DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotary et al. (US 2024/0403157) and further in view of Thirumala et al. (US 2023/0236933).
Consider claim 1, Kotary et al. discloses a storage system comprising: a plurality of storage devices having non volatile memory; and two or more storage controllers, external to and operatively coupled to the plurality of storage devices, configured to: detect an addition of one or more storage memory devices comprising a compute express link (CXL), wherein the CXL is configured to provide access to the one or more storage memory devices for the two or more storage controllers, and wherein the one or more storage memory devices comprises non volatile memory and is integrated into a managed flash storage device, the managed flash storage device managed by the two or more storage controllers; store, by the two or more storage controllers, at least one of data or metadata in the one or more storage memory devices; and perform, by the two or more storage controllers, one or more storage system operations using the at least one of data or metadata (abstract, Fig. 1, [0011]-[0016], [0022]-[0024], [0033], and [0048], Kotary et al. discloses a system with a plurality of DRAM modules and multiple controllers. The system utilizes CXL. The data stored in a DRAM module that is close to failure can be mirrored to an added DRAM module to use while the original is being replaced so as to not interrupt (or greatly reduce interruption) access to the data. Kotary et al. also discloses that non-volatile memory is in the system and that FLASH memory can be as well.).
Kotary et al. does disclose the use of FLASH based non-volatile memory, but does not specifically state that the memories used in the rejection are non-volatile FLASH memory. However being able to use non-volatile memory is well-known in the art and can easily replace the DRAM memories of Kotary et al. and deal with failures in FLASH in the same way as described for DRAM.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kotary et al. reference to use FLASH memory instead of DRAM because non-volatile memory can provide persistent data by retaining stored data with not powered therefore increased data security. The background of Thirumala et al. is used to reinforce this known benefit (Thirumala et al. [0003]).
Consider claim 2, Kotary et al. discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the one or more storage memory devices comprising the CXL has a same form factor as the plurality of storage devices (abstract, Fig. 1, [0011]-[0016], [0022]-[0024], [0033], Kotary et al. discloses that the replacement DRAM can have the same vendor and configuration.).
Consider claim 3, Kotary et al. discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the one or more storage memory devices comprising the CXL is external to the two or more storage controllers (abstract, Fig. 1, [0011]-[0016], [0022]-[0024], [0033], Kotary et al. discloses that the DRAM module are CXL enabled and external to controllers.).
Consider claim 4, Kotary et al. discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the one or more storage memory devices comprise dynamic random access memory (DRAM) (abstract, Fig. 1, [0011]-[0016], [0022]-[0024], [0033], Kotary et al. discloses the use of DRAM).
Consider claim 5, Kotary et al. discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the two or more storage controllers are further configured to: transmit, via the CXL of the one or more storage memory devices, one or more communications between the two or more storage controllers (abstract, Fig. 1, [0011]-[0016], [0022]-[0024], [0033], Kotary et al. discloses the mirroring of data over a CXL enabled system.).
Consider claim 6, Kotary et al. discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the two or more storage controllers are further configured to: receive an indication that the one or more storage memory devices comprising the CXL is to be removed from the storage system; and in response to receiving the indication, migrate the at least one of data or metadata from the one or more storage memory devices to one or more different locations in the storage system (abstract, Fig. 1, [0011]-[0016], [0022]-[0024], [0033], Kotary et al. discloses a system with a plurality of DRAM modules and multiple controllers. The system utilizes CXL. The data stored in a DRAM module that is close to failure can be mirrored to an added DRAM module to use while the original is being replaced and then migrates the data back once a replacement is made.).
Consider claim 7, Kotary et al. discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the two or more storage controllers manage one of internal error correction, encryption, or voltage level adjustments for flash memory of at least one of the plurality of storage devices and wherein the addition of the one or more storage device is non-disruptive to the storage system (abstract, Fig. 1, [0011]-[0016], [0018],[0022]-[0024], [0033], [0048], Kotary et al. discloses that error counts and voltage data is collected and managed.).
Claims 8-14 are the method claims to system claims 1-7 and are rejected in the same manner utilizing the same rationale.
Claims 15-20 are the medium claims to system claims 1-6 and are rejected in the same manner utilizing the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The amendments have been addressed in the appropriate claim rejections above. The applicant further argues that Kotary cannot be modified to include non-volatile memory. The examiner disagrees, the invention of Kotary is related to dealing with memory failure and replacement, there does not appear to be any specific feature in Kotary that would prevent the DRAM from being replaced with FLASH.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL ALSIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2136