DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information disclosure statement of 02/05/2025 has been received and reviewed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20240263509 to Brown.
Regarding claim 1, Brown discloses:
A remote opening animal crate apparatus (fig 1) comprising: an animal crate (100) with a door (108) wherein the door is movably connected with the animal crate such that the door is movable from a closed position to an open position (not shown, see paragraph 0045); a locking device (132) wherein the locking device includes a lock pin (130) wherein the locking device is configured to operate between a locked position and an unlocked position such that when said locking device is in the locked position, the lock pin holds the door in said closed position (paragraph 0052); and a remote operating device (112) wherein the remote operating device and said locking device are connected such that said remote operating device when activated operates to cause the lock pin to move from the locked position to the unlocked position (paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 2, Brown discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the remote operating device and the locking device are wirelessly connected (via 130, see paragraph 0046).
Regarding claim 5, Brown discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the remote operating device is selected from a group consisting of: a computer, a smart phone, an IPad and a RF key fob (see paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 6, Brown discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the animal crate is a dog crate (see abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 7-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240263509 to Brown in view of US 4216743 to Cohen.
Regarding claim 3, Brown does not explicitly disclose:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the locking device is push-pull solenoid. Brown only discloses the locking device to be a motor.
However, Cohen teaches that it is well known in the art for a locking device to be a push-pill solenoid 13a. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the push-pull solenoid as taught by Cohen into the assembly of Brown at least because doing so requires the simple substitution of one known feature for another and could be accomplished without undue experimentation and would yield the same result, providing a motorized locking device. See MPEP 2143, subsection I.B. (3).
Regarding claim 4, Brown in view of Cohen does not explicitly disclose: The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the push-pull solenoid is a twelve volt or twenty-four volt push pull solenoid. However, Brown in view of Cohen does teach the push-pull solenoid being energized, thereby receiving some amount of voltage. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to alter the voltage of push-pull solenoid so that it could have many values usable in a variety of applications, including twelve or twenty-four volts since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 7 is rejected as per the rejection of claims 1, 3, and 5 above.
Claim 8 is rejected as per the rejection of claim 2 above.
Claim 9 is rejected as per the rejection of claim 4 above.
Claim 10 is rejected as per the rejection of claim 6 above.
Regarding claims 11-16, although Brown in view of Cohen doesn’t explicitly disclose the method of claims 11-16, Brown in view of Cohen teaches the structure necessary for such method as rejected in claims 1-6 above. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to use the invention of Brown in view of Cohen in the method of claims 11-16.
Conclusion
/Y.S./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675