DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in responsive to communication(s): original application filed on 08/22/2024, said application claims a priority filing date of 04/10/2012.
Claims 1-18 are pending. Claims 1 and 10 are independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1-8 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Poston et al. (U.S. Publication 2017/0235800; hereinafter “Poston”).
In regard to independent claims 1 and 10, Poston teaches a method for displaying a content object to a user of a controlling application comprising:
in response to the user accessing a record in the controlling application, receiving, by a dynamic content engine comprising at least one processor, a notification of the user’s access of the record, the notification comprising a primary key and a record type for the record;
retrieving one or more display commands for the record based on the record type, each display command specifying one or more data required from the controlling application to display the content object;
retrieving, in real-time, the specified one or more data that is associated with the primary key from the controlling application;
retrieving one or more related data from the controlling application that is related to the specified one or more data; and
populating a user interface with the specified one or more data and the one or more related data for display to the user and for subsequent access by the user of the content object associated with the record in the controlling application, wherein the user interface visually reflects relationships among the records, or the data in the records, in the controlling application and provides access to the content object (Poston, figure 1; “Clarification: notifications displayed in figure 1(a) and 1(b) and user interface populated with data related with the notification is displayed in 1(c)").
In regard to dependent claims 2 and 11, Poston teaches the content object comprises a document file, an image file, or a video file (Poston, table 2)
In regard to dependent claims 3 and 12, Poston teaches the content object comprises a folder, wherein the folder comprises a document file, an image file, or a video file. (Poston, paragraph 0113, lines 8-15).
In regard to dependent claims 4 and 13, Poston teaches in response to the user locating content that does not otherwise exist in the controlling application, instructing the controlling application to create a new record, wherein the instructing further comprises providing a record type to the controlling application, wherein the record type specifies a type of the content; and
upon receiving a second primary key for the new record, associating the content with the primary key (Poston, paragraph 0090, lines 9-11; “Note: new record is created when record does not exists”).
In regard to dependent claims 5 and 14, Poston teaches the user interface visually reflects hierarchical relationships among the records, or the data in the records, in the controlling application (Poston, figure 1c).
In regard to dependent claims 6 and 15, Poston teaches the user interface visually reflects direct relationships among the records, or the data in the records, in the controlling application (Poston, figure 2).
In regard to dependent claims 7 and 16, Poston teaches the user interface visually reflects indirect relationships among the records, or the data in the records, in the controlling application (Poston, paragraph 0096, lines 20-32; figure 1c; “Note: indirect relationship is displayed under Germany which is determined dynamically”).
In regard to dependent claims 8 and 17, Poston in response to the user navigating between a first record reflected in the user interface to a second record in the user interface:
receiving, by the dynamic content engine, a notification of the user’s access of the second record, the notification comprising a second primary key about the second record;
retrieving one or more display commands for the second record based on the second primary key, each display command specifying one or more second data required from the controlling application;
retrieving the specified one or more second data from the controlling application; populating a user interface with the specified one or more second data for display to the
user. (Poston, figure 6, figure 4, paragraph 0104, lines 3-6; “Note: after navigating first record, user is able to drill down 2nd, third, 4th etc record in both text entry and selection of the parent node").
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8, of US Patent 9,046,993 by Bimson et al. (hereinafter ‘993). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The scope of claim limitations 1 and 10 of instant application falls within the scope of the claim limitations 1 and 8 of '993 underlined below:
Instant Application 18/812456
Reference Patent # 9046993
Claim 1. A method for displaying a content object to a user of a controlling application comprising: in response to the user accessing a record in the controlling application, receiving, by a dynamic content engine comprising at least one processor, a notification of the user's access of the record, the notification comprising a primary key and a record type for the record; retrieving one or more display commands for the record based on the record type, each display command specifying one or more data required from the controlling application to display the content object;
retrieving, in real-time, the specified one or more data that is associated with the primary key from the controlling application;
retrieving one or more related data from the controlling application that is related to the specified one or more data; and
populating a user interface with the specified one or more data and the one or more related data for display to the user and for subsequent access by the user of the content object associated with the record in the controlling application, wherein the user interface visually reflects relationships among the records, or the data in the records, in the controlling application and provides access to the content object.
Claim 1. A method for displaying a content object to a user of a controlling application comprising: in response to the user accessing a record in the controlling application, receiving, by a dynamic content engine comprising at least one processor, a notification of the user's access of the record, the notification comprising a primary key and a record type for the record; retrieving one or more display commands for the record based on the record type, each display command specifying one or more data required from the controlling application to display the content object;
retrieving, in real-time, the specified one or more data that is associated with the primary key from the controlling application;
retrieving one or more related data from the controlling application that is related to the specified one or more data; and
populating a user interface with the specified one or more data and the one or more related data for display to the user and for subsequent access by the user of the content object associated with the record in the controlling application, wherein the user interface visually reflects relationships among the records, or the data in the records, in the controlling application and provides access to the content object
wherein the content object comprises a document file, an image
file, or a video file,
wherein in response to a request by the user, instructing the controlling application to export one or more second data for the record; inducting the one or more second data; and associating the one or more second data with the
Conclusion
/Reza Nabi/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174