DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed 13 July 2026. In view of this communication, claims 1-14 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments, filed 13 July 2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The Applicant’s argument (pages 5-7 of the Remarks) alleges that the previous grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 in view of Garcia should be withdrawn because “the wedges used in Garcia do not engage the magnets by moving together but rather through radial expansion or contraction” and therefore lack the “ability to move what can be well defined and fixed {diameter} rings axially”. It is first noted that features upon which this argument relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Further, the argument fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because it amounts to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Thus, since no difference has been shown between the claimed structure and the structure disclosed by Garcia, this argument is unpersuasive and the previous grounds of rejection are maintained.
Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Garcia (US 5,323,078), hereinafter referred to as “Garcia”.
Regarding claim 1, Garcia discloses an electric machine comprising:
a stator [95] and a rotor [50], the rotor rotating about an axis relative to a stator [95] and positioned proximate to the stator [95] for magnetic interaction therewith (fig. 6-11; col. 4, lines 60-68; col. 5, lines 49-63); and
a magnet support assembly [55] attached to one of the rotor [50] or stator [95] (fig. 6, 11; col. 4, lines 60-68) and providing:
(a) a tubular magnet backer [110] (fig. 11; col. 6, lines 1-15);
(b) a series of axially extending permanent magnet bars [111] arrayed about the axis on a surface of the tubular magnet backer [110] to present exposed faces away from the tubular magnet backer [110], the magnet bars [111] having axially opposed ends presenting end faces [116,117] having an interior oblique angle [a1] with respect to the exposed face (fig. 11; col. 6, lines 5-15); and
(c) magnet retention wedges [112,123] flanking the permanent magnet bars [111] and having wedge faces [114,115] with interior acute angles [a2] with respect to the exposed faces of the permanent magnet bars [111] and positioned in contact with the end faces [116,117] of the permanent magnet bars [111] to press the permanent magnet bars [111] against the tubular magnet backer [110] as the wedges [112,123] move together about the permanent magnet bars [111] (fig. 11; col. 6, lines 5-15).
Regarding claim 2, Garcia discloses the electric machine of claim 1, as stated above, wherein at least some magnet retention wedges [112,123] provide axially opposed wedge faces [114,115] with interior acute angles [a2] with respect to the exposed faces of the permanent magnet bars [111], the opposed wedge faces [114,115] contacting corresponding axial ends [116,117] of the permanent magnet bars [111] (fig. 11; col. 6, lines 5-15).
Regarding claim 3, Garcia discloses the electric machine of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the interior oblique angles [a1] are greater than 100° and wherein the interior acute angles [a2] are less than 80° (fig. 11; while not labeled, the interior acute angles shown at the apex of the wedge [112] are clearly 45° or less, necessarily making the corresponding interior oblique angle of the magnet 135° or more).
Regarding claim 4, Garcia discloses the electric machine of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the wedge faces [114,115] are provided by continuous rings [80,85] having an inner surface adjacent and conforming to a circumferential surface of the tubular magnet backer [110] (fig. 9-11; col. 5, lines 34-45).
Regarding claim 5, Garcia discloses the electric machine of claim 4, as stated above, wherein the inner surface of the continuous rings [80,85] present a portion of a key [119,121] and key way [120,122] limiting axial movement of the inner surface with respect to the tubular magnet backer [110] (fig. 9-11; col. 6, lines 16-28).
Regarding claim 9, Garcia discloses the electric machine of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the magnet bars [111] are polyhedrons having all interior angles of no less than 80° (fig. 11; all of the interior angles of the magnets are either right or oblique).
Regarding claim 11, Garcia discloses the electric machine of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the exposed faces are directed away from the axis (col. 1, lines 46-50; the rotor can be external as shown, with exposed faces directed towards the axis, or “a machine of the type having its rotor internal to the stator”, which would have exposed faces directed away from the axis).
Regarding claim 12, Garcia discloses the electric machine of claim 1, as stated above, wherein including an electromagnet assembly [97,98] and wherein an air gap between the exposed faces of the magnet bars [111] and structure of the electromagnet assembly [97,98] is free of the intervening material of the wedges [112,123] (fig. 10-11; the wedges extend over just the axial ends of the magnets, with the axial centers of the magnets directly facing the stator with no intervening components).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia in view of Giddings et al. (US 2015/0171685 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Giddings”.
Regarding claim 6, Garcia discloses the electric machine of claim 4, as stated above, wherein the rings [80,85] are a composite material (col. 6, lines 29-34).
Garcia does not disclose the material providing circumferential axial fibers.
Giddings discloses an electric machine comprising a rotor with magnets [30] held by magnet retention wedges [32] formed as rings [36] (fig. 2; ¶ 0030), wherein the rings [36] are a composite material providing circumferential axial fibers (¶ 0030-0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the composite rings of Garcia from a composite material providing circumferential axial fibers as taught by Giddings, in order to allow for a thinner layer of said material “thereby minimizing the negative impact of the presence of this material upon the operation of a device of which the rotor forms part” (¶ 0005-0006 of Giddings).
Regarding claim 14, Garcia discloses the electric machine of claim 1, as stated above. Garcia does not disclose a composite material with circumferentially directed fibers applied over the exposed faces of the permanent magnet bars to provide a circumferentially smooth surface for reduced air resistance.
Giddings discloses an electric machine comprising a rotor with magnets [30] held by magnet retention wedges [32] formed as rings [36] (fig. 2; ¶ 0030), wherein the rings [36] are a composite material providing circumferential axial fibers (¶ 0030-0031),
further including a composite material [34] with circumferentially directed fibers applied over the exposed faces of the permanent magnet bars [30] to provide a circumferentially smooth surface for reduced air resistance (fig. 2, 4; ¶ 0028-0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the rotor of Garcia including a composite material over the exposed faces of the permanent magnets as taught by Giddings, in order to provide “adequate strength and stiffness to retain the magnets” without significant increases to mass or rotational inertia. (¶ 0023 of Giddings).
Claim(s) 7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia in view of Arimatsu et al. (US 2016/0141929 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Arimatsu”.
Regarding claim 7, Garcia discloses the electric machine of claim 1, as stated above. Garcia does not disclose an adhesive joining the permanent magnet bars [111] to the tubular magnet backer [110].
Arimatsu discloses an electric machine [100] comprising a rotor [400] with permanent magnet bars [311] mounted on a tubular magnet backer [301] (fig. 1-4; ¶ 0028-0030, 0036-0037), further including an adhesive joining the permanent magnet bars [311] to the tubular magnet backer [301] (¶ 0067-0069).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to join the magnets of Garcia to the tubular backer using an adhesive as taught by Arimatsu, in order to reliably prevent movement of the magnets while preventing cracking/damage thereto (¶ 0096-0097 of Arimatsu).
Regarding claim 10, Garcia discloses the electric machine of claim 1, as stated above.
Garcia does not disclose an adhesive material applied between the axially extending permanent magnet bars [111].
Arimatsu discloses an electric machine [100] comprising a rotor [400] with permanent magnet bars [311] mounted on a tubular magnet backer [301] (fig. 1-4; ¶ 0028-0030, 0036-0037), further including an adhesive material applied between the axially extending permanent magnet bars [311] (fig. 8; ¶ 0081).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to join the magnets of Garcia to the tubular backer using an adhesive as taught by Arimatsu, in order to reliably prevent movement of the magnets while preventing cracking/damage thereto (¶ 0096-0097 of Arimatsu).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia in view of Salk et al. (US 2022/0360129 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Salk”.
Regarding claim 8, Garcia discloses the electric machine of claim 1, as stated above. Garcia does not disclose that the permanent magnet bars [111] provide a Halbach array in a progression around the axis.
Salk discloses an electric machine comprising a rotor with permanent magnet bars [32] (fig. 1; ¶ 0040), wherein the permanent magnet bars [32] provide a Halbach array in a progression around the axis [31] (¶ 0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the permanent magnets of Garcia in a Halbach array as taught by Salk, in order to eliminate the need for ferrous material in the rotor thereby allowing for a low density and high strength material for the backer (¶ 0040 of Salk) which would lower the rotor weight while maintaining or increasing its strength.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia in view of Wei et al. (US 2023/0008985 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Wei”.
Regarding claim 13, Garcia discloses the electric machine of claim 1, as stated above. Garcia does not disclose a space-filling adhesive applied over the exposed faces of the permanent magnet bars [111] to provide a circumferentially smooth surface for reduced air resistance.
Wei discloses an electric machine comprising a rotor, the rotor comprising permanent magnet bars [304] (fig. 3; ¶ 0036), further including a space-filling adhesive [306,310] applied over the exposed faces of the permanent magnet bars [304] to provide a circumferentially smooth surface (¶ 0064) for reduced air resistance (this statement of the intended us of the adhesive implies no additional structural limitations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the rotor of Garcia having a space-filling adhesive applied over the permanent magnets as taught by Wei, in order to increase the corrosion and wear resistance of the magnets thereby prolonging the service life of the motor (¶ 0062 of Wei).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Prior art:
Achor (US 2013/0002080 A1) discloses a rotor comprising permanent magnet bars held by magnet retention wedges formed as continuous rings.
Stokes (US 4,683,393) discloses a rotor comprising permanent magnet bars held by magnet retention wedges, the magnet bars and wedges forming interior oblique angles and interior acute angles, respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
This action is a final rejection and closes the prosecution of this application. Applicant’s reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to this action is limited to an appeal to the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, an amendment complying with the requirements set forth below, or a request for continued examination (RCE) to reopen prosecution where permitted.
General information on the Patent Trial and Appeal Board is available at: www.uspto.gov/patents/patent-trial-and-appeal-board/about-ptab/new-ptab. The information at this page includes guidance on time limited options that may assist the applicant contemplating appealing an examiner’s rejection. It also includes information on pro bono (free) legal services and advice available for those who are under-resourced and considering an appeal at: https://www.uspto.gov/patents/patent-trial-and-appeal-board/patent-trial-and-appeal-board-pro-bono-program-independent. The page is best reviewed promptly after applicant has received a final rejection or the claims have been twice rejected because some of the noted assistance must be requested within one month from the date of the latest rejection. See MPEP § 1204 for more information on filing a notice of appeal.
If applicant should desire to appeal any rejection made by the examiner, a Notice of Appeal must be filed within the period for reply. The Notice of Appeal must be accompanied by the fee required by 37 CFR 41.20(b)(1). The current fee amount is available at: www.uspto.gov/Fees.
If applicant should desire to file an after-final amendment, entry of the proposed amendment cannot be made as a matter of right unless it merely cancels claims or complies with a formal requirement made in a previous Office action. Amendments touching the merits of the application which otherwise might not be proper may be admitted upon a showing of good and sufficient reasons why they are necessary and why they were not presented earlier.
A reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to a final rejection must include cancellation of or appeal from the rejection of, each rejected claim. The filing of an amendment after final rejection, whether or not it is entered, does not stop the running of the statutory period for reply to the final rejection unless the examiner holds all of the claims to be in condition for allowance.
If applicant should desire to continue prosecution in a utility or plant application filed on or after May 29, 2000 and have the finality of this Office action withdrawn, an RCE under 37 CFR 1.114 may be filed within the period for reply. See MPEP § 706.07(h) for more information on the requirements for filing an RCE.
The application will become abandoned unless a Notice of Appeal, an after final replay that places the application in condition for allowance, or an RCE has been filed properly within the period for reply, or any extension of this period obtained under either 37 CFR 1.136(a) or (b).
/Michael Andrews/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834