DETAILED ACTION
This application is a bypass continuation application, claiming priority under §365(c), from International application No. PCT/KR2024/010700, filed on July 24, 2024, which claims the benefit of Indian Patent Application No. 202311070667, filed on October 17, 2023, in the Indian Intellectual Property Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Doken (U. S. Patent Application 2024/0214372 A1, hereafter ‘372).
Regarding claim 1, Doken teaches a method for authenticating a virtual representation of a first user (‘372; fig. 8, Abstract) in a virtual environment (‘372; ¶ 0002-0003, Digital platforms, such as computer-generated virtual environments, are increasingly popular methods for people to interact within a networked system. Various on-line environments are known in which a three-dimensional (3D), a two-and-a-half dimensional (2.5D), or a two-dimensional (2D) physical world (actual or fantasy) is simulated. Some environments of this type are referred to as “virtual reality” (VR) or “virtual reality universe” (VRU) environments. In known VRU environments, a portion of the actual world, or a portion of a fantasy universe, or a combination of the foregoing, is simulated within a computer system. Multiple players or users may participate in the environment through a computer network, such as a local area network or a wide area network (e.g., the internet). Each player is typically represented in the VRU environment by an “avatar.”), the method comprising: receiving an authentication request (‘372; ¶ 0024, In some embodiments, the request to authenticate may be received from a second user device (e.g., associated with or used by a second user) of the digital platform. The second user, for example, may notice the avatar and logo displayed and may wish to request authentication of the affiliation of the first user as a prerequisite to conducting a transaction with, or obtaining information from, the avatar. – note that in claim 2, the request is further defined as from second user – Doken discloses requests from the first, second and other users in disclosed embodiments)) to authenticate the virtual representation of the first user in the virtual environment (‘372; ¶ 0024, In some embodiments, the request to authenticate may be received from a second user device (e.g., associated with or used by a second user) of the digital platform. The second user, for example, may notice the avatar and logo displayed and may wish to request authentication of the affiliation of the first user as a prerequisite to conducting a transaction with, or obtaining information from, the avatar.); based on the virtual representation of the first user being an authenticated virtual representation of the first user (372; Abstract; ¶ 0009, authentication of affiliation the logo may be provided as, an ID, such as a QR code, or other bar code. Such an ID, QR or bar code may be visible to other users or may be visible to other users only when using an augmented reality (AR) device, or may be revealed to other users only after the digital platform 300 or the authenticating platform 200 grants authorization to view the ID, QR or bar code of the first user), extracting one or more authentication parameters (‘372; ¶ 0089,…The user affiliation authentication request transmitted to the authenticating server 320 may include the user's name and or Social Security number, birthday, employee ID, member ID, year or date of graduation or anniversary, and/or other such identifying information. The user affiliation authentication request may also include an e-mail address and/or password that the user has been assigned by the entity with which the user claims to be affiliated.) embedded within the virtual representation of the first user (‘372; ¶ 0158, According to an embodiment, the logo may include, or may be provided as, an ID, such as a QR code, or other bar code. Such an ID, QR or bar code may be visible to other users or may be visible to other users only when using an augmented reality (AR) device, or may be revealed to other users only after the digital platform 300 or the authenticating platform 200 grants authorization to view the ID, QR or bar code.); and displaying, in the virtual environment (‘372; ¶ 0002-0003, Digital platforms, such as computer-generated virtual environments, are increasingly popular methods for people to interact within a networked system. Various on-line environments are known in which a three-dimensional (3D), a two-and-a-half dimensional (2.5D), or a two-dimensional (2D) physical world (actual or fantasy) is simulated. Some environments of this type are referred to as “virtual reality” (VR) or “virtual reality universe” (VRU) environments. In known VRU environments, a portion of the actual world, or a portion of a fantasy universe, or a combination of the foregoing, is simulated within a computer system. Multiple players or users may participate in the environment through a computer network, such as a local area network or a wide area network (e.g., the internet). Each player is typically represented in the VRU environment by an “avatar.”), authentication information of the virtual representation of the first user based on the one or more authentication parameters (‘372; ¶ 0170, At 1126, on the other hand, if verification succeeds, then the digital platform 300 may enable display of the logo or other the verification mark in conjunction with the user avatar, or may generate display of such verification mark, including logo, in conjunction with the avatar of the user.).
Regarding claim 2, Doken teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the authentication request is received from a second user in the virtual environment (‘372; ¶ 0024, In some embodiments, the request to authenticate may be received from a second user device (e.g., associated with or used by a second user – Doken discloses requests from the first, second and other users in disclosed embodiments) of the digital platform. The second user, for example, may notice the avatar and logo displayed and may wish to request authentication of the affiliation of the first user as a prerequisite to conducting a transaction with, or obtaining information from, the avatar.), and wherein the authentication request is received as one of: a voice command (‘372; ¶ 0053; requesting user’s avatar audio content from a set of audio expressions), a facial gesture (‘372; ¶ 0057), an indication involving pointing towards the virtual representation (‘372; ¶ 0250, At 1704, the inquiring user's action to authenticate is received by the digital platform 300. As discussed, this inquiring user action to authenticate may comprise a graphical user interface action at the avatar, such as a mouse click on a display space shown on the avatar or on the avatar generally – mouse controlled point and click), a selection by clicking on the virtual representation (‘372; ¶ 0250, At 1704, the inquiring user's action to authenticate is received by the digital platform 300. As discussed, this inquiring user action to authenticate may comprise a graphical user interface action at the avatar, such as a mouse click on a display space shown on the avatar or on the avatar generally – mouse controlled point and click), and inputting of user credentials (‘372; ¶ 0012, inputting a unique ID; ¶ 0012, inputting a unique ID; ¶ 0071,… data indicating user names and logon credentials..).
Regarding claim 3, Doken teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the receiving the authentication request comprises: generating a three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation of the first user (‘372; ¶ 0051, In a 3D VRU, for example, an avatar may be a 3D model linked to a particular user or character "played" by the user.) by generating a new three-dimensional structure (‘372; ¶ 0068, A user connecting via the user device 340 to the digital platform 300 may create an avatar on the digital platform 300, import an avatar to the digital platform 300, or may select from a menu of avatars available on the digital platform 300. Through an avatar, the user is represented on the digital platform 300) or by requesting the three-dimensional structure from a list of available virtual representations associated with the first user within the virtual environment (‘372; ¶ 0068, may select from a menu of avatars available on the digital platform 300. Through an avatar, the user is represented on the digital platform 300; ¶ 0079, The user request may cause avatar rendering module 402 to render an avatar (e.g., avatar 100). One or more such avatars for a user may be stored in user avatar database 408, to which avatar rendering module 402 communicates via communication path 416 and from which avatar rendering module 402 receives data via communication path 418. Avatar rendering module 402 also communicates, via communication path 420, with content output module 404 and provides content output module 404 with the rendered avatar).
Regarding claim 4, Doken teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches the method as further comprising: receiving a three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation of the first user (‘372; ¶ 0051, In a 3D VRU, for example, an avatar may be a 3D model linked to a particular user or character "played" by the user; ¶ 0079,… One or more such avatars for a user may be stored in user avatar database 408, to which avatar rendering module 402 communicates via communication path 416 and from which avatar rendering module 402 receives data via communication path 418) based on the authentication request (‘372; ¶ 0051, In a 3D VRU, for example, an avatar may be a 3D model linked to a particular user or character "played" by the user; ¶ 0079,… One or more such avatars for a user may be stored in user avatar database 408, to which avatar rendering module 402 communicates via communication path 416 and from which avatar rendering module 402 receives data via communication path 418) by generating a new three-dimensional structure (‘372; ¶ 0068, A user connecting via the user device 340 to the digital platform 300 may create an avatar on the digital platform 300, import an avatar to the digital platform 300, or may select from a menu of avatars available on the digital platform 300. Through an avatar, the user is represented on the digital platform 300); and identifying the one or more authentication parameters (‘372; ¶ 0089,…The user affiliation authentication request transmitted to the authenticating server 320 may include the user's name and or Social Security number, birthday, employee ID, member ID, year or date of graduation or anniversary, and/or other such identifying information. The user affiliation authentication request may also include an e-mail address and/or password that the user has been assigned by the entity with which the user claims to be affiliated.) embedded within the virtual representation (‘372; ¶ 0158, According to an embodiment, the logo may include, or may be provided as, an ID, such as a QR code, or other bar code. Such an ID, QR or bar code may be visible to other users or may be visible to other users only when using an augmented reality (AR) device, or may be revealed to other users only after the digital platform 300 or the authenticating platform 200 grants authorization to view the ID, QR or bar code.) from the three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation of the first user (‘372; ¶ 0051, In a 3D VRU, for example, an avatar may be a 3D model linked to a particular user or character "played" by the user.).
Regarding claim 11, Doken teaches a system (‘372; figs. 3 and 4) for authenticating a virtual representation of a first user (‘372; fig. 8, Abstract) in a virtual environment (‘372; ¶ 0002-0003, Digital platforms, such as computer-generated virtual environments, are increasingly popular methods for people to interact within a networked system. Various on-line environments are known in which a three-dimensional (3D), a two-and-a-half dimensional (2.5D), or a two-dimensional (2D) physical world (actual or fantasy) is simulated. Some environments of this type are referred to as “virtual reality” (VR) or “virtual reality universe” (VRU) environments. In known VRU environments, a portion of the actual world, or a portion of a fantasy universe, or a combination of the foregoing, is simulated within a computer system. Multiple players or users may participate in the environment through a computer network, such as a local area network or a wide area network (e.g., the internet). Each player is typically represented in the VRU environment by an “avatar.”), the system comprising: memory storing one or more instructions (’372; fig. 3; ¶ 0065, The processing circuitry 304 may include any processor(s) or circuitry configured to implement the functions or operations described herein as being performed by the digital platform 300. The processing circuitry 304 may fetch and execute instructions stored to the memory 306. The memory 306 may be any component including computer-readable media (CRM) that is accessible for placing, keeping, or retrieving information (e.g., data, computer-readable, instructions, program modules, applications, routines, etc.)); and at least one processor configured to execute the one or more instructions (’372; fig. 3; ¶ 0065, The processing circuitry 304 may include any processor(s) or circuitry configured to implement the functions or operations described herein as being performed by the digital platform 300. The processing circuitry 304 may fetch and execute instructions stored to the memory 306. The memory 306 may be any component including computer-readable media (CRM) that is accessible for placing, keeping, or retrieving information (e.g., data, computer-readable, instructions, program modules, applications, routines, etc.)), wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to implement (‘372; ¶ 0083, FIG. 5 is a process flow diagram illustrating an example method 500 to authenticate a user affiliation with an entity. Advantageously, the method 500 may be implemented to address a user's wish to display an affiliation of the user with the entity. The method 500 may be implemented, in whole or in part, by the systems and components described herein (e.g., the system 399 shown in FIG. 3). One or more instructions or routines for implementing the method 500 may be stored to one or more memories of the system 399; these instructions or routines may be executed to implement the method 500.): an authentication initializer (‘372; fig. 3, element 320; implemented within element 320 via processing circuitry 324), configured to receive an authentication request of the virtual representation of the first user in the virtual environment and displaying authentication information (‘372; ¶ 0024, In some embodiments, the request to authenticate may be received from a second user device (e.g., associated with or used by a second user) of the digital platform. The second user, for example, may notice the avatar and logo displayed and may wish to request authentication of the affiliation of the first user as a prerequisite to conducting a transaction with, or obtaining information from, the avatar.); and a virtual representation debugger (‘372; fig. 3, element 320; implemented within element 320 via processing circuitry 324) configured to, based on the virtual representation of the first user being an authenticated virtual representation of the first user (‘372; Abstract; ¶ 0009, authentication of affiliation the logo may be provided as, an ID, such as a QR code, or other bar code. Such an ID, QR or bar code may be visible to other users or may be visible to other users only when using an augmented reality (AR) device, or may be revealed to other users only after the digital platform 300 or the authenticating platform 200 grants authorization to view the ID, QR or bar code of the first user), extract one or more authentication parameters (‘372; ¶ 0089,…The user affiliation authentication request transmitted to the authenticating server 320 may include the user's name and or Social Security number, birthday, employee ID, member ID, year or date of graduation or anniversary, and/or other such identifying information. The user affiliation authentication request may also include an e-mail address and/or password that the user has been assigned by the entity with which the user claims to be affiliated.) embedded within the virtual representation (‘372; ¶ 0158, According to an embodiment, the logo may include, or may be provided as, an ID, such as a QR code, or other bar code. Such an ID, QR or bar code may be visible to other users or may be visible to other users only when using an augmented reality (AR) device, or may be revealed to other users only after the digital platform 300 or the authenticating platform 200 grants authorization to view the ID, QR or bar code.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doken (U. S. Patent Application 2024/0214372 A1, hereafter ‘372) as applied to claims 1-4 and 11-13 above, and in view of Soryal et al. (U. S. Patent Application 2023/0388796 A1, hereafter ‘796).
Regarding claim 5, Doken teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches the method as further comprising, based on the virtual representation of the first user not being the authenticated virtual representation: generating the authentication information of the virtual representation of the first user (‘372; fig. 5, elements 501, 502, 504, 506 (Yes branch), 510 and 512; first time authentication of first user; ¶ 0092, At 506, the digital platform 300 may determine whether the user avatar is authenticated. The authenticating server 320 may determine whether to authenticate the user affiliation, as described herein in connection with FIG. 10. For example, the authenticating server 320 may determine that the user is indeed affiliated with the entity, for example, that user is an employee or member of the entity with which the user claims to be affiliated, and the authentication approval is communicated to the digital platform 300. Then the digital platform 300 may receive notification of whether the user of the avatar is authenticated. The digital platform 300 may then process a response to the authentication query from the authenticating server 320. The reply may indicate authentication and may include a user-logo confirmation.), and providing the authenticated virtual representation based on embedding the authentication information (‘372; ¶ 0158, According to an embodiment, the logo may include, or may be provided as, an ID, such as a QR code, or other bar code. Such an ID, QR or bar code may be visible to other users or may be visible to other users only when using an augmented reality (AR) device, or may be revealed to other users only after the digital platform 300 or the authenticating platform 200 grants authorization to view the ID, QR or bar code; ¶ 0089,…may include the user's name and or Social Security number, birthday, employee ID, member ID, year or date of graduation or anniversary, and/or other such identifying information. The user affiliation authentication request may also include an e-mail address and/or password that the user has been assigned by the entity with which the user claims to be affiliated.) but does not teach a holographic three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation.
Soryal, working in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches a holographic three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation (‘796; fig. 2A, elements 201 and 211; ¶ 0027, In an embodiment, the virtual entity – avatar - may be a holographic representation of the real-world user.) for the benefit of presenting very realistic appearing three-dimensional VR entity in the simulated virtual environment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the techniques for implementing a holographic three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation of a first user as taught by Soryal with the methods for authenticating the affiliation of a displayed three-dimensional avatar interacting within a three-dimensional augmented reality environment to a verified first user represented by the avatar as taught by Doken for the benefit of presenting very realistic appearing three-dimensional VR entity in the simulated virtual environment.
Regarding claim 16, Doken teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions (‘372; fig. 3; ¶ 0065,… The memory 306 may be any component including computer-readable media (CRM) that is accessible for placing, keeping, or retrieving information (e.g., data, computer-readable, instructions, program modules, applications, routines, etc.). Note, “CRM” refers to media that is non-transitory in nature, and does not refer to disembodied transitory signals, such as radio waves), that when executed for authenticating a first virtual representation of a first user in a virtual environment (‘372; ¶ 0002-0003, Digital platforms, such as computer-generated virtual environments, are increasingly popular methods for people to interact within a networked system. Various on-line environments are known in which a three-dimensional (3D), a two-and-a-half dimensional (2.5D), or a two-dimensional (2D) physical world (actual or fantasy) is simulated. Some environments of this type are referred to as “virtual reality” (VR) or “virtual reality universe” (VRU) environments. In known VRU environments, a portion of the actual world, or a portion of a fantasy universe, or a combination of the foregoing, is simulated within a computer system. Multiple players or users may participate in the environment through a computer network, such as a local area network or a wide area network (e.g., the internet). Each player is typically represented in the VRU environment by an “avatar.”), cause at least one of one or more processors (’372; fig. 3; ¶ 0065, The processing circuitry 304 may include any processor(s) or circuitry configured to implement the functions or operations described herein as being performed by the digital platform 300. The processing circuitry 304 may fetch and execute instructions stored to the memory 306.) to: receive, from a second user in the virtual environment (‘372; ¶ 0024, In some embodiments, the request to authenticate may be received from a second user device (e.g., associated with or used by a second user – Doken discloses requests from the first, second and other users in disclosed embodiments) or a second virtual representation of the second user (‘372; ¶ 0024, In some embodiments, the request to authenticate may be received from a second user device (e.g., associated with or used by a second user) of the digital platform. The second user, for example, may notice the avatar and logo displayed and may wish to request authentication of the affiliation of the first user as a prerequisite to conducting a transaction with, or obtaining information from, the avatar.), an authentication request to authenticate the first virtual representation of the first user (‘372; ¶ 0024, In some embodiments, the request to authenticate may be received from a second user device (e.g., associated with or used by a second user) of the digital platform. The second user, for example, may notice the avatar and logo displayed and may wish to request authentication of the affiliation of the first user as a prerequisite to conducting a transaction with, or obtaining information from, the avatar.) in the virtual environment (‘372; ¶ 0002-0003, Digital platforms, such as computer-generated virtual environments, are increasingly popular methods for people to interact within a networked system. Various on-line environments are known in which a three-dimensional (3D), a two-and-a-half dimensional (2.5D), or a two-dimensional (2D) physical world (actual or fantasy) is simulated. Some environments of this type are referred to as “virtual reality” (VR) or “virtual reality universe” (VRU) environments. In known VRU environments, a portion of the actual world, or a portion of a fantasy universe, or a combination of the foregoing, is simulated within a computer system. Multiple players or users may participate in the environment through a computer network, such as a local area network or a wide area network (e.g., the internet). Each player is typically represented in the VRU environment by an “avatar.”); and based on the first virtual representation of the first user being an authenticated virtual representation of the first user (372; Abstract; ¶ 0009, authentication of affiliation the logo may be provided as, an ID, such as a QR code, or other bar code. Such an ID, QR or bar code may be visible to other users or may be visible to other users only when using an augmented reality (AR) device, or may be revealed to other users only after the digital platform 300 or the authenticating platform 200 grants authorization to view the ID, QR or bar code of the first user), displaying, to the second user (‘372; ¶ 0024, In some embodiments, the request to authenticate may be received from a second user device (e.g., associated with or used by a second user) of the digital platform. The second user, for example, may notice the avatar and logo displayed and may wish to request authentication of the affiliation of the first user as a prerequisite to conducting a transaction with, or obtaining information from, the avatar.), authentication information (‘372; ¶ 0089,…The user affiliation authentication request transmitted to the authenticating server 320 may include the user's name and or Social Security number, birthday, employee ID, member ID, year or date of graduation or anniversary, and/or other such identifying information. The user affiliation authentication request may also include an e-mail address and/or password that the user has been assigned by the entity with which the user claims to be affiliated.) wherein the authentication information is invisible to other virtual representations present within the virtual environment (‘372; ¶ 0002-0003, Digital platforms, such as computer-generated virtual environments, are increasingly popular methods for people to interact within a networked system. Various on-line environments are known in which a three-dimensional (3D), a two-and-a-half dimensional (2.5D), or a two-dimensional (2D) physical world (actual or fantasy) is simulated. Some environments of this type are referred to as “virtual reality” (VR) or “virtual reality universe” (VRU) environments. In known VRU environments, a portion of the actual world, or a portion of a fantasy universe, or a combination of the foregoing, is simulated within a computer system. Multiple players or users may participate in the environment through a computer network, such as a local area network or a wide area network (e.g., the internet). Each player is typically represented in the VRU environment by an “avatar.”) and does not teach that the embedding is within a translucent holographic three-dimensional structure of the first virtual representation.
Soryal, working in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches a holographic three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation (‘796; fig. 2A, elements 201 and 211; ¶ 0027; ¶ 0037, In an embodiment, the virtual entity – avatar - may be a holographic representation of the real-world user..not physically present in a first space) for the benefit of presenting very realistic appearing three-dimensional VR entity in the simulated virtual environment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the techniques for implementing a holographic three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation of a first user as taught by Soryal with the methods for authenticating the affiliation of a displayed three-dimensional avatar interacting within a three-dimensional augmented reality environment to a verified first user represented by the avatar as taught by Doken for the benefit of presenting very realistic appearing three-dimensional VR entity in the simulated virtual environment.
Regarding claim 17, Doken and Soryal teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16 and further teach wherein the authentication request is received as one of: a voice command (‘372; ¶ 0053; requesting user’s avatar audio content from a set of audio expressions), a facial gesture (‘372; ¶ 0057), an indication involving pointing towards the first virtual representation (‘372; ¶ 0250, At 1704, the inquiring user's action to authenticate is received by the digital platform 300. As discussed, this inquiring user action to authenticate may comprise a graphical user interface action at the avatar, such as a mouse click on a display space shown on the avatar or on the avatar generally – mouse controlled point and click), a selection by clicking on the first virtual representation (‘372; ¶ 0250, At 1704, the inquiring user's action to authenticate is received by the digital platform 300. As discussed, this inquiring user action to authenticate may comprise a graphical user interface action at the avatar, such as a mouse click on a display space shown on the avatar or on the avatar generally – mouse controlled point and click), or inputting of user credentials (‘372; ¶ 0012, inputting a unique ID; ¶ 0071,… data indicating user names and logon credentials..).
Regarding claim 18, Doken and Soryal teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16 and further teach wherein the instructions further cause the at least one of the one or more processors to, based on the first virtual representation of the first user not being the authenticated virtual representation: generate the authentication information of the first virtual representation of the first user (‘372; fig. 5, elements 501, 502, 504, 506 (Yes branch), 510 and 512; first time authentication of first user; ¶ 0092, At 506, the digital platform 300 may determine whether the user avatar is authenticated. The authenticating server 320 may determine whether to authenticate the user affiliation, as described herein in connection with FIG. 10. For example, the authenticating server 320 may determine that the user is indeed affiliated with the entity, for example, that user is an employee or member of the entity with which the user claims to be affiliated, and the authentication approval is communicated to the digital platform 300. Then the digital platform 300 may receive notification of whether the user of the avatar is authenticated. The digital platform 300 may then process a response to the authentication query from the authenticating server 320. The reply may indicate authentication and may include a user-logo confirmation.); and provide the authenticated virtual representation (‘372; ¶ 0158, According to an embodiment, the logo may include, or may be provided as, an ID, such as a QR code, or other bar code. Such an ID, QR or bar code may be visible to other users or may be visible to other users only when using an augmented reality (AR) device, or may be revealed to other users only after the digital platform 300 or the authenticating platform 200 grants authorization to view the ID, QR or bar code.) based on embedding the authentication information in a holographic three-dimensional structure of the first virtual representation (‘796; fig. 2A, elements 201 and 211; ¶ 0027, In an embodiment, the virtual entity – avatar - may be a holographic representation of the real-world user.).
Claims 6-10, 14, 15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doken (U. S. Patent Application 2024/0214372 A1, hereafter ‘372) as applied to claims 1-5, 11-13 and 16-18 above, and in view of Soryal et al. (U. S. Patent Application 2023/0388796 A1, hereafter ‘796) as applied to claims 5 and 16-18 above, and further in view of Nathan et al. (U. S. Patent Application 2017/0339123 A1, hereafter ‘123).
Regarding claim 6, Doken teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches the method as further comprising: generating the authenticated virtual representation by: receiving a request for authentication of the virtual representation from the second user (‘372; ¶ 0024, In some embodiments, the request to authenticate may be received from a second user device (e.g., associated with or used by a second user) of the digital platform. The second user, for example, may notice the avatar and logo displayed and may wish to request authentication of the affiliation of the first user as a prerequisite to conducting a transaction with, or obtaining information from, the avatar. – Doken discloses requests from the first, second and other users in disclosed embodiments); capturing a plurality of authentication data from the first user (‘372; ¶ 0079,… the user device 340 may connect through communication path 412 with the digital platform 300 via the input/output circuitry 302. In particular, the user device 340 may request authentication of a user, and thus use of the user's avatar, on the digital platform server 300 displayed in association with a logo (e.g., logo 102) of an entity with which the user alleges affiliation. The input/output circuitry 302 may, in turn, transmit 414 the user request to the processing circuitry 308, where it is received using authentication processing module 400. The user request may cause avatar rendering module 402 to render an avatar (e.g., avatar 100)…) to create the authentication information (‘372; ¶ 0089,…The user affiliation authentication request transmitted to the authenticating server 320 may include the user's name and or Social Security number, birthday, employee ID, member ID, year or date of graduation or anniversary, and/or other such identifying information. The user affiliation authentication request may also include an e-mail address and/or password that the user has been assigned by the entity with which the user claims to be affiliated.), embedding the authentication information within a three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation (‘372; ¶ 0158, According to an embodiment, the logo may include, or may be provided as, an ID, such as a QR code, or other bar code. Such an ID, QR or bar code may be visible to other users or may be visible to other users only when using an augmented reality (AR) device, or may be revealed to other users only after the digital platform 300 or the authenticating platform 200 grants authorization to view the ID, QR or bar code.); and providing authentication embedded virtual representation in the virtual environment (‘372; ¶ 0080,… Content output module 404 combines the rendered avatar and rendered environment into a single data stream and transmits the stream, via communication path 428, to the input/output circuitry 302 which in turn transmits the stream, via communication path 430, to user device 340) and does not teach wherein the plurality of authentication data comprises at least one of a visual presence authentication data, an intellectual presence authentication data, and an emotional presence authentication data.
Soryal, working in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches wherein the plurality of authentication data comprises at least one of a visual presence authentication data (‘796; ¶ 0013, ,,,performance of operations of authenticating an identity of a user of user equipment that controls a virtual entity – avatar - in a virtual environment; receiving a data feed providing images from the virtual environment; correlating signals from the user equipment with actions of the virtual entity observed in the images; continuously monitoring a presence of the user at the user equipment during a period of controlling the virtual entity; and providing an indication responsive to the user being unidentified, the signals being uncorrelated with the actions or the user not being present at the user equipment.), and Nathan, also working in the same field of endeavor further teaches an intellectual presence authentication data, and an emotional presence authentication data (‘123; ¶ 0068, A logical block diagram of an exemplary Persistent Avatar 221a is shown in FIG. 2D. In some embodiments, Persistent Avatar 221a may include Physical Attributes 241, Intellectual Attributes 242 and Emotional Attributes 243. Physical Attributes 241 may include Avatar's 221a physical statistics, such as strength, and appearance data. Intellectual Attributes 242 may include the Avatar's 221a backstory, history and memory. Emotional Attributes 243 may include the Avatar's 221a emotional disposition, and reaction and response algorithms) for the benefit of ensuring valid authentication of the representative avatar.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the techniques for determining that the plurality of authentication data comprises at least one of a visual presence authentication data as taught by Soryal with the techniques for determining an intellectual presence authentication data, and an emotional presence authentication data as taught by Nathan combined with methods for authenticating a virtual representation of a first user as taught by Doken for the benefit of ensuring valid authentication of the representative avatar.
Regarding claim 7, Doken teaches the method of claim 3 and further teaches wherein the new three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation is generated (‘372; ¶ 0068, A user connecting via the user device 340 to the digital platform 300 may create an avatar on the digital platform 300, import an avatar to the digital platform 300, or may select from a menu of avatars available on the digital platform 300. Through an avatar, the user is represented on the digital platform 300) by using an input data that comprises physical parameters received from a user profile manager (‘372; ¶ 0199, According to an aspect of the disclosure, the type of avatar for which the authenticating server 320 – profile manager - authenticates a logo may be subject to approval by the authenticating server 320.) on receiving the authentication request (‘372; ¶ 0199, According to an aspect of the disclosure, the type of avatar for which the authenticating server 320 authenticates a logo may be subject to approval by the authenticating server 320. For example, the authenticating server 320 may specify a standard specified avatar, or may specify that the avatar be, or include, a photograph of the user.), and the physical parameters of the first user are captured by an imaging device of an electronic device (‘372; ¶ 0067;…The user device 340 may be, or may include, a smartphone, laptop, desktop, tablet, game console, television, head mounted display, AR smart glasses, VR headset, or other type of communication device, or may be a combination of the foregoing).
Regarding claim 8, Doken, Soryal and Nathan teach the method of claim 6 and further teach wherein the embedding the authentication information within the three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation comprises: receiving the three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation (‘372; ¶ 0051, In a 3D VRU, for example, an avatar may be a 3D model linked to a particular user or character "played" by the user; ¶ 0079,… One or more such avatars for a user may be stored in user avatar database 408, to which avatar rendering module 402 communicates via communication path 416 and from which avatar rendering module 402 receives data via communication path 418) and the authentication information (‘372; ¶ 0089,…The user affiliation authentication request transmitted to the authenticating server 320 may include the user's name and or Social Security number, birthday, employee ID, member ID, year or date of graduation or anniversary, and/or other such identifying information. The user affiliation authentication request may also include an e-mail address and/or password that the user has been assigned by the entity with which the user claims to be affiliated.); determining a location in the three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation for embedding (‘372; ¶ 0014, create a receiving space at a location in the three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation for embedding the authentication information by the digital platform or by the user) the authentication information (‘372; ¶ 0158, According to an embodiment, the logo may include, or may be provided as, an ID, such as a QR code, or other bar code. Such an ID, QR or bar code may be visible to other users or may be visible to other users only when using an augmented reality (AR) device, or may be revealed to other users only after the digital platform 300 or the authenticating platform 200 grants authorization to view the ID, QR or bar code; ¶ 0089,…may include the user's name and or Social Security number, birthday, employee ID, member ID, year or date of graduation or anniversary, and/or other such identifying information. The user affiliation authentication request may also include an e-mail address and/or password that the user has been assigned by the entity with which the user claims to be affiliated.)
based on a purpose (‘372; ¶ 0068, numerous examples given) based on a purpose (‘372; ¶ 0068, numerous examples given), a vision (‘372; ¶ 0068, numerous examples given), and a behavior of the first user (‘372; ¶ 0171, …the avatar's movements, actions, messages and other interactions with other users, comments and the lime may be recorded by the digital platform 300. Such logged data may be transmitted to the affiliation server 320, at set periods or upon request of the affiliation server 320, or upon the occurrence of some events, such as the end of the user session on the digital platform 300, the end of the subscription of the user for the digital platform 300, the expiration of the authentication of affiliation with the entity, the denial of access of the avatar to a portion of the digital platform 300, or the like. Such a log may be useful for a variety of reasons including but not limited to audit and compliance. If the entity finds issues within that logged data after analysis, it may have the option of revoking the graphical indication of affiliation from this user, for a limited time or permanently, for further use on the digital platform 300 or for all platforms.) and a type or a purpose of the virtual environment (‘372; ¶ 0068, numerous examples given); and embedding the authentication information (‘372; ¶ 0158, According to an embodiment, the logo may include, or may be provided as, an ID, such as a QR code, or other bar code. Such an ID, QR or bar code may be visible to other users or may be visible to other users only when using an augmented reality (AR) device, or may be revealed to other users only after the digital platform 300 or the authenticating platform 200 grants authorization to view the ID, QR or bar code; ¶ 0089,…may include the user's name and or Social Security number, birthday, employee ID, member ID, year or date of graduation or anniversary, and/or other such identifying information. The user affiliation authentication request may also include an e-mail address and/or password that the user has been assigned by the entity with which the user claims to be affiliated.) in the location in the virtual representation (‘372; ¶ 0014, create a receiving space at a location in the three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation for embedding the authentication information by the digital platform or by the user), analyzing weight of the virtual representation before and after embedding the authentication information (‘123; ¶ 0068, A logical block diagram of an exemplary Persistent Avatar 221a is shown in FIG. 2D. In some embodiments, Persistent Avatar 221a may include Physical Attributes 241, Intellectual Attributes 242 and Emotional Attributes 243. Physical Attributes 241 may include Avatar's 221a physical statistics, such as strength, and appearance data (weight is a common physical statistic). Intellectual Attributes 242 may include the Avatar's 221a backstory, history and memory. Emotional Attributes 243 may include the Avatar's 221a emotional disposition, and reaction and response algorithms.) and providing the authentication embedded virtual representation (‘372; ¶ 0080,… Content output module 404 combines the rendered avatar and rendered environment into a single data stream and transmits the stream, via communication path 428, to the input/output circuitry 302 which in turn transmits the stream, via communication path 430, to user device 340) in the virtual environment (‘372; ¶ 0002-0003, Digital platforms, such as computer-generated virtual environments, are increasingly popular methods for people to interact within a networked system. Various on-line environments are known in which a three-dimensional (3D), a two-and-a-half dimensional (2.5D), or a two-dimensional (2D) physical world (actual or fantasy) is simulated. Some environments of this type are referred to as “virtual reality” (VR) or “virtual reality universe” (VRU) environments. In known VRU environments, a portion of the actual world, or a portion of a fantasy universe, or a combination of the foregoing, is simulated within a computer system. Multiple players or users may participate in the environment through a computer network, such as a local area network or a wide area network (e.g., the internet). Each player is typically represented in the VRU environment by an “avatar.”).
Regarding claim 9, Doken, Soryal and Nathan teach the method of claim 6 and further teach wherein the authentication information is embedded in a translucent holographic three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation (‘796; fig. 2A, elements 201 and 211; ¶ 0027, In an embodiment, the virtual entity – avatar - may be a holographic representation of the real-world user; ¶ 0037) that is invisible to other virtual representations present within the virtual environment (‘796; ¶ 0027, …virtual data feed 206 from inside virtual reality environment 210 is like another invisible user placed inside the virtual space that provides audio and video from the virtual reality environment for monitoring the virtual entities inside that virtual space to PVS 203. ….In an embodiment, the virtual entity may be a holographic representation of the real-world user.).
Regarding claim 10, Doken, Soryal and Nathan teach the method of claim 6 and further teach wherein the authentication embedded virtual representation is provided to an authentication representation info hub (‘372; ; fig. 3, elements 300 and 320; ¶ 0087, The user affiliation authentication request may include identifying information for the user associated with the avatar. The user information may be previously stored by the digital platform 300 as part of a profile for each user, or may be requested in real time from the user device 340. The digital platform 300 may store in the memory 306 user information describing the user, for example, a school or a workplace of the user that is sufficient to determine the identity of the authenticating server 320 to be contacted to authenticate the user. The memory 306 may be an electronic storage device for storing electronic data, computer software, or firmware, such as random-access memory, read-only memory, hard drives, optical drives, solid state devices, quantum storage devices, or any other suitable fixed or removable storage devices, and/or any combination of the same. Nonvolatile memory may also be used (e.g., to launch a boot-up routine and other instructions). Cloud-based storage may be used to supplement memory 306, or instead of local memory.) for storage on a virtual environment server (‘372; fig. 3, elements 300 and 320; ¶ 0071, The authenticating server 320 may maintain accounts for users affiliated with one or more entities, with each user account including relevant data relating to the user (e.g., data indicating user names and logon credentials; affiliation with an entity; status or rank with the entity; authenticated status of the user on a digital platform; one or more logos that are authorized for the user in connection with the entity; a unique ID that associates the user with such a logo; one or more avatars of the user that have been used by the user or that may be used by the user in connection with the logo; other authentication information for authenticated users, such as passwords; other data for one or more logos or other visual affiliation information that may be transmitted to the digital platform; any timeout information, including for how long a logo for a user is to be excluded from a portion of a digital platform; etc.). The processing circuitry 308 of digital platform 300 may also enable the user to customize an avatar by using various avatar customization suites, including avatar shape, gender, clothes, shoes, hairstyles, size, colors, tattoos, and the like for the avatar.).
Regarding claim 14, Doken teaches the system of claim 11 and further teaches wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the system to implement: an authentication performer (‘372; fig. 3, element 320; implemented within element 320 via processing circuitry 324) configured to generate the authenticated virtual representation of the first user (‘372; ¶ 0158, According to an embodiment, the logo may include, or may be provided as, an ID, such as a QR code, or other bar code. Such an ID, QR or bar code may be visible to other users or may be visible to other users only when using an augmented reality (AR) device, or may be revealed to other users only after the digital platform 300 or the authenticating platform 200 grants authorization to view the ID, QR or bar code.), and wherein the authentication performer (‘372; fig. 3, element 320; implemented within element 320 via processing circuitry 324) comprises: a virtual representation generator (‘372; fig. 3, element 320; implemented within element 320 via processing circuitry 324) configured to receive a request for authentication of the virtual representation from the first user (‘372; ¶ 0079,… the user device 340 may connect through communication path 412 with the digital platform 300 via the input/output circuitry 302. In particular, the user device 340 may request authentication of a user, and thus use of the user's avatar, on the digital platform server 300 displayed in association with a logo (e.g., logo 102) of an entity with which the user alleges affiliation. The input/output circuitry 302 may, in turn, transmit 414 the user request to the processing circuitry 308, where it is received using authentication processing module 400. The user request may cause avatar rendering module 402 to render an avatar (e.g., avatar 100)…); an authentication data collector (‘372; fig. 3, element 320; implemented within element 320 via processing circuitry 324) configured to capture a plurality of authentication data from the first user (‘372; ¶ 0079,… the user device 340 may connect through communication path 412 with the digital platform 300 via the input/output circuitry 302. In particular, the user device 340 may request authentication of a user, and thus use of the user's avatar, on the digital platform server 300 displayed in association with a logo (e.g., logo 102) of an entity with which the user alleges affiliation. The input/output circuitry 302 may, in turn, transmit 414 the user request to the processing circuitry 308, where it is received using authentication processing module 400. The user request may cause avatar rendering module 402 to render an avatar (e.g., avatar 100)…) to create the authentication information(‘372; ¶ 0158, According to an embodiment, the logo may include, or may be provided as, an ID, such as a QR code, or other bar code. Such an ID, QR or bar code may be visible to other users or may be visible to other users only when using an augmented reality (AR) device, or may be revealed to other users only after the digital platform 300 or the authenticating platform 200 grants authorization to view the ID, QR or bar code; ¶ 0089,…may include the user's name and or Social Security number, birthday, employee ID, member ID, year or date of graduation or anniversary, and/or other such identifying information. The user affiliation authentication request may also include an e-mail address and/or password that the user has been assigned by the entity with which the user claims to be affiliated.), and an authentication embedder (‘372; fig. 3, element 320; implemented within element 320 via processing circuitry 324) configured to embed the authentication information within a three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation (‘372; ¶ 0158, According to an embodiment, the logo may include, or may be provided as, an ID, such as a QR code, or other bar code. Such an ID, QR or bar code may be visible to other users or may be visible to other users only when using an augmented reality (AR) device, or may be revealed to other users only after the digital platform 300 or the authenticating platform 200 grants authorization to view the ID, QR or bar code; ¶ 0089,…may include the user's name and or Social Security number, birthday, employee ID, member ID, year or date of graduation or anniversary, and/or other such identifying information. The user affiliation authentication request may also include an e-mail address and/or password that the user has been assigned by the entity with which the user claims to be affiliated.) and provide authentication embedded virtual representation in the virtual environment (‘372; ¶ 0080,… Content output module 404 combines the rendered avatar and rendered environment into a single data stream and transmits the stream, via communication path 428, to the input/output circuitry 302 which in turn transmits the stream, via communication path 430, to user device 340) and does not teach wherein the plurality of authentication data comprises at least one of a visual presence authentication data, an intellectual presence authentication data, and an emotional presence authentication data.
Soryal, working in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches wherein the plurality of authentication data comprises at least one of a visual presence authentication data (‘796; ¶ 0013, ,,,performance of operations of authenticating an identity of a user of user equipment that controls a virtual entity – avatar - in a virtual environment; receiving a data feed providing images from the virtual environment; correlating signals from the user equipment with actions of the virtual entity observed in the images; continuously monitoring a presence of the user at the user equipment during a period of controlling the virtual entity; and providing an indication responsive to the user being unidentified, the signals being uncorrelated with the actions or the user not being present at the user equipment.), and Nathan, also working in the same field of endeavor further teaches an intellectual presence authentication data, and an emotional presence authentication data (‘123; ¶ 0068, A logical block diagram of an exemplary Persistent Avatar 221a is shown in FIG. 2D. In some embodiments, Persistent Avatar 221a may include Physical Attributes 241, Intellectual Attributes 242 and Emotional Attributes 243. Physical Attributes 241 may include Avatar's 221a physical statistics, such as strength, and appearance data. Intellectual Attributes 242 may include the Avatar's 221a backstory, history and memory. Emotional Attributes 243 may include the Avatar's 221a emotional disposition, and reaction and response algorithms) for the benefit of ensuring valid authentication of the representative avatar.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the techniques for determining that the plurality of authentication data comprises at least one of a visual presence authentication data as taught by Soryal with the techniques for determining an intellectual presence authentication data, and an emotional presence authentication data as taught by Nathan combined with methods for authenticating a virtual representation of a first user as taught by Doken for the benefit of ensuring valid authentication of the representative avatar.
Regarding claim 15, Doken, Soryal and Nathan teach the system of claim 14 and further teach wherein the authentication embedder (‘372; fig. 3, element 320; implemented within element 320 via processing circuitry 324) comprises: an authentication location decider (‘372; fig. 3, element 320; implemented within element 320 via processing circuitry 324) configured to receive the three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation (‘372; ¶ 0068, may select from a menu of avatars available on the digital platform 300. Through an avatar, the user is represented on the digital platform 300; ¶ 0079, The user request may cause avatar rendering module 402 to render an avatar (e.g., avatar 100). One or more such avatars for a user may be stored in user avatar database 408, to which avatar rendering module 402 communicates via communication path 416 and from which avatar rendering module 402 receives data via communication path 418. Avatar rendering module 402 also communicates, via communication path 420, with content output module 404 and provides content output module 404 with the rendered avatar) and the authentication information (‘372; ¶ 0089,…The user affiliation authentication request transmitted to the authenticating server 320 may include the user's name and or Social Security number, birthday, employee ID, member ID, year or date of graduation or anniversary, and/or other such identifying information. The user affiliation authentication request may also include an e-mail address and/or password that the user has been assigned by the entity with which the user claims to be affiliated.), and determine a location in the three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation for embedding the authentication information (‘372; ¶ 0014, create a receiving space at a location in the three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation for embedding the authentication information by the digital platform or by the user) based on a purpose (‘372; ¶ 0068, numerous examples given), a vision (‘372; ¶ 0068, numerous examples given), and a behavior of the first user (‘372; ¶ 0171, …the avatar's movements, actions, messages and other interactions with other users, comments and the lime may be recorded by the digital platform 300. Such logged data may be transmitted to the affiliation server 320, at set periods or upon request of the affiliation server 320, or upon the occurrence of some events, such as the end of the user session on the digital platform 300, the end of the subscription of the user for the digital platform 300, the expiration of the authentication of affiliation with the entity, the denial of access of the avatar to a portion of the digital platform 300, or the like. Such a log may be useful for a variety of reasons including but not limited to audit and compliance. If the entity finds issues within that logged data after analysis, it may have the option of revoking the graphical indication of affiliation from this user, for a limited time or permanently, for further use on the digital platform 300 or for all platforms.) and a type or a purpose of the virtual environment (‘372; ¶ 0068, numerous examples given); and an embedding analyzer (‘372; fig. 3, element 320; implemented within element 320 via processing circuitry 324) configured to embed the authentication information in the location in the virtual representation (‘372; ¶ 0014, create a receiving space at a location in the three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation for embedding the authentication information by the digital platform or by the user), analyze weight of the virtual representation before and after embedding the authentication information (‘123; ¶ 0068, A logical block diagram of an exemplary Persistent Avatar 221a is shown in FIG. 2D. In some embodiments, Persistent Avatar 221a may include Physical Attributes 241, Intellectual Attributes 242 and Emotional Attributes 243. Physical Attributes 241 may include Avatar's 221a physical statistics, such as strength, and appearance data (weight is a common physical statistic). Intellectual Attributes 242 may include the Avatar's 221a backstory, history and memory. Emotional Attributes 243 may include the Avatar's 221a emotional disposition, and reaction and response algorithms.) and provide the authentication embedded virtual representation in the virtual environment (‘372; ¶ 0080,… Content output module 404 combines the rendered avatar and rendered environment into a single data stream and transmits the stream, via communication path 428, to the input/output circuitry 302 which in turn transmits the stream, via communication path 430, to user device 340).
Regarding claim 19, Doken and Soryal teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16 and further teach wherein generating the authenticated virtual representation of the first user comprises: receiving a request for authentication of the first virtual representation from the first user (‘372; ¶ 0079,… the user device 340 may connect through communication path 412 with the digital platform 300 via the input/output circuitry 302. In particular, the user device 340 may request authentication of a user, and thus use of the user's avatar, on the digital platform server 300 displayed in association with a logo (e.g., logo 102) of an entity with which the user alleges affiliation. The input/output circuitry 302 may, in turn, transmit 414 the user request to the processing circuitry 308, where it is received using authentication processing module 400. The user request may cause avatar rendering module 402 to render an avatar (e.g., avatar 100)…); capturing a plurality of authentication data from the first user (‘372; ¶ 0079,… the user device 340 may connect through communication path 412 with the digital platform 300 via the input/output circuitry 302. In particular, the user device 340 may request authentication of a user, and thus use of the user's avatar, on the digital platform server 300 displayed in association with a logo (e.g., logo 102) of an entity with which the user alleges affiliation. The input/output circuitry 302 may, in turn, transmit 414 the user request to the processing circuitry 308, where it is received using authentication processing module 400. The user request may cause avatar rendering module 402 to render an avatar (e.g., avatar 100)…) to create the authentication information (‘372; ¶ 0089,…The user affiliation authentication request transmitted to the authenticating server 320 may include the user's name and or Social Security number, birthday, employee ID, member ID, year or date of graduation or anniversary, and/or other such identifying information. The user affiliation authentication request may also include an e-mail address and/or password that the user has been assigned by the entity with which the user claims to be affiliated.), wherein the plurality of authentication data comprises at least one of a visual presence authentication data (‘796; ¶ 0013, ,,,performance of operations of authenticating an identity of a user of user equipment that controls a virtual entity – avatar - in a virtual environment; receiving a data feed providing images from the virtual environment; correlating signals from the user equipment with actions of the virtual entity observed in the images; continuously monitoring a presence of the user at the user equipment during a period of controlling the virtual entity; and providing an indication responsive to the user being unidentified, the signals being uncorrelated with the actions or the user not being present at the user equipment.); embedding the authentication information (‘372; ¶ 0158, According to an embodiment, the logo may include, or may be provided as, an ID, such as a QR code, or other bar code. Such an ID, QR or bar code may be visible to other users or may be visible to other users only when using an augmented reality (AR) device, or may be revealed to other users only after the digital platform 300 or the authenticating platform 200 grants authorization to view the ID, QR or bar code; ¶ 0089,…may include the user's name and or Social Security number, birthday, employee ID, member ID, year or date of graduation or anniversary, and/or other such identifying information. The user affiliation authentication request may also include an e-mail address and/or password that the user has been assigned by the entity with which the user claims to be affiliated.) within a three-dimensional structure of the first virtual representation (‘372; ¶ 0051, In a 3D VRU, for example, an avatar may be a 3D model linked to a particular user or character "played" by the user; ¶ 0079,… One or more such avatars for a user may be stored in user avatar database 408, to which avatar rendering module 402 communicates via communication path 416 and from which avatar rendering module 402 receives data via communication path 418); and providing authentication embedded virtual representation (‘372; ¶ 0158, According to an embodiment, the logo may include, or may be provided as, an ID, such as a QR code, or other bar code. Such an ID, QR or bar code may be visible to other users or may be visible to other users only when using an augmented reality (AR) device, or may be revealed to other users only after the digital platform 300 or the authenticating platform 200 grants authorization to view the ID, QR or bar code.) in the virtual environment (‘372; ¶ 0080,… Content output module 404 combines the rendered avatar and rendered environment into a single data stream and transmits the stream, via communication path 428, to the input/output circuitry 302 which in turn transmits the stream, via communication path 430, to user device 340) and do not teach an intellectual presence authentication data and an emotional presence authentication data.
Nathan, working in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches wherein the plurality of authentication data comprises at least one of an intellectual presence authentication data, and an emotional presence authentication data (‘123; ¶ 0068, A logical block diagram of an exemplary Persistent Avatar 221a is shown in FIG. 2D. In some embodiments, Persistent Avatar 221a may include Physical Attributes 241, Intellectual Attributes 242 and Emotional Attributes 243. Physical Attributes 241 may include Avatar's 221a physical statistics, such as strength, and appearance data. Intellectual Attributes 242 may include the Avatar's 221a backstory, history and memory. Emotional Attributes 243 may include the Avatar's 221a emotional disposition, and reaction and response algorithms) for the benefit of ensuring valid authentication of the representative avatar.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the techniques for determining an intellectual presence authentication data, and an emotional presence authentication data as taught by Nathan combined with methods for authenticating a virtual representation of a first user as taught by Doken in view of Soryal for the benefit of ensuring valid authentication of the representative avatar.
Regarding claim 20, Doken, Soryal and Nathan teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 19 and further teach wherein embedding the authentication information within the three-dimensional structure comprises: receiving the three-dimensional structure of the first virtual representation (‘372; ¶ 0051, In a 3D VRU, for example, an avatar may be a 3D model linked to a particular user or character "played" by the user; ¶ 0079,… One or more such avatars for a user may be stored in user avatar database 408, to which avatar rendering module 402 communicates via communication path 416 and from which avatar rendering module 402 receives data via communication path 418) and the authentication information (‘372; ¶ 0089,…The user affiliation authentication request transmitted to the authenticating server 320 may include the user's name and or Social Security number, birthday, employee ID, member ID, year or date of graduation or anniversary, and/or other such identifying information. The user affiliation authentication request may also include an e-mail address and/or password that the user has been assigned by the entity with which the user claims to be affiliated.); determining a location in the three-dimensional structure of the first virtual representation for embedding the authentication information (‘372; ¶ 0014, create a receiving space at a location in the three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation for embedding the authentication information by the digital platform or by the user) based on a purpose (‘372; ¶ 0068, numerous examples given) based on a purpose (‘372; ¶ 0068, numerous examples given), a vision (‘372; ¶ 0068, numerous examples given), and a behavior of the first user (‘372; ¶ 0171, …the avatar's movements, actions, messages and other interactions with other users, comments and the lime may be recorded by the digital platform 300. Such logged data may be transmitted to the affiliation server 320, at set periods or upon request of the affiliation server 320, or upon the occurrence of some events, such as the end of the user session on the digital platform 300, the end of the subscription of the user for the digital platform 300, the expiration of the authentication of affiliation with the entity, the denial of access of the avatar to a portion of the digital platform 300, or the like. Such a log may be useful for a variety of reasons including but not limited to audit and compliance. If the entity finds issues within that logged data after analysis, it may have the option of revoking the graphical indication of affiliation from this user, for a limited time or permanently, for further use on the digital platform 300 or for all platforms.) and a type or a purpose of the virtual environment (‘372; ¶ 0068, numerous examples given); and embedding the authentication information in the location (‘372; ¶ 0014, create a receiving space at a location in the three-dimensional structure of the virtual representation for embedding the authentication information by the digital platform or by the user) in the first virtual representation (372; Abstract; ¶ 0009, authentication of affiliation the logo may be provided as, an ID, such as a QR code, or other bar code. Such an ID, QR or bar code may be visible to other users or may be visible to other users only when using an augmented reality (AR) device, or may be revealed to other users only after the digital platform 300 or the authenticating platform 200 grants authorization to view the ID, QR or bar code of the first user), analyzing weight of the first virtual representation before and after embedding the authentication information (‘123; ¶ 0068, A logical block diagram of an exemplary Persistent Avatar 221a is shown in FIG. 2D. In some embodiments, Persistent Avatar 221a may include Physical Attributes 241, Intellectual Attributes 242 and Emotional Attributes 243. Physical Attributes 241 may include Avatar's 221a physical statistics, such as strength, and appearance data (weight is a common physical statistic). Intellectual Attributes 242 may include the Avatar's 221a backstory, history and memory. Emotional Attributes 243 may include the Avatar's 221a emotional disposition, and reaction and response algorithms.) and providing the authentication embedded virtual representation in the virtual environment (‘372; ¶ 0080,… Content output module 404 combines the rendered avatar and rendered environment into a single data stream and transmits the stream, via communication path 428, to the input/output circuitry 302 which in turn transmits the stream, via communication path 430, to user device 340).
Conclusion
The following prior art, made of record, was not relied upon but is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2024/0160704 A1 Entity Authenticator in Augmented or Virtual Reality Computing Environments – Authentication/verification of sub-environments that represent entities within an augmented/virtual reality computing network and virtual objects present in the sub-environment that represent individuals associated with the entity. In response to authentication, a sensory-perceptible indicator (e.g., visual, audible or haptic indicators) is presented to users of the virtual reality computing environment that notify the user that the entity or virtual objects representing the entity have been authenticated. Authentication may be performed via watermarks embedded in images present within the sub-environment, capturing and comparing physical characteristics of an authorized individual representing the entity, cryptographic frequency hopping and/or electromagnetic signatures.
US 11,546,322 B1 Decentralized Avatar Authentication in Online Platforms – Techniques are described for using a decentralized group of authentication server nodes to prevent singular dependence upon any given online platform for authenticating avatars. For each epoch duration of time, a consensus protocol operating on a blockchain is used to elect an authentication server node. The elected node can then act as an authentication server on behalf of the online platform for that fixed epoch duration of time. Within this epoch of time, a client device (e.g., used by a user to access an online platform) performs a periodic heartbeat authentication with the elected authentication server node using an efficient authentication protocol that relies on a keyed-hashing mechanism. A client device can use the described system and authentication methods concurrently with multiple different online platforms ( e.g., separate metaverses or other virtual worlds).
/EDWARD MARTELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611