DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BEN HENDA et al (US 2020/0413258 A1).
Regarding claim 1, BEN HENDA et al (US 2020/0413258 A1) discloses a method (see, the AMF engages in authentication and NAS SMC procedures in response to UE’s registration over first access network (AN1, e.g., 3GPP network, section 0009-0011, fig. 3 to fig. 5, AMF 10 as the network node which comprises a processing circuitry, section 0118-0123),comprising: receiving (fig. 3, the AMF 10 receives a registration request from the UE, section 0009-0014), by an access and mobility management function (AMF) (fig. 3, AMF which receives registration request from the UE, section 0009-0014) from a wireless device (fig. 3, the AMF 10 receives a registration request from the UE, section 0009-0014), a first registration request message (see, registration request message from the UE over the AN1, section 0009-017) for a first access path of an access type (see, the access types which the UE is registered to, section 0009-0017) via a first access node (fig. 3, AN1 (e.g., 3GPP), section 0009-0017); determining, by the AMF (see, the first security context for first connection via a first access network, second connection via second access network where the AMF implicitly shares s first security context, section 0023-0026), a common security context for the wireless device (see, the shared first security context in relation to first value and the second value, section 0025-027); sending (fig. 3, see, the AMF 10 transmits the generated keys with NAS UL, DL counts values to the AN1), by the AMF to the first access node, a first access stratum (AS) key (fig. 3, see, the AMF 10 transmits the generated keys with NAS UL, DL counts values to the AN1), wherein the first AS key is based on a first value associated with the first access path and the common security context (see, the shared first security context in relation to first value (section 0011), the first security context related first value and second value, each of which is related to first connection on first access network and second connection on second access network, section 0196-0197, 0199-0200-uplink and downlink NAS count values); receiving (see, the wireless device registering a second connection via a second access network with the AMF, where the fist connection and the second connection share first security context, section 0206-0207), by the AMF from the wireless device a second registration request message (see, the wireless device registering a second connection via a second access network with the AMF, where the fist connection and the second connection share first security context, section 0206-0207) for a second access path (see, the second connection, section 0206-0207) of the access type via a second access node (see, second connection via second access network ( AN2, e.g., non 3GPP), section 0206-0207); and sending (fig. 4, see, AMF 10 sends 5G NAS sec activated for both NAS connections-current KSI, NAS keys generated to the AN2 (e.g., non-3GPP)), by the AMF to the second access node (fig. 4, see, AMF 10 sends 5G NAS sec activated for both NAS connections-current KSI, NAS keys generated to the AN2 (e.g., non-3GPP), a second AS key (fig. 4, shows the generated keys by the AMF that is sent to the AN2 (e.g,, non-3GPP)), wherein the second AS key is based on a second value (see, second value in relation to the second security context with the respect to the second connection via the second access network, section 0196-0197) associated with the second access path and the common security context (see, the shared first security context in relation to first value (section 0011), the first security context related first value and second value, each of which is related to first connection on first access network and second connection on second access network, section 0196-0197, 0199-0200-uplink and downlink NAS count values) .
Regarding claim 8, BEN HENDA et al (US 2020/0413258 A1) discloses an access and mobility management function (AMF) (fig. 3 to fig. 5, AMF 10 as the network node which comprises a processing circuitry, section 0118-0123) comprising one or more processors (fig. 13, network node/AMF 10 includes a processing circuitry, device readable medium 180-program instructions stored on the device storage medium executed by the processing circuitry 170, section 0118-0123) and memory storing instructions (fig. 13, see, device readable medium 180-program instructions stored on the device storage medium executed by the processing circuitry 170, section 0118-0123)that, when executed by the one or more processors (fig. 13, network node/AMF 10 includes a processing circuitry, device readable medium 180-program instructions stored on the device storage medium executed by the processing circuitry 170, section 0118-0123), cause the AMF to: receive (fig. 3, AMF which receives registration request from the UE, section 0009-0014), from a wireless device (fig. 3, the AMF 10 receives a registration request from the UE, section 0009-0014), a first registration request message (see, registration request message from the UE over the AN1, section 0009-017) for a first access path of an access type (see, the access types which the UE is registered to, section 0009-0017) via a first access node (fig. 3, AN1 (e.g., 3GPP), section 0009-0017); determine (see, the first security context for first connection via a first access network, second connection via second access network where the AMF implicitly shares s first security context, section 0023-0026), a common security context for the wireless device (see, the shared first security context in relation to first value and the second value, section 0025-027); send(fig. 3, see, the AMF 10 transmits the generated keys with NAS UL, DL counts values to the AN1), to the first access node (fig. 3, see, the AMF 10 transmits the generated keys with NAS UL, DL counts values to the AN1),, a first access stratum (AS) key, wherein the first AS key is based on a first value associated with the first access path and the common security context (see, the shared first security context in relation to first value (section 0011), the first security context related first value and second value, each of which is related to first connection on first access network and second connection on second access network, section 0196-0197, 0199-0200-uplink and downlink NAS count values); receiving (see, the wireless device registering a second connection via a second access network with the AMF, where the fist connection and the second connection share first security context, section 0206-0207), by the AMF from the wireless device a second registration request message (see, the wireless device registering a second connection via a second access network with the AMF, where the fist connection and the second connection share first security context, section 0206-0207) for a second access path (see, the second connection, section 0206-0207) of the access type via a second access node (see, second connection via second access network ( AN2, e.g., non 3GPP), section 0206-0207); and send (fig. 4, see, AMF 10 sends 5G NAS sec activated for both NAS connections-current KSI, NAS keys generated to the AN2 (e.g., non-3GPP)), to the second access node (fig. 4, see, AMF 10 sends 5G NAS sec activated for both NAS connections-current KSI, NAS keys generated to the AN2 (e.g., non-3GPP), a second AS key (fig. 4, shows the generated keys by the AMF that is sent to the AN2 (e.g,, non-3GPP)), wherein the second AS key is based on a second value (see, second value in relation to the second security context with the respect to the second connection via the second access network, section 0196-0197) associated with the second access path and the common security context (see, the shared first security context in relation to first value (section 0011), the first security context related first value and second value, each of which is related to first connection on first access network and second connection on second access network, section 0196-0197, 0199-0200-uplink and downlink NAS count values) .
Regarding claim 15, BEN HENDA et al (US 2020/0413258 A1) discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions (fig. 13, AMF as the network node, section 0118-0123), that, when executed by one or more processors (fig. 13, network node/AMF 10 includes a processing circuitry, device readable medium 180-program instructions stored on the device storage medium executed by the processing circuitry 170, section 0118-0123), cause an access and mobility management function (AMF) to: (fig. 3, the AMF 10 receives a registration request from the UE, section 0009-0014), receive (fig. 3, AMF which receives registration request from the UE, section 0009-0014), from a wireless device (fig. 3, the AMF 10 receives a registration request from the UE, section 0009-0014), a first registration request message (see, registration request message from the UE over the AN1, section 0009-017) for a first access path of an access type (see, the access types which the UE is registered to, section 0009-0017) via a first access node (fig. 3, AN1 (e.g., 3GPP), section 0009-0017); determine (see, the first security context for first connection via a first access network, second connection via second access network where the AMF implicitly shares s first security context, section 0023-0026), a common security context for the wireless device (see, the shared first security context in relation to first value and the second value, section 0025-027); send (fig. 3, see, the AMF 10 transmits the generated keys with NAS UL, DL counts values to the AN1), to the first access node (fig. 3, see, the AMF 10 transmits the generated keys with NAS UL, DL counts values to the AN1),, a first access stratum (AS) key (fig. 3, see, the AMF 10 transmits the generated keys with NAS UL, DL counts values to the AN1),, wherein the first AS key is based on a first value associated with the first access path and the common security context (see, the shared first security context in relation to first value (section 0011), the first security context related first value and second value, each of which is related to first connection on first access network and second connection on second access network, section 0196-0197, 0199-0200-uplink and downlink NAS count values); receiving (see, the wireless device registering a second connection via a second access network with the AMF, where the fist connection and the second connection share first security context, section 0206-0207), by the AMF from the wireless device a second registration request message (see, the wireless device registering a second connection via a second access network with the AMF, where the fist connection and the second connection share first security context, section 0206-0207) for a second access path (see, the second connection, section 0206-0207) of the access type via a second access node (see, second connection via second access network ( AN2, e.g., non 3GPP), section 0206-0207); and send (fig. 4, see, AMF 10 sends 5G NAS sec activated for both NAS connections-current KSI, NAS keys generated to the AN2 (e.g., non-3GPP)), to the second access node (fig. 4, see, AMF 10 sends 5G NAS sec activated for both NAS connections-current KSI, NAS keys generated to the AN2 (e.g., non-3GPP), a second AS key (fig. 4, shows the generated keys by the AMF that is sent to the AN2 (e.g,, non-3GPP)), wherein the second AS key is based on a second value (see, second value in relation to the second security context with the respect to the second connection via the second access network, section 0196-0197) associated with the second access path and the common security context (see, the shared first security context in relation to first value (section 0011), the first security context related first value and second value, each of which is related to first connection on first access network and second connection on second access network, section 0196-0197, 0199-0200-uplink and downlink NAS count values) .
Regarding claims 2, 9, 16, BEN HENDA ‘258 discloses method of claim 1, wherein one or both of the first value (see, first value based on the second security context, section 0026, 0027-0030) and the second value (see, second value, section 0027-0029) are based on an encoding (fig. 3 to fig. 4, shows the AMF generated NAS keys with values and transmits the keys to access network, the act of transmitting the generated keys implies encoding) of: an access type distinguisher a value identifying the first access path (see, the flag that is set to the value in relation to first connection on first access network, section 0026-0029).
Regarding claims 3, 10, 17, BEN HENDA ‘258 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first value and the second value are part of the common security context (see, the shared first security context that is related the first value and the second value associated with first connection and the second connection, section 0011, 0024-0025, 0196-0197, 0199-0200)
Regarding claims 4, 11, 18, BEN HENDA ‘258 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the common security context (see, the shared first security context that is related the first value and the second value associated with first connection and the second connection, section 0011, 0024-0025, 0196-0197, 0199-0200 comprises a non-access stratum key (see, NAS security context (e.g., NAS keys) is shared among the NAS connection, section 0011).
Regarding claims 5, 12, 19, BEN HENDA ‘258 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first AS key is associated with the first access path of the access type (see, the first security context for first connection via a first access network, shares s first security context, section 0023-0026, noted: the security context is associated with NAS keys, section 0011, 0191), and the second AS key (noted: second security context in relation to associated key, section 0190-0191) is associated with the second access path of the access type (see, second value in relation to the second security context with the respect to the second connection via the second access network, section 0196-0197).
Regarding claims 6, 13, 20, BEN HENDA ‘258 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first AS key is part of a first AS security context associated with the first access path of the access type (see, the first security context for first connection via a first access network, shares s first security context, section 0023-0026, noted: the security context is associated with NAS keys, section 0011, 0191) and the second AS key is part of a second AS security context associated with the second access path of the access type (see, second value in relation to the second security context with the respect to the second connection via the second access network, section 0196-0197, noted: the security context is associated with NAS keys, section 0011, 0191).
Regarding claims 7, 14, the method of claim 1, wherein the first AS security context is associated with the first access node (see, the first security context for first connection via a first access network, shares s first security context, section 0023-0026, noted: the security context is associated with NAS keys, section 0011, 0191) and the second AS security context is associated with the second access node (see, second value in relation to the second security context with the respect to the second connection via the second access network, section 0196-0197).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 8, 10-11, 15, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al (US 2023/0232357 A1) in view of LIM et al (US 2024/0214902 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 15, Deng et al (US 2023/0232357 A1) discloses a method (see, NAS security context established by the terminal device with PLMN where the terminal device initially send a registration request message to first public land mobile network (PLMN, section 0009, noted: the access and the mobility management node device, section 0094-0095, see, the AMF node/electronic device includes a processor and a memory that is coupled to a processor, the memory sores computer-executable instructions executed by the processor, section 0339-0348 ) comprising: receiving (see, the access mobility management node/function of the PLMN implicitly receives the registration request message sent by terminal device, section 00009, 0081-0082, 0094, 0119, 0121-0122), by an access and mobility management function (AMF) (see, access mobility function node device of the PLMN which serves the terminal device, section 0081, 0094-0095) from a wireless device (see, the terminal device sends a registration request message, section 0009, 0081), a first registration request message (ee, the registration message that is sent by the terminal device to first PLMN over a first access network, section 0040); for a first access path of an access type (see, first PLMN, section 0040) via a first access node (see, the registration message that is sent by the terminal device to first PLMN over a first access network, section 0040); determining, by the AMF (see, the PLMN-A(Access and mobility management node of the PLMN-A) stores NAX security context including a 3GPP NAS security context and non-3GPP NAS security context, section 0125).
Deng ‘357 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: determining , by the AMF, a common security context for the wireless device; sending, by the AMF to the first access node, a first access stratum (AS) key, wherein the first AS key is based on a first value associated with the first access path and the common security context; receiving, by the AMF from the wireless device a second registration request message for a second access path of the access type via a second access node; and sending, by the AMF to the second access node, a second AS key, wherein the second AS key is based on a second value associated with the second access path and the common security context.
However, LIM et al (US 2024/0214902 A1) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: determining (see, the initial AMF generates NAS security context container, sends a NAS security context to the target AMF, section 0210-0213) , by the AMF (see, the initial AMF generates NAS security context container, sends a NAS security context to the target AMF, section 0210-0213), a common security context for the wireless device (see, same/common key/NAS security context, section 0245-0246, noted: security keys information (e.g., including keys) to be used for secure communication between the UE and the initial AMF, section 0261); sending, by the AMF to the first access node (see, the initial AMF prepares a NAS security context to be sent to the designated AMF, section 0391-0392), a first access stratum (AS) key (see, the public key of the NAS security context, section 0391-0393, 0399), wherein the first AS key is based on a first value associated with the first access path and the common security context (see, shared common root key or key used to between the UE and the initial AMF, the public key in relation to a values in the NAS security context, section 0057, 0123-0124); receiving, by the AMF from the wireless device a second registration request message (see, the AMF receives a second request message including a second parameter requesting a token related the AMF to be reallocated, section 0538-0539) for a second access path of the access type (see, target AMF from the radio access network, section 0542) via a second access node (see, the target AMF, the security context container including a second security context for a target AMF based on the first security context, section 0539); and sending (see, the initial AMF transmits a security context container including a second security context to the target AMF, section 0542), by the AMF to the second access node (see, the initial AMF transmits a security context container including a second security context to the target AMF, section 0542), a second AS key (see, security context container including a second security context to the target AMF, section 0542, noted: the security context includes keys, 0539-0542), wherein the second AS key is based on a second value associated with the second access path and the common security context (noted: the first and the second security context are related to the common security context ,section 0539-0542, see, the security context container with keys has an integrity value, section 0524-0528).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the assignment of access mobility management function from the an initiation AMF to a target AMF based on the first security context and second security context as taught by LIM ‘902 into the method and apparatus for processing of the NAS context based on registration and de-registration of DENG ‘357. The motivation would have been to provide safe transfer of the security context as suggested in section 0030.
Regarding claims 3, 10, 17, Deng ‘357 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first value and the second value are part of the common security context (section 0251-0254-common NAS security context and uplink NAS count and downlink NAS count whose values are 0).
Regarding claims 4, 11, 18, Deng ‘357 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the common security context comprises a non-access stratum key (see, common NAS security context established by the terminal device with PLMN-A with uplink NAS count and downlink NAS count whose values are 0, section 0248-0251).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
VENKATATAMAN et al (US 2021/0160809 A1)-discloses common security context that is created during registration procedure (section 0128-0130)
TIWARI et al (US 2024/0406188 A1) discloses the AMF and the UE establishing a common 5G NAS security context including a single sets of NAS keys (section 0207-0210) including UE context transfer between old/initial AMF and selected AMF (section 0210) and receiving a registration request message, sending to non-geographically selected AMF (section 0926, 0932, 0937-0963).
BAEK et al (US 2020/0154352 A1) discloses selecting of an AMF from a first AMF to a second AMF based on first registration request message and second registration request message (section 0022-0026, 0085-0097, 0100-0119) where the UE access multiple types of access networks (e.g., 3GPP access and non-3GPP access) (section 0085-0097).
Baskaran et al (US 2023/0262453 A1) discloses AMF security context (i.e., security key/NAS security key) (section 065, 0177-0191) including the common security.
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473