DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSENG et al. (US 2020/0045674 A1), hereinafter “Tseng” in view of Nguyen et al. (US 12,615,556 B2), hereinafter “Nguyen”, supported by provisional application 63/077,530, filed on Sep.11, 2020.
Claims 1, 8, 15, and 18:
Regarding claim 1, Tseng teaches, a method of wireless communication (Tseng: [Abstract]), comprising: transmitting, by a wireless communication device, to a network device, a sidelink coexistence assistance information (Fig.8B, step 885, UE sends sidelink assistance information to the network).
Tseng however does not expressly teach the coexistence part of the claim, In the same field of endeavor, Nguyen teaches coexistence of multiple radio access technologies, as disclosed by Nguyen, “To facilitate coexistence of a first radio access technology (RAT) and a second RAT, methods, apparatuses, and computer program products are provided … method of a first wireless device operating based on a RAT includes receiving a sidelink resource reservation from a second wireless device based on a second RAT” ([Abstract]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine disclosure by Nguyen with that of Tseng and come up with the claimed invention motivated by handling of overlapping resources for the different RATs, as discussed by Nguyen in Fig.8, and “The example method further includes determining whether to exclude, from a candidate resource set for the first RAT within a sidelink resource pool for the first RAT, resources that overlap with the set of reserved resources for the second RAT.” (Col.2, lines 10-14).
The claim, receiving, by a wireless communication device, from the network device, a configuration message according to the sidelink coexistence assistance information, may be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art based on the disclosure by Tseng: Fig.8B, step 890, UE receives sidelink resource allocation from the network, and by combining with disclosure by Nguyen (Nguyen: Col.2, lines 7-9), so as to avoid overlap of resources.
wherein the wireless communication device is in Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected state (Fig.8B, step 880, UE transitions to RRC Connected state after RRC Connection Resume procedure before the before sending the assistance information in step 885 and receiving resource allocation in step 890.; [0109] “While the UE is active and in the RRC Connected state, the UE 810 may transmit, in action 885, a message to the serving cell 820 that may include SL Assistance Information”).
Claim 8 is for method complimentary to method of claim 1. Claim elements are discussed above in claim 1. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 1.
Claim 15 is for an apparatus implementing method of claim 1. Existence of processor is implied. Claim is change in category with respect to claim 1. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 1.
Claim 18 for an apparatus implementing method of claim 8. Existence of processor is implied. Claim is change in category with respect to claim 8. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 8.
Claims 2, 9, 16, and 19:
Regarding claim 2, combination of Tseng and Nguyen teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above), wherein the sidelink coexistence assistance information further indicating that the wireless communication device is configured with a first radio access technology (RAT) of sidelink and a second RAT of sidelink traffic (two different RATs are discussed above in claim 1).
Claim 9 is for method complimentary to method of claim 2. Claim elements are discussed above in claim 2. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 2.
Claim 16 is for an apparatus implementing method of claim 2. Claim is change in category with respect to claim 2. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 2.
Claim 19 for an apparatus implementing method of claim 9. Claim is change in category with respect to claim 9. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 9.
Claims 3, 10, 17, and 20:
Regarding claim 3, combination of Tseng and Nguyen teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above), wherein the sidelink coexistence assistance information comprising one or more of the following: carrier frequency, resource pool list, interference direction, victim system type, sub-band index list, and Bandwidth Part (BWP) index list (Tseng: Clm.4 “he sidelink resource allocation configuration comprises one or more sidelink resource pool configurations in at least one sidelink bandwidth part (BWP), wherein the first UE exchanges the one or more sidelink packets with the second UE autonomously based on a configured sidelink resource pool”).
Claim 10 is for method complimentary to method of claim 3. Claim elements are discussed above in claim 3. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 3.
Claim 16 is for an apparatus implementing method of claim 3. Claim is change in category with respect to claim 3. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 3.
Claim 19 for an apparatus implementing method of claim 9. Claim is change in category with respect to claim 9. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 9.
Claims 4 and 11:
Regarding claim 4, combination of Tseng and Nguyen teaches the method of claim 2 (discussed above), wherein the sidelink coexistence assistance information comprising sidelink resource pool configuration information (discussed above in claim 3).
Claim 11 is for a method complimentary to method of claim 4. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 4.
Claims 5 and 12:
Regarding claim 5, combination of Tseng and Nguyen teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above), wherein the communication device receives, from the network device, a second configuration message; wherein the second configuration message further comprising sensing configuration information (implied by disclosure in Tseng: “[0050] A UE may also perform sensing (e.g., identifying the available sidelink resources on one or more concerned sidelink resource pools, e.g., by decoding the PSSCH) for selection/reselection of sidelink resources before any SL packet delivery”).
Claim 12 is for a method complimentary to method of claim 5. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 5.
Claims 6 and 13:
Regarding claim 6, combination of Tseng and Nguyen teaches the method of claim 5 (discussed above), wherein the second configuration message further comprising one or more of the following sensing configuration information: resource pool ID, sensing sub-channel number, sensing periodicity, sensing priority, RAT indication, and resource type indication (implied based on disclosure in [0050] as discussed above and in [0049], “UE may identify the available sidelink resources on the target sidelink resource pools by decoding the SCIs delivered on the PSCCH. The SCI may include 'intended occupied sidelink resource blocks,' 'Resource Reservation' and 'Priority of the highest MAC subPDU in the MAC PDU scheduled to be transmitted in the indicated occupied sidelink resource blocks' to indicate the locations and number of times a corresponding Tx UE may keep occupying the indicated sidelink resource blocks in the following resource pools (in the time domain)”).
Claim 13 is for a method complimentary to method of claim 6. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 6.
Claims 7 and 14:
Regarding claim 7, combination of Tseng and Nguyen teaches the method of claim 5 (discussed above), wherein the second configuration message further comprising one or more of the following sidelink configuration information: resource pool ID, sensing sub-channel number, sensing periodicity, sensing priority, and resource type indication (implied based on the discussion above in claims 5-6, and [0059] “While in the connected state, the UE 310 may provide more SL traffic-related information ( e.g., SL traffic type, SL packet size, SL packet arrival pattern, etc.) to the serving cell 320. As such, the serving cell 320 may then be able to provide updated SL resource allocation configuration to the UE 310 based on the received SL traffic information (also referred to as SL assistance information).”).
Claim 14 is for a method complimentary to method of claim 7. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 7.
Conclusion
/INTEKHAAB A SIDDIQUEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462