The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is in response Applicant communication filled on 08/06/2026.
I. Status of Claims
Claims 10 and 17 have been newly amended with the 08/06/2026 amendment.
Claims 19-21 have been newly added with the 08/06/2026 amendment.
Claims 7-9 were previously cancelled.
Claims 1-6 and 13 have been canceled with the 08/06/2026 amendment.
Claims 10-12 and 14-21 are currently pending and have been rejected as follows.
IDS
The information disclosure statement filed on 05/26/2026 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 and is considered by the Examiner.
Response to Applicant’s amendments / arguments
Applicant’s 08/06/2026 amendment necessitated new grounds of rejection in this action.
II. Response to Applicant’s rebuttal of the Objection
Objection to claim 17 in the previous act is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment as suggested by Examiner.
III. Response to Applicant’s rebuttal of 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejection
112(b) rejections in the prior act are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment, in part as suggested by Examiner.
IV. Response to Applicant’s rebuttal of 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection
Remarks 08/06/2026 p.7 last ¶-p.8 ¶1 argues that as amended or newly added, independent claims 10,17,19 are patent eligible.
Examiner fully considered the Applicant argument and although not agreeing in totality with the Applicant’s rationale, the Examiner nonetheless submits that the newly amended or added features of: “measuring, a change in motor current, and determining a low operation state for the hygiene product dispenser by determining an overcurrent by comparison of the motor current reading from the motor current sensor, and a comparison of the motor current sensor reading to a predetermined motor current sensor parameter indicating the hygiene product dispenser is jammed” as recited at each of independent Claims 10,19, and similarly, the newly amended feature of “measuring distance between the sonic or infrared detection system consumable product level sensor, and the product, and determining a consumable product level by measuring changes in this distance, and by measuring, a change in motor current, and determining a low operation state for the hygiene product dispenser by determining an overcurrent by comparison of the motor current reading from the motor current sensor, and a comparison of the motor current sensor reading to a predetermined motor current sensor parameter indicating the hygiene product dispenser is jammed” as recited at independent Claim 17, offer technological details on how machinery operates, which, when considered in concert with the other limitations at each of independent Claims 10,17,20, provide meaningful limitations, which, as tested per MPEP 2106.05(e), integrate any judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A prong two. Accordingly, it is believed that Claims 10,17,19 and by dependency Claims 11-12, 14-16, 18 which incorporating the subject matter of their parent claims 10,17,19 are rendered patent eligible, along possibly with Claims 20,21 assuming their dependency as addressed below is fixed.
Thus, 35 USC 101 abstract idea without significantly more rejection in the prior act is withdrawn.
V. Response to Applicant’s rebuttal of 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejection
Remarks 08/06/2026 p.8 ¶2-p.9 ¶1 argues that the prior art fails to teach accessing and analyzing data from a motor current sensor to determine an operational state of a hygiene product dispenser or a washroom component and determining an actionable event type for the hygiene product dispenser or washroom component, wherein the actionable event type comprises an automated resolution event and an assisted resolution and placing the hygiene product dispenser or washroom component into an operational or disabled state based on said data
The Applicant’s 102(a)(1) rebuttal argument has been considered but is moot in view of new grounds of rejection as necessitated by the amendment.
As per the, access/accessing limitation as contested by Applicant above, the Examiner submits that with respect to Claims 10,19 Goerg et al US 20060173576 A1 still teaches or suggests it: Goerg ¶ [0132] 1st-4th sentences: when microcontroller 402 determines that activation sensor 404 has been triggered and that dispenser 10 is ready to dispense paper, microcontroller 402 causes paper to be dispensed from dispenser 10 by engaging relay 410 thereby applying power to electric motor 408. As electric motor 408 turns, paper roll 14 turns and paper is forced out of the front of dispenser 10. As paper is being dispensed, microcontroller 402 monitors rotation counter 418 which outputs a signal for each motor rotation (or paper roll 14 rotation, or fraction thereof). When rotation counter 418 generates a predefined number of rotation signals, microcontroller 402 disengages relay 410 thereby removing power to motor 408. ¶ [0136] Microcontroller 402 monitors low paper sensor 424. One method of sensing a low paper condition may be accomplished using a mechanical arm that rides on paper roll 14. As paper from paper roll 14 is dispensed from dispenser 10, paper roll 14 shrinks in size. Eventually such mechanical arm will activate low paper sensor 424 and a low paper signal will be asserted. When microcontroller 402 detects a low paper signal, microcontroller 402 asserts a signal to low paper LED 426 and LED 426 will emit light informing that the paper source is almost depleted. Another example at ¶ [0159] 5th sentence: DSU 1014 uses infrared sensor 1016 to detect when a paper stack 1018 falls below low paper point 1020. Similarly, ¶ [0164] etc.).
Similarly, with respect to Claim 17, the Examiner submits that Hall et al US 20170254060 A1 still teaches or suggests such access/accessing limitation at Hall ¶ [0032] 4th sentence, Fig.2 step 204, ¶ [0008] 4th,6th sentences: toilet paper dispensed is measured by sensors associated with toilet paper dispenser. Toilet paper dispenser sensors may be … ultrasonic and provide info about the thickness, weight and length of the toilet paper used. For example, at ¶ [0027] 4th sentence: as user takes toilet paper 204, the sensors sense a number of revolutions of the toilet paper roll, amount of toilet paper removed, and/or optical movement of the toilet paper dispensed to detect the amount of toilet paper dispensed. Also, Hall Fig.2 step 206, ¶ [0026] last two sentences: controller 106 may flush toilet 108 by means of a solenoid valve, a motor, a linear actuator, or an electro-mechanical actuator. Toilet controller may provide an electrical signal to a flush actuator enabling control of a flush length or a flush water volume based on a toilet paper use amount and/or a water displacement amount. ¶ [0027] 5th sentence bowl sensors detect water displacement 206 and send this data to toilet flush timer 208.
* However as part of the contesting analyzing / analyze limitation *
Goerg does not explicitly recite at independent Claims 10,19:
- “determining an overcurrent by comparison of the motor current reading from the motor current sensor, and a comparison of the motor current sensor reading to a predetermined motor current sensor parameter indicating the hygiene product dispenser is jammed” as claimed.
* Nevertheless *
Lewis in analogous art of managing washroom components teaches/suggests:
- “determining an overcurrent by comparison of the motor current reading from the motor current sensor, and a comparison of the motor current sensor reading to a predetermined motor current sensor parameter”…
(Lewis ¶ [0064] Relay and Motor Protection circuitry is shown in Fig.10B. A 5V relay is used to turn the motor on and off. Over current protection components are included to protect the motor from any number of over current conditions, and include the current sensing resistor R13 operating in conjunction with an A/D converter in the microprocessor. A voltage generated by current through the resistor R13 is converted to a digital value by the A/D converter and compared to a set point value to determine if an overcurrent condition exists in the supply to the motor. If an overcurrent condition exists, the relay is opened and current supply to the motor is terminated).
Stuetzel in analogous monitoring operation of washroom components clarifies that:
“overcurrent” condition is “indicating the hygiene product dispenser is jammed”
(Stuetzel column 6 lines 11-17: to provide dispensing preventer to stop repeated operation, an integrated time-lag element is provided, with the time lag also being adjustable using a trimmer. Furthermore, an overcurrent protection circuit is provided so that when the motor is blocked, for example by a paper jam or clogging, the electronic unit is protected against excessive current).
* In similar manner at independent Claim 17, as part of the contesting analyzing limitation *
Hall does not explicitly recite, to clearly anticipate: “measuring, a change in motor current, and determining a low operation state for the hygiene product dispenser by determining an overcurrent by comparison of the motor current reading from the motor current sensor, and a comparison of the motor current sensor reading to a predetermined motor current sensor parameter indicating the hygiene product dispenser is jammed” as claimed.
Lewis however in analogous art of managing washroom components teaches/suggests:
- “measuring, a change in motor current, and determining a low operation state for the hygiene product dispenser by determining an overcurrent by comparison of the motor current reading from the motor current sensor, and a comparison of the motor current sensor reading to a predetermined motor current sensor parameter” …
(Lewis ¶ [0064] Relay and Motor Protection circuitry is shown in Fig.10B. A 5V relay is used to turn the motor on and off. Over current protection components are included to protect the motor from any number of over current conditions, and include the current sensing resistor R13 operating in conjunction with an A/D converter in the microprocessor. A voltage generated by current through the resistor R13 is converted to a digital value by the A/D converter and compared to a set point value to determine if an overcurrent condition exists in the supply to the motor. If an overcurrent condition exists, the relay is opened and current supply to the motor is terminated).
Stuetzel in analogous monitoring operation of washroom components further clarifies:
“overcurrent” condition is “indicating the hygiene product dispenser is jammed”
(Stuetzel column 6 lines 11-17: to provide dispensing preventer to stop repeated operation, an integrated time-lag element is provided, with the time lag also being adjustable using a trimmer. Furthermore, an overcurrent protection circuit is provided so that when the motor is blocked, for example by a paper jam or clogging, the electronic unit is protected against excessive current).
VI. Response to Applicant’s rebuttal of Non-Statutory Double Patenting Rejection
Remarks 08/06/2026 p. 9 ¶3 requests nonstatutory double patenting rejection held in abeyance. Examiner maintains non-statutory double patenting rejection pending response from Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 10-12,14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 10,17,19 are independent and have been amended or newly added, to recite, among others: “the motor current reading” [emphasis added], thus rendering each of said claims vague and indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the motor current reading”.
Claim 19 is independent further recites among others: “A central management system for managing washroom components comprising”: …
“a controller configured to modify an operation of the hygiene product dispenser”, … “wherein the hygiene product dispenser is communicatively coupled with a management system” …
Claim 19 is thus rendered vague and indefinite because it is unclear if “a management system” as subsequently recited at claim 19, relates back to “A central management system” as antecedently recited at the preamble of said independent Claim 19.
Claim 19 also recites, among others, at last limitation: … “switch the motor off in response to the hygiene product dispenser entering the disabled state”, rendering said claim vague and indefinite because it is unclear if “the motor” as subsequently recited at sad last limitation, relates back to “motor current sensor” as antecedently recited at said independent Claim 19.
Claims 11-12,14-16 are dependent and rejected based on rejected parent Claim 10.
Claim 18 is dependent and rejected based on rejected parent Claim 17.
Claims 20,21 are newly added dependent claim, depending from: “The hygiene product dispenser of claim 1”. Yet, Claim 1 is now canceled by 08/06/2026 amendment, thus rendering claims 20,21 vague and indefinite because it is unclear upon which antecedent they depend on.
Clarifications and/or corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20,21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 20 and 21, each recite “The hygiene product dispenser of claim 1”. Yet, Claim 1 was canceled by Applicant with the 08/06/2026 amendment. Thus its claims 20,21, fail to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Clarifications and/or corrections are required.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Rejections under 35 § U.S.C. 103
Claims 10-12,14-16,19,20 and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Goerg et al US 20060173576 A1 hereinafter Goerg.
Lewis et al, US 20060169827 A1 hereinafter Lewis
Stuetzel et al, US 6412655 B1 hereinafter Stuetzel. As per,
Claims 10,19 Goerg teaches or suggests: “A method for managing a hygiene product dispenser, the method comprising:”/“ A central management system for managing washroom components comprising: a hardware processor; a motor current sensor configured to generate operability level data for a hygiene product dispenser defining a status of the hygiene product dispenser; a hardware processor configured to access and analyze the operability data, the hardware processor configured to:”
- “accessing, by a hardware processor of a central mazement system, operability level data from a motor current sensor specifying an operational state of a hygiene product dispenser” (Claim 10) / “access the operability data from the motor current sensor specifying the motor current used to actuate the dispenser” (Claim 19) (Goerg ¶ [0132] 1st-4th sentences: when microcontroller 402 determines that activation sensor 404 has been triggered and that dispenser 10 is ready to dispense paper, microcontroller 402 causes paper to be dispensed from dispenser 10 by engaging relay 410 thereby applying power to electric motor 408. As electric motor 408 turns, paper roll 14 turns and paper is forced out of the front of dispenser 10. As paper is being dispensed, microcontroller 402 monitors rotation counter 418 which outputs a signal for each motor rotation (or paper roll 14 rotation, or fraction thereof). When rotation counter 418 generates a predefined number of rotation signals, microcontroller 402 disengages relay 410 thereby removing power to motor 408. ¶ [0136] Microcontroller 402 monitors low paper sensor 424. One method of sensing a low paper condition may be accomplished using a mechanical arm that rides on paper roll 14. As paper from paper roll 14 is dispensed from dispenser 10, paper roll 14 shrinks in size. Eventually such mechanical arm will activate low paper sensor 424 and a low paper signal will be asserted. When microcontroller 402 detects a low paper signal, microcontroller 402 asserts a signal to low paper LED 426 and LED 426 will emit light informing that the paper source is almost depleted. Another example at ¶ [0159] 5th sentence: DSU 1014 uses infrared sensor 1016 to detect when a paper stack 1018 falls below low paper point 1020. Similarly, ¶ [0164] etc.) “and”
- “analyzing, by the hardware processor of the central management system, the operability level data to determine an actionable event type for the hygiene product dispenser by measuring, a change in motor current, and determining a low operation state for the hygiene product dispenser ” (Claims 10, 19) “wherein the actionable event type comprises an automated resolution event” (Claim 10) (Goerg teaches several examples as follows: ¶ [0120] 4th-5th sentences: delay switch 70 desirably prevents accidental reactivation of motor 52 by a user removing sheet material 12 from dispenser 10, and hence unnecessary dispensing of the sheet material. The delay switch 70 also serves to discourage vandals by frustrating bulk dispensing. A similar example at ¶ [0133] Before engaging relay 410, microcontroller 402 checks the status of Delay timer 421. The purpose of delay timer 421 is to prevent consecutive paper dispensing events until a predefined amount of time elapses. Upon disengaging relay 410 after a paper dispensing event, delay timer 421 is activated. While delay timer 421 is active, microcontroller 402 disables relay 410. Delay timer 421 is designed to time out after a predefined amount of time. Such functionality can be achieved using a count down timer, a count up timer or any other suitable timing technology. For example, delay timer 421 could be set to time out 10 seconds after activation. For such a configuration, consecutive paper dispensing events could not occur faster than once every 10 seconds. Similarly, ¶ [0147] Referring to Fig.10, step 530 marks the entry into an exemplary Check Dispenser Status routine. Upon entry into such routine, the status of Delay Flag is checked (step 532). If the Delay Flag is set, then program control passes to step 534 and a delay counter value is examined (step 536). If a predefined delay counter value has been reached, then the Delay Flag is reset (step 540) and program control passes to step 542. If, however, such predefined delay counter value has not been reached, the delay counter value is serviced (step 538) and program control returns to step 534. Such delay counter value may be a count down timer, a count up timer, an elapsed time monitor, or any other suitable process for monitoring the passage of time. Exemplary methods of servicing a delay counter value include incrementing a counter value, decrementing a counter value, and updating a time value. Similarly, ¶ [0196] 1st-2nd sentences: where dispenser 1088 has the capability to recognize the type of product being used and sets the shot size and/or time delay between dispenses automatically. In a similar manner as described above, Figs.18A-B show another example specifically related to a roll towel dispenser 1060 with the capability to recognize the type of product being used and to set the towel length and/or time delay between dispenses automatically) “and an assisted resolution event” (Claim 10) (Goerg ¶ [0064] Fig.21 is a sequence diagram of a product low alert and refill sequence in accordance with an exemplary embodiment. ¶ [0065] Fig.22 is a sequence diagram of a product low alert that is sent to a cell phone of a janitor or other maintenance personnel in accordance with an exemplary embodiment. ¶ [0191] 2nd-3rd sentences: Fig.21 shows a product low alert and refill sequence. The janitor or maintenance personnel periodically checks the status of the dispensers in the system from the WMS 1040 and takes action to refill a dispenser when a product low alert occurs. Also, Fig.30, ¶ [0184] 1st-3rd sentences: automatic product reordering diagram in Fig.30 shows a product delivery updating the inventory level which is then checked until it drops below a pre-defined minimum. Product is then automatically reordered),
“in response to the indication that the hyigene product dispenser is jammed, directing the hygiene product dispenser, by the hardware processor of the central management system to enter its disabled state”; (Claim 19) (Goerg ¶ [0177] 1st -2nd sentences: with reference to Fig.18A, DSU 1014 signal a paper blockage or jam in conjunction with the mechanism for detecting product low and the mechanism for detecting product usage. When the mechanism for dispensing paper is activated, this action can be detected by DSU 1014 by interfacing directly or indirectly to the paper activation sensor of the dispenser described above… Specifically ¶ [0122] 3rd-4th sentences disclosed that processor 66 generates output command which blocks operation of controller 68 entirely to prevent operation of electric motor 52, and hence dispensing of sheet material. Such a function is advantageous to mitigate instances of jamming of the dispenser... ¶ [0120] 4th-5th sentences: delay switch 70 desirably prevents accidental reactivation of motor 52 by a user removing sheet material 12 from dispenser 10, and hence unnecessary dispensing of the sheet material. The delay switch 70 also serves to discourage vandals by frustrating bulk dispensing. A similar example at ¶ [0133] Before engaging relay 410, microcontroller 402 checks status of Delay timer 421 to prevent consecutive paper dispensing events until a predefined amount of time elapses. Upon disengaging relay 410 after a paper dispensing event, delay timer 421 is activated. While delay timer 421 is active, microcontroller 402 disables relay 410)
“a controller configured to modify an operation of the hygiene product dispenser” (Goerg ¶ [0115], ¶ [0157] 1st sentence: an advantage of the dispenser according to the invention is it automatically controls the lengths of sheet materials dispensed. ¶ [0151] 3rd-5th sentences, ¶ [0152] 1st-2nd sentences: Such transmissions ideally comprise paper info associated with the type of paper inserted into dispenser 10. As noted above, such paper information may be used, to determine the length of paper to be dispensed and the delay between dispensing events), “wherein the hygiene product dispenser has a normal operation state, an issue resolution state and a disabled state with the normal operation state being normal function of the hygiene product dispenser” (Goerg Figs.21-22 dispenser->check product level = OK. ¶ [0132] 1st-3rd sentences: When microcontroller 402 determines activation sensor 404 has been triggered and that dispenser 10 is ready to dispense paper, microcontroller 402 causes paper to be dispensed from dispenser 10 by engaging relay 410 thereby applying power to electric motor 408. As electric motor 408 turns, paper roll 14 turns and paper is forced out of the front of dispenser 10. As paper is being dispensed, microcontroller 402 monitors rotation counter 418 which outputs a signal for each motor rotation (or paper roll 14 rotation, or fraction thereof), “the issue resolution state being for performing maintenance on the hygiene product dispenser” (Goerg ¶ [0064] Figs.21-22 is a sequence diagram of a product low alert and refill sequence in accordance with an exemplary embodiment. ¶ [0065] Fig.22 is a sequence diagram of a product low alert that is sent to a cell phone of a janitor or other maintenance personnel in accordance with an exemplary embodiment. ¶ [0191] 2nd-3rd sentences: Fig.21 shows a product low alert and refill sequence. The janitor or maintenance personnel periodically checks the status of the dispensers in the system from the WMS 1040 and takes action to refill a dispenser when a product low alert occurs. Also, Fig.30, ¶ [0184] 1st-3rd sentences: automatic product reordering diagram in Fig.30 shows a product delivery updating the inventory level which is then checked until it drops below a pre-defined minimum. Product is then automatically reordered) “and the disabled state being for disabling the hygiene product dispenser from functioning” (Goerg Fig.9 step 518 and ¶ [0146] 2nd sentences: If the desired rotation counter value has been recorded, then program control passes to step 518 where power to electric motor 52 is interrupted, a Delay Flag is set, Delay Counter is initialized, and the Status-Off-Line flag is set. Fig.9 step 518->522 and ¶ [0146] 3rd sentences: Program control then passes back to step 502 and the Check Dispenser Status routine is executed. ¶ [0143] 3rd-6th sentences: Check Dispenser Status routine evaluates the state of the various sensors associated with dispenser 10 and sets a Status-Off-Line flag if dispenser 10 is not ready to dispense paper or resets such Status-Off-Line flag if dispenser 10 is ready to dispense paper. At step 504, the value of the Status-Off-Line flag is examined. If the Status-Off-Line flag is set, dispenser 10 is not ready to dispense paper and program control returns to step 502 and the Check Dispenser Status routine is again executed. Such loop continue until the Check Dispenser Status routine determines that dispenser 10 is ready to dispense paper and resets the Status-Off-Line flag. Additional details of the dispenser status routine at ¶ [0147] and Fig.10 step 544 paper out?->Yes->step 546: set status-off-line flag explained at ¶ [0143] 4th-6th sentences as not dispensing paper); “wherein the hygiene product dispenser is communicatively coupled with a management system, the management system configured to access the operability level data, communicate with the controller and evaluate the operability level data to determine an actionable event type for the hygiene product dispenser, wherein the actionable event type comprises an automated resolution event” (Goerg teaches several examples as follows: ¶ [0120] 4th-5th sentences: delay switch 70 desirably prevents accidental reactivation of motor 52 by a user removing sheet material 12 from dispenser 10, and hence unnecessary dispensing of the sheet material. The delay switch 70 also serves to discourage vandals by frustrating bulk dispensing. A similar example at ¶ [0133] Before engaging relay 410, microcontroller 402 checks the status of Delay timer 421. The purpose of delay timer 421 is to prevent consecutive paper dispensing events until a predefined amount of time elapses. Upon disengaging relay 410 after a paper dispensing event, delay timer 421 is activated. While delay timer 421 is active, microcontroller 402 disables relay 410. Delay timer 421 is designed to time out after a predefined amount of time. Such functionality can be achieved using a count down timer, a count up timer or any other suitable timing technology. For example, delay timer 421 could be set to “time out” ten seconds after activation. For such a configuration, consecutive paper dispensing events could not occur faster than once every 10 seconds. Similarly, ¶ [0147] Referring to Fig.10, step 530 marks the entry into an exemplary Check Dispenser Status routine. Upon entry into such routine, the status of Delay Flag is checked (step 532). If the Delay Flag is set, then program control passes to step 534 and a delay counter value is examined (step 536). If a predefined delay counter value has been reached, then the Delay Flag is reset (step 540) and program control passes to step 542. If, however, such predefined delay counter value has not been reached, the delay counter value is serviced (step 538) and program control returns to step 534. Such delay counter value may be a count down timer, a count up timer, an elapsed time monitor, or any other suitable process for monitoring the passage of time. Exemplary methods of servicing a delay counter value include incrementing a counter value, decrementing a counter value, and updating a time value. Similarly ¶ [0196] 1st-2nd sentences: where dispenser 1088 has the capability to recognize the type of product being used and sets the shot size and/or time delay between dispenses automatically. In a similar manner as described above, Figs.18A-B show another example specifically related to a roll towel dispenser 1060 with the capability to recognize the type of product being used and to set the towel length and/or time delay between dispenses automatically) “and an assisted resolution event” (Goerg ¶ [0064] Fig.21 is a sequence diagram of a product low alert and refill sequence in accordance with an exemplary embodiment. ¶ [0065] Fig.22 is a sequence diagram of a product low alert that is sent to a cell phone of a janitor or other maintenance personnel in accordance with an exemplary embodiment. ¶ [0191] 2nd-3rd sentences: Fig.21 shows a product low alert and refill sequence. The janitor or maintenance personnel periodically checks the status of the dispensers in the system from the WMS 1040 and takes action to refill a dispenser when a product low alert occurs. Also, Fig.30, ¶ [0184] 1st-3rd sentences: automatic product reordering diagram in Fig.30 shows a product delivery updating the inventory level which is then checked until it drops below a pre-defined minimum. Product is then automatically reordered), “and the management system is further configured to” (Claim 19) /
- “in response to determining the actionable event type is the automated resolution event, directing the hygiene product dispenser by the hardware processor of the central management system to enter an issue resolution state / for a predetermined time period or sequence / and then directing the hygiene product dispenser to enter one of a normal operation state or a disabled state based on an evaluation of the operability level data after the issue resolution state” (Claims 10, 19); (Goerg Fig.9 step 518 and ¶ [0146] 2nd sentences: If the desired rotation counter value has been recorded, then program control passes to step 518 where power to electric motor 52 is interrupted, a Delay Flag is set, Delay Counter is initialized, and the Status-Off-Line flag is set. Fig.9 step 518->522 and ¶ [0146] 3rd sentences: Program control then passes back to step 502 and the Check Dispenser Status routine is executed. ¶ [0143] 2nd-6th sentences: At step 502, the status of dispenser 10 is checked by executing exemplary Check Dispenser Status routine which is described in more detail later. Generally speaking, the Check Dispenser Status routine evaluates the state of the various sensors associated with dispenser 10 and sets a Status-Off-Line flag if dispenser 10 is not ready to dispense paper or resets such Status-Off-Line flag if dispenser 10 is ready to dispense paper. At step 504, the value of the Status-Off-Line flag is examined. If the Status-Off-Line flag is set, dispenser 10 is not ready to dispense paper and program control returns to step 502 and the Check Dispenser Status routine is again executed. Such a loop will continue until the Check Dispenser Status routine determines that dispenser 10 is ready to dispense paper and resets the Status-Off-Line flag. Additional details of the dispenser status routine at ¶ [0147] and Fig.10 step 544 paper out?->Yes->step 546: set status-off-line flag explained at ¶ [0143] 4th-6th sentences as not dispensing paper); “and”
“in response to determining the action event type is the assisted resolution event, and directing the hygiene product dispenser by the hardware processor of the central management system to enter the normal operation state or the disabled state, based on the evaluation of the operability level data” (Claims 10,19) / “to switch the motor off in response to the hygiene product dispenser entering the disabled state” (Claim 19). (Goerg ¶ [0150] 2nd-4th sentences: At step 554, Status-Off-Line flag is reset. a Detect and Issue Warnings routine may be executed at this point. Such a routine would check the status of warning sensors, such as … low paper, etc... For example, at ¶ [0177] 3rd - 4th sentences: DSU 1014 detects that no paper is dispensed and that there is paper remaining on the paper roll 1068 then a paper jam can be signaled to the DCU 1038. This signal can be used to indicate that dispenser 1060 needs to be serviced. ¶ [0122] 3rd - 4th sentences: processor 66 may be designed to generate an output command in these instances which blocks operation of the controller 68 entirely so as to prevent operation of the electric motor 52, and hence dispensing of sheet material. Such a function is advantageous because the use of an unrecognized product can result in the jamming of the dispenser, damage to the dispenser, and/or in unsatisfactory dispensing of the product. ¶ [0132] 4th sentence: the length of paper that is dispensed can be controlled by manipulating the predefined number of rotation signals microcontroller 402 looks for (i.e. the value at which microcontroller 402 turns off motor 408.
Fig.22, ¶ [0064]-[0065] noting a sequence of a product low sent to a cell phone of a janitor or other maintenance personnel. ¶ [0191] 2nd-3rd sentences: The janitor or maintenance personnel then takes action to refill a dispenser when a product low alert occurs. Fig.11 step 595: Pater out? ->Yes-> step 596 Set Status-Offline-flag-> step 598 deactivate paper typer sensor. ¶ [0118] 3rd-5th sentences: Once system is reset, its reading or sensing circuit would be enabled for a discrete or limited increment, for example, 3 rotations of the drive roller. After this interval and sensing of the product, the reading or sensing system would shut down [or switch off] until the next reset to conserve power. In still another alternative, a momentary contact switch may be provided in conjunction with, for example, one arm of the roll holder, such that movement of the arm, to load a new roll of sheet material, energizes the reading or sensing circuit. Also, Fig.30, ¶ [0184] 1st-3rd sentences: noting automatic reordering product delivery by updating the inventory level which is then checked until it drops below a pre-defined minimum. Product is then automatically reordered)
* However*
Goerg does not explicitly recite:
- “determining an overcurrent by comparison of the motor current reading from the motor current sensor, and a comparison of the motor current sensor reading to a predetermined motor current sensor parameter indicating the hygiene product dispenser is jammed” as claimed.
* Nevertheless *
Lewis in analogous art of managing washroom components teaches/suggests:
- “determining an overcurrent by comparison of the motor current reading from the motor current sensor, and a comparison of the motor current sensor reading to a predetermined motor current sensor parameter”…
(Lewis ¶ [0064] Relay and Motor Protection circuitry is shown in Fig.10B. A 5V relay is used to turn the motor on and off. Over current protection components are included to protect the motor from any number of over current conditions, and include the current sensing resistor R13 operating in conjunction with an A/D converter in the microprocessor. A voltage generated by current through the resistor R13 is converted to a digital value by the A/D converter and compared to a set point value to determine if an overcurrent condition exists in the supply to the motor. If an overcurrent condition exists, the relay is opened and current supply to the motor is terminated).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Goerg’s method/system to have included Lewis’ teaching / suggestion to have protected the motor from over current conditions (Lewis ¶ [0064] 2nd sentence in view of MPEP 2143 C,D and/or G). Predictability of modification would have been corroborated by the broad level of skills of one or ordinary skills in the art as articulated by Lewis ¶ [0073].
Further, the claimed invention could have also been viewed as a mere combination of old elements in a similar monitoring washroom components field of endeavor. In such combination each element merely would have performed same analytical or measuring function as it did separately. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, given the existing technical ability to combine the elements as evidenced by Goerg in view of Lewis, the to be combined elements would have fitted together, like pieces of a puzzle, in a logical complementary, technologically feasible and/or economically desirable manner. Thus, it would have been reasoned that the results of the combination would have been predictable (MPEP 2143 A).
* Further still *
Lewis ¶ [0064] 2nd sentence teaches any number of over current conditions,
Lewis as part of the teachings of Goerg in view of Lewis falls short to explicitly state that such conditions are “indicating the hygiene product dispenser is jammed” as claimed.
* However *
Stuetzel in analogous monitoring operation of washroom components clarifies that:
“overcurrent” condition is “indicating the hygiene product dispenser is jammed”
(Stuetzel column 6 lines 11-17: to provide dispensing preventer to stop repeated operation, an integrated time-lag element is provided, with the time lag also being adjustable using a trimmer. Furthermore, an overcurrent protection circuit is provided so that when the motor is blocked, for example by a paper jam or clogging, the electronic unit is protected against excessive current).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have further clarified or at most have complementarily modified Goerg/Lewis “method/system” to have included Stuetzel’s clarification that the overcurrent condition relates to “the hygiene product dispenser” being “jammed” to better determine a time after which the issuing device can be operated again (Stuetzel column 2 lines 61-63 in view MPEP 2143 C, D and/or G).
Further, the claimed invention could have also been viewed as a mere combination of old elements in a similar field of endeavor dealing with monitoring washroom components. In such combination each element would have merely performed same analytical or measuring function as it did separately. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, given the existing technical ability to combine the elements as evidenced by Goerg/ Lewis in further view of Stuetzel, the to-be combined elements would have fitted together, like puzzle pieces, in a logical, complementary, technologically feasible and/or economically desirable manner. Thus, it would have been reasoned that the combination results would have been predictable (MPEP 2143 A).
Claim 11 Goerg / Lewis / Stuetzel teaches all the limitations in claim 10 above. Furthermore,
Goerg teaches or suggests: “wherein in response to determining the action event type is the assisted resolution event comprises directing a message to be sent to a washroom attendant to service the hygiene product dispenser” (Goerg ¶ [0064] Fig.21 is a sequence diagram of a product low alert and refill sequence in accordance with an exemplary embodiment. ¶ [0065] Fig.22 is a sequence diagram of a product low alert that is sent to a cell phone of a janitor or other maintenance personnel in accordance with an exemplary embodiment. ¶ [0191] 2nd-3rd sentences: Fig.21 shows a product low alert and refill sequence. The janitor or maintenance personnel periodically checks the status of the dispensers in the system from the WMS 1040 and takes action to refill a dispenser when a product low alert occurs).
Claim 12,20 Goerg / Lewis / Stuetzel teaches all the limitations in claim 10 above and claim [?].
Goerg further teaches or suggests: “wherein, the hygiene product dispenser comprises one of a paper towel dispenser, and a bath tissue dispenser” (Claim 12) / “wherein the hygiene product dispenser comprises one of a paper towel dispenser, a bath tissue dispenser, a soap dispenser, and a sanitizer dispenser” (Claim 20) / (Goerg ¶ [0018] the dispenser may be a paper towel dispenser, a soap dispenser, a toilet tissue dispenser).
Claims 14,21 Goerg / Lewis / Stuetzel teaches all limitations in claim 10 above and claim [?].
Goerg further teaches: “wherein from / wherein in / the automated resolution event and in response to putting the hygiene product dispenser in the disabled state comprises causing a message to be sent to a washroom attendant to service the hygiene product dispenser” (Goerg ¶ [0150] 2nd-4th sentences: At step 554, Status-Off-Line flag is reset. a Detect and Issue Warnings routine may be executed at this point. Such a routine would check the status of warning sensors, such as low paper, etc. and issue warnings such as transmitting a signal/message to a remote device. For example, at ¶ [0177] 3rd-4th sentences: DSU 1014 detects that no paper is dispensed and that there is paper remaining on the paper roll 1068 then a paper jam can be signaled to the DCU 1038. This signal can be used to indicate that the dispenser 1060 needs to be serviced. Fig.22. ¶ [0064]-[0065] noting a sequence of a product low sent to a cell phone of a janitor or other maintenance personnel. ¶ [0191] 2nd-3rd sentences: The janitor or maintenance personnel then takes action to refill a dispenser when a product low alert occurs).
Claim 15. Goerg / Lewis / Stuetzel teaches all the limitations in claim 10 above. Furthermore,
Goerg teaches “wherein analyzing the operability data comprises determining the hygiene product dispenser is jammed and determining the actionable event type is the automated resolution event type” (Goerg ¶ [0150] 2nd-3rd sentences: At step 554, Status-Off-Line flag is reset. a Detect and Issue Warnings routine may be executed at this point. Such a routine would check the status of warning sensors, such as low paper, etc. and issue warnings such as transmitting a signal/message to a remote device. ¶ [0177] 1st-2nd sentences: DSU 1014 signal paper blockage or jam in conjunction with the mechanism for detecting product low and the mechanism for detecting product usage. When the mechanism for dispensing paper is activated, this action can be detected by DSU 1014 by interfacing directly to the paper activation sensor of the dispenser as described above. ¶ [0120] 2nd, 4th-5th sentences controller then activates the electric motor 52 to dispense the predetermined length of sheet material to the user. delay switch 70 is opened upon deactivation of the electric motor 52 by the controller 68, and this switch remains open for a predetermined time interval, for example, but not by way of limitation, 3 seconds, to block communication between the sensor 56 and the controller 68. In this manner, the delay switch 70 desirably prevents accidental reactivation of the motor 52 by a user removing sheet material 12 from the dispenser 10, and hence unnecessary dispensing of the sheet material. ¶ [0133] 2nd - 7th sentences: the purpose of delay timer 421 is to prevent consecutive paper dispensing events until a predefined amount of time elapses. Upon disengaging relay 410 after a paper dispensing event, delay timer 421 is activated. While delay timer 421 is active, microcontroller 402 disables relay 410. Delay timer 421 is designed to “time out” after a predefined amount of time. Such functionality can be achieved using a count down timer, a count up timer or any other suitable timing technology. For example, delay timer 421 could be set to “time out” ten seconds after activation. For such a configuration, consecutive paper dispensing events could not occur faster than once every ten seconds).
Claim 16 Goerg / Lewis / Stuetzel teaches all the limitations in claim 10 above. Furthermore,
Goerg teaches, “wherein analyzing the operability data comprises determining the hygiene product dispenser is fully jammed and determining the actionable event type is the assisted resolution event type” (Goerg ¶ [0150] 2nd-4th sentences: At step 554, Status-Off-Line flag is reset. a Detect and Issue Warnings routine may be executed at this point. Such a routine would check the status of warning sensors, such as low paper, etc. and issue warnings such as transmitting a signal/message to a remote device. For example, at ¶ [0177] 3rd-4th sentences: DSU 1014 detects that no paper is dispensed and that there is paper remaining on the paper roll 1068 then a paper blockage [interpreted as complete obstruction or full] jam can be signaled to the DCU 1038. This signal can be used to indicate that the dispenser 1060 needs to be serviced. Fig.22, ¶ [0064]-[0065] noting a sequence of a product low sent to a cell phone of a janitor or other maintenance personnel. ¶ [0191] 2nd-3rd sentences: The janitor or maintenance personnel then takes action to refill a dispenser when a product low alert occurs).
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Hall et al US 20170254060 A1 hereinafter Hall, in view of
Lewis et al, US 20060169827 A1 hereinafter Lewis, and in further view of
Stuetzel et al, US 6412655 B1 hereinafter Stuetzel. As per,
Claim 17 Hall teaches method for managing a hygiene product dispenser, the method comprising:
- “accessing, by a hardware processor of a central management system, first operability level data from a sonic or infrared detection system consumable product level sensor specifying consumable product use from a hygiene product dispenser” (Hall ¶ [0032] 4th sentence, Fig.2 step 204, ¶ [0008] 4th,6th sentences: toilet paper dispensed is measured by sensors associated with toilet paper dispenser. Toilet paper dispenser sensors may be … ultrasonic and provide info about the thickness, weight and length of the toilet paper used. For example at ¶ [0027] 4th sentence: as user takes toilet paper 204, the sensors sense a number of revolutions of the toilet paper roll, amount of toilet paper removed, and/or optical movement of the toilet paper dispensed to detect the amount of toilet paper dispensed) “and second operability level data from a motor current sensor specifying an operational state of a washroom component” (Hall Fig.2 step 206, ¶ [0026] last two sentences: controller 106 may flush toilet 108 by means of a solenoid valve, a motor, a linear actuator, or an electro-mechanical actuator. Toilet controller may provide an electrical signal to a flush actuator enabling control of a flush length or a flush water volume based on a toilet paper use amount and/or a water displacement amount. ¶ [0027] 5th sentence bowl sensors detect water displacement 206 and send this data to toilet flush timer 208);
- “analyzing, by the hardware processor of the central management system, the first and second operability data to determine an actionable event type for the washroom” (Hall ¶ [0008] 2nd sentence: the amount of toilet paper used and the additional information from displacement sensors placed along the toilet bowl allow a toilet flush controller to adjust a flush volume or length to efficiently and effectively flush a toilet. ¶ [0026] 15th sentence: The change in liquid displacement may be correlated to a toilet use event and/or to a toilet paper use amount to control a toilet flush mechanism),“by measuring a distance between the sonic or infrared detection system consumable product level sensor, and the product” (Hall ¶ [0034] 6th-7th sentences: the sensor units 906 and 908 may be…ultrasonic…to detect surface movement as toilet paper is removed from the toilet paper roll. Sensor unit 906 may be used to transmit and receive sensor electromagnetic waves encoded with information about movement of a toilet paper roll or to count the revolutions [or distances] of the roll. For example, see Figs.8a-b and ¶ [0033] 1st sentence the
cross-sections of possible toilet paper roll controller and encoder apparatus that may be used to count the rotations of the toilet paper roll 802 from inside of a toilet paper roll dispenser. Figs. 9a-b and ¶ [0034] 6th sentence: sensor units 906 and 908 may be optical or ultrasonic and used to detect surface movement as toilet paper is removed from the toilet paper roll. ¶ [0036] 3rd-4th , 7th - 8th sentences: In Fig.11a , as toilet paper 1102 is dispensed, it rolls along input devise 1104 which may collect information. This information could include items such as the amount of toilet paper being dispensed, the thickness or weight of the toilet paper, or the amount of toilet paper left on the roll. In Fig.11b , as toilet paper 1108 is dispensed, it rolls along input devise 1112 which may collect information. The information may include data such as the amount of toilet paper being dispensed, the thickness or weight of the toilet paper, and/or the amount of toilet paper left on the roll), “and determining a consumable product level by measuring changes in this distance” (Hall ¶ [0028] 2nd-3rd sentences: As the user takes toilet paper, sensors may detect the number of revolutions of the toilet paper roll 304. Those sensors may also detect other information about the toilet paper including the thickness, length, weight, remaining toilet paper and any other data that may be considered relevant to the use), “
“wherein the actionable event type comprises an automated resolution event”
(Hall ¶ [0027] last sentence: the data may be processed by the controller and the timer regulates the length of flush or the volume of the water flushed based on the toilet paper usage and the water displaced 214. ¶ [0028] 9th sentence: When the toilet flushes, a timer regulate length of the flush based on the toilet paper usage and/or water displaced 316) “and an assisted resolution event” (Hall ¶ [0008] 8th-9th sentences: when toilet paper roll reaches a level of depletion or a threshold level, sensors send a wireless notification alerts a janitor or staff the toilet paper is depleted and needs to be replaced) “and the analyzing comprises determining high consumable product use from the hygiene product dispenser” (Hall [0008] 8th-10th sentences when toilet paper roll reaches a level of depletion or predetermined threshold level sensors send a wireless notification alerting a janitor or staff member that the toilet paper is depleted and needs to be replaced. There may also be notification signal located on exterior housing of the apparatus to alert the user of low toilet paper availability) “and determining a low operational state for the washroom component”; (Hall ¶ [0029] 8th-9th sentences the bowl sensors detect a clog when the water levels rises past a specified point when a large volume of toilet paper enters the toilet bowl).
- “in response to determining the actionable event type is the automated resolution event, directing the hygiene product dispenser, by the hardware processor of the central management system in the washroom to enter one of a normal operation state or a disabled state based on an evaluation of the first or the second operability level data after an issue resolution state”; (interpreted under MPEP 2111.04 II Contingent limitations ¶1: The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. Here, the contingent limitation of “in response to determining the actionable event type is the automated resolution event, directing the hygiene product dispenser in the washroom by the hardware processor of the central management system to enter one of a normal operation state or a disabled state based on an evaluation of the first or the second operability level data after an issue resolution state” at Claim 17 is not required to be performed when “in response to determining the actionable event type is” not “the automated resolution event”) “and”
- “in response to determining the action event type is the assisted resolution event, directing the hygiene product dispenser by the hardware processor of the central management system to enter the normal operation state or the disabled state, based on the evaluation of the first or the second operability level data”.
(interpreted under MPEP 2111.04 II Contingent limitations ¶1: The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. Here, the contingent limitation “in response to determining the action event type is the assisted resolution event, and directing the hygiene product dispenser by the hardware processor of the central management system to enter the normal operation state or the disabled state, based on an evaluation of the first or the second operability level data” is not required to be performed when “in response to determining the action event type is” not “the assisted resolution event”).
Hall does not explicitly recite, to clearly anticipate: “measuring, a change in motor current, and determining a low operation state for the hygiene product dispenser by determining an overcurrent by comparison of the motor current reading from the motor current sensor, and a comparison of the motor current sensor reading to a predetermined motor current sensor parameter indicating the hygiene product dispenser is jammed” as claimed.
Lewis however in analogous art of managing washroom components teaches/suggests
- “measuring, a change in motor current, and determining a low operation state for the hygiene product dispenser by determining an overcurrent by comparison of the motor current reading from the motor current sensor, and a comparison of the motor current sensor reading to a predetermined motor current sensor parameter” …
(Lewis ¶ [0064] Relay and Motor Protection circuitry is shown in Fig.10B. A 5V relay is used to turn the motor on and off. Over current protection components are included to protect the motor from any number of over current conditions, and include the current sensing resistor R13 operating in conjunction with an A/D converter in the microprocessor. A voltage generated by current through the resistor R13 is converted to a digital value by the A/D converter and compared to a set point value to determine if an overcurrent condition exists in the supply to the motor. If an overcurrent condition exists, the relay is opened and current supply to the motor is terminated).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Hall’s method to have included Lewis’ teaching/suggestion to have protected the motor from any number of over current conditions (Lewis ¶ [0064] 2nd sentence in view of MPEP 2143 C,D and/or G). Predictability of modification would have been corroborated by the broad level of skills of one or ordinary skills in the art as articulated by Lewis ¶ [0073].
Further, the claimed invention could have been viewed as a mere combination of old elements in a similar field of endeavor dealing with monitoring washroom components. In such combination, each element would have merely performed same analytical or measuring function as it did separately. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, given the existing technical ability to combine the elements as evidenced by Hall in view of Lewis, the to be combined elements would have fitted together, like puzzle pieces, in a logical complementary, technologically feasible and/or economically desirable manner. Thus, it would have been reasoned that the results of the combination would have been predictable (MPEP 2143 A).
* Further still *
Lewis ¶ [0064] 2nd sentence teaches any number of over current conditions,
Lewis as part of the teachings of Hal in view of Lewis falls short to explicitly state that such conditions are “indicating the hygiene product dispenser is jammed” as claimed.
* However *
Stuetzel in analogous monitoring operation of washroom components clarifies that:
“overcurrent” condition is “indicating the hygiene product dispenser is jammed”
(Stuetzel column 6 lines 11-17: to provide dispensing preventer to stop repeated operation, an integrated time-lag element is provided, with the time lag also being adjustable using a trimmer. Furthermore, an overcurrent protection circuit is provided so that when the motor is blocked, for example by a paper jam or clogging, the electronic unit is protected against excessive current).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have further modified Hall / Lewis “method” to have further included Stuetzel’s clarification that the overcurrent condition relates to “the hygiene product dispenser” being “jammed” in order to more rigorously determine a time after which the issuing device can be operated again (Stuetzel column 2 lines 61-63 in view of MPEP 2143 C, D and/or G).
Further, the claimed invention could have also been viewed as a mere combination of old elements in a similar field of endeavor dealing with monitoring washroom components. In such combination each element would have merely performed same analytical or measuring function as it did separately. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, given the existing technical ability to combine the elements as evidenced by Hall / Lewis in further view of Stuetzel, the to be combined elements would have fitted together, like puzzle pieces, in a logical, complementary, technologically feasible and/or economically desirable manner. Thus, it would have been reasoned that the combination results would have been predictable (MPEP 2143 A).
Claim 18. Hall / Lewis / Stuetzel teaches all the limitations in claim 17 above. Furthermore,
Hall teaches “the hygiene product dispenser is a bath tissue or paper towel dispenser” (Hall Fig.1 element 104) “and the washroom component is a toilet or urinal” (Hall Fig.1, 108).
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Conclusion
The following art is made of record and considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
- US 20180064295 A1 teaching at Fig.1A and associated text a washroom component comprising a toilet and a toilet paper dispenser
Fig.1A of US 20180064295 A1 depicting the combination of toilet and toilet paper
- WO 2018004533 A1 reciting at p.4 lines 26-30: The method may further include switching the towel dispenser operating in hanging towel mode back to hidden towel mode upon reaching the setpoint low fill level in the towel dispenser operating in hanging towel mode. Alternatively, the method may include switching the towel dispenser operating in hidden towel mode to hanging towel mode upon reaching the setpoint low fill level in the towel dispenser operating in hanging towel mode.
- WO 2010108295 A2 teaching a Device For Optimizing Toilet Operation, Has Storage Container For Toilet Paper, Sensor For Measuring Consumption Of Toilet Paper, Data Processor Wirelessly Connected With Sensor, And Actuator Connected With Data Processor
- Shuaeb MA. Clogging Potential of Low-Flush Toilet Drain System, Doctoral dissertation, 2017 teaching a study divided into two parts. In the first parts the clogging potential was defined for two toilet models and the effect of the related hydraulic parameters was evaluated. After, the minimum flushing condition to carry the waste samples without clogging was calculated and the clogging charts were created. In the second part, the hydraulic characteristics were defined for two toilet models. Next, the clogging potential was calculated for selected toilet paper product as representative of flushable sanitary products. Moreover, the relation between the toilet hydraulic characteristics and the clogging potential for the toilet paper products were investigated. Finally, in both study parts it was shown how the results can be used in real practice and how it can help in reducing water consumption while maintaining proper waste drainage.
- US 20050171709 A1 hereinafter Nortier teaching “prior to causing the controller to put the washroom component in the issue resolution state or the disabled state” (Nortier Fig.6 step 156 prior to causing the controller to close the servo valve), “and based on the evaluation of the operability level data” (Fig.6 step 152 based on evaluation of: Is Restroom Facility in out-of-use period?) “determining the actionable event type” (Nortier Fig.6 determining at step 154: Water Usage, Yes or No. Also Fig. 6 determining step 160 the Water Flow) “is one of (i) the automated resolution event for which no attendant intervention is specified to address a maintenance need for the washroom component” “or (ii) the assisted resolution event for which attendant intervention is specified to address the maintenance need for the washroom component” (¶ [0045], ¶ [0046] 3rd sentence: Fig.6 step 152 Is Rest Facility in Out-of-use Period?->No-> Monitor Water flow out of expected range?->Y->step 164 Generate/Send Alarm Notification w/time/date stamp: to initiate a maintenance request to investigate a potential clog, leak or other problem);
- US 5438711 A reciting at column 20 lines 6-20: When the paper is removed (discharged by the flushing water) while the voltage is applied to the paper position detection sensor 70 (within one minute), new paper can be fed. At this time, the movable plate 50 returns to its original position to prepare for feeding the new paper. But, when the feed switch is not on, the paper position detection sensor 70 puts out its light and the movable plate 50 returns to its original position. At this time, if the paper is already removed, a predetermined length of paper is fed in preparation for feeding the paper next time, and the apparatus goes into standby. However, if the paper remains unremoved, it is interpreted as paper clogging and the apparatus goes into standby without doing anything. Moreover per column 12 lines 10-17: even if the seat covering paper feeding switch 71 is pressed down erroneously or mischievously or there is twisting or clogging within the functional unit casing 15, the control unit F stops the operation of the seat covering paper feeding mechanism C when the toilet seat body 11 is erected thus preventing the seat covering paper P from being fed from the functional unit casing 15. column 23 lines 13-17: motors M1 and M2 remain stopped. Accordingly, trouble from incomplete operations of these mechanisms can be prevented.
- US 20180135285 A1 reciting at ¶ [0114]: FIG. 3 shows an example normal evacuation situation and FIG. 3A shows an example clogged toilet situation. When debris (e.g., a child's toy, excess quantities of toilet paper, a massive poop volcano, etc.) blocks the toilet exhaust port 63 or further down waste pipe 57 as shown in FIG. 3A, flushing the toilet does not cause the bowl 54 to evacuate. Instead, the water level within bowl 54 continues to rise as water from the tank 52 rushes downward into the bowl. In many instances, the water will stop rising before the toilet overflows. This is because most toilet bowls 54 are designed to hold the entire contents of the tank 52 without overflowing—but only if the water in the tank falls low enough to allow the flapper 62 to seat so as to prevent further water from flowing into the bowl 54. Overflows can occur with just a single flush when blocked siphon 55b port (see FIG. 2A) prevents the rapid evacuation of the water in the tank 52 while the fill valve 66 is open.
- US 11013377 B2 teaching the management of a toilet state by taking into account the toilet bowl wash switch as per Figs. 5, 6, 10 & associated text as well as the use of toilet paper as per Figs.7-10 & associated text
- US 4456193 A column 2 lines 39-51: Another proposal, apparent from U.S. Pat. No. 4,111,378, by M. L. Barwick, issued Sept. 5, 1978, folds the web material back upon itself towards the end of the ribbon supply, whereby a rotary web sensing system will reverse direction of rotation, indicating the impending tape end. The practicality of such a proposal is naturally limited by the ability to provide or obtain the requisite partially reversely wound web supplies. Similarly, a proposal according to U.S. Pat. No. 4,111,565, by B. E. Jagger, issued Sept. 5, 1978, requires provision of a special paper path with particular protrusions for sensing paper depletion in a printer. However according to the same US 4456193 A at column 1 lines 13-20: “By way of example, the subject invention is herein disclosed with emphasis on systems for supplying and advancing printing ink ribbons. It should, however, be understood that the subject invention applies broadly to magnetic recording and other tape supply and transport methods and apparatus, to paper, foil or film supply and advancing systems, and to various other kinds of web supply and advancing methods and apparatus”. This corroborates the reasonably pertinent test at claim 19 per MPEP 21451.01(a) I ¶1-¶5 in view of In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325, 72 USPQ2d 1209, 1212 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
- US 11141027 B2 reciting at column 16 line 65 to column 17 line 2: The user interface 812 may indicate information such as an amount of paper remaining in the dispenser 100 (e.g., that one or both of the paper towel rolls are depleted or nearly depleted),
- US 20180075375 A1 Fig2 element 35 John the towel dispenser is half full. Do not fill until next visit
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OCTAVIAN ROTARU whose telephone number is (571)270-7950. The examiner can normally be reached on 571.270.7950 from 9AM to 6PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, PATRICIA H MUNSON, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-5396. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from Patent Center. Status information for published applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Patent Center for authorized users only. Should you have questions about access to Patent Center, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) Form at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated- interview-request-air-form.
/Octavian Rotaru/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624 A
September 10th, 2026