DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the slot disposed on the second end of the panel body; and a buckle disposed on the panel mounting frame configured to be clamped with the slot of (claim 25) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 17 recites the limitation "...wherein the first hinge plate comprises a weight reducing." The claim does not give an indication of what reduces the weight of the first hinge plate, it seems a word is missing at the end of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-19 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Turner (U.S. 3,093,258).
Regarding claim 11, Turner teaches a panel structure for a hidden water tank, the panel structure comprising: a panel mounting frame (12) configured to be connected to a water tank body; a panel body (18) disposed on an outer side of the panel mounting frame (12) and configured to be opened and closed relative to the panel mounting frame (12, see fig 2); and a hinge (22) configured to connect a first end of the panel body (18) to the panel mounting frame (12), wherein a second end of the panel body (18) is connected to the panel mounting frame (12, via hinge 20, see fig 1).
Regarding claim 12, Turner teaches the panel structure according to claim 11. Turner further teaches wherein the panel body (18) is configured to be connected to the panel mounting frame (12) via two hinges (24 and 26), and wherein the two hinges (24 and 26) are spaced apart from each other in an up-and-down direction of the panel body (see fig 1).
Regarding claim 13, Turner teaches the panel structure according to claim 11. Turner further teaches wherein the hinge comprises: a first hinge (26) configured to be hinged (see fig 2) with the panel mounting frame (12); and a second hinge (24) configured to be hinged (see fig 2) with the first hinge (26) and the panel body (18).
Regarding claim 14, Turner teaches the panel structure according to claim 13. Turner further teaches wherein the panel body (18) comprises: a hinge mounting arm (28) disposed on an inner side of the panel body (18); and an assembly shaft (32) configured to connect the hinge mounting arm (28) to the second hinge (24), and wherein the second hinge (24) comprises a first connecting hole (as seen in fig 5, upper end of 24 has a connecting hole for which rivet 32 uses to connect the second hinge and panel body) configured to receive the assembly shaft (32).
Regarding claim 15, Turner teaches the panel structure according to claim 13. Turner further teaches wherein the first hinge (26) comprises a first pivot shaft (40) configured to connect the first hinge (36) to the panel mounting frame (12), wherein the panel mounting frame (12) comprises a hinge mounting hole (hole in tab 36 as seen in figs 2-4) configured to receive the first pivot shaft (40).
Regarding claim 16, Turner teaches the panel structure according to claim 13. Turner further teaches wherein the first hinge (26) comprises a second pivot shaft (44) configured to be connected to the second hinge (24), and wherein the second hinge (24) comprises a second connecting hole (58) configured to receive the second pivot shaft (44).
Regarding claim 17, Turner teaches the panel structure according to claim 13. Turner further teaches wherein the first hinge (26) comprises a first hinge plate (as seen in fig 5), and wherein the first hinge plate (as seen in fig 5) comprises a weight reducing (as best understood based on the claim objection above, the hinge plate comprises areas of reduced material by decreasing the width of the hinge plate over its length, as seen in figs 3 and 5).
Regarding claim 18, Turner teaches the panel structure according to claim 13. Turner further teaches wherein the second hinge (24) comprises: two second hinge plates arranged in parallel (as best seen in fig 5, 24 includes two plates arranged parallel to one another); and a connecting plate (84) configured to be connected between the two second hinge plates (as seen in fig 5).
Regarding claim 19, Turner teaches the panel structure according to claim 18. Turner further teaches wherein the connecting plate (84) is shorter than the two second hinge plates (as seen in fig 5).
Regarding claim 29, Turner teaches a method for manufacturing a panel structure for a hidden water tank, the method comprising: connecting a first end of a panel body (18) to a panel mounting frame (12) via a hinge (22, as seen in fig 1); and connecting a second end of the panel body (18) to the panel mounting frame (12, via hinge 20, see fig 1), wherein the panel body (18) is disposed on an outer side of the panel mounting frame (12) and configured to be opened and closed relative to the panel mounting frame (12, see fig 2).
Claim(s) 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fuchs (EP2128350).
Regarding claim 27, Fuchs teaches a hidden water tank, comprising to be connected to the water tank body (1 is a cistern); a panel body (4) disposed on an outer side of the panel mounting frame (2) and configured to be opened and closed relative to the panel mounting frame (as seen in figs 3 and 5); a hinge (91-94) configured to connect a first end of the panel body (4) to the panel mounting frame (2); and an operation mechanism (6) configured to be connected to the panel body (4) and configured to trigger the valve for opening and closing the water tank body (described in [0011]), wherein a second end of the panel body (4) is connected to the panel mounting frame (2, via latching hooks 12, described in [0012]).
Regarding claim 28, Fuchs teaches the hidden water tank of claim 27. Fuchs further teaches wherein the operation mechanism (6) comprises: a first operation mechanism configured to fully open the valve; and a second operation mechanism configured to half open the valve, and wherein each of the first operation mechanism and the second operation mechanism comprises a button (as described in [0011], the operation mechanism is a pneumatic device with a control button, and the pneumatic actuator is variable and can be controlled to open the valve as desired).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 24-26, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner (U.S. 3,093,258) in view of Fuchs (EP2128350).
Regarding claim 11, Turner teaches a panel structure for a hidden water tank, the panel structure comprising: a panel mounting frame (12) configured to be connected to a water tank body; a panel body (18) disposed on an outer side of the panel mounting frame (12) and configured to be opened and closed relative to the panel mounting frame (12, see fig 2); and a hinge (22) configured to connect a first end of the panel body (18) to the panel mounting frame (12). Turner is silent as to a second end of the panel body (18) connected to the panel mounting frame (12).
Fuchs teaches a similar hinged panel structure where a second end of the panel body (second to the hinged end of the panel body) is connected to the panel mounting frame (via locking hooks 12 and projections on frame, as described in [0033]).
Turner and Fuchs are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hinged panel structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Turner to incorporate the teachings of Fuchs and provide a structure for which to connect a second end of the panel body to the panel mounting frame. Doing so would avoid unintentional opening of the cover plate, as taught by Fuchs in [0033].
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Turner and Fuchs teaches the panel structure of claim 11. Turner and Fuchs further teaches comprising: a buckle (12 Fuchs) disposed on the second end of the panel body (18 Turner); and a slot (latching projections on frame, as described in [0033] Fuchs) disposed on the panel mounting frame (12 Turner) configured to be clamped with the buckle.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Turner and Fuchs teaches the panel structure of claim 11. The combination of Turner and Fuchs discloses the claimed invention except for a slot (latching projections on frame, as described in [0033] of Fuchs) disposed on the second end of the panel body; and a buckle (12) disposed on the panel mounting frame configured to be clamped with the slot. Instead, Turner in view of Fuchs teaches the buckle disposed on the second end of the panel body and the buckle disposed on the panel mounting frame. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to reverse the slot and buckle combination as taught by Fuchs to arrive at the claimed invention, since it has been held that mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04, Section VI
Regarding claim 26, Turner teaches the panel structure of claim 14. Turner is silent as to an operation mechanism configured to be connected to the panel body for triggering a valve for opening and closing the water tank body.
Fuchs teaches a similar hinged panel structure comprising an operation mechanism (6) configured to be connected to the panel body ([0011] states a pneumatic actuating device 6 is fastened to the cover plate, which equates to the panel body) and configured to trigger a valve for opening and closing the water tank body (as described in [0011]). The combination then of Turner and Fuchs would see the hinge mounting arm (28) of Turner disposed at a periphery of the operation mechanism (6) of Fuchs.
Turner and Fuchs are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hinged panel structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Turner to incorporate the teachings of Fuchs and utilize the hinge structure of Turner on a device with an operation mechanism to trigger a valve for opening and closing a water tank body. Doing so would utilize the hinge structure of Turner in a panel that could be opened for servicing.
Regarding claim 29, Turner teaches a method for manufacturing a panel structure for a hidden water tank, the method comprising: connecting a first end of a panel body (18) to a panel mounting frame (12) via a hinge (22, as seen in fig 1); wherein the panel body (18) is disposed on an outer side of the panel mounting frame (12) and configured to be opened and closed relative to the panel mounting frame (12, see fig 2). Turner is silent as to a second end of the panel body (18) connected to the panel mounting frame (12).
Fuchs teaches a similar hinged panel structure where a second end of the panel body (second to the hinged end of the panel body) is connected to the panel mounting frame (via locking hooks 12 and projections on frame, as described in [0033]).
Turner and Fuchs are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hinged panel structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Turner to incorporate the teachings of Fuchs and provide a structure for which to connect a second end of the panel body to the panel mounting frame. Doing so would avoid unintentional opening of the cover plate, as taught by Fuchs in [0033].
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Turner and Fuchs teaches the method of manufacturing the panel structure of claim 29. Turner and Fuchs further teach wherein connecting the first end of the panel body (18 Turner) to the panel mounting frame (12 Turner) via the hinge (22 Turner) comprises: connecting a first hinge (26 Turner) of the hinge (22 Turner) to the panel mounting frame (12 Turner); connecting a second hinge (24 Turner) of the hinge (22 Turner) to the panel body (18 Turner); and connecting the first hinge (26 Turner) to the second hinge (24 Turner), wherein connecting the first hinge (26 Turner) of the hinge (22 Turner) to the panel mounting frame (12 Turner) comprises: inserting a first pivot shaft (40 Turner) of the first hinge (26 Turner) into a hinge mounting hole (hole in tab 36 as seen in figs 2-4 of Turner) of the panel mounting frame (12 Turner), wherein connecting the second hinge (24 Turner) of the hinge (22 Turner) to the panel body (18 Turner) comprises: inserting an assembly shaft (32 Turner) disposed on a hinge mounting arm (28 Turner) of the panel body (18 Turner) into a first connecting hole (as seen in fig 5 of Turner, upper end of 24 has a connecting hole for which rivet 32 uses to connect the second hinge and panel body) of the second hinge (24 Turner), wherein connecting the first hinge (26 Turner) to the second hinge (24 Turner) comprises: inserting a second pivot shaft (44 Turner) of the first hinge (26 Turner) into a second connecting hole (58 Turner) of the second hinge (24 Turner), and wherein connecting the second end of the panel body to the panel mounting frame comprises: clamping a buckle (12 Fuchs) disposed on the second end of the panel body (18 Turner) with a slot (latching projections on frame, as described in [0033] of Fuchs) disposed on the panel mounting frame (12 Turner); or clamping a buckle disposed on the panel mounting frame with a slot disposed on the second end of the panel body.
Claim(s) 18-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner (U.S. 3,093,258) in view of Herper (U.S. 7,406,749).
Regarding claim 18, Turner teaches the panel structure according to claim 13. Turner is silent as to the second hinge comprising two second hinge plates arranged in parallel with a connecting plate between the two second hinge plates.
Herper teaches a similar panel structure comprising a second hinge comprising two second hinge plates arranged in parallel (as best seen in figs 3 and 4, arm 22 is comprised of two plates on either side of the arm, arranged parallel to one another); and a connecting plate (between the two plates of arm 22, best seen in fig 4) configured to be connected between the two second hinge plates (as seen in fig 4).
Turner and Herper are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hinged panel structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Turner to incorporate the teachings of Herper and provide a second hinge that is comprised of two hinge plates arranged in parallel with a connecting plate between the hinge plates. Doing so would provide additional structure to the hinge, making it more robust and able to resist damage.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Turner and Herper teaches the panel structure of claim 18. Herper further teaches wherein the connecting plate (between the two plates of arm 22, best seen in fig 4) is shorter than the two second hinge plates (as seen in fig 4).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Turner and Herper teaches the panel structure of claim 19. Turner and Herper further teach wherein the panel body (18 Turner) comprises an assembly shaft (32 Turner) configured to connect the panel body (18, via arm 28 Turner) to the second hinge (24 Turner), wherein the first hinge (26 Turner) comprises a second pivot shaft (44 Turner) configured to be connected to the second hinge (24 Turner), and wherein the second hinge (the combination as described above) comprises: two first connecting holes respectively disposed on a first end of the two second hinge plates (as seen in figs 3 and 4 of Herper) and configured to receive the assembly shaft (32 Turner); and two second connecting holes respectively disposed on a second end of the two second hinge plates (as best seen in figs 3 and 4 of Herper, two second connecting holes are present in the arm plates that make up hinge 22) and configured to receive the second pivot shaft (44 Turner).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Turner and Herper teaches the panel structure of claim 20. Herper further teaches wherein the connecting plate comprises a first connecting plate and a second connecting plate both configured to be connected to the two second hinge plates (as seen in annotated fig 4).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Turner and Herper teaches the panel structure of claim 21. Herper further teaches wherein the first connecting plate is perpendicular to the second connecting plate (as seen in annotated fig 4).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Turner and Herper teaches the panel structure of claim 22. Herper further teaches wherein the first connecting plate extends along a length direction of the two second hinge plates, and wherein the second connecting plate extends along a height direction of the two second hinge plates (as seen in annotated fig 4, the first and second connecting plates are perpendicular to one another and extend along the length and height direction of the two second hinge plates).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 6,374,459, US 2,903,149, and US 1,424,550 (teach a hinge with multiple hinges within).
/SUSAN M. HESCHEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3637
/Muhammad Ijaz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631