DETAILED ACTION
Amendments to claims 11-12, 14-16, 18, 27, and 29-30, filed 4 June 2026 have been entered into the above-identified application. Claims 13, 17, and 25 have been canceled. Claims 1-10 remain canceled. Claims 11-12, 14-16, 18-24, and 26-30 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “wherein the at least one hinge comprises two hinges…connected to the panel mounting frame via two hinges, and wherein the two hinges…”. Claim 11 from which claim 12 depends upon recites “wherein each of the at least one hinge comprises: a first hinge…and a second hinge”. Are the two hinges from claim 12 the same as the two hinges from claim 11? If they are meant to refer to the same hinges, then claim 12 should be amended as such. It is not clear if claim 12 refers to two hinge assemblies or two hinges which make up the same hinge assembly. For the purposes of examination, the two hinges are interpreted as two hinges as part of one hinge assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 12, 14-16, 24, 26, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner (U.S. 3,093,258) in view of Fuchs (EP2128350) and Galazin (U.S. 11,970,210).
Regarding claim 11, Turner teaches a panel structure for a hidden water tank, the panel structure comprising: a panel mounting frame (12) configured to be connected to a water tank body; a panel body (18) disposed on an outer side of the panel mounting frame (12) and configured to be opened and closed relative to the panel mounting frame (12, see fig 2); and at least one hinge (22) configured to connect a first end of the panel body (18) to the panel mounting frame (12), wherein each of the at least one hinge (22) comprises: a first hinge (26/24 connection) configured to be hinged with the panel mounting frame (12); and a second hinge (24/28 connection) configured to be hinged with the first hinge (see fig 2) and the panel body (18), and wherein the first hinge (26/24) comprises a first hinge plate (26). Turner is silent as to a second end of the panel body (18) connected to the panel mounting frame (12).
Fuchs teaches a similar hinged panel structure where a second end of the panel body (second to the hinged end of the panel body) is connected to the panel mounting frame (via locking hooks 12 and projections on frame, as described in [0033]).
Turner and Fuchs are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hinged panel structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Turner to incorporate the teachings of Fuchs and provide a structure for which to connect a second end of the panel body to the panel mounting frame. Doing so would avoid unintentional opening of the cover plate, as taught by Fuchs in [0033].
Turner and Fuchs are silent as to there being a weight reducing hole in the first hinge plate (26 Turner).
Galazin teaches another type of hinged frame assembly where the hinge plate comprises a weight reducing hole (88, as seen in fig 9 and described in column 5 lines 17-19).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Turner and Fuchs to incorporate the teachings of Galazin and provide a weight reducing hole in the assembly. Doing so would reduce the weight of the overall structure which therefore reduces strain on the hinge and could also lead to a material cost savings.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Turner, Fuchs, and Galazin teaches the panel structure of claim 11. As best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above, Turner further teaches wherein the at least one hinge (22) comprises two hinges (26/24 and 24/28) disposed at the first end of the panel body (18), wherein the panel body (18) is configured to be connected to the panel mounting frame (12) via two hinges (24/28 and 24/26), and wherein the two hinges (24/28 and 24/26) are spaced apart from each other in an up-and-down direction of the panel body (see fig 1).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Turner, Fuchs, and Galazin teaches the panel structure of claim 11. Turner further teaches wherein the panel body (18) comprises: a hinge mounting arm (28) disposed on an inner side of the panel body (18); and an assembly shaft (32) configured to connect the hinge mounting arm (28) to the second hinge (24/30), and wherein the second hinge (24/30) comprises a first connecting hole (as seen in fig 5, upper end of 24 has a connecting hole for which rivet 32 uses to connect the second hinge and panel body) configured to receive the assembly shaft (32).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Turner, Fuchs, and Galazin teaches the panel structure of claim 11. Turner further teaches wherein the first hinge (26/24) comprises a first pivot shaft (40) configured to connect the first hinge (26/24) to the panel mounting frame (12), wherein the panel mounting frame (12) comprises a hinge mounting hole (hole in tab 36 as seen in figs 2-4) configured to receive the first pivot shaft (40).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Turner, Fuchs, and Galazin teaches the panel structure of claim 11. Turner further teaches wherein the first hinge (26/24) comprises a second pivot shaft (44) configured to be connected to the second hinge (24/28), and wherein the second hinge (24/28) comprises a second connecting hole (58) configured to receive the second pivot shaft (44).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Turner, Fuchs, and Galazin teaches the panel structure of claim 11. Turner and Fuchs further teach comprising: a buckle (12 Fuchs) disposed on the second end of the panel body (18 Turner); and a slot (latching projections on frame, as described in [0033] Fuchs) disposed on the panel mounting frame (12 Turner) configured to be clamped with the buckle.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Turner, Fuchs, and Galazin teaches the panel structure of claim 14. Turner is silent as to an operation mechanism configured to be connected to the panel body for triggering a valve for opening and closing the water tank body.
Fuchs teaches a similar hinged panel structure comprising an operation mechanism (6) configured to be connected to the panel body ([0011] states a pneumatic actuating device 6 is fastened to the cover plate, which equates to the panel body) and configured to trigger a valve for opening and closing the water tank body (as described in [0011]). The combination then of Turner and Fuchs would see the hinge mounting arm (28) of Turner disposed at a periphery of the operation mechanism (6) of Fuchs.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Fuchs and utilize the hinge structure of Turner on a device with an operation mechanism to trigger a valve for opening and closing a water tank body. Doing so would utilize the hinge structure of Turner in a panel that could be opened for servicing.
Regarding claim 29, Turner teaches a method for manufacturing a panel structure for a hidden water tank, the method comprising: connecting a first end of a panel body (18) to a panel mounting frame (12) via a hinge (22, as seen in fig 1); wherein the panel body (18) is disposed on an outer side of the panel mounting frame (12) and configured to be opened and closed relative to the panel mounting frame (12, see fig 2), wherein connecting the first end of the panel body (18) to the panel mounting frame (12) via the hinge (22) comprises: connecting a first hinge (26/24) of the hinge (22) to the panel mounting frame (12); and connecting a second hinge (24/30) of the hinge (22) to the panel body (18). Turner is silent as to a second end of the panel body (18) connected to the panel mounting frame (12).
Fuchs teaches a similar hinged panel structure where a second end of the panel body (second to the hinged end of the panel body) is connected to the panel mounting frame (via locking hooks 12 and projections on frame, as described in [0033]).
Turner and Fuchs are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hinged panel structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Turner to incorporate the teachings of Fuchs and provide a structure for which to connect a second end of the panel body to the panel mounting frame. Doing so would avoid unintentional opening of the cover plate, as taught by Fuchs in [0033].
Turner and Fuchs are silent as to there being a weight reducing hole in the first hinge plate (26 Turner).
Galazin teaches another type of hinged frame assembly where the hinge plate comprises a weight reducing hole (88, as seen in fig 9 and described in column 5 lines 17-19).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Turner and Fuchs to incorporate the teachings of Galazin and provide a weight reducing hole in the assembly. Doing so would reduce the weight of the overall structure which therefore reduces strain on the hinge and could also lead to a material cost savings.
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Turner, Fuchs, and Galazin teaches the method of manufacturing the panel structure of claim 29. Turner and Fuchs further teach wherein connecting the first end of the panel body (18 Turner) to the panel mounting frame (12 Turner) via the hinge (22 Turner) further comprises: connecting the first hinge (26/24 Turner) to the second hinge (24/30 Turner), wherein connecting the first hinge (26/24 Turner) of the hinge (22 Turner) to the panel mounting frame (12 Turner) comprises: inserting a first pivot shaft (40 Turner) of the first hinge (26/24 Turner) into a hinge mounting hole (hole in tab 36 as seen in figs 2-4 Turner) of the panel mounting frame (12 Turner), wherein connecting the second hinge (24/30 Turner) of the hinge (22 Turner) to the panel body (18 Turner) comprises: inserting an assembly shaft (32 Turner) disposed on a hinge mounting arm (28 Turner) of the panel body (18 Turner) into a first connecting hole (as seen in fig 5 Turner, upper end of 24 has a connecting hole for which rivet 32 uses to connect the second hinge and panel body) of the second hinge (24/30 Turner), wherein connecting the first hinge (26/24 Turner) to the second hinge (24/30 Turner) comprises: inserting a second pivot shaft (44 Turner) of the first hinge (26/24 Turner) into a second connecting hole (58 Turner) of the second hinge (24/30 Turner), and wherein connecting the second end of the panel body to the panel mounting frame comprises: clamping a buckle (12 Fuchs) disposed on the second end of the panel body (18 Turner) with a slot (latching projections on frame, as described in [0033] Fuchs) disposed on the panel mounting frame (12 Turner); or clamping a buckle disposed on the panel mounting frame with a slot disposed on the second end of the panel body.
Claim(s) 18-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner (U.S. 3,093,258) in view of Fuchs (EP2128350) and Galazin (U.S. 11,970,210) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Herper (U.S. 7,406,749).
Regarding claim 18, Turner teaches the panel structure for the hidden water tank according to claim 11. Turner is silent as to the second hinge comprising two second hinge plates arranged in parallel with a connecting plate between the two second hinge plates.
Herper teaches a similar panel structure comprising a second hinge comprising two second hinge plates arranged in parallel (as best seen in figs 3 and 4, arm 22 is comprised of two plates on either side of the arm, arranged parallel to one another); and a connecting plate (between the two plates of arm 22, best seen in fig 4) configured to be connected between the two second hinge plates (as seen in fig 4).
Turner, Fuchs, Galazin, and Herper are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hinged panel structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Turner, Fuchs, and Galazin to incorporate the teachings of Herper and provide a second hinge that is comprised of two hinge plates arranged in parallel with a connecting plate between the hinge plates. Doing so would provide additional structure for the hinge, making it more robust and able to resist damage.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Turner, Fuchs, Galazin and Herper teaches the panel structure of claim 18. Herper further teaches wherein the connecting plate (between the two plates of arm 22, best seen in fig 4) is shorter than the two second hinge plates (as seen in fig 4).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Turner, Fuchs, Galazin, and Herper teaches the panel structure of claim 19. Turner and Herper further teach wherein the panel body (18 Turner) comprises an assembly shaft (32 Turner) configured to connect the panel body (18, via arm 28 Turner) to the second hinge (24/30 Turner), wherein the first hinge (26/24 Turner) comprises a second pivot shaft (44 Turner) configured to be connected to the second hinge (24/30 Turner), and wherein the second hinge (the combination as described above) comprises: two first connecting holes respectively disposed on a first end of the two second hinge plates (as seen in figs 3 and 4 of Herper) and configured to receive the assembly shaft (32 Turner); and two second connecting holes respectively disposed on a second end of the two second hinge plates (as best seen in figs 3 and 4 of Herper, two second connecting holes are present in the arm plates that make up hinge 22) and configured to receive the second pivot shaft (44 Turner).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Turner, Fuchs, Galazin, and Herper teaches the panel structure of claim 20. Herper further teaches wherein the connecting plate comprises a first connecting plate and a second connecting plate both configured to be connected to the two second hinge plates (as seen in annotated fig 4).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Turner, Fuchs, Galazin, and Herper teaches the panel structure of claim 21. Herper further teaches wherein the first connecting plate is perpendicular to the second connecting plate (as seen in annotated fig 4).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Turner, Fuchs, Galazin, and Herper teaches the panel structure of claim 22. Herper further teaches wherein the first connecting plate extends along a length direction of the two second hinge plates, and wherein the second connecting plate extends along a height direction of the two second hinge plates (as seen in annotated fig 4, the first and second connecting plates are perpendicular to one another and extend along the length and height direction of the two second hinge plates).
Claim(s) 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuchs (EP2128350) in view of Galazin (U.S. 11,970,210).
Regarding claim 27, Fuchs teaches a hidden water tank, comprising to be connected to the water tank body (1 is a cistern); a panel body (4) disposed on an outer side of the panel mounting frame (2) and configured to be opened and closed relative to the panel mounting frame (as seen in figs 3 and 5); a hinge (multiple hinges 91-94, see fig 2) configured to connect a first end of the panel body (4) to the panel mounting frame (2); and an operation mechanism (6) configured to be connected to the panel body (4) and configured to trigger the valve for opening and closing the water tank body (described in [0011]), wherein a second end of the panel body (4) is connected to the panel mounting frame (2, via latching hooks 12, described in [0012]) ]), wherein the hinge (91-94) comprises: a first hinge (91) configured to be hinged with the panel mounting frame (2); and a second hinge (92) configured to be hinged with the first hinge (91 and 92 work cooperatively as a hinge) and the panel body (4), and wherein the first hinge (91) comprises a first hinge plate (as seen in fig 2).
Fuchs is silent as to there being a weight reducing hole in the first hinge plate.
Galazin teaches another type of hinged frame assembly where the hinge plate comprises a weight reducing hole (88, as seen in fig 9 and described in column 5 lines 17-19).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fuchs to incorporate the teachings of Galazin and provide a weight reducing hole in the assembly. Doing so would reduce the weight of the overall structure which therefore reduces strain on the hinge and could also lead to a material cost savings.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Fuchs and Galazin teaches the hidden water tank of claim 27. Fuchs further teaches wherein the operation mechanism (6) comprises: a first operation mechanism configured to fully open the valve; and a second operation mechanism configured to half open the valve, and wherein each of the first operation mechanism and the second operation mechanism comprises a button (as described in [0011], the operation mechanism is a pneumatic device with a control button, and the pneumatic actuator is variable and can be controlled to open the valve as desired).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 4 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended independent claims 11, 27, and 29 to add the limitation that the first hinge plate comprises a weight reducing hole.
Applicants’ claim amendments have overcome the drawing objection and claim objection from the previous office action. However, applicant’s claim amendments have introduced a 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection for claim 12 as described above.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUSAN M. HESCHEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3637
/Muhammad Ijaz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631