Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 3 of copending Application No. 18812260 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims disclose the same aqueous adhesive for ink jet printing having an overlapping range of the storage modulus [claim 3].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 does not specify what testing conditions (say, a 180° peel test) nor the substrate to which the adhesive layer is attached (say, a non-woven fabric of polyester). The adhesive strength will vary widely for different substrates and different testing conditions, so the scope of the claim is not clear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kamiya et al (JP 2003082307 A).
Kamiya discloses an aqueous dispersion type acrylic adhesive sheet [abstract]] comprising an acrylic polymer emulsion and having a storage modulus in the claimed range with examples having storage modulus at 23°C of 3.4 and 3.7 x105 Pa [p11, p14 [0047-0050] Examples]. The adhesive composition does not contain the resins excluded from the claims or an organic solvent or a colorant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiya et al (JP 2003082307 A).
Kamiya does not explicitly disclose an example containing two different acrylic polymers. However, Kamiya does disclose several examples of acrylic polymers used to make pressure sensitive adhesives, each having different glass transition temperatures [Examples 1-4, p14 et seq]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have used a combination of two acrylic polymers in Kamiya in order to tailor the properties such as glass transition temperature, storage modulus and gel fraction, and adjust the physical properties of the adhesive [0031 p10-11].
Polymer A of Example 1 include acrylic acid [0047] which has a homopolymer Tg of 105 to 120°C [see attached evidentiary reference by Sigma Aldrich].
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nobuyuki et al (WO 2019150728 A1) in view of Kamiya et al (JP 2003082307 A).
Nobuyuki discloses an aqueous emulsion type pressure sensitive adhesive composition comprising a Vinyl Polymer (A) and an Acrylic Polymer (B) [claim 1] wherein the Polymer (A) has a higher Tg than the Polymer (B) [Tables 1 and 2] and the composition comprises 0.5 to 60 parts by mass or less of the higher Tg Polymer (A) based on 100 parts by mass of the acrylic adhesive polymer (B) [claim 5].
Nobuyuki does not explicitly disclose the storage modulus of the adhesive layer, but does disclose the shear storage modulus in the same range as the claimed storage modulus [claim 1, examples].
Kamiya, discussed above, discloses an aqueous pressure senstivif3e adhesive based on acrylic polymers, similar to Nobuyuki and the claims. Kamiya teaches that the storage modulus should be between 2.0 x 105 to 3.0 x 106 Pa, and preferably 3.4 to 3.7 x 105 Pa [0031, Examples] and that below this range the transfer of contaminants from adhesive to adherence may increase and above this range the adhesiveness to the adherend may decrease [0031, pp10-11].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have used the claimed storage modulus in the adhesvie layer of Nobuyuki because Kamiya teaches that the claimed storage modulus range optimizes the adhesiveness and purity of the adhesive layer.
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashima et al (US 20140242384 A1) in view of Kamiya et al (JP 2003082307 A).
Takashima discloses a water dispersible acrylic pressure sensitive adhesive composition comprising an acrylic emulsion polymer [abstract] wherein the pressure sensitive adhesive has an adhesive strength between 0.52 and 1.41 N/25mm [Table 1].
Takashima does not explicitly disclose the storage modulus of the adhesive layer, but does disclose the shear storage modulus in the same range as the claimed storage modulus [0156].
Kamiya, discussed above, discloses an aqueous pressure senstivif3e adhesive based on acrylic polymers, similar to Takashima and the claims. Kamiya teaches that the storage modulus should be between 2.0 x 105 to 3.0 x 106 Pa, and preferably 3.4 to 3.7 x 105 Pa [0031, Examples] and that below this range the transfer of contaminants from adhesive to adherence may increase and above this range the adhesiveness to the adherend may decrease [0031, pp10-11].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have used the claimed storage modulus in the adhesvie layer of Takashima because Kamiya teaches that the claimed storage modulus range optimizes the adhesiveness and purity of the adhesive layer.
Takashima discloses that the acrylic polymer may be used alone or in combination [0034] and several of the examples include a monomer of acrylic acid having a homopolymer Tg of 105 to 120°C [see attached evidentiary reference by Sigma Aldrich].
MICHAEL M. DOLLINGER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1766
/MICHAEL M DOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766