DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has complied with all of the conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e).
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 08/22/2024 and 01/16/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 08/22/2024 were reviewed and are acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 08/22/2024 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Claim Interpretation
The Instant claims recite the limitations “mountain-fold portion” and “valley-fold portion”. The Examiner respectfully submits that these limitations reasonably appear to refer to the same structure depending only upon the “outside”, i.e. height, reference direction (H direction in Fig 1). The Examiner notes that, if Fig 1 were inverted, “mountain-fold portion” 132a and “valley-fold portion” 132b, would reasonably read on the other. Accordingly, the limitations “mountain-fold portion” and “valley-fold portion” are being interpreted to be the same structure, but on opposing sides of the electrode assembly relative to a certain direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eom et al. (US 2019/0252726 A1; hereinafter “Eom”) in view of Yu (US 2023/0028018 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Eom discloses a power storage cell (battery, Title) comprising:
a case (130); and
an electrode assembly (10), wherein
the case accommodates the electrode assembly (as shown in Fig 10),
the electrode assembly includes a first electrode (11), a second electrode (12), and a separator (13),
the separator includes a mountain-fold portion (as shown in Fig 3, right side portions in X direction) and a valley-fold portion (as shown in Fig 3, left side portion in X direction),
the mountain-fold portion and the valley-fold portion are alternately arranged in a length direction of the separator (as shown in Fig 3 in Z direction),
in the mountain-fold portion, the separator is bent in a mountain-folded manner towards the outside of the electrode assembly (as shown in Fig 3),
in the valley-fold portion, the separator is bent in a valley-folded manner towards the outside of the electrode assembly (as shown in Fig 3),
the first electrode is disposed inside the mountain-fold portion (as shown in Fig 3),
the second electrode is disposed inside the valley-fold portion (as shown in Fig 3), and
a through hole (fracture portions 54; see also [0043] and [0062] which describes that the patterns pass through the separator and are formed via punching) is formed at a tip of at least one of the mountain-fold portion and the valley-fold portion (as shown in Fig 8).
Eom discloses the power storage cell, as noted above, but does not disclose any electrolyte, and therefore does not explicitly disclose an electrolyte solution being accommodated in the case.
Yu teaches a secondary battery (Title) having a folded separator shape (as shown in Fig 3). Yu teaches that EC and EMC are used with a lithium salt as main components for an electrolyte ([0076]).
Eom and Yu are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely power storage cells having folded separators.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the battery of Eom would necessarily require an electrolyte to function, and would therefore find it obvious to routinely utilize the electrolytic solution of Yu, as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known component for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Regarding claim 2, modified Eom discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Eom further discloses that the tip at which the through hole if formed is set back toward inside of the electrode assembly (as shown in Fig 8, the center, or “tip”, of the area where the through hole is formed is recessed inwards toward the interior of the electrode assembly).
Regarding claim 3, modified Eom discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Eom further discloses that the power storage cell has a height direction (X direction), a width direction (Y direction), and a thickness direction (Z direction),
the height direction, the width direction, and the thickness direction are orthogonal to one another (as shown in Fig 10), and
the tip of the mountain-fold portion and the tip of the valley-fold portion are respectively disposed at both ends in the height direction (as shown in Fig 10).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, modified Eom discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Eom further discloses that the first electrode includes a first electrode tab (21),
the second electrode includes a second electrode tab (22),
in the width direction, the electrode assembly includes a first side end portion (as shown in Fig 10, end with tabs 21 and 22) and a second side end portion (as shown in Fig 10, side opposite to the end with tabs 21 and 22),
in the width direction, the second side end portion is located opposite to the first side end portion (as shown in Fig 10), and
the first electrode tab is disposed at the first side end portion (as shown in Fig 10).
Eom discloses that the tabs are both formed at one end of the electrode assembly (as shown in Fig 10), and therefore does not disclose that the second electrode tab is disposed at the second side end portion.
Yu further teaches that the positive and negative electrode tabs may be manufactured to protrude in opposite directions or may also be manufactured to protrude in the same direction ([0056]).
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the direction in which the electrode tabs protrude are obvious variants of one another, as suggested by Yu, and would therefore find it obvious to routinely design the battery of modified Eom such that the electrode tabs protrude from opposite ends, i.e. at both the first side end portion and the second side end portion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lim et al. (US 2023/0135785 A1) discloses a battery module;
Shin et al. (US 2023/0065133 A1) discloses electrode leads made of dissimilar metals; and
Ahn (US 2011/0274960 A1) discloses an electrode assembly and secondary battery.
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 10/30/2026