DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-10, 12 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahn et al (2021/0319617).
Consider claims 1 and 20, Ahn et al teach a wearable device and non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing instructions that, when executed at least one processor of a wearable device, individually and/or collectively, cause the wearable device to perform operations comprising: a display, memory; and at least one processor, wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (par. 0075; 0093; 0200), cause the wearable device to: obtain a first input for sending a call to a counterpart device (par. 0117; “the AR device may detect a user gesture 955 of moving 950 a second avatar 911 to the second GUI 920 among avatars 911 and 912 included in the first GUI 910. For example, the AR device may detect a user gesture 955 of grabbing 950 the second avatar 911 from the first GUI 910 through a hand pose sensor (e.g., the hand pose sensor 551 in FIG. 5), and dropping the grabbed second avatar 911 on the second GUI 920. The AR device may provide a graphic effect of moving the second avatar 911 from the first GUI 910 to the second GUI 920 depending on the detected user gesture 955 in the AR. When the second avatar 911 is located on the second GUI 920, a user device electrically connected to the AR device may communicate with a counterpart of a contact corresponding to the second avatar 911”); based on the first input, control the display to display a first virtual object corresponding to the counterpart device of the call (par. 0117; “The AR device may provide a graphic effect of moving the second avatar 911 from the first GUI 910 to the second GUI 920 depending on the detected user gesture 955 in the AR. When the second avatar 911 is located on the second GUI 920, a user device electrically connected to the AR device may communicate with a counterpart of a contact corresponding to the second avatar 911”; par. 0124; “For example, referring to operation 1004 of FIG. 10B, the AR device may provide a graphic effect in which the avatar 1012 raises a hand in a direction, in which the user's finger 1050 is located, in response to detecting that the distance 1065 between the user's finger 1050 and the avatar 1012 is less than the threshold value. According to an embodiment of the disclosure, to guide a location where the user's finger 1050 is capable of grabbing the avatar 1012, the AR device may output an additional graphic effect (e.g., light) on a hand raised by the avatar 1012. For another example, referring to FIG. 10B, in operation 1005, the AR device may provide a visual graphic effect 1080 (e.g., firecrackers or pollen) at a periphery of the avatar 1012 in response to an event that the user's finger 1050 touches a hand of the avatar 1012”); obtain a second input for moving the first virtual object to a specified position (par. 0117; “the AR device may detect a user gesture 955 of grabbing 950 the second avatar 911 from the first GUI 910 through a hand pose sensor (e.g., the hand pose sensor 551 in FIG. 5), and dropping the grabbed second avatar 911 on the second GUI 920”); and perform the call with the counterpart device based on the second input (par. 0117; “When the second avatar 911 is located on the second GUI 920, a user device electrically connected to the AR device may communicate with a counterpart of a contact corresponding to the second avatar 911”; par. 0181; “while the first avatar and the second avatar are displayed at the location adjacent to the second GUI, the instructions may cause the processor to receive a first message of the second avatar through the communication circuit and to output a voice corresponding to the first message through the speaker or to display a text including the first message on the second avatar through the display”).
Consider claim 2, Ahn et al teach wherein the first input includes a virtual touch input to an execution screen of a call application (par. 0117; “the AR device may detect a user gesture 955 of grabbing 950 the second avatar 911 from the first GUI 910 through a hand pose sensor (e.g., the hand pose sensor 551 in FIG. 5), and dropping the grabbed second avatar 911 on the second GUI 920. The AR device may provide a graphic effect of moving the second avatar 911 from the first GUI 910 to the second GUI 920 depending on the detected user gesture 955 in the AR”).
Consider claim 6, Ahn et al teach wherein the first virtual object is configured to be moved according to a user's gaze (par. 0163; “based on a gaze direction of a user 1810 wearing the AR device 1805. For example, when a message input is obtained while a gaze direction 1815 of the user 1810 points to the second avatar 1822, it may be indicated that the obtained message input is used for a counterpart of a contact corresponding to the second avatar 1822”).
Consider claim 7, Ahn et al teach wherein, based on the call being connected to the counterpart device, a position of the first virtual object is fixed (par. 0149; “For example, when a second GUI 1520 (e.g., the second GUI 920 in FIG. 9) including a first avatar 1521 (e.g., the first avatar 922 in FIG. 9) and a second avatar 1522 (e.g., the second avatar 911 in FIG. 9) is fixed to a specified location in a real space, the second GUI 920 may be positioned within the viewing area 1510 or may deviate from the viewing area 1510, depending on a movement of the AR device 1505”).
Consider claim 8, Ahn et al teach a wearable device comprising: a display, memory; and at least one processor, wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (par. 0075; 0093; 0200), cause the wearable device to: identify reception of a call request from a counterpart device (par. 0056; “The sound output module 255 may output sound signals to the outside of the electronic device 201. The sound output module 255 may include, for example, a speaker or a receiver. The speaker may be used for general purposes, such as playing multimedia or playing record. The receiver may be used for receiving incoming calls”; par. 0071; “According to an embodiment of the disclosure, all or some of operations to be executed at the electronic device 201 may be executed at one or more of the external electronic devices 202, 204, or 208. … in response to a request from a user or another device, the electronic device 201, instead of, or in addition to, executing the function or the service, may request the one or more external electronic devices to perform at least part of the function or the service. The one or more external electronic devices receiving the request may perform the at least part of the function or the service requested, or an additional function or an additional service related to the request, and transfer an outcome of the performing to the electronic device 201”; par. 0091; “when a user device operates in the AR mode or the normal mode, the system operating system 410 may notify the framework 420 that an event occurs (e.g., receiving a text message from a counterpart's electronic device”; par. 0157; “after a message thread is generated, a user device (e.g., the user device 620 in FIG. 6) may receive a message from a counterpart of another contact (e.g., a contact corresponding to a third avatar 1612) for which the message thread is not generated”); based on the identification of the reception of the call request, control the display to display a second virtual object corresponding to the counterpart device (par. 0091; “when a user device operates in the AR mode or the normal mode, the system operating system 410 may notify the framework 420 that an event occurs (e.g., receiving a text message from a counterpart's electronic device”; par. 0157; “after a message thread is generated, a user device (e.g., the user device 620 in FIG. 6) may receive a message from a counterpart of another contact (e.g., a contact corresponding to a third avatar 1612) for which the message thread is not generated. To notify a user of a message received from the counterpart for which the message thread is not generated, an AR device (e.g., the AR device 610 of FIG. 6) may provide a graphic effect indicating a gesture of the third avatar 1612 included in a first GUI 1610 (e.g., the first GUI 910 of FIG. 9). For example, the AR device may provide a graphic effect indicating a gesture in which the third avatar 1612 raises a hand”; obtain a first input for moving the second virtual object to a first position (par. 0117; “the AR device may detect a user gesture 955 of grabbing 950 the second avatar 911 from the first GUI 910 through a hand pose sensor (e.g., the hand pose sensor 551 in FIG. 5), and dropping the grabbed second avatar 911 on the second GUI 920”); and perform the call with the counterpart device transmitting the call request based on obtaining the first input (par. 0107; “For example, the message application may be replaced with a chat application, a video call application, a mail application, or a social network service (SNS) application”; par. 0117; “When the second avatar 911 is located on the second GUI 920, a user device electrically connected to the AR device may communicate with a counterpart of a contact corresponding to the second avatar 911”; par. 0181; “while the first avatar and the second avatar are displayed at the location adjacent to the second GUI, the instructions may cause the processor to receive a first message of the second avatar through the communication circuit and to output a voice corresponding to the first message through the speaker or to display a text including the first message on the second avatar through the display”).
Consider claim 9, Ahn et al teach wherein the instructions cause the wearable device to perform a video call with the counterpart device based on identifying that the second virtual object is moved to the first position (par. 0107; “For example, the message application may be replaced with a chat application, a video call application, a mail application, or a social network service (SNS) application”; par. 0117; “When the second avatar 911 is located on the second GUI 920, a user device electrically connected to the AR device may communicate with a counterpart of a contact corresponding to the second avatar 911”; par. 0181; “while the first avatar and the second avatar are displayed at the location adjacent to the second GUI, the instructions may cause the processor to receive a first message of the second avatar through the communication circuit and to output a voice corresponding to the first message through the speaker or to display a text including the first message on the second avatar through the display”).
Consider claim 10, Ahn et al teach wherein the instructions cause the wearable device to perform a voice call with the counterpart device based on identifying that the second virtual object is moved to a second position different from the first position (par. 0117; “dropping the grabbed second avatar 911 on the second GUI 920. The AR device may provide a graphic effect of moving the second avatar 911 from the first GUI 910 to the second GUI 920 depending on the detected user gesture 955 in the AR. When the second avatar 911 is located on the second GUI 920, a user device electrically connected to the AR device may communicate with a counterpart of a contact corresponding to the second avatar 911”; par. 0119; “to provide a sense of reality, such as a talking between the first avatar 922 and the second avatar 911, an AR device may change locations and directions of the first avatar 922 and the second avatar 911”; thus, talking is voice communication).
Consider claim 12, Ahn et al teach wherein the instructions cause the wearable device to control the display to display a visual effect indicating each of the first position and the second position to the user (par. 0117; “the AR device may detect a user gesture 955 of grabbing 950 the second avatar 911 from the first GUI 910 through a hand pose sensor (e.g., the hand pose sensor 551 in FIG. 5), and dropping the grabbed second avatar 911 on the second GUI 920. The AR device may provide a graphic effect of moving the second avatar 911 from the first GUI 910 to the second GUI 920 depending on the detected user gesture 955 in the AR”).
Consider claim 17, Ahn et al teach wherein the second virtual object is configured to be moved according to a user's gaze (par. 0163; “based on a gaze direction of a user 1810 wearing the AR device 1805. For example, when a message input is obtained while a gaze direction 1815 of the user 1810 points to the second avatar 1822, it may be indicated that the obtained message input is used for a counterpart of a contact corresponding to the second avatar 1822”).
Consider claim 18, Ahn et al teach wherein, based on the call being connected to the counterpart device, a position of the second virtual object is fixed (par. 0149; “For example, when a second GUI 1520 (e.g., the second GUI 920 in FIG. 9) including a first avatar 1521 (e.g., the first avatar 922 in FIG. 9) and a second avatar 1522 (e.g., the second avatar 911 in FIG. 9) is fixed to a specified location in a real space, the second GUI 920 may be positioned within the viewing area 1510 or may deviate from the viewing area 1510, depending on a movement of the AR device 1505”).
Consider claim 19, Ahn et al teach wherein the instructions cause the wearable device to control the display to display a visual object for terminating the call to the user around the second virtual object based on identifying that a second input to the second virtual object is obtained while performing the call (par. 0121; “the AR device may terminate communication with a counterpart of a contact indicated by the second avatar 911, in response to detecting a user gesture 955 of moving 950 the second avatar 911 from the second GUI 920 to the first GUI 910”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al (2021/0319617) in view of Kim et al (2021/0258354).
Consider claim 3 and 15, Ahn et al did not explicitly suggest wherein the instructions cause the wearable device to transmit first information indicating that the wearable device is worn by a user to an external device operably connected to the wearable device based on detecting that the wearable device is worn by the user. In the same field of endeavor, Kim et al teach the electronic device and a method for providing information regarding the counterpart device in virtual reality for the purpose of perform a function of communicating with the counterpart electronic device (par. 0005-0007; 0102; “the electronic device 410 (e.g., the processor 240) may set whether to subscribe to, for example, receive, presence information about each of the at least one contact in the contact list 415. For example, the contact list may include contacts A, C, D, and E. In addition, the contact list may include an item 420 for setting whether to receive the presence information about each contact, for example, a VR mode activation state (e.g., a state in which a VR device is connected, a state in which a VR device is worn, or a state in which a screen is rendered in a 3D VR mode and is output to the display)”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Kim et al into view of Ahn et al for the purpose stated above.
Consider claim 4, Ahn et al did not explicitly suggest wherein the instructions cause the wearable device to obtain second information about whether the counterpart device is worn by a counterpart user in response to the transmission of the first information. In the same field of endeavor, Kim et al teach the electronic device and a method for providing information regarding the counterpart device in virtual reality for the purpose of perform a function of communicating with the counterpart electronic device (par. 0005-0007; 0102; “the electronic device 410 (e.g., the processor 240) may set whether to subscribe to, for example, receive, presence information about each of the at least one contact in the contact list 415. For example, the contact list may include contacts A, C, D, and E. In addition, the contact list may include an item 420 for setting whether to receive the presence information about each contact, for example, a VR mode activation state (e.g., a state in which a VR device is connected, a state in which a VR device is worn, or a state in which a screen is rendered in a 3D VR mode and is output to the display)”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Kim et al into view of Ahn et al for the purpose stated above.
Consider claims 5, 14 and 16, Ahn et al did not explicitly suggest wherein the instructions cause the wearable device to control the display to display a specified visual effect around the first virtual object based on obtaining the second information indicating that the counterpart device is not worn or separated by the counterpart user. In the same field of endeavor, Kim et al teach the electronic device and a method for providing information regarding the counterpart device in virtual reality for the purpose of perform a function of communicating with the counterpart electronic device (par. 0005-0007; 0102; “the electronic device 410 (e.g., the processor 240) may set whether to subscribe to, for example, receive, presence information about each of the at least one contact in the contact list 415. For example, the contact list may include contacts A, C, D, and E. In addition, the contact list may include an item 420 for setting whether to receive the presence information about each contact, for example, a VR mode activation state (e.g., a state in which a VR device is connected, a state in which a VR device is worn, or a state in which a screen is rendered in a 3D VR mode and is output to the display)”; par. 0137; “the electronic device (e.g., the processor 240 or the VR application) may apply a visual effect (e.g., slashes in a top right-to-bottom left direction) to the contact 725 and 730 (e.g., friend A and friend E) wearing the VR device among the at least one contact, thereby displaying the contact application execution screen such that the contact wearing the VR device is distinguished from a contact not wearing the VR device”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Kim et al into view of Ahn et al for the purpose stated above.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al (2021/0319617) in view of Chou et al (2024/0223730).
Consider claim 13, Ahn et al did not explicitly suggest wherein the instructions cause the wearable device to control the display to further display a visual object for rejecting the call around the second virtual object. In the same field of endeavor, Chou et al suggest such (par. 0071; “when the second call party enters the virtual space, the second call party may initiate the virtual space invitation to the first call party, so that when the first terminal receives the virtual space invitation, the invitation operation area for the virtual space invitation is displayed, and the acceptance control and a reject control are displayed in the invitation operation area”; par. 0140; “When the first call party is in virtual space, the first call party may initiate a call invitation to a second call party via a virtual space module, and the virtual space module can check an invitation state of the call invitation by using a callback function. The invitation state includes rejection, answer, hanging up, invitation timeout, or the like. When the second call party accepts the call invitation, a first terminal may perform an audio mutual exclusion operation”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Chou et al into view of Ahn et al in order for user to control of the communication in the virtual space.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop ____(explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.) Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/Quoc D Tran/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691
May 7, 2026