DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment and Arguments
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejections
Applicant’s amendments and arguments are considered but are either unpersuasive or moot in view of the new grounds of rejection that, if presented, were necessitated by the amendments to the Claims.
Applicant’s arguments are directed to material that is added by the most recent amendments to the Claims. Response, p.9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-12, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moreno US 20210312907, in view of Sharifi (US 20220189465).
Regarding Claim 1, Moreno discloses: 1. A computer-implemented method that when executed on data processing hardware causes the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising: ([0075] a method is provided that includes training a speaker dependent speech model (SD speech model) based on a trained speaker independent speech model (SI speech model).)
receiving audio data corresponding to an utterance spoken by a particular user and captured in streaming audio by a user device; ([0086] a method is provide and includes receiving an instance of audio data that captures one or more spoken utterances of a user of a client device.)
based on the identity of the particular user that spoke the utterance, obtaining a keyword detection model personalized for the particular user by conditioning a speaker- agnostic keyword detection model on speaker characteristic information associated with the particular user to adapt the keyword detection model to detect a presence of a keyword in audio for the particular user, the speaker-agnostic keyword detection model trained on training data spoken by a plurality of different speakers to detect the presence of the keyword in audio, ([0003] training a speaker dependent (SD) speech model (SD speech model) based on a trained speaker independent (SI) speech model (SI speech model), where the SD speech model, once trained, is personalizable to any user. … using a trained SD speech model, audio data along with a speaker embedding for a target user to generate output that is personalized to the target user. The output is personalized to the target user in that it is reflective of only spoken utterance(s) of the target user (if any) included in the audio data. … if the trained SD speech model is a hotword detection model, the output will reflect whether the audio data includes a hotword that was spoken by the target user. … On the other hand, if the audio data included a hotword that was spoken by the target user, the output would indicate that the audio data does include a hotword that was spoken by the target user. …) [speaker independent model reads on speaker-agnostic model which would required to be trained on by plurality of different speakers]
wherein conditioning the speaker-agnostic keyword detection model comprises obtaining the speaker-agnostic keyword detection model as a baseline and modulating the speaker-agnostic keyword detection model using the speaker characteristic information associated with the particular user to generate the keyword detection model personalized for the particular user; ([0003] training a speaker dependent (SD) speech model (SD speech model) based on a trained speaker independent (SI) speech model (SI speech model), where the SD speech model, once trained, is personalizable to any user. … using a trained SD speech model, audio data along with a speaker embedding for a target user to generate output that is personalized to the target user. The output is personalized to the target user in that it is reflective of only spoken utterance(s) of the target user (if any) included in the audio data. … if the trained SD speech model is a hotword detection model, the output will reflect whether the audio data includes a hotword that was spoken by the target user. … On the other hand, if the audio data included a hotword that was spoken by the target user, the output would indicate that the audio data does include a hotword that was spoken by the target user. …) [speaker independent model reads on baseline model from which the speaker dependent model is trained. Speaker embedding reads on speaker characteristic information, and processing audio with speaker embedding reads on modulating or conditioning the model for personalization of the particular user.]
and determining, using the keyword detection model personalized for the particular user, that the utterance comprises the keyword. ([0003] … using a trained SD speech model, audio data along with a speaker embedding for a target user to generate output that is personalized to the target user. The output is personalized to the target user in that it is reflective of only spoken utterance(s) of the target user (if any) included in the audio data. if the trained SD speech model is a hotword detection model, the output will reflect whether the audio data includes a hotword that was spoken by the target user. … if the audio data included a hotword that was spoken by the target user, the output would indicate that the audio data does include a hotword that was spoken by the target user. …)
Although Moreno discloses enrollment and speaker embedding, however it is silent regarding performing speaker identification on the audio data to identify an identity of the particular user that spoke the utterance.
Sharifi in the related art discloses: performing speaker identification on the audio data to identify an identity of the particular user that spoke the utterance; ([0006] the method also includes performing, by the data processing hardware, speaker identification on the audio data to identify the user that spoke the utterance. The speaker identification includes extracting, from the audio data corresponding to the utterance spoken by the user, a first speaker-discriminative vector representing characteristics of the utterance spoken by the user, and determining whether the extracted speaker-discriminative vector matches any enrolled speaker vectors stored on the assistant-enabled device. Each enrolled speaker vector is associated with a different respective enrolled user of the assistant-enabled device.)
Moreno and Sharifi are considered analogous art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Moreno to combine the teaching of Sharifi for the above mentioned feature, because speaker identification would enable authorized user to access automated system or other security sensitive system (Sharifi, [0006]).
Regarding Claim 2, Moreno and Sharifi disclose all of claim 1,
Moreno further discloses: wherein the keyword detection model is personalized for the particular user by: obtaining the speaker-agnostic keyword detection model, the speaker-agnostic keyword detection model trained to detect the presence of the keyword in audio; ([0003] training a speaker dependent (SD) speech model (SD speech model) based on a trained speaker independent (SI) speech model (SI speech model), where the SD speech model, once trained, is personalizable to any user. … using a trained SD speech model, audio data along with a speaker embedding for a target user to generate output that is personalized to the target user. The output is personalized to the target user in that it is reflective of only spoken utterance(s) of the target user (if any) included in the audio data. … if the trained SD speech model is a hotword detection model, the output will reflect whether the audio data includes a hotword that was spoken by the target user. … On the other hand, if the audio data included a hotword that was spoken by the target user, the output would indicate that the audio data does include a hotword that was spoken by the target user. …)
receiving one or more enrollment utterances spoken by the particular user; ([0033] Personalization engine 204 can process audio data, such as audio data captured using microphone(s) of client device 202 (not depicted), along with a speaker embedding using SD speech model 158 to generate speaker dependent output. In many implementations, the speaker embedding can be selected using speaker embedding engine 206. For example, speaker embedding engine 206 can select a speaker embedding of a user profile associated with client device 202. In a variety of implementations, the speaker embedding can be pre-calculated during an enrollment of the user with a digital system (e.g., enrollment with client device 202 and/or enrollment with an additional digital system).)
extracting, from the one or more enrollment utterances spoken by the particular user, a speaker embedding characterizing voice characteristics of the particular user; ([0033] Personalization engine 204 can process audio data, such as audio data captured using microphone(s) of client device 202 (not depicted), along with a speaker embedding using SD speech model 158 to generate speaker dependent output. In many implementations, the speaker embedding can be selected using speaker embedding engine 206. For example, speaker embedding engine 206 can select a speaker embedding of a user profile associated with client device 202. In a variety of implementations, the speaker embedding can be pre-calculated during an enrollment of the user with a digital system (e.g., enrollment with client device 202 and/or enrollment with an additional digital system).)
and conditioning the speaker-agnostic keyword detection model on the speaker embedding, the speaker embedding comprising the speaker characteristic information associated with the particular user. ([0003] training a speaker dependent (SD) speech model (SD speech model) based on a trained speaker independent (SI) speech model (SI speech model), where the SD speech model, once trained, is personalizable to any user. … using a trained SD speech model, audio data along with a speaker embedding for a target user to generate output that is personalized to the target user. The output is personalized to the target user in that it is reflective of only spoken utterance(s) of the target user (if any) included in the audio data. … if the trained SD speech model is a hotword detection model, the output will reflect whether the audio data includes a hotword that was spoken by the target user. … On the other hand, if the audio data included a hotword that was spoken by the target user, the output would indicate that the audio data does include a hotword that was spoken by the target user. …)
Regarding Claim 4, Moreno and Sharifi disclose all of claim 2,
Moreno further discloses: wherein extracting the speaker embedding comprises extracting a text-independent speaker embedding or a text-dependent speaker embedding. ([0075] In some implementations, a method is provided that includes training a speaker dependent speech model (SD speech model) based on a trained speaker independent speech model (SI speech model). The SD speech model is personalizable to any user of a corresponding client device. Training the SD speech model includes identifying an instance of audio data that captures one or more spoken utterances of a target user and determining a speaker embedding for the target user. Training the SD speech model further includes generating a noisy instance of audio data by combining the instance of audio data with one or more additional sounds that are not from the target user. Training the SD speech model further includes processing the instance of audio data using the SI speech model to generate speaker independent output (SI output). Training the SD speech model further includes processing the noisy instance of the audio data, along with the speaker embedding, using the SD speech model to generate speaker dependent output (SD output). Training the SD speech model further includes generating a loss based on the SI output and the SD output, and updating one or more portions of the SD model based on the generated loss.) [a speaker embedding would have to be either text independent or text dependent]
Sharifi further discloses: wherein extracting the speaker embedding comprises extracting a text-independent speaker embedding or a text-dependent speaker embedding. ([0040] In some examples, the enrolled speaker vector 154 for an enrolled user 200 includes a text-dependent enrolled speaker vector. For instance, the text-dependent enrolled speaker vector may be extracted from one or more audio samples of the respective enrolled user 200 speaking a predetermined term such as the hotword 110 (e.g., “Ok computer”) used for invoking the AED 104 to wake-up from a sleep state. In other examples, the enrolled speaker vector 154 for an enrolled user 200 is text-independent obtained from one or more audio samples of the respective enrolled user 200 speaking phrases with different terms/words and of different lengths. In these examples, the text-independent enrolled speaker vector may be obtained over time from audio samples obtained from speech interactions the user 102 has with the AED 104 or other device linked to the same account.)
Where the rationale for the combination would be similar to the one already provided in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, Moreno and Sharifi disclose all of claim 1,
Moreno further discloses: wherein obtaining the keyword detection model personalized for the particular user comprises: using the identity of the particular user, retrieving the speaker characteristic information associated with the particular user from memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware; ([0003] training a speaker dependent (SD) speech model (SD speech model) based on a trained speaker independent (SI) speech model (SI speech model), where the SD speech model, once trained, is personalizable to any user. … using a trained SD speech model, audio data along with a speaker embedding for a target user to generate output that is personalized to the target user. The output is personalized to the target user in that it is reflective of only spoken utterance(s) of the target user (if any) included in the audio data. … if the trained SD speech model is a hotword detection model, the output will reflect whether the audio data includes a hotword that was spoken by the target user. … On the other hand, if the audio data included a hotword that was spoken by the target user, the output would indicate that the audio data does include a hotword that was spoken by the target user. …[0071] Memory 725 used in the storage subsystem 724 can include a number of memories including a main random access memory (“RAM”) 730 for storage of instructions and data during program execution and a read only memory (“ROM”) 732 in which fixed instructions are stored. )
Moreno further discloses: and conditioning the speaker-agnostic keyword detection model on the speaker characteristic information associated with the particular user to provide the keyword detection model personalized for the particular user, the speaker-agnostic keyword detection model trained to detect the presence of the keyword in audio. ([0003] training a speaker dependent (SD) speech model (SD speech model) based on a trained speaker independent (SI) speech model (SI speech model), where the SD speech model, once trained, is personalizable to any user. … using a trained SD speech model, audio data along with a speaker embedding for a target user to generate output that is personalized to the target user. The output is personalized to the target user in that it is reflective of only spoken utterance(s) of the target user (if any) included in the audio data. … if the trained SD speech model is a hotword detection model, the output will reflect whether the audio data includes a hotword that was spoken by the target user. … On the other hand, if the audio data included a hotword that was spoken by the target user, the output would indicate that the audio data does include a hotword that was spoken by the target user. …)
Regarding Claim 7, Moreno and Sharifi disclose all of claim 6,
Sharifi further discloses: wherein the speaker characteristic information associated with the particular user is stored on the memory hardware ([0003] training a speaker dependent (SD) speech model (SD speech model) based on a trained speaker independent (SI) speech model (SI speech model), where the SD speech model, once trained, is personalizable to any user. … using a trained SD speech model, audio data along with a speaker embedding for a target user to generate output that is personalized to the target user. The output is personalized to the target user in that it is reflective of only spoken utterance(s) of the target user (if any) included in the audio data. … if the trained SD speech model is a hotword detection model, the output will reflect whether the audio data includes a hotword that was spoken by the target user. … On the other hand, if the audio data included a hotword that was spoken by the target user, the output would indicate that the audio data does include a hotword that was spoken by the target user. … [0071] Memory 725 used in the storage subsystem 724 can include a number of memories including a main random access memory (“RAM”) 730 for storage of instructions and data during program execution and a read only memory (“ROM”) 732 in which fixed instructions are stored. )
and comprises one or more enrollment utterances spoken by the particular user. ([0049] the system selects a speaker embedding for a target user of the client device. In many implementations, a speaker embedding can be selected after audio data is captured at a client device of the user associated with the speaker embedding. Additionally or alternatively, the speaker embedding can be selected based on verification of a given user (e.g., using voice fingerprinting from earlier utterance(s) and/or other biometric verification(s)). In a variety of implementations, the speaker embedding can be generated during an enrollment of a user with a digital system (e.g., an enrollment of a user with an automated assistant).)
Regarding Claim 8, Moreno and Sharifi disclose all of claim 6,
Moreno further discloses: wherein the speaker characteristic information associated with the particular is stored on the memory hardware ([0003] training a speaker dependent (SD) speech model (SD speech model) based on a trained speaker independent (SI) speech model (SI speech model), where the SD speech model, once trained, is personalizable to any user. … using a trained SD speech model, audio data along with a speaker embedding for a target user to generate output that is personalized to the target user. The output is personalized to the target user in that it is reflective of only spoken utterance(s) of the target user (if any) included in the audio data. … if the trained SD speech model is a hotword detection model, the output will reflect whether the audio data includes a hotword that was spoken by the target user. … On the other hand, if the audio data included a hotword that was spoken by the target user, the output would indicate that the audio data does include a hotword that was spoken by the target user. … [0071] Memory 725 used in the storage subsystem 724 can include a number of memories including a main random access memory (“RAM”) 730 for storage of instructions and data during program execution and a read only memory (“ROM”) 732 in which fixed instructions are stored. )
and comprises a speaker embedding extracted from one or more enrollment utterances spoken by the particular user. ([0033] Personalization engine 204 can process audio data, such as audio data captured using microphone(s) of client device 202 (not depicted), along with a speaker embedding using SD speech model 158 to generate speaker dependent output. In many implementations, the speaker embedding can be selected using speaker embedding engine 206. For example, speaker embedding engine 206 can select a speaker embedding of a user profile associated with client device 202. In a variety of implementations, the speaker embedding can be pre-calculated during an enrollment of the user with a digital system (e.g., enrollment with client device 202 and/or enrollment with an additional digital system).)
Sharifi also further discloses: and comprises a speaker embedding extracted from one or more enrollment utterances spoken by the particular user. ([0040] In some examples, the enrolled speaker vector 154 for an enrolled user 200 includes a text-dependent enrolled speaker vector. For instance, the text-dependent enrolled speaker vector may be extracted from one or more audio samples of the respective enrolled user 200 speaking a predetermined term such as the hotword 110 (e.g., “Ok computer”) used for invoking the AED 104 to wake-up from a sleep state.)
Where the rationale for the combination would be similar to the one already provided in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 9, Moreno and Sharifi disclose all of claim 1,
Moreno further discloses: wherein the operations further comprise, in response to determining that the utterance comprises the keyword, processing, using a speech recognition model, the streaming audio. ([0008] Techniques disclosed herein can be utilized with any of a variety of speech models including automatic speech recognition (ASR) models,) Also see para 0003-0004.
Sharifi also discloses: wherein the operations further comprise, in response to determining that the utterance comprises the keyword, processing, using a speech recognition model, the streaming audio. ([0034] When the hotword detector 108 determines that the audio data 402 that corresponds to the utterance 106 includes the hotword 110, the AED 104 may trigger a wake-up process to initiate speech recognition on the audio data 402 that corresponds to the utterance 106. For example, a speech recognizer 116 running on the AED 104 may perform speech recognition or semantic interpretation on the audio data 402 that corresponds to the utterance 106. The speech recognizer 116 may perform speech recognition on the portion of the audio data 402 that follows the hotword 110. In this example, the speech recognizer 116 may identify the words “play music” in the command 118.)
Where the rationale for the combination would be similar to the one already provided in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10, Moreno and Sharifi disclose all of claim 1,
Sharifi further discloses: wherein the utterance comprises a keyword followed by one or more other terms corresponding to a voice command. ([0034] When the hotword detector 108 determines that the audio data 402 that corresponds to the utterance 106 includes the hotword 110, the AED 104 may trigger a wake-up process to initiate speech recognition on the audio data 402 that corresponds to the utterance 106. For example, a speech recognizer 116 running on the AED 104 may perform speech recognition or semantic interpretation on the audio data 402 that corresponds to the utterance 106. The speech recognizer 116 may perform speech recognition on the portion of the audio data 402 that follows the hotword 110. In this example, the speech recognizer 116 may identify the words “play music” in the command 118.)
Where the rationale for the combination would be similar to the one already provided in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11, Moreno discloses: 11. A system comprising: data processing hardware; ([0034] This system may include one or more components, such as one or more processors (e.g., CPU(s), GPU(s), and/or TPU(s)).)
and memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instruction that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising: ([0071] These software modules are generally executed by processor 714 alone or in combination with other processors. Memory 725 used in the storage subsystem 724 can include a number of memories including a main random access memory (“RAM”) 730 for storage of instructions and data during program execution and a read only memory (“ROM”) 732 in which fixed instructions are stored.)
As for the rest of the claim, they claim the elements of claim 1, therefor the rationale applied in the rejection of claim 1 is equally applicable.
Claim 12 recites system claims that corresponds to the method of claim 2 is therefore rejected under the same grounds as claim 2 above.
Claim 14 recites system claims that corresponds to the method of claim 4 is therefore rejected under the same grounds as claim 4 above.
Claim 16 recites system claims that corresponds to the method of claim 6 is therefore rejected under the same grounds as claim 6 above.
Claim 17 recites system claims that corresponds to the method of claim 7 is therefore rejected under the same grounds as claim 7 above.
Claim 18 recites system claims that corresponds to the method of claim 8 is therefore rejected under the same grounds as claim 8 above.
Claim 19 recites system claims that corresponds to the method of claim 9 is therefore rejected under the same grounds as claim 9 above.
Claim 20 recites system claims that corresponds to the method of claim 10 is therefore rejected under the same grounds as claim 10 above.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moreno in view of Sharifi, and further in view of Rikhye, R., Wang, Q., Liang, Q., He, Y., & McGraw, I. (2022). Closing the gap between single-user and multi-user voicefilter-lite. arXiv preprint arXiv:2202.12169.
Regarding Claim 3, Moreno and Sharifi disclose all the elements of Claim 2,
However, Moreno and Sharifi do not disclose the Feature-wise linear Modulation.
Rikhye in the related art discloses: wherein: the keyword detection model comprises a Feature-wise Linear Modulation (FiLM) layer; ([Abstract] In this paper, we devised a series of experiments to improve the multi-user VoiceFilter-Lite model. By incorporating a dua learning rate schedule and by using feature-wise linear modulation (FiLM) to condition the model with the attended speaker embedding,)
and conditioning the speaker-agnostic keyword detection model comprises: generating, using a FILM generator, FiLM parameters based on the speaker embedding; ([Abstract] By incorporating a dual learning rate schedule and by using feature-wise linear modulation (FiLM) to condition the model with the attended speaker embedding, we successfully closed the performance gap between multi-user and single-user VoiceFilter-Lite models on single-speaker evaluations. At the same time, the new model can also be easily extended to support any number of users, and significantly outperforms our previously published model on multi-speaker evaluations.)
and modulating the FILM layer of the speaker-agnostic keyword detection model using the FiLM parameters to provide the keyword detection model personalized for the particular user. ([Abstract] By incorporating a dual learning rate schedule and by using feature-wise linear modulation (FiLM) to condition the model with the attended speaker embedding, we successfully closed the performance gap between multi-user and single-user VoiceFilter-Lite models on single-speaker evaluations. At the same time, the new model can also be easily extended to support any number of users, and significantly outperforms our previously published model on multi-speaker evaluations.)
Moreno, Sharifi,and Rikhye are considered analogous art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Moreno and Sharifi to combine the teaching of Rikhye, because FiLM only requires two parameters, making it computationally more efficient conditioned method (Rikhye, [sect 2.3]).
Claim 13 recites system claims that corresponds to the method of claim 3 is therefore rejected under the same grounds as claim 3 above.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moreno in view of Sharifi, and further in view of Higuchil, T., Gupta, A., & Dhir, C. (2021, December). Multi-task learning with cross attention for keyword spotting. In 2021 IEEE Automatic Speech Recognition and Understanding Workshop (ASRU) (pp. 571-578). IEEE.
Regarding Claim 5, Moreno and Sharifi disclose all the elements of claim 2,
Moreno further discloses: and conditioning the speaker-agnostic keyword detection model comprises processing the one or more enrollment utterances using the([0033] Personalization engine 204 can process audio data, such as audio data captured using microphone(s) of client device 202 (not depicted), along with a speaker embedding using SD speech model 158 to generate speaker dependent output. In many implementations, the speaker embedding can be selected using speaker embedding engine 206. For example, speaker embedding engine 206 can select a speaker embedding of a user profile associated with client device 202. In a variety of implementations, the speaker embedding can be pre-calculated during an enrollment of the user with a digital system (e.g., enrollment with client device 202 and/or enrollment with an additional digital system) Also see para 0003.
However, Moreno and Sharifi do not explicitly disclose keyword detection model comprises of a stack of cross-attention layers and conditioning the detection model processing enrollment utterance using the stack of cross-attention layer to provide keyword detection.
Higuchil discloses: wherein: the speaker-agnostic keyword detection model comprises a stack of cross-attention layers; ([sect 3.3] Cross attention decoder – our cross attention decoder is based on Transformer blocks with attention layers. The attention layer for a query matrix Q, a
key matrix K and a value matrix V can be written as …)
Moreno, Sharifi, and Higuchil are considered analogous art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Moreno and Sharifi to combine the teaching of Higuchil, because performing cross attention can improve accuracy of keyword detection (Higuchil, [Abstract]).
Claim 15 recites system claims that corresponds to the method of claim 5 is therefore rejected under the same grounds as claim 5 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Srinivasa US 20240185850 -discloses a keyword spotting system that use multiple layers for speech, keyword-like speech, and specific keyword classification. See Abstract for additional details.
Hung, Y. N., & Lerch, A. (2022, August). Feature-informed embedding space regularization for audio classification. In 2022 30th European Signal Processing Conference (EUSIPCO) (pp. 419-423). IEEE. – discloses use of FiLm, feature-wise Linear Modulation for feature embedding space regularization relating to speech classification task. See Abstract sections 3 and 4 for details.
/PHILIP H LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2656