DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response/communication filed 12/11/2025.
No claims have been cancelled.
No claims have been added.
Claims(s) 1-20 is/are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on 8/22/2024 and 12/11/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 8/22/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 18 of prior U.S. Patent No. US 12095533. This is a statutory double patenting rejection because:
As to claim 17:
U.S. Application 18812525
U.S. Patent No. 12095533
A base station, comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to:
transmit information indicating at least one channel state information
reference signal resource for channel measurement transmitted from a first transmission resource and at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource for interference measurement transmitted from a second transmission resource;
transmit quasi-colocation information corresponding to the first
transmission resource; and
receive channel state information calculated based on a channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one channel state information reference signal resource and a non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource of the at least
one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource,
wherein the channel state information comprises a strong precoding matrix indicator corresponding to the first transmission resource and a weak precoding matrix indicator corresponding to the second transmission resource and the first transmission resource comprises a transmission resource separate from the second transmission resource.
A base station, comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to:
transmit information indicating at least one channel state information reference signal resource for channel measurement transmitted from a first transmission resource and at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource for interference measurement transmitted from a second transmission resource;
transmit quasi-colocation information corresponding to the first transmission resource; and
receive channel state information calculated based on a channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one channel state information reference signal resource and a non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource,
wherein the channel state information comprises a strong precoding matrix indicator corresponding to the first transmission resource and a weak precoding matrix indicator corresponding to the second transmission resource and the first transmission resource comprises a transmission resource separate from the second transmission resource. (claim 18)
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 13, 14, 16, 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12095533. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
As to claim 1:
U.S. Application 18812525
U.S. Patent No. 12095533
A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving information indicating at least one channel state information reference signal resource for channel measurement transmitted from a first transmission resource and at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal
resource for interference measurement transmitted from a second transmission
resource;
determining a channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one channel state information reference signal resource and a non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource for calculating channel state information;
calculating the channel state information based on the channel state information reference signal resource and the non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource, wherein the channel state information reference signal resource and the non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource are received using a receiving spatial filter; and
transmitting the channel state information,
wherein the receiving spatial filter corresponds to the channel state information reference signal resource and
is determined based on quasi-colocation information corresponding to the first transmission resource.
A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving information indicating at least one channel state information reference signal resource for channel measurement transmitted from a first transmission resource and at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource for interference measurement transmitted from a second transmission resource;
determining a channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one channel state information reference signal resource and a non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource for calculating channel state information;
calculating the channel state information based on the channel state information reference signal resource and the non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource, wherein the channel state information reference signal resource and the non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource are received using a receiving spatial filter; and
transmitting the channel state information,
wherein the channel state information comprises a strong precoding matrix indicator corresponding to the first transmission resource and a weak precoding matrix indicator corresponding to the second transmission resource and the first transmission resource comprises a separate transmission resource from the second transmission resource. (claim 1)
The method of claim 1, wherein the receiving spatial filter corresponds to the channel state information reference signal resource. (claim 3)
The method of claim 3, wherein the receiving spatial filter is determined based on quasi-colocation information corresponding to the first transmission resource. (claim 4)
As to claim 2:
U.S. Application 18812525
U.S. Patent No. 12095533
The method of claim 1, wherein:
the first transmission resource comprises a first transmission reception point, a first panel, a first beam, or any combination thereof; and
the second transmission resource comprises a second transmission reception point, a second panel, a second beam, or any combination thereof.
The method of claim 1, wherein: the first transmission resource comprises a first transmission reception point, a first panel, a first beam, or any combination thereof; and
the second transmission resource comprises a second transmission reception point, a second panel, a second beam, or any combination thereof. (claim 2)
As to claim 3:
U.S. Application 18812525
U.S. Patent No. 12095533
The method of claim 1,
wherein the channel state information comprises a first channel
state information reference signal resource indicator corresponding to the first transmission resource and a second channel state information reference signal resource indicator corresponding to the second transmission resource
The method of claim 1,
wherein the channel state information comprises a first channel state information reference signal resource indicator corresponding to the first transmission resource and a second channel state information reference signal resource indicator corresponding to the second transmission resource. (claim 5)
As to claim 4:
U.S. Application 18812525
U.S. Patent No. 12095533
The method of claim 3, wherein the first channel state information reference signal
resource indicator is a strong channel state information reference signal resource indicator and the second channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a weak channel state information reference signal resource indicator.
The method of claim 5, wherein the first channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a strong channel state information reference signal resource indicator and the second channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a weak channel state information reference signal resource indicator. (claim 6)
As to claim 5:
U.S. Application 18812525
U.S. Patent No. 12095533
The method of claim 1, wherein the channel state information further comprises a channel state information reference signal indicator corresponding to a null-direction for a channel.
The method of claim 1, wherein the channel state information further comprises a channel state information reference signal indicator corresponding to a null-direction for a channel. (claim 7)
As to claim 6:
U.S. Application 18812525
U.S. Patent No. 12095533
The method of claim 1, wherein the channel state information further comprises a precoding matrix indicator corresponding to a null-direction for a channel.
The method of claim 1, wherein the channel state information further comprises a precoding matrix indicator corresponding to a null-direction for a channel. (claim 8)
As to claim 7:
U.S. Application 18812525
U.S. Patent No. 12095533
A user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
receive information indicating at least one channel state information reference signal resource for channel measurement transmitted from a first transmission resource and at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource for interference measurement transmitted from a second transmission resource;
determine a channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one channel state information reference signal resource and a non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource for calculating channel state information;
calculate the channel state information based on the channel state information reference signal resource and the non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource, wherein the channel state information reference signal resource and the non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource are received using a receiving spatial filter; and
transmit the channel state information,
wherein the receiving spatial filter corresponds to the channel state information reference signal resource and is determined based on quasi-colocation information corresponding to the first transmission resource
A user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
receive information indicating at least one channel state information reference signal resource for channel measurement transmitted from a first transmission resource and at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource for interference measurement transmitted from a second transmission resource;
determine a channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one channel state information reference signal resource and a non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource for calculating channel state information;
calculate the channel state information based on the channel state information reference signal resource and the non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource, wherein the channel state information reference signal resource and the non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource are received using a receiving spatial filter; and
transmit the channel state information, wherein the channel state information comprises a strong precoding matrix indicator corresponding to the first transmission resource and a weak precoding matrix indicator corresponding to the second transmission resource and the first transmission resource comprises a separate transmission resource from the second transmission resource.
(claim 9)
As to claim 8:
U.S. Application 18812525
U.S. Patent No. 12095533
The UE of claim 7, wherein;
the first transmission resource comprises a first transmission reception point, a first panel, a first beam, or any combination thereof; and
the second transmission resource comprises a second transmission reception point, a second panel, a second beam, or any combination thereof.
The UE of claim 9, wherein; the first transmission resource comprises a first transmission reception point, a first panel, a first beam, or any combination thereof; and
the second transmission resource comprises a second transmission reception point, a second panel, a second beam, or any combination thereof.
(claim 10)
As to claim 9:
U.S. Application 18812525
U.S. Patent No. 12095533
The UE of claim 7,
wherein the channel state information comprises a first channel state information reference signal resource indicator corresponding to the first transmission resource and a second channel state information reference signal resource indicator corresponding to the second transmission resource
The method of claim 1,
wherein the channel state information comprises a first channel state information reference signal resource indicator corresponding to the first transmission resource and a second channel state information reference signal resource indicator corresponding to the second transmission resource. (claim 5)
As to claim 10:
U.S. Application 18812525
U.S. Patent No. 12095533
The UE of claim 9,
wherein the first channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a strong channel state information reference signal resource indicator and the second channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a weak channel state information reference signal resource indicator.
The method of claim 5,
wherein the first channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a strong channel state information reference signal resource indicator and the second channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a weak channel state information reference signal resource indicator. (claim 6)
As to claim 11:
U.S. Application 18812525
U.S. Patent No. 12095533
The UE of claim 7,
wherein the channel state information further comprises a channel state information reference signal indicator corresponding to a null-direction for a
channel.
The method of claim 1,
wherein the channel state information further comprises a channel state information reference signal indicator corresponding to a null-direction for a channel. (claim 7)
As to claim 12:
U.S. Application 18812525
U.S. Patent No. 12095533
The UE of claim 7,
wherein the channel state information further comprises a precoding matrix indicator corresponding to a null-direction for a channel.
The method of claim 1,
wherein the channel state information further comprises a precoding matrix indicator corresponding to a null-direction for a channel. (claim 8)
As to claim 13:
U.S. Application 18812525
U.S. Patent No. 12095533
A method performed by a base station, the method comprising:
transmitting information indicating at least one channel state information reference signal resource for channel measurement transmitted from a first transmission resource and at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal
resource for interference measurement transmitted from a second transmission resource;
transmitting quasi-colocation information corresponding to the first transmission
resource; and
receiving channel state information calculated based on a channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one channel state information reference signal resource and a non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource, wherein the channel state information reference signal resource and the non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource are received using a receiving spatial filter; and
wherein the receiving spatial filter corresponds to the channel state information reference signal resource and
is determined based on quasi-colocation information corresponding to the first transmission resource.
A method performed by a base station, the method comprising:
transmitting information indicating at least one channel state information reference signal resource for channel measurement transmitted from a first transmission resource and at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource for interference measurement transmitted from a second transmission resource;
transmitting quasi-colocation information corresponding to the first transmission resource; and
receiving channel state information calculated based on a channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one channel state information reference signal resource and a non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource, wherein the channel state information comprises a strong precoding matrix indicator corresponding to the first transmission resource and a weak precoding matrix indicator corresponding to the second transmission resource and the first transmission resource comprises a separate transmission resource from the second transmission resource. (claim 13)
The method of claim 1, wherein the receiving spatial filter corresponds to the channel state information reference signal resource. (claim 3)
The method of claim 3, wherein the receiving spatial filter is determined based on quasi-colocation information corresponding to the first transmission resource. (claim 4)
As to claim 14:
U.S. Application 18812525
U.S. Patent No. 12095533
The method of claim 13, wherein:
the first transmission resource comprises a first transmission reception point, a first panel, a first beam, or any combination thereof; and
the second transmission resource comprises a second transmission reception point, a second panel, a second beam, or any combination thereof.
The method of claim 13, wherein:
the first transmission resource comprises a first transmission reception point, a first panel, a first beam, or any combination thereof; and
the second transmission resource comprises a second transmission reception point, a second panel, a second beam, or any combination thereof.
(claim 14)
As to claim 15:
U.S. Application 18812525
U.S. Patent No. 12095533
The method of claim 13,
wherein the channel state information comprises a first channel state information reference signal resource indicator corresponding to the first transmission resource and a second channel state information reference signal resource indicator corresponding to the second transmission resource
The method of claim 13,
wherein the channel state information comprises a first channel state information reference signal resource indicator corresponding to the first transmission resource and a second channel state information reference signal resource indicator corresponding to the second transmission resource.
(claim 16)
As to claim 16:
U.S. Application 18812525
U.S. Patent No. 12095533
The method of claim 15,
wherein the first channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a strong channel state information reference signal resource indicator and the second channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a weak channel state information reference signal resource indicator.
The method of claim 16,
wherein the first channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a strong channel state information reference signal resource indicator and the second channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a weak channel state information reference signal resource indicator. (claim 17)
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 2, 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12095533. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
As to claim 18:
U.S. Application 18812525
U.S. Patent No. 12095533
The base station of claim 17, wherein:
the first transmission resource comprises a first transmission reception point, a first panel, a first beam, or any combination thereof; and
the second transmission resource comprises a second transmission reception point, a
second panel, a second beam, or any combination thereof.
The method of claim 1, wherein: the first transmission resource comprises a first transmission reception point, a first panel, a first beam, or any combination thereof; and
the second transmission resource comprises a second transmission reception point, a second panel, a second beam, or any combination thereof. (claim 2)
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 5, 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12095533. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
As to claim 19:
U.S. Application 18812525
U.S. Patent No. 12095533
The base station of claim 17,
wherein the channel state information comprises a first channel state information reference signal resource indicator corresponding to the first transmission resource and a second channel state information reference signal resource indicator corresponding to the second transmission resource.
The method of claim 1,
wherein the channel state information comprises a first channel state information reference signal resource indicator corresponding to the first transmission resource and a second channel state information reference signal resource indicator corresponding to the second transmission resource. (claim 5)
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 5, 6, 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12095533. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
As to claim 20:
U.S. Application 18812525
U.S. Patent No. 12095533
The base station of claim 19, wherein the first channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a strong channel state information reference signal resource indicator and the second channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a weak channel state information reference signal resource indicator.
The method of claim 5, wherein the first channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a strong channel state information reference signal resource indicator and the second channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a weak channel state information reference signal resource indicator. (claim 6)
Examiner’s Comments Regarding Subject Matter Eligibility
The abstract ideas of “determining a channel state information reference signal resource…” and “wherein the receiving spatial filter…is determined…” as noted in claim 1 and similarly as noted in claim 7 and claim 13 are considered as being recited with additional elements which integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and the claims are therefore considered as eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 9, 13, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamada et al. US 20220006582 (U.S. Patent Application Publications citation #2, listed on IDS dated 2024-08-22).
As to claim 1:
Yamada et al. discloses:
A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving information indicating at least one channel state information reference signal resource for channel measurement transmitted from a first transmission resource and at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource for interference measurement transmitted from a second transmission resource;
(“A resource for NZP CSI-RS is configured by the base station apparatus 1A, For example, the terminal apparatus 2A performs signal measurement (channel measurement) or interference measurement by using the NZP CSI-RS. The NZP CSI-RS is also used for beam scanning for searching a preferable beam direction, beam recovery for recovering in a case of the received power/received quality in the beam direction deteriorates, or the like. A resource for ZP CSI-RS is configured by the base station apparatus 1A. With zero output, the base station apparatus IA transmits ZP CSI-RS. The terminal apparatus 2A performs interference measurement in a resource to which ZP CSI-RS corresponds, for example. Note that the resource for interference measurement corresponding to the ZP CSI-RS is also referred to as a CSI-Interference Measurement (IM) resource.”; Yamada et al.; 0067)
(“The CSI configuration information can include configuration information for the CSI measurement. For example, the configuration information for the CSI measurement may be a measurement link configuration or other configuration information. As a result, the terminal apparatus can associate the configuration information for the CSI measurement with the subarray and/or the receive beam direction. For example, in a case of considering coordinated communication with two base station apparatuses (e.g., base station apparatuses 3A and 5A), it is desirable that there are several types of configuration information. Suppose that a configuration of the CSI-RS for channel measurement transmitted by the base station apparatus 3A is set as resource configuration 1, and a configuration of the CSI-RS for channel measurement transmitted by the base station apparatus 5A is set as resource configuration 2. In this case, the configuration information 1 may be the resource configuration 1, the configuration information 2 may be the resource configuration 2, and the configuration information 3 may be the resource configuration 1 and the resource configuration 2. Note that each of the configuration information may include a configuration of the interference measurement resource. In a case that the CSI measurement is performed based on configuration information 1, the terminal apparatus can measure CSI in the CSI-RS transmitted from the base station apparatus 3A. In a case that the CSI measurement is performed based on configuration information 2, the terminal apparatus can measure the CSI transmitted from the base station apparatus 5A. In a case that the CSI measurement is performed based on configuration information 3, the terminal apparatus can measure CSI in the CSI-RS transmitted from the base station apparatus 3A and the base station apparatus 5A. The terminal apparatus can associate the subarray and/or the receive beam direction used for the CSI measurement with respect to each of the configuration information 1 to 3. Accordingly, the base station apparatus can indicate a preferable subarray and/or receive beam direction used by the terminal apparatus by indicating the configuration information 1 to 3. Note that in a case that the configuration information 3 is configured, the terminal apparatus determines the CSI for the resource configuration 1 and/or CSI for the resource configuration 2 At this time, the terminal apparatus can associate the subarray and/or the receive beam direction for each of the resource configuration 1 and/or the resource configuration 2. It is also possible to associate the resource configuration 1 and/or the resource configuration 2 with a codeword (transport block). For example, the CSI for the resource configuration 1 can be the CSI of a codeword 1 (transport block 1), and the CSI for the resource configuration 2 can be the CSI of a codeword 2 (transport block 2). The terminal apparatus can determine one CSI in consideration of the resource configuration 1 and the resource configuration 2. However, even in a case that one CSI is required, the terminal apparatus can associate the subarray and/or the receive beam direction for each of the resource configuration 1 and the resource configuration 2.”; Yamada et al.; 0142)
(“The terminal apparatus receives the CSI-RS in the resource configured by the CSI resource configuration…”; Yamada et al.; 0138)
(where
“a configuration of the CSI-RS for channel measurement transmitted by the base station apparatus 5A is set as resource configuration 2”/”The terminal apparatus receives the CSI-RS in the resource configured by the CSI resource configuration” maps to “receiving information indicating at least one channel state information reference signal resource for channel measurement transmitted from a first transmission resource”, where “receives the CSI-RS in the resource configured by the CSI resource configuration” maps to “first transmission resource”, where “receives” is considered as also requiring “transmitting” which maps to “transmission”, “RS” maps to “reference signal”
“A resource for NZP CSI-RS is configured by the base station apparatus 1A, For example, the terminal apparatus 2A performs … or interference measurement by using the NZP CSI-RS” maps to “at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource for interference measurement transmitted from a second transmission resource”, where “resource” maps to “second transmission resource”, where “interference measurement” is considered as requiring “transmitting” which maps to “transmission”, “RS” maps to “reference signal”, “NZP CSI-RS” maps to “non-zero-power channel state information reference signal”
determining a channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one channel state information reference signal resource and a non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource for calculating channel state information;
(“In a case that the report amount is configured to the CRI, RI, PMI, or CQI in the CSI report configuration, and that the group based beam reporting is configured to be on, the terminal apparatus determines the CSI, based on two CSI-RS resources that can be received simultaneously by one spatial domain reception filter or multiple spatial domain reception filters. The PMI for the first CSI-RS resource is also referred to as the first PMI, and the PMI for the second CSI-RS resource is also referred to as the second PMI. Note that the first PMI and the second PMI may be determined in consideration of both of the first CRI and the second CRI. In this case, the first PMI and the second PMI for which interference between each other is considered is determined.”; Yamada et al.; 0156)
“report amount…in the CSI report configuration…group based beam reporting…two CSI-RS resources that can be received simultaneously”/”resource for NZP CSI-RS is configured by the base station apparatus 1A, For example, the terminal apparatus 2A performs … or interference measurement by using the NZP CSI-RS” maps to “determining a channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one channel state information reference signal resource and a non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource for calculating channel state information”
calculating the channel state information based on the channel state information reference signal resource and the non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource, wherein the channel state information reference signal resource and the non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource are received using a receiving spatial filter; and
“report amount…in the CSI report configuration…group based beam reporting…two CSI-RS resources that can be received simultaneously by one spatial domain reception filter or multiple spatial domain reception filters”/”resource for NZP CSI-RS is configured by the base station apparatus 1A, For example, the terminal apparatus 2A performs … or interference measurement by using the NZP CSI-RS” maps to “calculating the channel state information based on the channel state information reference signal resource and the non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource, wherein the channel state information reference signal resource and the non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource are received using a receiving spatial filter”, where “report amount” is considered as requiring “calculating” in order to determine “amount” to “report”, “multiple spatial domain reception filters”/”resource for NZP CSI-RS is configured by the base station apparatus 1A, For example, the terminal apparatus 2A performs … or interference measurement by using the NZP CSI-RS” maps to “wherein the channel state information reference signal resource and the non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource are received using a receiving spatial filter
transmitting the channel state information, wherein the receiving spatial filter corresponds to the channel state information reference signal resource and is determined based on quasi-colocation information corresponding to the first transmission resource.
(“The terminal apparatus receives the CSI-RS in the resource configured by the CSI resource configuration, calculates the CSI or RSRP from the CSI-RS, and reports the CSI or RSRP to the base station apparatus. In a case that the CSI-RS resource configuration includes multiple CSI-RS resource configurations and/or the resource repetition is off, the terminal apparatus receives the CSI-RS in the same receive beam in each CSI-RS resource and calculates the CRI….Note that the CSI-RS resource group may be a CSI-RS resource configured with a CSI resource configuration or a CSI-RS resource set configuration. Note that the CRI (or CSI-RS resource ID) that can be configured at the same timing may be considered to be QCL. At this time, the terminal apparatus can transmit the CRI (or CSI-RS resource ID) in association with the QCL information. The QCL information is information about QCL for a prescribed antenna port, a prescribed signal, or a prescribed channel. In a case that, in two antenna ports, long term performance of a channel on which a symbol on One antenna port is carried can be estimated from a channel on which a symbol on the other antenna port is carried, the two antenna ports are said to be quasi co-located (in a QCL state). The long term performance includes at least one of a delay spread, a Doppler spread, a Doppler shift, an average gain, an average delay, a spatial reception parameter, and/or a spatial transmission parameter. For example, in a case that two antenna ports are quasi co-located (in a QCL state), the terminal apparatus can consider the two antenna ports to have the same long term performance. For example, in a case that the terminal apparatus reports CRI that is QCL for the spatial reception parameters”; Yamada et al.; 0138)
(where
“Note that the terminal apparatus may report the CSI-RSRP after determining a preferable receive beam direction. Note that in a case that the terminal apparatus includes multiple subarrays, the terminal apparatus can select a preferable subarray in determining a preferable receive beam direction. Note that a preferable receive beam direction of the terminal apparatus may be associated with a CRI (or CSI-RS resource ID)”/”Note that the CRI (or CSI-RS resource ID) that can be configured at the same timing may be considered to be QCL.” Maps to “transmitting the channel state information, wherein the receiving spatial filter corresponds to the channel state information reference signal resource and is determined based on quasi-colocation information corresponding to the first transmission resource”, where “report” maps to “transmitting”, CSI-RSRP” maps to “channel state information”, “receive beam direction” maps to “receiving spatial filter”, “CSI-RS resource ID” maps to “resource”, “CRI (or CSI-RS resource ID)…may be considered to be QCL” maps to “determined based on quasi-colocation information corresponding to the first transmission resource”
Yamada et al. teaches a base station configuring a terminal with a resource for channel state measurement RS reporting and with a resource for interference measurement RS reporting, where an amount is determined and reported based on a plurality of measurement resources where both of the resources are spatially filtered and where the measurement associated with the channel state measurement/calculation/reporting is performed as QCL.
As to claim 2:
Yamada et al. discloses:
A method wherein: the first transmission resource comprises a first transmission reception point, a first panel, a first beam, or any combination thereof; and
the second transmission resource comprises a second transmission reception point, a second panel, a second beam, or any combination thereof.
(see FIG. 4)
As to claim 3:
Yamada et al. discloses:
A method, wherein the channel state information comprises a first channel state information reference signal resource indicator corresponding to the first transmission resource and a second channel state information reference signal resource indicator corresponding to the second transmission resource.
(“In a case that the report amount is configured to the CRI, RI, PMI, or CQI in the CSI report configuration, and that the group based beam reporting is configured to be on, the terminal apparatus determines the CSI, based on two CSI-RS resources that can be received simultaneously by one spatial domain reception filter or multiple spatial domain reception filters. The PMI for the first CSI-RS resource is also referred to as the first PMI, and the PMI for the second CSI-RS resource is also referred to as the second PMI. Note that the first PMI and the second PMI may be determined in consideration of both of the first CRI and the second CRI.”; Yamada et al.; 0156)
As to claim 7:
Yamada et al. discloses:
A user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
receiving information indicating at least one channel state information reference signal resource for channel measurement transmitted from a first transmission resource and at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource for interference measurement transmitted from a second transmission resource;
(“A resource for NZP CSI-RS is configured by the base station apparatus 1A, For example, the terminal apparatus 2A performs signal measurement (channel measurement) or interference measurement by using the NZP CSI-RS. The NZP CSI-RS is also used for beam scanning for searching a preferable beam direction, beam recovery for recovering in a case of the received power/received quality in the beam direction deteriorates, or the like. A resource for ZP CSI-RS is configured by the base station apparatus 1A. With zero output, the base station apparatus IA transmits ZP CSI-RS. The terminal apparatus 2A performs interference measurement in a resource to which ZP CSI-RS corresponds, for example. Note that the resource for interference measurement corresponding to the ZP CSI-RS is also referred to as a CSI-Interference Measurement (IM) resource.”; Yamada et al.; 0067)
(“The CSI configuration information can include configuration information for the CSI measurement. For example, the configuration information for the CSI measurement may be a measurement link configuration or other configuration information. As a result, the terminal apparatus can associate the configuration information for the CSI measurement with the subarray and/or the receive beam direction. For example, in a case of considering coordinated communication with two base station apparatuses (e.g., base station apparatuses 3A and 5A), it is desirable that there are several types of configuration information. Suppose that a configuration of the CSI-RS for channel measurement transmitted by the base station apparatus 3A is set as resource configuration 1, and a configuration of the CSI-RS for channel measurement transmitted by the base station apparatus 5A is set as resource configuration 2. In this case, the configuration information 1 may be the resource configuration 1, the configuration information 2 may be the resource configuration 2, and the configuration information 3 may be the resource configuration 1 and the resource configuration 2. Note that each of the configuration information may include a configuration of the interference measurement resource. In a case that the CSI measurement is performed based on configuration information 1, the terminal apparatus can measure CSI in the CSI-RS transmitted from the base station apparatus 3A. In a case that the CSI measurement is performed based on configuration information 2, the terminal apparatus can measure the CSI transmitted from the base station apparatus 5A. In a case that the CSI measurement is performed based on configuration information 3, the terminal apparatus can measure CSI in the CSI-RS transmitted from the base station apparatus 3A and the base station apparatus 5A. The terminal apparatus can associate the subarray and/or the receive beam direction used for the CSI measurement with respect to each of the configuration information 1 to 3. Accordingly, the base station apparatus can indicate a preferable subarray and/or receive beam direction used by the terminal apparatus by indicating the configuration information 1 to 3. Note that in a case that the configuration information 3 is configured, the terminal apparatus determines the CSI for the resource configuration 1 and/or CSI for the resource configuration 2 At this time, the terminal apparatus can associate the subarray and/or the receive beam direction for each of the resource configuration 1 and/or the resource configuration 2. It is also possible to associate the resource configuration 1 and/or the resource configuration 2 with a codeword (transport block). For example, the CSI for the resource configuration 1 can be the CSI of a codeword 1 (transport block 1), and the CSI for the resource configuration 2 can be the CSI of a codeword 2 (transport block 2). The terminal apparatus can determine one CSI in consideration of the resource configuration 1 and the resource configuration 2. However, even in a case that one CSI is required, the terminal apparatus can associate the subarray and/or the receive beam direction for each of the resource configuration 1 and the resource configuration 2.”; Yamada et al.; 0142)
(“The terminal apparatus receives the CSI-RS in the resource configured by the CSI resource configuration…”; Yamada et al.; 0138)
(where
“a configuration of the CSI-RS for channel measurement transmitted by the base station apparatus 5A is set as resource configuration 2”/”The terminal apparatus receives the CSI-RS in the resource configured by the CSI resource configuration” maps to “receiving information indicating at least one channel state information reference signal resource for channel measurement transmitted from a first transmission resource”, where “receives the CSI-RS in the resource configured by the CSI resource configuration” maps to “first transmission resource”, where “receives” is considered as also requiring “transmitting” which maps to “transmission”, “RS” maps to “reference signal”
“A resource for NZP CSI-RS is configured by the base station apparatus 1A, For example, the terminal apparatus 2A performs … or interference measurement by using the NZP CSI-RS” maps to “at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource for interference measurement transmitted from a second transmission resource”, where “resource” maps to “second transmission resource”, where “interference measurement” is considered as requiring “transmitting” which maps to “transmission”, “RS” maps to “reference signal”, “NZP CSI-RS” maps to “non-zero-power channel state information reference signal”
determining a channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one channel state information reference signal resource and a non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource for calculating channel state information;
(“In a case that the report amount is configured to the CRI, RI, PMI, or CQI in the CSI report configuration, and that the group based beam reporting is configured to be on, the terminal apparatus determines the CSI, based on two CSI-RS resources that can be received simultaneously by one spatial domain reception filter or multiple spatial domain reception filters. The PMI for the first CSI-RS resource is also referred to as the first PMI, and the PMI for the second CSI-RS resource is also referred to as the second PMI. Note that the first PMI and the second PMI may be determined in consideration of both of the first CRI and the second CRI. In this case, the first PMI and the second PMI for which interference between each other is considered is determined.”; Yamada et al.; 0156)
“report amount…in the CSI report configuration…group based beam reporting…two CSI-RS resources that can be received simultaneously”/”resource for NZP CSI-RS is configured by the base station apparatus 1A, For example, the terminal apparatus 2A performs … or interference measurement by using the NZP CSI-RS” maps to “determining a channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one channel state information reference signal resource and a non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource for calculating channel state information”
calculating the channel state information based on the channel state information reference signal resource and the non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource, wherein the channel state information reference signal resource and the non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource are received using a receiving spatial filter; and
“report amount…in the CSI report configuration…group based beam reporting…two CSI-RS resources that can be received simultaneously by one spatial domain reception filter or multiple spatial domain reception filters”/”resource for NZP CSI-RS is configured by the base station apparatus 1A, For example, the terminal apparatus 2A performs … or interference measurement by using the NZP CSI-RS” maps to “calculating the channel state information based on the channel state information reference signal resource and the non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource, wherein the channel state information reference signal resource and the non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource are received using a receiving spatial filter”, where “report amount” is considered as requiring “calculating” in order to determine “amount” to “report”, “multiple spatial domain reception filters”/”resource for NZP CSI-RS is configured by the base station apparatus 1A, For example, the terminal apparatus 2A performs … or interference measurement by using the NZP CSI-RS” maps to “wherein the channel state information reference signal resource and the non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource are received using a receiving spatial filter
transmitting the channel state information, wherein the receiving spatial filter corresponds to the channel state information reference signal resource and is determined based on quasi-colocation information corresponding to the first transmission resource.
(“The terminal apparatus receives the CSI-RS in the resource configured by the CSI resource configuration, calculates the CSI or RSRP from the CSI-RS, and reports the CSI or RSRP to the base station apparatus. In a case that the CSI-RS resource configuration includes multiple CSI-RS resource configurations and/or the resource repetition is off, the terminal apparatus receives the CSI-RS in the same receive beam in each CSI-RS resource and calculates the CRI….Note that the CSI-RS resource group may be a CSI-RS resource configured with a CSI resource configuration or a CSI-RS resource set configuration. Note that the CRI (or CSI-RS resource ID) that can be configured at the same timing may be considered to be QCL. At this time, the terminal apparatus can transmit the CRI (or CSI-RS resource ID) in association with the QCL information. The QCL information is information about QCL for a prescribed antenna port, a prescribed signal, or a prescribed channel. In a case that, in two antenna ports, long term performance of a channel on which a symbol on One antenna port is carried can be estimated from a channel on which a symbol on the other antenna port is carried, the two antenna ports are said to be quasi co-located (in a QCL state). The long term performance includes at least one of a delay spread, a Doppler spread, a Doppler shift, an average gain, an average delay, a spatial reception parameter, and/or a spatial transmission parameter. For example, in a case that two antenna ports are quasi co-located (in a QCL state), the terminal apparatus can consider the two antenna ports to have the same long term performance. For example, in a case that the terminal apparatus reports CRI that is QCL for the spatial reception parameters”; Yamada et al.; 0138)
(where
“Note that the terminal apparatus may report the CSI-RSRP after determining a preferable receive beam direction. Note that in a case that the terminal apparatus includes multiple subarrays, the terminal apparatus can select a preferable subarray in determining a preferable receive beam direction. Note that a preferable receive beam direction of the terminal apparatus may be associated with a CRI (or CSI-RS resource ID)”/”Note that the CRI (or CSI-RS resource ID) that can be configured at the same timing may be considered to be QCL.” Maps to “transmitting the channel state information, wherein the receiving spatial filter corresponds to the channel state information reference signal resource and is determined based on quasi-colocation information corresponding to the first transmission resource”, where “report” maps to “transmitting”, CSI-RSRP” maps to “channel state information”, “receive beam direction” maps to “receiving spatial filter”, “CSI-RS resource ID” maps to “resource”, “CRI (or CSI-RS resource ID)…may be considered to be QCL” maps to “determined based on quasi-colocation information corresponding to the first transmission resource”
Yamada et al. teaches a base station configuring a terminal with a resource for channel state measurement RS reporting and with a resource for interference measurement RS reporting, where an amount is determined and reported based on a plurality of measurement resources where both of the resources are spatially filtered and where the measurement associated with the channel state measurement/calculation/reporting is performed as QCL.
As to claim 8:
Yamada et al. discloses:
A method wherein: the first transmission resource comprises a first transmission reception point, a first panel, a first beam, or any combination thereof; and
the second transmission resource comprises a second transmission reception point, a second panel, a second beam, or any combination thereof.
(see FIG. 4)
As to claim 9:
Yamada et al. discloses:
A method, wherein the channel state information comprises a first channel state information reference signal resource indicator corresponding to the first transmission resource and a second channel state information reference signal resource indicator corresponding to the second transmission resource.
(“In a case that the report amount is configured to the CRI, RI, PMI, or CQI in the CSI report configuration, and that the group based beam reporting is configured to be on, the terminal apparatus determines the CSI, based on two CSI-RS resources that can be received simultaneously by one spatial domain reception filter or multiple spatial domain reception filters. The PMI for the first CSI-RS resource is also referred to as the first PMI, and the PMI for the second CSI-RS resource is also referred to as the second PMI. Note that the first PMI and the second PMI may be determined in consideration of both of the first CRI and the second CRI.”; Yamada et al.; 0156)
As to claim 13:
Yamada et al. discloses:
A method performed by a base station, the method comprising:
transmitting information indicating at least one channel state information reference signal resource for channel measurement transmitted from a first transmission resource and at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource for interference measurement transmitted from a second transmission resource;
(“A resource for NZP CSI-RS is configured by the base station apparatus 1A, For example, the terminal apparatus 2A performs signal measurement (channel measurement) or interference measurement by using the NZP CSI-RS. The NZP CSI-RS is also used for beam scanning for searching a preferable beam direction, beam recovery for recovering in a case of the received power/received quality in the beam direction deteriorates, or the like. A resource for ZP CSI-RS is configured by the base station apparatus 1A. With zero output, the base station apparatus IA transmits ZP CSI-RS. The terminal apparatus 2A performs interference measurement in a resource to which ZP CSI-RS corresponds, for example. Note that the resource for interference measurement corresponding to the ZP CSI-RS is also referred to as a CSI-Interference Measurement (IM) resource.”; Yamada et al.; 0067)
(“The CSI configuration information can include configuration information for the CSI measurement. For example, the configuration information for the CSI measurement may be a measurement link configuration or other configuration information. As a result, the terminal apparatus can associate the configuration information for the CSI measurement with the subarray and/or the receive beam direction. For example, in a case of considering coordinated communication with two base station apparatuses (e.g., base station apparatuses 3A and 5A), it is desirable that there are several types of configuration information. Suppose that a configuration of the CSI-RS for channel measurement transmitted by the base station apparatus 3A is set as resource configuration 1, and a configuration of the CSI-RS for channel measurement transmitted by the base station apparatus 5A is set as resource configuration 2. In this case, the configuration information 1 may be the resource configuration 1, the configuration information 2 may be the resource configuration 2, and the configuration information 3 may be the resource configuration 1 and the resource configuration 2. Note that each of the configuration information may include a configuration of the interference measurement resource. In a case that the CSI measurement is performed based on configuration information 1, the terminal apparatus can measure CSI in the CSI-RS transmitted from the base station apparatus 3A. In a case that the CSI measurement is performed based on configuration information 2, the terminal apparatus can measure the CSI transmitted from the base station apparatus 5A. In a case that the CSI measurement is performed based on configuration information 3, the terminal apparatus can measure CSI in the CSI-RS transmitted from the base station apparatus 3A and the base station apparatus 5A. The terminal apparatus can associate the subarray and/or the receive beam direction used for the CSI measurement with respect to each of the configuration information 1 to 3. Accordingly, the base station apparatus can indicate a preferable subarray and/or receive beam direction used by the terminal apparatus by indicating the configuration information 1 to 3. Note that in a case that the configuration information 3 is configured, the terminal apparatus determines the CSI for the resource configuration 1 and/or CSI for the resource configuration 2 At this time, the terminal apparatus can associate the subarray and/or the receive beam direction for each of the resource configuration 1 and/or the resource configuration 2. It is also possible to associate the resource configuration 1 and/or the resource configuration 2 with a codeword (transport block). For example, the CSI for the resource configuration 1 can be the CSI of a codeword 1 (transport block 1), and the CSI for the resource configuration 2 can be the CSI of a codeword 2 (transport block 2). The terminal apparatus can determine one CSI in consideration of the resource configuration 1 and the resource configuration 2. However, even in a case that one CSI is required, the terminal apparatus can associate the subarray and/or the receive beam direction for each of the resource configuration 1 and the resource configuration 2.”; Yamada et al.; 0142)
(“The terminal apparatus receives the CSI-RS in the resource configured by the CSI resource configuration…”; Yamada et al.; 0138)
(where
“a configuration of the CSI-RS for channel measurement transmitted by the base station apparatus 5A is set as resource configuration 2”/”The terminal apparatus receives the CSI-RS in the resource configured by the CSI resource configuration” maps to “receiving information indicating at least one channel state information reference signal resource for channel measurement transmitted from a first transmission resource”, where “receives the CSI-RS in the resource configured by the CSI resource configuration” maps to “first transmission resource”, where “receives” is considered as also requiring “transmitting” which maps to “transmission”, “RS” maps to “reference signal”
“A resource for NZP CSI-RS is configured by the base station apparatus 1A, For example, the terminal apparatus 2A performs … or interference measurement by using the NZP CSI-RS” maps to “at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource for interference measurement transmitted from a second transmission resource”, where “resource” maps to “second transmission resource”, where “interference measurement” is considered as requiring “transmitting” which maps to “transmission”, “RS” maps to “reference signal”, “NZP CSI-RS” maps to “non-zero-power channel state information reference signal”
transmitting quasi-colocation information corresponding to the first transmission resource; and
(“…Note that the CRI (or CSI-RS resource ID) that can be configured at the same timing may be considered to be QCL…”; Yamada et al.; 0138)
receiving channel state information calculated based on a channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one channel state information reference signal resource and a non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource of the at least one non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource, wherein the channel state information reference signal resource and the non-zero-power channel state information reference signal resource are received using a receiving spatial filter; and
(“In a case that the report amount is configured to the CRI, RI, PMI, or CQI in the CSI report configuration, and that the group based beam reporting is configured to be on, the terminal apparatus determines the CSI, based on two CSI-RS resources that can be received simultaneously by one spatial domain reception filter or multiple spatial domain reception filters. The PMI for the first CSI-RS resource is also referred to as the first PMI, and the PMI for the second CSI-RS resource is also referred to as the second PMI. Note that the first PMI and the second PMI may be determined in consideration of both of the first CRI and the second CRI. In this case, the first PMI and the second PMI for which interference between each other is considered is determined.”; Yamada et al.; 0156)
wherein the receiving spatial filter corresponds to the channel state information reference signal resource and is determined based on quasi-colocation information corresponding to the first transmission resource.
(“The terminal apparatus receives the CSI-RS in the resource configured by the CSI resource configuration, calculates the CSI or RSRP from the CSI-RS, and reports the CSI or RSRP to the base station apparatus. In a case that the CSI-RS resource configuration includes multiple CSI-RS resource configurations and/or the resource repetition is off, the terminal apparatus receives the CSI-RS in the same receive beam in each CSI-RS resource and calculates the CRI….Note that the CSI-RS resource group may be a CSI-RS resource configured with a CSI resource configuration or a CSI-RS resource set configuration. Note that the CRI (or CSI-RS resource ID) that can be configured at the same timing may be considered to be QCL. At this time, the terminal apparatus can transmit the CRI (or CSI-RS resource ID) in association with the QCL information. The QCL information is information about QCL for a prescribed antenna port, a prescribed signal, or a prescribed channel. In a case that, in two antenna ports, long term performance of a channel on which a symbol on One antenna port is carried can be estimated from a channel on which a symbol on the other antenna port is carried, the two antenna ports are said to be quasi co-located (in a QCL state). The long term performance includes at least one of a delay spread, a Doppler spread, a Doppler shift, an average gain, an average delay, a spatial reception parameter, and/or a spatial transmission parameter. For example, in a case that two antenna ports are quasi co-located (in a QCL state), the terminal apparatus can consider the two antenna ports to have the same long term performance. For example, in a case that the terminal apparatus reports CRI that is QCL for the spatial reception parameters”; Yamada et al.; 0138)
(where
“Note that the terminal apparatus may report the CSI-RSRP after determining a preferable receive beam direction. Note that in a case that the terminal apparatus includes multiple subarrays, the terminal apparatus can select a preferable subarray in determining a preferable receive beam direction. Note that a preferable receive beam direction of the terminal apparatus may be associated with a CRI (or CSI-RS resource ID)”/”Note that the CRI (or CSI-RS resource ID) that can be configured at the same timing may be considered to be QCL.” Maps to “transmitting the channel state information, wherein the receiving spatial filter corresponds to the channel state information reference signal resource and is determined based on quasi-colocation information corresponding to the first transmission resource”, where “report” maps to “transmitting”, CSI-RSRP” maps to “channel state information”, “receive beam direction” maps to “receiving spatial filter”, “CSI-RS resource ID” maps to “resource”, “CRI (or CSI-RS resource ID)…may be considered to be QCL” maps to “determined based on quasi-colocation information corresponding to the first transmission resource”
Yamada et al. teaches a base station configuring a terminal with a resource for channel state measurement RS reporting and with a resource for interference measurement RS reporting, where an amount is determined and reported based on a plurality of measurement resources where both of the resources are spatially filtered and where the measurement associated with the channel state measurement/calculation/reporting is performed as QCL.
As to claim 14:
Yamada et al. discloses:
A method wherein: the first transmission resource comprises a first transmission reception point, a first panel, a first beam, or any combination thereof; and
the second transmission resource comprises a second transmission reception point, a second panel, a second beam, or any combination thereof.
(see FIG. 4)
As to claim 15:
Yamada et al. discloses:
A method, wherein the channel state information comprises a first channel state information reference signal resource indicator corresponding to the first transmission resource and a second channel state information reference signal resource indicator corresponding to the second transmission resource.
(“In a case that the report amount is configured to the CRI, RI, PMI, or CQI in the CSI report configuration, and that the group based beam reporting is configured to be on, the terminal apparatus determines the CSI, based on two CSI-RS resources that can be received simultaneously by one spatial domain reception filter or multiple spatial domain reception filters. The PMI for the first CSI-RS resource is also referred to as the first PMI, and the PMI for the second CSI-RS resource is also referred to as the second PMI. Note that the first PMI and the second PMI may be determined in consideration of both of the first CRI and the second CRI.”; Yamada et al.; 0156)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 10 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. US 20220006582 (U.S. Patent Application Publications citation #2, listed on IDS dated 2024-08-22) in view of Kim et al. US 20200036472 (U.S. Patent Application Publications citation #4, listed on IDS dated 2024-08-22).
As to claim 4:
Yamada et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a strong channel state information reference signal resource indicator and the second channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a weak channel state information reference signal resource indicator
However, Kim et al. further teaches a weak/strong capability which includes:
wherein the first channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a strong channel state information reference signal resource indicator and the second channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a weak channel state information reference signal resource indicator.
(“If a BS emulates several interferences and the UE selects a most suitable interference, the BS configures a multitude of CSI-RSs for interference measurement for the UE. The UE selects one of the CSI-RSs as an I-CRI and then reports it. In case that a plurality of CSI-RSs for interference measurement and a plurality of CSI-RSs for channel measurement are configured, as the UE reports both a CRI and an I-CRI, the BS should configure resource groups for the UE in a manner of separating a CSI-RS resource group for selecting a CRI and a CSI-RS resource group for selecting an I-CRI. Namely, regarding a single CSI reporting configuration, a multitude of CSI-RSs for channel measurement and a multitude of CSI-RSs for interference measurement should be defined in a manner of being distinguished from each other. The UE selects a single CSI-RS from a multitude of the CSI-RSs for channel measurement and also selects a single CSI-RS from a multitude of the CSI-RSs for interference measurement and then reports informations on the selected CSI-RSs as a CRI and an I-CRI, respectively.”; Kim et al.; 0109)
(“A CSI-RS resource group for selecting a CRI is configured with CSI-RS resources beamformed in a direction in which a channel size is strong, and a CSI-RS resource group for selecting an I-CRI is configured with CSI-RS resources beamformed in a direction in which a channel size is weak. Thus, by separating the CSI-RS resource groups, the feedback bit number required for the CRI and I-CRI reporting can be saved.”; Kim et al.; 0110)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the weak/strong capability of Kim et al. into Yamada et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Yamada et al. to include the weak/strong capability as taught by the processing/communications of Kim et al., the benefits of improved reliability (Yamada et al.; Abstract) with improved CSI (Kim et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 10:
Yamada et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a strong channel state information reference signal resource indicator and the second channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a weak channel state information reference signal resource indicator
However, Kim et al. further teaches a weak/strong capability which includes:
wherein the first channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a strong channel state information reference signal resource indicator and the second channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a weak channel state information reference signal resource indicator.
(“If a BS emulates several interferences and the UE selects a most suitable interference, the BS configures a multitude of CSI-RSs for interference measurement for the UE. The UE selects one of the CSI-RSs as an I-CRI and then reports it. In case that a plurality of CSI-RSs for interference measurement and a plurality of CSI-RSs for channel measurement are configured, as the UE reports both a CRI and an I-CRI, the BS should configure resource groups for the UE in a manner of separating a CSI-RS resource group for selecting a CRI and a CSI-RS resource group for selecting an I-CRI. Namely, regarding a single CSI reporting configuration, a multitude of CSI-RSs for channel measurement and a multitude of CSI-RSs for interference measurement should be defined in a manner of being distinguished from each other. The UE selects a single CSI-RS from a multitude of the CSI-RSs for channel measurement and also selects a single CSI-RS from a multitude of the CSI-RSs for interference measurement and then reports informations on the selected CSI-RSs as a CRI and an I-CRI, respectively.”; Kim et al.; 0109)
(“A CSI-RS resource group for selecting a CRI is configured with CSI-RS resources beamformed in a direction in which a channel size is strong, and a CSI-RS resource group for selecting an I-CRI is configured with CSI-RS resources beamformed in a direction in which a channel size is weak. Thus, by separating the CSI-RS resource groups, the feedback bit number required for the CRI and I-CRI reporting can be saved.”; Kim et al.; 0110)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the weak/strong capability of Kim et al. into Yamada et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Yamada et al. to include the weak/strong capability as taught by the processing/communications of Kim et al., the benefits of improved reliability (Yamada et al.; Abstract) with improved CSI (Kim et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 16:
Yamada et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a strong channel state information reference signal resource indicator and the second channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a weak channel state information reference signal resource indicator
However, Kim et al. further teaches a weak/strong capability which includes:
wherein the first channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a strong channel state information reference signal resource indicator and the second channel state information reference signal resource indicator is a weak channel state information reference signal resource indicator.
(“If a BS emulates several interferences and the UE selects a most suitable interference, the BS configures a multitude of CSI-RSs for interference measurement for the UE. The UE selects one of the CSI-RSs as an I-CRI and then reports it. In case that a plurality of CSI-RSs for interference measurement and a plurality of CSI-RSs for channel measurement are configured, as the UE reports both a CRI and an I-CRI, the BS should configure resource groups for the UE in a manner of separating a CSI-RS resource group for selecting a CRI and a CSI-RS resource group for selecting an I-CRI. Namely, regarding a single CSI reporting configuration, a multitude of CSI-RSs for channel measurement and a multitude of CSI-RSs for interference measurement should be defined in a manner of being distinguished from each other. The UE selects a single CSI-RS from a multitude of the CSI-RSs for channel measurement and also selects a single CSI-RS from a multitude of the CSI-RSs for interference measurement and then reports informations on the selected CSI-RSs as a CRI and an I-CRI, respectively.”; Kim et al.; 0109)
(“A CSI-RS resource group for selecting a CRI is configured with CSI-RS resources beamformed in a direction in which a channel size is strong, and a CSI-RS resource group for selecting an I-CRI is configured with CSI-RS resources beamformed in a direction in which a channel size is weak. Thus, by separating the CSI-RS resource groups, the feedback bit number required for the CRI and I-CRI reporting can be saved.”; Kim et al.; 0110)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the weak/strong capability of Kim et al. into Yamada et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Yamada et al. to include the weak/strong capability as taught by the processing/communications of Kim et al., the benefits of improved reliability (Yamada et al.; Abstract) with improved CSI (Kim et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
Examiner Notes
Claim(s) 5-6, 11-12 is/are do not have a prior art rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20120287875 – teaches NULL REs (see para. 0132).
US 20110009125 – teaches null space associated with PMI (see para. 0030).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
MICHAEL K. PHILLIPS
Examiner
Art Unit 2464
/MICHAEL K PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 2464