51) while the at least one tufting machine (12) delivers yarn (32, 33) into the backing (11) (Figures 1-2); and at least one controller (24, 25), wherein each controller of the at least one controller is communicatively coupled with each tufting machine (12) of the at least one tufting machine (12) (Fig. 1), wherein the at least one controller (24, 25) is configured to cause the at least one tufting machine (12) to selectively control delivery of yarn (32, 33) into the backing to produce a plurality of patterned regions (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, CHRISTMAN discloses wherein the controller (24) comprises: at least one processor (25; figure 1) (described as a processor within col. 2, lines 46-47); and a memory (inherent based the controller being described as “capable of storing” within col. 4, lines 15-28) in communication with the at least one processor (25), wherein the memory comprises instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor (25) to cause the at least one tufting machine (12) to form the plurality of patterned regions (col. 4, lines 15-28) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, CHRISTMAN discloses wherein the at least one tensioning apparatus drives movement of the backing (11) in a serpentine pattern (note “serpentine” movement of backing 11 between rollers 61, 61, 51, 62 and 52 as shown in figure 1) comprising peak sections and valley sections (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, CHRISTMAN discloses each tensioning apparatus of the at least one tensioning apparatus comprises a plurality of pin rollers (51, 52) that are configured to control application of longitudinal tension to the backing (11) (Figures 1-2) (also note 75 of figure 3).
Regarding claim 12, CHRISTMAN discloses wherein the plurality of pin rollers (51, 52; 75) operate independently of one another (note that each comprises its own motor 53, 54 and 77) (Figures 1-3).
Claims 21 and 27 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) by CHRISTMAN for the same reasons as addressed above (particularly, note the previous rejections of claims 1, 11 and 12).
Regarding claim 26, CHRISTMAN discloses wherein the first tensioning apparatus is configured to draw the backing (11) from the backing feed roll (60) so that the backing (11) extends from the backing feed roll (60) to the at least one tufting machine (12) while the at least one tufting machine delivers yarn (32, 33) into the backing (11) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 28, CHRISTMAN discloses at least one controller (24; 25), wherein each controller (24) of the at least one controller (24) is communicatively coupled with each tufting machine (12) of the at least one tufting machine (12) (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHRISTMAN, Jr. (US 7,216,598 B1) in view of BEARDEN et al. (US 8,968,502 B1).
Regarding claim 2, CHRISTMAN discloses a system as discussed above. However, CHRISTMAN fails to disclose a coating machine as claimed. BEARDEN discloses a coating machine (62, 66, 68, 68) that is configured to apply a coating (30; 34) over backstitches (50) of a plurality of tufts after the plurality of tufts have been delivered through a backing (20) in order to bond the tufts to the backing with lock strength sufficient to withstand the everyday stresses on the tufted article (i.e., dimensional stability) (Fig. 7). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the system of CHRISTMAN with a coating machine, in light of the teachings of BEARDEN, in order to bond the tufts to the backing with lock strength sufficient to withstand the everyday stresses on the tufted article (i.e., dimensional stability).
Regarding claims 3-5 and 22-23, the tensioning apparatus (51, 52, 61, 62) of CHRISTMAN is controlled by the controller (24, 25) and corresponding independent motors (53, 54, 63) and is therefore considered fully capable of functioning to “maintain at least one [width] dimension of the backing within a selected tolerance after the coating is applied” and to “maintain the at least one dimension of the backing within the selected tolerance as the backing is advanced from the at least one tufting machine to the coating machine”.
Regarding claim 6, CHRISTMAN the backing feed roll (60) being configured (within the aid of 51, 52) to feed the backing (11) to the at least one tufting machine (12) (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHRISTMAN, Jr. (US 7,216,598 B1) in view of KAJU (US 5,392,723).
CHRISTMAN discloses a system (10) comprising a tufting machine (12) as discussed above. CHRISTMAN further discloses the tufting machine (12) comprising a needle bar assembly (16) having a plurality of needles (17, 18) (Fig. 1). However, CHRISTMAN fails to disclose each of the plurality of needles being independently controlled. The use of independently-controlled needles (ICN) is old and known in the art in order to create more complex and colorful tufting patterns. KAJU discloses an ICN tufting machine (fig. 1) comprising a needle bar assembly (18) having a plurality of needles (41) that are each independently movable relative to other needles of the plurality of needles (41), wherein the tufting machine can function to form a plurality of tufts using a selected number of needles (less than a total number of needles of the needle bar assembly) to deliver yarn to a backing (Figures 1-7). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the tufting machine of CHRISTMAN with independently-controlled needles, in light of the teachings of KAJU, in order to produce a more complex and colorful tufting patterns.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, as cited on attached PTO-892, and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note that BEARDEN (US 2012/0222606 A1) discloses the use of a plurality of tufting machines on respective gantries (2) to form large sections of athletic turf having a plurality of pattern regions (Figures 1-2 and 4-10).
NED
/NATHAN E DURHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732