DETAILED ACTION
CLEANER
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7,18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(2) as being anticipated by Kenichi (JP6347196B2).
Regarding claim 1, Kenichi teaches A cleaner comprising (abstract):
a main body housing (11, figure 2);
a dust collecting housing (13, figure 1) detachably attached to the main body housing and having an air-intake port (“36 connects the inside and the outside of the dust case 13.”);
a suction assembly (12 and 16, figure 2)housed in the main body housing and configured to generate a suction force to suck in dust with air through the air-intake port;
a first filter unit (37, figure 5) housed in the dust collecting housing, the first filter including a first filter (39, figure 6) to which air sucked through the air-intake port is supplied and a first support member (38, figure 6) that supports the first filter;
a filter support mechanism (42, figure 6)configured to fix the first filter unit to the main body housing at a fixed position in a rotation direction when the first filter unit is rotated in a normal rotation direction with respect to the main body housing; and
a reverse rotation limiting mechanism (43a, figure 5) configured to restrict the first filter unit from being rotated beyond a limit angle from the fixed position in a reverse rotation direction.
Regarding claim 2, Kenichi teaches the filter support mechanism releases (“On the other hand, when removing the filter device 37 from the motor case 12, the operator rotates the filter device 37 in the direction D1 of FIG. Here, the rotational force applied to the filter device 37 is set to a value exceeding the engaging force between the protrusion 43 and the inner surface of the recess 73. Therefore, the filter device 37 rotates clockwise with respect to the motor case 12”) the first filter unit from the main body housing when the first filter unit is rotated by a release angle from the fixed position in the reverse rotation direction.
Regarding claim 3, Kenichi teaches the limit angle includes the release angle. (“On the other hand, when removing the filter device 37 from the motor case 12, the operator rotates the filter device 37 in the direction D1 of FIG. Here, the rotational force applied to the filter device 37 is set to a value exceeding the engaging force between the protrusion 43.”)
Regarding claim 4, Kenichi teaches the first support member includes:
a first rear support part that supports a rear end (see annotated figure )portion of the first filter; and
a collar part (43, figure 5) protruding radially outward from the first rear support part,
the main body housing includes:
a front plate part (31, figure 3) disposed on a front portion of the main body housing and having a suction port;
an inner cylindrical part (70, figure 4) disposed so as to surround the suction port;
an outer cylindrical part (71, figure 4)disposed so as to surround the inner cylindrical part; and
an engagement part protruding (72, figure 4)radially inward from an inner surface of the outer cylindrical part,
the inner cylindrical part (70, figure 4) is surrounded by the first rear support part (see annotated figure below),
the outer cylindrical part (71, figure 4) is surrounded by a rear end portion of the dust collecting housing,
a support groove (44, figure 4) is provided between a rear surface of the engagement part and a front surface of the front plate part (31, figure 4),
the filter support mechanism includes the collar part (53, figure 5), and
the first filter unit is fixed at the fixed position when the first filter unit is rotated in the normal rotation direction with respect to the main body housing and the collar part is inserted into the support groove. (“therefore, the engagement force between the engagement portion 43 of the filter device 37 and the engagement portion 72 of the motor case 12 can be ensured in the direction along the axis A1. Therefore, it is possible to prevent the filter device 37 from being detached from the motor case 12.”)
Regarding claim 5, Kenichi teaches the reverse rotation limiting mechanism includes at least a portion of the first rear support part that makes contact with the engagement part when the first filter unit is in a state of being rotated by the limit angle from the fixed position in the reverse rotation direction . (“The annular portion 42 is fitted into the outer peripheral surface of the sleeve 71.A support groove 44 and an engaging portion 72 are provided on the inner surface of the sleeve 31. The support groove 44 and the engagement portion 72 are provided in the same range in the circumferential direction of the sleeve 31. Furthermore, the recessed part 73 which increased the depth of the support groove 44 locally toward the outer side is provided. When the annular portion 42 is fitted on the outer periphery of the sleeve 71 and the filter device 37 is rotated with respect to the motor case 12,”)
Regarding claim 6, Kenichi teaches a normal rotation limiting mechanism configured to restrict rotation of the first filter unit from the fixed position in the normal rotation direction. (“In addition, the filter device 37 can be prevented from rotating counterclockwise.”)
Regarding claim 7, Kenichi teaches the normal rotation limiting mechanism includes at least a portion of the first rear support part that makes contact with the engagement part when the first filter unit is in a state of being located at the fixed position. (“Here, if dust adheres to the surface of the filter device 37, the frictional force generated when the blade 76 rubs the filter device 37 is larger than the frictional force when no foreign matter adheres to the filter device 37. . However, in this embodiment, since the projections 74 are provided on the sleeve 31, a force is applied to the filter device 37 to rotate counterclockwise in FIG. 6A, that is, in the direction D2. In addition, the filter device 37 can be prevented from rotating counterclockwise.”)
Regarding claim 18, Kenichi teaches a normal rotation limiting mechanism configured to restrict rotation of the first filter unit from the fixed position in the normal rotation direction. (“Here, if dust adheres to the surface of the filter device 37, the frictional force generated when the blade 76 rubs the filter device 37 is larger than the frictional force when no foreign matter adheres to the filter device 37. . However, in this embodiment, since the projections 74 are provided on the sleeve 31, a force is applied to the filter device 37 to rotate counterclockwise in FIG. 6A, that is, in the direction D2. In addition, the filter device 37 can be prevented from rotating counterclockwise.”)
Regarding claim 19, Kenichi teaches a rear end portion of the first support member is elastically deformed so as to bend radially inward when the collar part is inserted into the support groove. (“three mounts 75 are provided on the inner surface of the dust case 13 at intervals in the circumferential direction. The three mounts 75 are provided integrally with the dust case 13. The three mounts 75 are arranged at intervals of 120 degrees in the circumferential direction centering on the axis A1. The mount 75 is disposed in a predetermined length in the direction along the axis A1. The diameter of the inscribed circle of the three mounts 75 is larger than the outer diameter of the filter device 37. The three mounts 75 support the blades 76, respectively. The three blades 76 are respectively formed of a rubber-like elastic body”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kenichi (JP6347196B2) in view Wang (US20230371771A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kenichi teaches all limitations stated above and the first rear support part includes a pair of arc parts (see annotated figure 5) arranged adjacent to the straight parts in the rotation direction, a pair of the collar parts is provided so as to be arranged adjacent to the arc parts in the rotation direction, a pair of the engagement parts (38a, figure 5) is provided in the rotation direction, and the collar parts (43, figures 4-5)are inserted into the support groove when the first filter unit is rotated in the normal rotation direction after the first rear support part is inserted into the outer cylindrical part such that the straight parts and the engagement parts coincide in position with each other, but fails to teach a pair of straight parts arranged at point-symmetrical positions with respect to a rotation axis of the first filter unit and parallel to each other.
Wang teaches a handheld vacuum filter that has a filter assembly that includes a filter assembly and a second filter assembly, that has first rear support that includes a pair of straight parts arranged at point-symmetrical positions with respect to a rotation axis of the first filter unit and parallel to each other (see 2221, figure 38)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kenichi to have a pair of straight parts arranged at point-symmetrical positions with respect to a rotation axis of the first filter unit and parallel to each other based on the teachings of Wang. This modification would help prevent the filter unit from loosening from vacuum main body (see para 0234 of Wang).
Regarding claim 9, modified Kenichi teaches the reverse rotation limiting mechanism includes the straight parts that make contact with the engagement part when the first filter unit is in a state of being rotated by the limit angle from the fixed position in the reverse rotation direction. (see Kenichi “therefore, the filter device 37 can be prevented from being detached from the motor case 12 when the dust case 13 is rotated and removed from the motor case 12.”)
Regarding claim 10, Kenichi teaches all limitations stated above, and the normal rotation limiting mechanism that makes contact with the engagement part when the first filter unit is in a state of being disposed at the fixed position(“Here, if dust adheres to the surface of the filter device 37, the frictional force generated when the blade 76 rubs the filter device 37 is larger than the frictional force when no foreign matter adheres to the filter device 37. . However, in this embodiment, since the projections 74 are provided on the sleeve 31, a force is applied to the filter device 37 to rotate counterclockwise in FIG. 6A, that is, in the direction D2. In addition, the filter device 37 can be prevented from rotating counterclockwise.”),but fails to teach wherein the first rear support part includes an inclined part disposed forward of the collar part and inclined radially inward in the normal rotation direction, and the normal rotation limiting mechanism includes the inclined part that makes contact with the engagement part when the first filter unit is in a state of being disposed at the fixed position.
Wang teaches a handheld vacuum filter that has a filter assembly that includes a filter assembly and a second filter assembly, that has wherein the first rear support part includes an inclined part disposed forward of the collar part and inclined radially inward in the (see annotated figure below and para 0234)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kenichi to have wherein the first rear support part includes an inclined part disposed forward of the collar part and inclined radially inward in the normal rotation direction, and the normal rotation limiting mechanism includes the inclined part that makes contact with the engagement part when the first filter unit is in a state of being disposed at the fixed position based on the teachings of Wang. This modification would help prevent the filter unit from loosening from vacuum main body (see para 0234 of Wang).
Regarding claim 11, Kenichi teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach a second filter unit including a second filter to which air that has passed through the first filter is supplied and a second support member that supports the second filter, wherein the second filter unit is fixed to the first filter unit in a state where the second filter unit is disposed inside the first filter unit.
Wang teaches a handheld vacuum filter that has a filter assembly that includes a filter assembly and a second filter assembly, that has a second filter unit (2211, figure 37) including a second filter (para 0220 – high to which air that has passed through the first filter is supplied and a second support member that supports the second filter, wherein the second filter unit is fixed to the first filter unit in a state where the second filter unit is disposed inside the first filter unit. (para 0220 filter element 2212 arranged in the filter 2211)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kenichi to have a second filter unit including a second filter to which air that has passed through the first filter is supplied and a second support member that supports the second filter, wherein the second filter unit is fixed to the first filter unit in a state where the second filter unit is disposed inside the first filter unit based on the teachings of Wang. This modification would help block nano scale dirt in the dirt cup (see para 0220 of Wang).
Regarding claim 12, Kenichi as modified above teaches the second support member includes a second rear support part (see Wang annotated figure 3) that supports a rear end portion of the second filter, the second rear support part includes a cylinder part and a plurality of protrusions protruding (see Wang figure 37) radially outward from the cylinder part, and the second filter unit is fixed to the first filter unit with the protrusions fitting inside the first rear support part. (see Wang para 0220 filter element 2212 arranged in the filter 2211)
Regarding claim 13, Kenichi as modified above teaches the second support member includes a second rear support part (see annotated figure 3 above) that supports a rear end portion of the second filter, the second rear support part includes a cylinder part and a flange part having an annular shape (see Wang figure 37) and protruding radially outward from the cylinder part, and the second filter unit is fixed to the first filter unit with the flange part fitting inside the first rear support part. (see Wang para 0220 and 0234)
Regarding claim 14, Kenichi as modified above teaches wherein the second rear support part includes an annular sealing part (see Wang para 0220, cylindrical) provided at a rear portion of the cylinder part, the annular sealing part making contact with the front surface of the front plate part. (blocking nano level dirt would not be capable if there was no seal)
Regarding claim 15, Kenichi as modified above teaches the first support member includes a first front support part that supports a front end portion of the first filter (see Kenichi 38, figure 5),the second support member includes a second front support part that supports a front end portion of the second filter (see Wang, figures 35-38 ; para 0230-0234), and the second front support part is fixed to the first front support part in a state of being disposed inside the first front support part. (see Wang para 0220)
Regarding claim 16, Kenichi as modified above teaches the first front support part includes an annular part (see Kenichi 38, figure 5) surrounding the second front support part, and a plurality of projections (see Wang, para 0220-0234) projecting radially inward from an inner surface of the annular part, and the second front support part (See wang para 0230-0234) is fixed to the first front support part with the second front support part fitting inside the plurality of projections (see Wang figures 36-38).
Regarding claim 17, Kenichi as modified above teaches wherein the first filter unit is fixed to the main body housing in a state where the second filter unit is fixed to the first filter unit. (see para 0220-0234 of Wang “first filter and second filter)
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kenichi (JP6347196B2) in view Fester (US 20100236014 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Kenichi teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach the release angle is set to about 90 degrees, and the limit angle is set to about 90 degrees or more.
Fester teaches vacuum cleaner with filters and filter locking lug, where the rotation can be greater than or less 360 degrees to release the filter or limit the angle (see para 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kenichi to have a release angle is set to about 90 degrees, and the limit angle is set to about 90 degrees or more based on the teachings of Fester. This modification would ensure that there is suitable angle for a user to rotate the filter to lock or unlock the lock. (see para 0031).
Conclusion
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723