DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group 1 and species b in the reply filed on 04/08/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant asserts that this election reads on claims 1-9 and 14-15.
Claim 14 recites inter alia, “the umbilicus includes a flexible circuit located in an end of the umbilicus that is closest to the handle when connected.” This is not found in the elected embodiment of FIG. 2, but rather the non-elected embodiment of FIG. 3, as evidenced at paragraph [0041] of the published specification. Therefore claim 14 and all dependent claims thereof is withdrawn from consideration.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending, claims 10-20 have been withdrawn from consideration, and claims 1-9 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/22/2024 and 11/12/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the magnet (claim 7) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klinker (U.S. 2022/0095902) in view of Knapp II et al. (U.S. 2006/0114986).
With respect to claim 1, Klinker teaches a medical device, comprising:
a first part having a handle(15/15”), a shaft attached to the handle (154), and a distal assembly at a distal end of the shaft (para [0026]); and
an umbilicus (170/370’ and 500/600) attached to the handle of the first part (FIG. 3A).
While Klinker refers to reference 156 as a port and teaches the umbilicus 170 is connected to the port, which would suggest some sort of removable relationship, Klinker does not explicitly state the umbilicus is releasably attached to the handle.
With respect to claim 1, Knapp et al. teaches an umbilicus (230) releasably attached to a handle of a first part (FIG. 3).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the umbilicus of Klinker to be releasable in the manner taught by Knapp et al. in order to allow for a less expensive endoscope by moving processor components to the adapters (para [0033]-[0034] of Knapp et al.).
With respect to claim 2, Klinker in view of Knapp et al. teaches the umbilicus includes a tether (500/600 of Klinker) that branches off from a main body of the umbilicus (230,234,236 of Knapp et al.).
With respect to claim 3, Klinker teaches the tether includes at least one button (251) at an end of the tether furthest from the main body of the umbilicus (FIG. 1, 3A), wherein the at least one button is configured to control an imaging function of the medical device (wherein actuating controls imaging direction and therefore field of view).
With respect to claim 9, Knapp et al. teaches the umbilicus is configured to connect to the handle at a connection point via a mating, physical and electrical connection that securely and releasably attaches the umbilicus to the handle. (FIG. 3).
Claim(s) 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klinker (U.S. 2022/0095902) in view of Knapp II et al. (U.S. 2006/0114986) as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Yoshinaga et al. (U.S. 2020/0214542).
Klinker in view of Knapp et al. teaches a medical device as set forth above. However, Klinker in view of Knapp et al. does not teach an engagement feature.
With respect to claim 4, Yoshinaga et al. teaches an analogous device an end of the tether furthest from the main body includes an engagement feature (16) for securably and releasably engaging the handle of the first part.
With respect to claim 5, Yoshinaga et al. teaches the engagement feature is configured to securably and releasably engage multiple different positions of the handle (16).
With respect to claim 6, Yoshinaga et al. teaches the tether has a shape or a protrusion to engage a correspondingly-shaped portion in a body of the handle, wherein the protrusion is a snap-fit engagement, a friction-fit engagement, or a relative sliding engagement that securely holds the tether to the handle and permits release after use (para [0043]).
With respect to claim 7, Yoshinaga et al. teaches the engagement feature includes a magnet that attaches to the handle via a metal feature of the handle (para [0043]).
With respect to claim 8, Yoshinaga et al. teaches the engagement feature includes a c-shaped connector (para [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify Klinker to utilize an engagement feature in the manner taught by Yoshinaga et al. so that a surgeon can smoothly perform an inspection and a treatment using the mother-baby endoscope apparatus and hence, an inspection time period and a treatment time period can be shortened (para [0100] of Yoshinaga et al.).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRA L NEWTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799