Status of Claims
In the amendment filed on March 11th, 2026, claim 12 has been amended, no claim has been cancelled, new claim 20 has been added. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 14, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Payne (US 20180118189 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Payne teaches an electric vehicle, comprising: an electrified powertrain including an electric motor that provides drive torque to a driveline, the electric motor further providing regenerative braking energy to a battery system during a deceleration event (Paragraphs 22, 28)
The coasting guidance system 100 may be included in a vehicle 102 and connected to one or more external databases 104 through a network 110. A vehicle 102 is a conveyance capable of transporting a person, an object, or a permanently or temporarily affixed apparatus. A vehicle 102 may be a self-propelled wheeled conveyance, such as a car, sports utility vehicle, truck, bus, van or other motor or battery driven vehicle. For example, the vehicle 102 may be an electric vehicle, a hybrid vehicle, a plug-in hybrid vehicle or any other type of vehicle that includes a motor 118 and/or generator 128. Other examples of vehicles include bicycles, trains, planes, or boats, and any other form of conveyance that is capable of transportation. The vehicle 102 may be semi-autonomous or autonomous. That is, the vehicle 102 may be self-maneuvering and navigate without human input. An autonomous vehicle may use one or more sensors 108 and/or navigation unit 126 to drive autonomously.[P-22]
The vehicle 102 may include an engine 114, a motor 118, a generator 128, a battery 120 and a battery management and control unit (BMCU) 116. The motor 118 and/or the generator 128 may be an electric motor and an electric generator that converts electrical energy into mechanical power, such as torque, and converts mechanical power into electrical energy. The motor 118 and/or the generator 128 may be coupled to the battery 120. The motor 118 and/or the generator 128 may convert the energy from the battery 120 into mechanical power, and may provide energy back to the battery 120, for example, via regenerative braking. The engine 114 combusts fuel to provide power instead of and/or in addition to the power supplied by the motor 118 and/or the generator 128.[P-28]
Here the electric vehicle comprise a generator acting as the power train, in that it provides power to the electric motor as well as provides drive torque to the vehicle’s driveline, with regenerative braking energy being provided to the battery system of the vehicle during a deceleration event.
Furthermore, Payne teaches one or more sensors configured to detect artifacts in an environment in front of the electric vehicle (Paragraph 34)
The one or more sensors 108 may be coupled to the ECU 112 and include a vehicle speed sensor, an acceleration input sensor, a brake sensor, and/or one or more proximity sensors. The vehicle speed sensor measures the speed of the vehicle 102, for example, by measuring the total revolutions of the wheel per minute. The brake sensor measures the amount of pressure applied to the brake pedal. The acceleration input sensor measures the amount of pressure applied to the accelerator pedal. The one or more proximity sensors may be positioned on the front and/or the rear of the vehicle 102 to detect surrounding vehicles and/or objects that are within a threshold distance of the vehicle 102 in the front and/or the back of the vehicle 102, respectively. The proximity sensor may use a radar, a camera, vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) communication or other means to detect and/or measure a distance to the other vehicles or objects. The one or more sensors 108 may include one or more cameras that may be used to identify a driver to determine driver specific configurations to control the vehicle 102.[P-34]
Here we see Payne disclose one or more proximity sensors that configured to detect objects/artifacts in an environment in front of the vehicle
Payne also teaches a human machine interface (HMI), such as a display interface (Paragraphs 21, 52)
Coasting involves the propulsion of the vehicle 102 without the use of fuel or electrical energy. Other forms of energy, such as inertia or gravity, may propel the vehicle 102. The coasting guidance system 100 may provide coasting information to a driver through the user interface 130, e.g., a display. The coasting information may include notifications, such as a notification that indicates to the driver to begin coasting, energy and mileage information related to the coasting, and/or distance information to an ideal coasting location and/or a braking location. The coasting guidance system 100 may control a deceleration drive force that controls the deceleration of a vehicle 102 while coasting.[P-21]
The coasting guidance system 100 may use a single indicator to provide multiple different indications. A single indicator may provide multiple different indications by altering and/or changing a state of the indicator, such as change colors, flash, pulse, change shape or otherwise change and/or alter the indicator. For example, initially, the rec indicator 404 may have a filled region 405 and an unfilled region 406. The filled region 405 may represent the amount or percentage of total vehicle power that the coasting guidance system 100 recommends to apply to maintain the current speed of the vehicle 102, and the unfilled region 406 may represent the total amount or percentage of total vehicle power that may be applied. If the vehicle 102 is at or within a threshold distance of an ideal coasting location the rec indicator 404 may change colors, pulse, flash or otherwise change and/or alter into a different state to signal the driver. A pulse, for example, extends the duration of the animation on the display to signal to the driver to begin coasting.[P-53]
Payne further teaches a controller configured to receive artifact data from the one or more sensors; identify an artifact that requires vehicle deceleration; set a target distance for the identified artifact; (Paragraph 42)
The coasting guidance system 100 determines the location of a stop event (208). A stop event may be a stop sign, a traffic signal, an accident location and/or a location where traffic is at a standstill. The coasting guidance system 100 may obtain the location of the stop event from navigational map information obtained by the navigation unit 126 from one or more external databases 104 or from one or more sensors 108. The navigation unit 126 may obtain navigational map information including the locations of one or more stop events, such as a stop sign, traffic, or a red traffic signal, from one or more external databases 104 through the network 110. The navigational map information may include real-time traffic signal information. If the navigational map information indicates that the stop event is a traffic light, the coasting guidance system 100 may determine from the real-time traffic signal information the color of the traffic light when the vehicle 102 arrives at the location of the traffic light. If the coasting guidance system 100 determines that the traffic light will be green, the coasting guidance system 100 may disregard the traffic light as a stop event and determine the location of the next stop event. The coasting guidance system 100 may adjust the location of the stop event based on traffic condition information, e.g., if one or more vehicles are stopped at the stop event. The traffic condition information may be obtained from the one or more sensors 108 or from the one or more external databases 104.[P-42]
In some implementations, a sensor 108, such as a front vehicle proximity sensor, may be positioned on the front of the vehicle 102, and may be configured to detect a stop event, such as one or more vehicles in front of the vehicle 102 that are at a standstill. If the one or more vehicles that are at a standstill begin moving, the coasting guidance system 100 may determine the location of the next stop event.[P-43]
Here, Payne illustrates the coastal guidance system acting as a controller configured to receive artifact data from the one or more sensors, in this case the artifact data is one of a stop sign, traffic light signal, or a vehicle in front of the host vehicle. Further identifying the artifact that requires vehicle deceleration (such as a traffic stop sign).
Payne then teaches setting a target distance for the identified artifact and determining a coast down deceleration rate, based on the artifact data, to slow the electric vehicle down to the target distance via regenerative braking (Paragraphs 46, 48,)
The coasting guidance system 100 determines a braking location and a target speed (210). The target speed and/or the braking location may be based on an approach speed determined from statistical analysis of driver behavior patterns associated with eco-braking. The target speed may be in a range of 5-8 mph, for example. The braking location may be based on a specific deceleration rate in which the vehicle 102 maintains regenerative braking. The braking location may be a location that maximizes the amount of energy that is recaptured by the regenerative brakes if the driver initiates braking at the braking location and the vehicle 102 is travelling at the target speed. That is, when the brake is depressed at the braking location and the vehicle 102 is travelling at the target speed, the vehicle 102 achieves full regenerative braking by ensuring that the braking power requested by the driver does not exceed the maximum regenerative power limit which maximizes the amount of energy that is captured by the regenerative brakes.[P-46]
The coasting guidance system 100 determines an ideal coasting location based on a current speed of the vehicle 102 and the braking location (212). The ideal coasting location is the location that maximizes coasting of the vehicle 102 to decelerate to the target speed at the braking location. The coasting guidance system 100 determines an ideal coasting location by calculating the distance needed for the vehicle 102 to decelerate using a pre-set deceleration drive force to reach the target speed at the braking location. The pre-set deceleration drive force may be based on a deceleration map and the current speed of the vehicle 102. In some implementations, the braking location and the location of the stop event are the same location, and the target speed is 0 mph.[P-48]
When the coasting guidance system 100 determines that the current location of the vehicle 102 is at or within the threshold distance of the determined ideal coasting location, the coasting guidance system 100 may cause the rec indicator 404 to pulse or otherwise change and/or alter a state to notify the driver to begin to coast. The coasting guidance system 100 may determine whether the size of the rec indicator 404 and/or the recommended amount or percentage of total vehicle power, Bar, when the vehicle 102 is at or within a threshold distance of the ideal coasting location, otherwise known as InitPt, is less than a threshold value (312). The initial point, InitPt, is the size of the rec indicator, Bar, and/or the recommended amount or percentage of total vehicle power at or within a threshold distance of the ideal coasting location[P-56]
Here, though Payne does not used the exact wording of “setting a target distance for the identified artifact and determining a coast down deceleration rate”, the discussed threshold distance represents the target distance required of the vehicle to enable its coastal deceleration before arriving at the stop event/determined artifact using regenerative braking. Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that Payne’s teaching may be substituted for the pending applications to yield the same synonymous results, that is, and determining a coast down deceleration rate, based on the artifact data, to slow the electric vehicle down to the target distance via regenerative braking.
Payne also teaches notifying the driver via the HMI to initiate a coast down when the electric vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold deceleration rate to slow the electric vehicle down to the target distance by the determined coast down deceleration rate. (Paragraphs 57)
The coasting guidance system 100 may cause the rec indicator 404 to pulse or otherwise change and/or alter a state to notify the driver to begin to coast. If the size of the rec indicator 404 and/or the recommended amount or percentage of total vehicle power is less than the threshold value, otherwise known as a short bar condition, the coasting guidance system 100 may cause the rec indicator 404 to pulse to inform the driver to begin to coast. If the size of the rec indicator 404 and/or the recommended amount or percentage of total vehicle power is greater than or equal to the threshold value, otherwise known as a long bar condition, the coasting guidance system 100 asymptotically decreases the size of the rec indicator 404 and/or the recommended amount or percentage of total vehicle power without initially pulsing to inform the driver to begin coast. By decreasing the size of the rec indicator 404, the coasting guidance system 100 indicates to the driver to release the accelerator. The threshold value may be pre-set. The threshold value may be, for example, 50%. FIG. 5 illustrates graphically an example of the pulsing of the rec indicator 404.[P-57]
In regards to claim 2, Payne teaches the controller notifies the driver to initiate the coast down with a first graphical symbol indicating for the driver to remove their foot from an accelerator pedal (Paragraph 15, 52; Figure 4)
FIG. 4 is an example illustration of a graphical user interface of the indicator that notifies the driver to begin to coast according to an aspect of the invention.[P-15]
The coasting guidance system 100 may render a display having one or more indicators (308). FIG. 4 illustrates a display 400 having one or more indicators 402, 404. The one or more indicators may provide coasting guidance to the driver of the vehicle 102, such as an indication to begin coasting, an indication of the current applied acceleration of the vehicle 102 and/or an indication of the recommended acceleration input to maintain the current speed of the vehicle 102. The coasting guidance system 100 may determine the current applied acceleration of the vehicle 102 based on the acceleration input information obtained from the one or more sensors 108. The applied acceleration indicator 402 may show the applied amount or percentage of acceleration, and the recommended acceleration indicator 404 (“rec indicator”) may show the recommended amount or percentage of total vehicle power to attain to maintain the current speed of the vehicle 102.[P-52]
In regards to claim 14, Payne teaches a method for initiating a dynamically adjusting a coast down of an electric vehicle having an electrified powertrain including an electric motor that provides drive torque to a driveline and regenerative braking energy to a battery system during a deceleration event(Paragraphs 22, 28)
The coasting guidance system 100 may be included in a vehicle 102 and connected to one or more external databases 104 through a network 110. A vehicle 102 is a conveyance capable of transporting a person, an object, or a permanently or temporarily affixed apparatus. A vehicle 102 may be a self-propelled wheeled conveyance, such as a car, sports utility vehicle, truck, bus, van or other motor or battery driven vehicle. For example, the vehicle 102 may be an electric vehicle, a hybrid vehicle, a plug-in hybrid vehicle or any other type of vehicle that includes a motor 118 and/or generator 128. Other examples of vehicles include bicycles, trains, planes, or boats, and any other form of conveyance that is capable of transportation. The vehicle 102 may be semi-autonomous or autonomous. That is, the vehicle 102 may be self-maneuvering and navigate without human input. An autonomous vehicle may use one or more sensors 108 and/or navigation unit 126 to drive autonomously.[P-22]
The vehicle 102 may include an engine 114, a motor 118, a generator 128, a battery 120 and a battery management and control unit (BMCU) 116. The motor 118 and/or the generator 128 may be an electric motor and an electric generator that converts electrical energy into mechanical power, such as torque, and converts mechanical power into electrical energy. The motor 118 and/or the generator 128 may be coupled to the battery 120. The motor 118 and/or the generator 128 may convert the energy from the battery 120 into mechanical power, and may provide energy back to the battery 120, for example, via regenerative braking. The engine 114 combusts fuel to provide power instead of and/or in addition to the power supplied by the motor 118 and/or the generator 128.[P-28]
Here the electric vehicle comprise a generator acting as the power train, in that it provides power to the electric motor as well as provides drive torque to the vehicle’s driveline, with regenerative braking energy being provided to the battery system of the vehicle during a deceleration event.
Payne then teaches one or more sensors configured to detect artifacts in an environment in front of the electric vehicle(Paragraph 34)
The one or more sensors 108 may be coupled to the ECU 112 and include a vehicle speed sensor, an acceleration input sensor, a brake sensor, and/or one or more proximity sensors. The vehicle speed sensor measures the speed of the vehicle 102, for example, by measuring the total revolutions of the wheel per minute. The brake sensor measures the amount of pressure applied to the brake pedal. The acceleration input sensor measures the amount of pressure applied to the accelerator pedal. The one or more proximity sensors may be positioned on the front and/or the rear of the vehicle 102 to detect surrounding vehicles and/or objects that are within a threshold distance of the vehicle 102 in the front and/or the back of the vehicle 102, respectively. The proximity sensor may use a radar, a camera, vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) communication or other means to detect and/or measure a distance to the other vehicles or objects. The one or more sensors 108 may include one or more cameras that may be used to identify a driver to determine driver specific configurations to control the vehicle 102.[P-34]
Here we see Payne disclose one or more proximity sensors that configured to detect objects/artifacts in an environment in front of the vehicle
Furthermore, Payne teaches a human machine interface (HMI), such as a display interface (Paragraphs 21, 52)
Coasting involves the propulsion of the vehicle 102 without the use of fuel or electrical energy. Other forms of energy, such as inertia or gravity, may propel the vehicle 102. The coasting guidance system 100 may provide coasting information to a driver through the user interface 130, e.g., a display. The coasting information may include notifications, such as a notification that indicates to the driver to begin coasting, energy and mileage information related to the coasting, and/or distance information to an ideal coasting location and/or a braking location. The coasting guidance system 100 may control a deceleration drive force that controls the deceleration of a vehicle 102 while coasting.[P-21]
The coasting guidance system 100 may use a single indicator to provide multiple different indications. A single indicator may provide multiple different indications by altering and/or changing a state of the indicator, such as change colors, flash, pulse, change shape or otherwise change and/or alter the indicator. For example, initially, the rec indicator 404 may have a filled region 405 and an unfilled region 406. The filled region 405 may represent the amount or percentage of total vehicle power that the coasting guidance system 100 recommends to apply to maintain the current speed of the vehicle 102, and the unfilled region 406 may represent the total amount or percentage of total vehicle power that may be applied. If the vehicle 102 is at or within a threshold distance of an ideal coasting location the rec indicator 404 may change colors, pulse, flash or otherwise change and/or alter into a different state to signal the driver. A pulse, for example, extends the duration of the animation on the display to signal to the driver to begin coasting.[P-53]
the method comprising: receiving, by a controller, artifact data from the one or more sensors; identifying, by the controller, an artifact that requires vehicle deceleration; setting, by the controller, a target distance for the identified artifact(Paragraph 42)
The coasting guidance system 100 determines the location of a stop event (208). A stop event may be a stop sign, a traffic signal, an accident location and/or a location where traffic is at a standstill. The coasting guidance system 100 may obtain the location of the stop event from navigational map information obtained by the navigation unit 126 from one or more external databases 104 or from one or more sensors 108. The navigation unit 126 may obtain navigational map information including the locations of one or more stop events, such as a stop sign, traffic, or a red traffic signal, from one or more external databases 104 through the network 110. The navigational map information may include real-time traffic signal information. If the navigational map information indicates that the stop event is a traffic light, the coasting guidance system 100 may determine from the real-time traffic signal information the color of the traffic light when the vehicle 102 arrives at the location of the traffic light. If the coasting guidance system 100 determines that the traffic light will be green, the coasting guidance system 100 may disregard the traffic light as a stop event and determine the location of the next stop event. The coasting guidance system 100 may adjust the location of the stop event based on traffic condition information, e.g., if one or more vehicles are stopped at the stop event. The traffic condition information may be obtained from the one or more sensors 108 or from the one or more external databases 104.[P-42]
In some implementations, a sensor 108, such as a front vehicle proximity sensor, may be positioned on the front of the vehicle 102, and may be configured to detect a stop event, such as one or more vehicles in front of the vehicle 102 that are at a standstill. If the one or more vehicles that are at a standstill begin moving, the coasting guidance system 100 may determine the location of the next stop event.[P-43]
Here, Payne illustrates the coastal guidance system acting as a controller configured to receive artifact data from the one or more sensors, in this case the artifact data is one of a stop sign, traffic light signal, or a vehicle in front of the host vehicle. Further identifying the artifact that requires vehicle deceleration (such as a traffic stop sign).
Payne then teaches setting a target distance for the identified artifact and determining a coast down deceleration rate, based on the artifact data, to slow the electric vehicle down to the target distance via regenerative braking (Paragraphs 46, 48,)
The coasting guidance system 100 determines a braking location and a target speed (210). The target speed and/or the braking location may be based on an approach speed determined from statistical analysis of driver behavior patterns associated with eco-braking. The target speed may be in a range of 5-8 mph, for example. The braking location may be based on a specific deceleration rate in which the vehicle 102 maintains regenerative braking. The braking location may be a location that maximizes the amount of energy that is recaptured by the regenerative brakes if the driver initiates braking at the braking location and the vehicle 102 is travelling at the target speed. That is, when the brake is depressed at the braking location and the vehicle 102 is travelling at the target speed, the vehicle 102 achieves full regenerative braking by ensuring that the braking power requested by the driver does not exceed the maximum regenerative power limit which maximizes the amount of energy that is captured by the regenerative brakes.[P-46]
The coasting guidance system 100 determines an ideal coasting location based on a current speed of the vehicle 102 and the braking location (212). The ideal coasting location is the location that maximizes coasting of the vehicle 102 to decelerate to the target speed at the braking location. The coasting guidance system 100 determines an ideal coasting location by calculating the distance needed for the vehicle 102 to decelerate using a pre-set deceleration drive force to reach the target speed at the braking location. The pre-set deceleration drive force may be based on a deceleration map and the current speed of the vehicle 102. In some implementations, the braking location and the location of the stop event are the same location, and the target speed is 0 mph.[P-48]
When the coasting guidance system 100 determines that the current location of the vehicle 102 is at or within the threshold distance of the determined ideal coasting location, the coasting guidance system 100 may cause the rec indicator 404 to pulse or otherwise change and/or alter a state to notify the driver to begin to coast. The coasting guidance system 100 may determine whether the size of the rec indicator 404 and/or the recommended amount or percentage of total vehicle power, Bar, when the vehicle 102 is at or within a threshold distance of the ideal coasting location, otherwise known as InitPt, is less than a threshold value (312). The initial point, InitPt, is the size of the rec indicator, Bar, and/or the recommended amount or percentage of total vehicle power at or within a threshold distance of the ideal coasting location[P-56]
Here, though Payne does not used the exact wording of “setting a target distance for the identified artifact and determining a coast down deceleration rate”, the discussed threshold distance represents the target distance required of the vehicle to enable its coastal deceleration before arriving at the stop event/determined artifact using regenerative braking. Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that Payne’s teaching may be substituted for the pending applications to yield the same synonymous results, that is, and determining a coast down deceleration rate, based on the artifact data, to slow the electric vehicle down to the target distance via regenerative braking.
Payne also teaches notifying the driver via the HMI to initiate a coast down when the electric vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold deceleration rate to slow the electric vehicle down to the target distance by the determined coast down deceleration rate. (Paragraphs 57)
The coasting guidance system 100 may cause the rec indicator 404 to pulse or otherwise change and/or alter a state to notify the driver to begin to coast. If the size of the rec indicator 404 and/or the recommended amount or percentage of total vehicle power is less than the threshold value, otherwise known as a short bar condition, the coasting guidance system 100 may cause the rec indicator 404 to pulse to inform the driver to begin to coast. If the size of the rec indicator 404 and/or the recommended amount or percentage of total vehicle power is greater than or equal to the threshold value, otherwise known as a long bar condition, the coasting guidance system 100 asymptotically decreases the size of the rec indicator 404 and/or the recommended amount or percentage of total vehicle power without initially pulsing to inform the driver to begin coast. By decreasing the size of the rec indicator 404, the coasting guidance system 100 indicates to the driver to release the accelerator. The threshold value may be pre-set. The threshold value may be, for example, 50%. FIG. 5 illustrates graphically an example of the pulsing of the rec indicator 404.[P-57]
In regards to claim 15, Payne teaches notifying the driver to initiate a coast down includes displaying a first graphical symbol indicating for the driver to remove their foot from an accelerator pedal(Paragraph 15, 52; Figure 4)
FIG. 4 is an example illustration of a graphical user interface of the indicator that notifies the driver to begin to coast according to an aspect of the invention.[P-15]
The coasting guidance system 100 may render a display having one or more indicators (308). FIG. 4 illustrates a display 400 having one or more indicators 402, 404. The one or more indicators may provide coasting guidance to the driver of the vehicle 102, such as an indication to begin coasting, an indication of the current applied acceleration of the vehicle 102 and/or an indication of the recommended acceleration input to maintain the current speed of the vehicle 102. The coasting guidance system 100 may determine the current applied acceleration of the vehicle 102 based on the acceleration input information obtained from the one or more sensors 108. The applied acceleration indicator 402 may show the applied amount or percentage of acceleration, and the recommended acceleration indicator 404 (“rec indicator”) may show the recommended amount or percentage of total vehicle power to attain to maintain the current speed of the vehicle 102.[P-52]
In regards to claim 17, Payne teaches the HMI is an instrument panel cluster (Paragraphs 21, 52; Figure 4)
The coasting guidance system 100 may provide coasting information to a driver through the user interface 130, e.g., a display. The coasting information may include notifications, such as a notification that indicates to the driver to begin coasting, energy and mileage information related to the coasting, and/or distance information to an ideal coasting location and/or a braking location. The coasting guidance system 100 may control a deceleration drive force that controls the deceleration of a vehicle 102 while coasting.[P-21]
The coasting guidance system 100 may render a display having one or more indicators (308). FIG. 4 illustrates a display 400 having one or more indicators 402, 404. The one or more indicators may provide coasting guidance to the driver of the vehicle 102, such as an indication to begin coasting, an indication of the current applied acceleration of the vehicle 102 and/or an indication of the recommended acceleration input to maintain the current speed of the vehicle 102. The coasting guidance system 100 may determine the current applied acceleration of the vehicle 102 based on the acceleration input information obtained from the one or more sensors 108. The applied acceleration indicator 402 may show the applied amount or percentage of acceleration, and the recommended acceleration indicator 404 (“rec indicator”) may show the recommended amount or percentage of total vehicle power to attain to maintain the current speed of the vehicle 102.[P-52]
Claim(s) 3-6, 8-11 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Payne (US 20180118189 A1) in view of Comana et al. (WO 2024058922 A1)
In regards to claim 3, Payne fails to teach the controller is further configured to notify the driver to initiate the coast down with a second graphical symbol indicating a type of the identified artifact to thereby visually indicate to the driver what type of artifact is prompting the coast down.
Comana on the other hand teaches a second graphical symbol indicating a type of the identified artifact to thereby visually indicate to the driver what type of artifact is prompting the vehicular slow down requirement (Paragraph 68)
Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, individual or groups of proximity zones 120 and corresponding graphical proximity zones 120 may be associated with one or more OASs and/or sensors. Data detected from sensors and systems of sensing and control system 152, and related OASs may be received and processed by a controller or processor, such ECM 136, to determine whether an object is in, near or approaching a particular predetermined proximity zone 120. ECM 136 or a related imaging system of, or in communication with, device 100 causes a display characteristic of the corresponding graphical proximity zone 118 to be changed or updated to visually indicate to an operator of the motorcycle 108 that a potential hazard exists, or to indicate other information. Such display characteristics or visual indications related to warnings may include one or more of changing a color of all or part of the zone, e.g., from green, yellow or orange to red, causing the graphical proximity zone 118 to flash on and off, changing a brightness, changing a graphical zone size, e.g., enlarging the zone, displaying an addition graphical icon on or near the relevant zone, such as a vehicle icon, pedestrian icon, object icon, adding a textual message, e.g., “warning,” “slow down,” etc., and other such indications, either alone or in combination. Such visual indications displayed as part of proximity UI 106, in an embodiment, may also be accompanied by auditory indications, such as electronic or verbal warning messages played over speakers or a communications system.[P-68]
It would be obvious to of ordinary skill in the art to combine Comana’s warning display with Payne’s coast down warning display in order to optimize and improve the warning output, such that the a more effective notification/warning is communicated to the driver/operator of the vehicle.
In regards to claim 4, Payne modified via Comana teaches the second graphical symbol is a vehicle ahead sign indicating the artifact prompting the coast down is another vehicle in front of the electric vehicle (Paragraph 68)
Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, individual or groups of proximity zones 120 and corresponding graphical proximity zones 120 may be associated with one or more OASs and/or sensors. Data detected from sensors and systems of sensing and control system 152, and related OASs may be received and processed by a controller or processor, such ECM 136, to determine whether an object is in, near or approaching a particular predetermined proximity zone 120. ECM 136 or a related imaging system of, or in communication with, device 100 causes a display characteristic of the corresponding graphical proximity zone 118 to be changed or updated to visually indicate to an operator of the motorcycle 108 that a potential hazard exists, or to indicate other information. Such display characteristics or visual indications related to warnings may include one or more of changing a color of all or part of the zone, e.g., from green, yellow or orange to red, causing the graphical proximity zone 118 to flash on and off, changing a brightness, changing a graphical zone size, e.g., enlarging the zone, displaying an addition graphical icon on or near the relevant zone, such as a vehicle icon, pedestrian icon, object icon, adding a textual message, e.g., “warning,” “slow down,” etc., and other such indications, either alone or in combination. Such visual indications displayed as part of proximity UI 106, in an embodiment, may also be accompanied by auditory indications, such as electronic or verbal warning messages played over speakers or a communications system.[P-68]
In regards to claim 5, Payne modified via Comana teaches the second graphical symbol is a speed limit sign indicating the artifact prompting the coast down is a posted speed limit of a road the electric vehicle is traveling on (Paragraph 60)
ECM 136 is also in electrical communication with vehicle-proximity user interface device 100. As described further below, ECM 136, in an embodiment, is configured to receive the various data inputs from the sensors and systems of sensing and control system 152, e.g., IMU 142, rear and front sensors 132, 146, and so on, and motorcycle 108 operator, then based on this data, define motorcycle-proximity region 124 with proximity zones 120, as well as graphical motorcycle-proximity map 108 with graphical proximity zones 118. In an embodiment, ECM 136 also controls the display of map 116 with graphical proximity zones 118, including the display of relevant hazards, approaching vehicles, roadway information, vehicle operations and so on. As part of this control, and as described further below, ECM 136 may also determine and configure display parameters of map 116 and graphical proximity zones 118, such as displayed size, shape and colors, and warning information. Warning and other information, displayed in various graphical and/or textual forms, may relate to blind spot detection, tailgate warning, rear collision warning, forward collision warning, road sign detection for speed limits and traffic control, wildlife detection and warning, group ride aid information, and more.[P-60]
In regards to claim 6, Payne modified via Comana teaches the second graphical symbol is a ramp or exit sign indicating the artifact prompting the coast down is the vehicle is approaching or leaving a different type of road(Paragraph 60)
ECM 136 is also in electrical communication with vehicle-proximity user interface device 100. As described further below, ECM 136, in an embodiment, is configured to receive the various data inputs from the sensors and systems of sensing and control system 152, e.g., IMU 142, rear and front sensors 132, 146, and so on, and motorcycle 108 operator, then based on this data, define motorcycle-proximity region 124 with proximity zones 120, as well as graphical motorcycle-proximity map 108 with graphical proximity zones 118. In an embodiment, ECM 136 also controls the display of map 116 with graphical proximity zones 118, including the display of relevant hazards, approaching vehicles, roadway information, vehicle operations and so on. As part of this control, and as described further below, ECM 136 may also determine and configure display parameters of map 116 and graphical proximity zones 118, such as displayed size, shape and colors, and warning information. Warning and other information, displayed in various graphical and/or textual forms, may relate to blind spot detection, tailgate warning, rear collision warning, forward collision warning, road sign detection for speed limits and traffic control, wildlife detection and warning, group ride aid information, and more.[P-60]
In regards to claim 8, Payne modified via Comana teaches the second graphical symbol is a road curve sign indicating the artifact prompting the coast down is a curved road section the electric vehicle is approaching (Paragraphs 60, 67, 69)
ECM 136 is also in electrical communication with vehicle-proximity user interface device 100. As described further below, ECM 136, in an embodiment, is configured to receive the various data inputs from the sensors and systems of sensing and control system 152, e.g., IMU 142, rear and front sensors 132, 146, and so on, and motorcycle 108 operator, then based on this data, define motorcycle-proximity region 124 with proximity zones 120, as well as graphical motorcycle-proximity map 108 with graphical proximity zones 118. In an embodiment, ECM 136 also controls the display of map 116 with graphical proximity zones 118, including the display of relevant hazards, approaching vehicles, roadway information, vehicle operations and so on. As part of this control, and as described further below, ECM 136 may also determine and configure display parameters of map 116 and graphical proximity zones 118, such as displayed size, shape and colors, and warning information. Warning and other information, displayed in various graphical and/or textual forms, may relate to blind spot detection, tailgate warning, rear collision warning, forward collision warning, road sign detection for speed limits and traffic control, wildlife detection and warning, group ride aid information, and more.[P-60]
As described above, in an embodiment, one purpose of defining proximity zones 120 and displaying corresponding graphical proximity zones 118 is to inform an operator of motorcycle 108 of objects in, near or approaching proximity zones 120. Such objects may include moving objects, such as moving vehicles, pedestrians, wildlife, or even moving inanimate objects. In an embodiment, detected objects may be stationary objects that present a potential hazard to motorcycle 108 and its operator, such as road debris. In other embodiments, detected objects may be stationary objects that do not present a potential hazard to motorcycle 108 and its operator, such as road signs, lane markers, and so on.[P-67]
Information detected from sensors and OASs of system 152 may also be used to convey information via proximity UI 106 that is not necessarily related to a potential hazard, such as road speed limits, upcoming traffic control signs, motorcycle 108 current speed, and so on, by detecting road signs using front and/or rear cameras. Such non-hazard information may be presented in a predetermined, particular graphical proximity zone 118, or may be presented elsewhere in window 110, such as in a central window area 110b, to the left or right of motorcycle icon 122, so as to avoid interference with display of graphical proximity zones 118.[P-69]
Comana teaches the warning/indicator display include detecting and displaying road signs for traffic control, i.e. by obviousness road curve sign
In regards to claim 9, Payne modified via Comana teaches the second graphical symbol is an intersection sign indicating the artifact prompting the coast down is an intersection the electric vehicle is approaching (Paragraphs 60, 67, 69)
ECM 136 is also in electrical communication with vehicle-proximity user interface device 100. As described further below, ECM 136, in an embodiment, is configured to receive the various data inputs from the sensors and systems of sensing and control system 152, e.g., IMU 142, rear and front sensors 132, 146, and so on, and motorcycle 108 operator, then based on this data, define motorcycle-proximity region 124 with proximity zones 120, as well as graphical motorcycle-proximity map 108 with graphical proximity zones 118. In an embodiment, ECM 136 also controls the display of map 116 with graphical proximity zones 118, including the display of relevant hazards, approaching vehicles, roadway information, vehicle operations and so on. As part of this control, and as described further below, ECM 136 may also determine and configure display parameters of map 116 and graphical proximity zones 118, such as displayed size, shape and colors, and warning information. Warning and other information, displayed in various graphical and/or textual forms, may relate to blind spot detection, tailgate warning, rear collision warning, forward collision warning, road sign detection for speed limits and traffic control, wildlife detection and warning, group ride aid information, and more.[P-60]
As described above, in an embodiment, one purpose of defining proximity zones 120 and displaying corresponding graphical proximity zones 118 is to inform an operator of motorcycle 108 of objects in, near or approaching proximity zones 120. Such objects may include moving objects, such as moving vehicles, pedestrians, wildlife, or even moving inanimate objects. In an embodiment, detected objects may be stationary objects that present a potential hazard to motorcycle 108 and its operator, such as road debris. In other embodiments, detected objects may be stationary objects that do not present a potential hazard to motorcycle 108 and its operator, such as road signs, lane markers, and so on.[P-67]
Information detected from sensors and OASs of system 152 may also be used to convey information via proximity UI 106 that is not necessarily related to a potential hazard, such as road speed limits, upcoming traffic control signs, motorcycle 108 current speed, and so on, by detecting road signs using front and/or rear cameras. Such non-hazard information may be presented in a predetermined, particular graphical proximity zone 118, or may be presented elsewhere in window 110, such as in a central window area 110b, to the left or right of motorcycle icon 122, so as to avoid interference with display of graphical proximity zones 118.[P-69]
Comana teaches the warning/indicator display include detecting and displaying road signs for traffic control, i.e. by obviousness intersection sign(s)
In regards to claim 10, Payne via Comana teaches the second graphical symbol is a traffic sign indicating the artifact prompting the coast down is a traffic sign the electric vehicle is approaching (Paragraphs 60, 67, 69)
ECM 136 is also in electrical communication with vehicle-proximity user interface device 100. As described further below, ECM 136, in an embodiment, is configured to receive the various data inputs from the sensors and systems of sensing and control system 152, e.g., IMU 142, rear and front sensors 132, 146, and so on, and motorcycle 108 operator, then based on this data, define motorcycle-proximity region 124 with proximity zones 120, as well as graphical motorcycle-proximity map 108 with graphical proximity zones 118. In an embodiment, ECM 136 also controls the display of map 116 with graphical proximity zones 118, including the display of relevant hazards, approaching vehicles, roadway information, vehicle operations and so on. As part of this control, and as described further below, ECM 136 may also determine and configure display parameters of map 116 and graphical proximity zones 118, such as displayed size, shape and colors, and warning information. Warning and other information, displayed in various graphical and/or textual forms, may relate to blind spot detection, tailgate warning, rear collision warning, forward collision warning, road sign detection for speed limits and traffic control, wildlife detection and warning, group ride aid information, and more.[P-60]
As described above, in an embodiment, one purpose of defining proximity zones 120 and displaying corresponding graphical proximity zones 118 is to inform an operator of motorcycle 108 of objects in, near or approaching proximity zones 120. Such objects may include moving objects, such as moving vehicles, pedestrians, wildlife, or even moving inanimate objects. In an embodiment, detected objects may be stationary objects that present a potential hazard to motorcycle 108 and its operator, such as road debris. In other embodiments, detected objects may be stationary objects that do not present a potential hazard to motorcycle 108 and its operator, such as road signs, lane markers, and so on.[P-67]
Information detected from sensors and OASs of system 152 may also be used to convey information via proximity UI 106 that is not necessarily related to a potential hazard, such as road speed limits, upcoming traffic control signs, motorcycle 108 current speed, and so on, by detecting road signs using front and/or rear cameras. Such non-hazard information may be presented in a predetermined, particular graphical proximity zone 118, or may be presented elsewhere in window 110, such as in a central window area 110b, to the left or right of motorcycle icon 122, so as to avoid interference with display of graphical proximity zones 118.[P-69]
Comana teaches the warning/indicator display include detecting and displaying road signs for traffic control, i.e. by obviousness traffic sign(s)
In regards to claim 11, Payne modified teaches the HMI is an instrument panel cluster (Paragraphs 21, 52; Figure 4)
The coasting guidance system 100 may provide coasting information to a driver through the user interface 130, e.g., a display. The coasting information may include notifications, such as a notification that indicates to the driver to begin coasting, energy and mileage information related to the coasting, and/or distance information to an ideal coasting location and/or a braking location. The coasting guidance system 100 may control a deceleration drive force that controls the deceleration of a vehicle 102 while coasting.[P-21]
The coasting guidance system 100 may render a display having one or more indicators (308). FIG. 4 illustrates a display 400 having one or more indicators 402, 404. The one or more indicators may provide coasting guidance to the driver of the vehicle 102, such as an indication to begin coasting, an indication of the current applied acceleration of the vehicle 102 and/or an indication of the recommended acceleration input to maintain the current speed of the vehicle 102. The coasting guidance system 100 may determine the current applied acceleration of the vehicle 102 based on the acceleration input information obtained from the one or more sensors 108. The applied acceleration indicator 402 may show the applied amount or percentage of acceleration, and the recommended acceleration indicator 404 (“rec indicator”) may show the recommended amount or percentage of total vehicle power to attain to maintain the current speed of the vehicle 102.[P-52]
In regards to claim 16, Payne fails to teach the controller is further configured to notify the driver to initiate the coast down with a second graphical symbol indicating a type of the identified artifact to thereby visually indicate to the driver what type of artifact is prompting the coast down.
Comana on the other hand teaches a second graphical symbol indicating a type of the identified artifact to thereby visually indicate to the driver what type of artifact is prompting the vehicular slow down requirement (Paragraph 68)
Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, individual or groups of proximity zones 120 and corresponding graphical proximity zones 120 may be associated with one or more OASs and/or sensors. Data detected from sensors and systems of sensing and control system 152, and related OASs may be received and processed by a controller or processor, such ECM 136, to determine whether an object is in, near or approaching a particular predetermined proximity zone 120. ECM 136 or a related imaging system of, or in communication with, device 100 causes a display characteristic of the corresponding graphical proximity zone 118 to be changed or updated to visually indicate to an operator of the motorcycle 108 that a potential hazard exists, or to indicate other information. Such display characteristics or visual indications related to warnings may include one or more of changing a color of all or part of the zone, e.g., from green, yellow or orange to red, causing the graphical proximity zone 118 to flash on and off, changing a brightness, changing a graphical zone size, e.g., enlarging the zone, displaying an addition graphical icon on or near the relevant zone, such as a vehicle icon, pedestrian icon, object icon, adding a textual message, e.g., “warning,” “slow down,” etc., and other such indications, either alone or in combination. Such visual indications displayed as part of proximity UI 106, in an embodiment, may also be accompanied by auditory indications, such as electronic or verbal warning messages played over speakers or a communications system.[P-68]
It would be obvious to of ordinary skill in the art to combine Comana’s warning display with Payne’s coast down warning display in order to optimize and improve the warning output, such that the a more effective notification/warning is communicated to the driver/operator of the vehicle.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Payne (US 20180118189 A1) in view of Comana et al. (WO 2024058922 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Jan (US 20120206250 A1).
In regards to claim 7, Payne modified fails to teach the second graphical symbol is a change of grade sign indicating the artifact prompting the coast down is a change of grade of the road the electric vehicle is traveling on.
Jan on the other hand teaches graphical symbol is a change of grade sign indicating the artifact prompting the slowdown is a change of grade of the road the electric vehicle is traveling on (Claim 1)
A speed bump alerting system, comprising: a radio frequency identifier (RFID) interrogator adapted for mounting in a vehicle, the RFID interrogator being operable to send a speed bump notification signal when the vehicle approaches a speed bump having a corresponding RFID tag mounted in proximity thereto; a computer on-board the vehicle operably connected to the RFID interrogator, the computer being programmed to accept the speed bump notification signal from the RFID interrogator, and to issue commands turning on transducers to warn a driver of the vehicle of proximity to the speed bump; a display unit in the vehicle operably connected to the computer, the display turning on a visual alert warning the driver of proximity to the speed bump in response to the computer's command; an audio unit mounted in the vehicle, the audio unit being operably connected to the computer, the audio unit emitting an audible warning to the driver of the vehicle of proximity to the speed bump in response to the computer's command; an external antenna operably connected to the RFID interrogator, the external antenna being adapted for mounting on any suitable exterior place of the vehicle's body and configured for transmitting and receiving signals on a frequency common to the interrogator and the RFID tag; and a power source mounted in the vehicle, the interrogator being energized by the power source.[Cl-1]
It would be obvious to of ordinary skill in the art to combine Jan’s warning display with Payne modified’s coast down warning display in order to optimize and improve the warning output, such that the a more effective notification/warning is communicated to the driver/operator of the vehicle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 are allowed.
Claim 12, reads as follows, “An electric vehicle, comprising: an electrified powertrain including an electric motor that provides drive torque to a driveline, the electric motor further providing regenerative braking energy to a battery system during a deceleration event; one or more sensors configured to detect artifacts in an environment in front of the electric vehicle; a human machine interface (HMI); and a controller configured to: receive artifact data from the one or more sensors; identify an artifact that requires vehicle deceleration; set a target distance for the identified artifact; determine a coast down deceleration rate, based on the artifact data, to slow the electric vehicle down to the target distance via regenerative braking; and notify the driver via the HMI to initiate a coast down when the electric vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold deceleration rate to slow the electric vehicle down to the target distance by the determined coast down deceleration rate, wherein the one or more sensors comprise: a first sensor that senses dynamic artifact data and provides a first signal indicative of the dynamic artifact data; and a second sensor that senses one of static and pseudo-static artifact data and provides a second signal indicative of the static and pseudo-static artifact data, wherein the controller is further configured to: receive a current velocity of the vehicle; determine first and second candidate deceleration rates based on the first and second signals; estimate a first proposed change in velocity over a first time based on the first and second deceleration rates; determine a second proposed change in velocity over a second time based on the first proposed change in velocity; determine a proposed total distance travelled by the vehicle based on the second proposed change in velocity; and determine whether a target velocity has been reached based on the proposed total distance.”
The claimed limitations that read as follows,” The electric vehicle of claim 1, wherein the one or more sensors comprise: a first sensor that senses dynamic artifact data and provides a first signal indicative of the dynamic artifact data; and a second sensor that senses one of static and pseudo-static artifact data and provides a second signal indicative of the static and pseudo-static artifact data, wherein the controller is further configured to: receive a current velocity of the vehicle; determine first and second candidate deceleration rates based on the first and second signals; estimate a first proposed change in velocity over a first time based on the first and second deceleration rates; determine a second proposed change in velocity over a second time based on the first proposed change in velocity; determine a proposed total distance travelled by the vehicle based on the second proposed change in velocity; and determine whether a target velocity has been reached based on the proposed total distance.”
During the time of the filing date, there was no prior art that taught the scope of the limitation in conjunction with its parent claim. Dependent claim 13 is objected for the same rationale.
Claims 18, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 18, the limitations are recited as follows,” The electric vehicle of claim 14, wherein the one or more sensors comprise: a first sensor that senses dynamic artifact data and provides a first signal indicative of the dynamic artifact data; and a second sensor that senses one of static and pseudo-static artifact data and provides a second signal indicative of the static and pseudo-static artifact data, wherein the controller is further configured to: receive a current velocity of the vehicle; determine first and second candidate deceleration rates based on the first and second signals; estimate a first proposed change in velocity over a first time based on the first and second deceleration rates; determine a second proposed change in velocity over a second time based on the first proposed change in velocity; determine a proposed total distance travelled by the vehicle based on the second proposed change in velocity; and determine whether a target velocity has been reached based on the proposed total distance.”
During the time of the filing date, there was no prior art that taught the scope of the limitation in conjunction with its parent claim. Dependent claim 19 is objected for the same rationale.
Regarding claim 20, the limitations are recited as follows,” The electric vehicle of claim 1, wherein the coast down deceleration rate is determined by: computing a predicted distance the electric vehicle will travel at each of an aggressive deceleration rate, a medium deceleration rate, and a low deceleration rate to reach a target velocity; calculating a bias factor based on the target distance relative to the predicted distances; and interpolating the coast down deceleration rate between two of the computed deceleration rates using the bias factor.”
During the time of the filing date, there was no prior art that taught the scope of the limitation in conjunction with its parent claim.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that Payne (US 20180118189 A1) fails to teach or suggest each and every feature of claims 1 and 14. More specifically, Payne fails to describe or suggest to (i) determine a coast down deceleration rate, based on artifact data, and (ii) notify the driver via the HMI to initiate a coast down when the electric vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold deceleration rate.
Applicant further argues Payne discloses that the "ideal coasting location" is determined by "calculating the distance needed for the vehicle 102 to decelerate using a pre-set deceleration drive force to reach the target speed at the braking location" (par. [0048]). Thus, the deceleration force in Payne is pre-set and is derived from a fixed deceleration map based on the current vehicle speed, not from any artifact data, as required by claim 1. The artifact data in Payne (the stop event location) is only used to determine where the stop event is located, not to calculate the deceleration rate. Payne's deceleration rate does not vary based on the type of artifact, the characteristics of the artifact, or any data derived from detecting the artifact. In contrast, Applicant's claimed invention dynamically determines the deceleration rate based on artifact data.
The applicant’s claim language specifically recites, “identify an artifact that requires vehicle deceleration; set a target distance for the identified artifact; determine a coast down deceleration rate, based on the artifact data, to slow the electric vehicle down to the target distance via regenerative braking; and notify the driver via the HMI to initiate a coast down when the electric vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold deceleration rate to slow the electric vehicle down to the target distance by the determined coast down deceleration rate.”
Payne then teaches setting a target distance for the identified artifact and determining a coast down deceleration rate, based on the artifact data, to slow the electric vehicle down to the target distance via regenerative braking (Paragraphs 46, 48,)
The coasting guidance system 100 determines a braking location and a target speed (210). The target speed and/or the braking location may be based on an approach speed determined from statistical analysis of driver behavior patterns associated with eco-braking. The target speed may be in a range of 5-8 mph, for example. The braking location may be based on a specific deceleration rate in which the vehicle 102 maintains regenerative braking. The braking location may be a location that maximizes the amount of energy that is recaptured by the regenerative brakes if the driver initiates braking at the braking location and the vehicle 102 is travelling at the target speed. That is, when the brake is depressed at the braking location and the vehicle 102 is travelling at the target speed, the vehicle 102 achieves full regenerative braking by ensuring that the braking power requested by the driver does not exceed the maximum regenerative power limit which maximizes the amount of energy that is captured by the regenerative brakes.[P-46]
The coasting guidance system 100 determines an ideal coasting location based on a current speed of the vehicle 102 and the braking location (212). The ideal coasting location is the location that maximizes coasting of the vehicle 102 to decelerate to the target speed at the braking location. The coasting guidance system 100 determines an ideal coasting location by calculating the distance needed for the vehicle 102 to decelerate using a pre-set deceleration drive force to reach the target speed at the braking location. The pre-set deceleration drive force may be based on a deceleration map and the current speed of the vehicle 102. In some implementations, the braking location and the location of the stop event are the same location, and the target speed is 0 mph.[P-48]
When the coasting guidance system 100 determines that the current location of the vehicle 102 is at or within the threshold distance of the determined ideal coasting location, the coasting guidance system 100 may cause the rec indicator 404 to pulse or otherwise change and/or alter a state to notify the driver to begin to coast. The coasting guidance system 100 may determine whether the size of the rec indicator 404 and/or the recommended amount or percentage of total vehicle power, Bar, when the vehicle 102 is at or within a threshold distance of the ideal coasting location, otherwise known as InitPt, is less than a threshold value (312). The initial point, InitPt, is the size of the rec indicator, Bar, and/or the recommended amount or percentage of total vehicle power at or within a threshold distance of the ideal coasting location[P-56]
As we see Payne teaches determining the coast down deceleration rate based on the artifact data to slow the electric vehicle down to the target distance via regenerative braking, i.e. the pre-set deceleration drive force is determined according to the current speed relative to the ideal distance to the artifact, therefore although the coastal deceleration force is pre-set, it is not standard to all speed and distances. Thereby the designated pre-set speed is dynamically determined/designated based on the current speed of the vehicle relative to its distance to the said artifact, which obviously are variable parameters in the determination of the designated pre-set deceleration, hence pre-set decelerations are designated for different ranges of speed to distance. Therefore, Payne still reads on the applicant’s limitations
Regarding the applicant’s argument of Payne fails to describe or suggest to notify the driver via the HMI to initiate a coast down when the electric vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold deceleration rate.
Payne also teaches notifying the driver via the HMI to initiate a coast down when the electric vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold deceleration rate to slow the electric vehicle down to the target distance by the determined coast down deceleration rate, i.e. If the size of the rec indicator 404 and/or the recommended amount or percentage of total vehicle power is greater than or equal to the threshold value, otherwise known as a long bar condition, the coasting guidance system 100 asymptotically decreases the size of the rec indicator 404 and/or the recommended amount or percentage of total vehicle power without initially pulsing to inform the driver to begin coast. (P- 57)
The coasting guidance system 100 may cause the rec indicator 404 to pulse or otherwise change and/or alter a state to notify the driver to begin to coast. If the size of the rec indicator 404 and/or the recommended amount or percentage of total vehicle power is less than the threshold value, otherwise known as a short bar condition, the coasting guidance system 100 may cause the rec indicator 404 to pulse to inform the driver to begin to coast. If the size of the rec indicator 404 and/or the recommended amount or percentage of total vehicle power is greater than or equal to the threshold value, otherwise known as a long bar condition, the coasting guidance system 100 asymptotically decreases the size of the rec indicator 404 and/or the recommended amount or percentage of total vehicle power without initially pulsing to inform the driver to begin coast. By decreasing the size of the rec indicator 404, the coasting guidance system 100 indicates to the driver to release the accelerator. The threshold value may be pre-set. The threshold value may be, for example, 50%. FIG. 5 illustrates graphically an example of the pulsing of the rec indicator 404.[P-57]
The applicant goes on to argue that, “this is a rate-based notification trigger. The system determines the required deceleration rate (based on the artifact data) and compares it to a predetermined threshold deceleration rate, notifying the driver when the required rate exceeds the threshold.” However this not recited in the claim language, therefore as currently disclosed, Payne still reads on the claimed limitations.
Regarding the applicants arguments that Payne fails to teach the limitations of claim 2 and 15, specifically, “the controller notifies the driver to initiate the coast down with a first graphical symbol indicating for the driver to remove their foot from an accelerator pedal.”
The applicant argues Payne’s display (FIG. 4) depicts a power-level bar graph (ECO/PWR indicator) that pulses to signal the driver to begin coasting. This is not a graphical symbol indicating for the driver to remove their foot from an accelerator pedal. Payne's indicator communicates a recommended power level, not a specific pictographic instruction to remove one's foot from the accelerator pedal.
Examiner disagrees. Payne teaches a graphical user interface of the indicator that notifies the driver to begin to coast according to an aspect of the invention[P-15]. Further elaborating the coasting guidance system 100 may render a display having one or more indicators (308). FIG. 4 illustrates a display 400 having one or more indicators 402, 404. The one or more indicators may provide coasting guidance to the driver of the vehicle 102, such as an indication to begin coasting, an indication of the current applied acceleration of the vehicle 102 and/or an indication of the recommended acceleration input to maintain the current speed of the vehicle 102. The coasting guidance system 100 may determine the current applied acceleration of the vehicle 102 based on the acceleration input information obtained from the one or more sensors 108. The applied acceleration indicator 402 may show the applied amount or percentage of acceleration, and the recommended acceleration indicator 404 (“rec indicator”) may show the recommended amount or percentage of total vehicle power to attain to maintain the current speed of the vehicle 102.[P-52]
By using a graphical user interface to display to indicate to the driver a recommendation to regulate the operative accelerations using graphical bars is indeed notifying the driver to initiate the coast down with a first graphical symbol indicating for the driver to remove their foot from an accelerator pedal based on the acceleration recommendation, i.e. based on the graphical recommended acceleration to the driver, the driver may then obviously manipulate their foot on the pedal (step-on or release).
Regarding the applicant’s argument pertaining to Payne and Comana et al. (WO 2024058922 A1) failing to teach the limitations of claim 3 and 16, specifically, “ teach the controller is further configured to notify the driver to initiate the coast down with a second graphical symbol indicating a type of the identified artifact to thereby visually indicate to the driver what type of artifact is prompting the coast down”.
Comana specifically teaches a controller or processor, such ECM 136, to determine whether an object is in, near or approaching a particular predetermined proximity zone 120. ECM 136 or a related imaging system of, or in communication with, device 100 causes a display characteristic of the corresponding graphical proximity zone 118 to be changed or updated to visually indicate to an operator of the motorcycle 108 that a potential hazard exists, or to indicate other information. Such display characteristics or visual indications related to warnings may include one or more of changing a color of all or part of the zone, e.g., from green, yellow or orange to red, causing the graphical proximity zone 118 to flash on and off, changing a brightness, changing a graphical zone size, e.g., enlarging the zone, displaying an addition graphical icon on or near the relevant zone, such as a vehicle icon, pedestrian icon, object icon, adding a textual message, e.g., “warning,” “slow down,” etc., and other such indications, either alone or in combination[P-68]
Comana teaches the display of an artifact ahead, i.e. an object, and further notifying/warning the driver to slow down, and thereby when combined with Payne’s display of recommending coastal acceleration and deceleration, the one of ordinary skill in the art may then us the second displays to teach the slowdown/ deceleration warning based on the detected artifact/object.
Regarding the applicant’s arguments pertaining to Payne, Comana, or Jan (US 20120206250 A1).fails to each the limitations of claim 7, specifically, “wherein the second graphical symbol is a change of grade sign indicating the artifact prompting the coast down is a change of grade of the road the electric vehicle is traveling on.”
Jan teaches transducers to warn a driver of the vehicle of proximity to the speed bump; a display unit in the vehicle operably connected to the computer, the display turning on a visual alert warning the driver of proximity to the speed bump in response to the computer's command;[Cl-1]
This is indicative of a change of grade sign indicating the artifact/object is present in the vehicles path and thereby when combined with Payne’s display of recommending coastal acceleration and deceleration, the one of ordinary skill in the art may then us the second displays to teach the slowdown/ deceleration warning based on the detected artifact/object.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY D AFRIFA-KYEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686