DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/21/2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-6,9-16,19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2024/147862 A1 by Abotabi et al. (provided by applicant, hereafter referred to as Abotabi).
Regarding claim 1, Abotabi teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions; and
one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions (see at least pg. 4 ¶ [0024]; “Some aspects described herein relate to an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE). The apparatus may include a memory and one or more processors coupled to the memory.”) and cause the apparatus to:
receive configuration information indicating one or more slots including subband full duplex (SBFD) slots and half duplex (HD) slots (see at least pg. 39, ¶ [0136] (" (...) the UE 902 may receive, configuration information (...) The configuration information may be associated with a RACH transmission repetition scheme. The RACH transmission repetition scheme may include, for example, information associated with repetitions of RACH transmissions in an SBFD configuration. In some aspects, the configuration information may be indicative of a first quantity of RACH transmissions associated with a half-duplex slot type and a second quantity of RACH transmissions associated with a full-duplex slot type.' ");
transmit, in a first slot (see at least pg. 6 ¶ [0030]; “The method may include transmitting, in a first valid RACH occasion of an uplink subband associated with a subband full-duplex configuration, a first RACH transmission of a plurality of RACH transmissions”), a random access channel (RACH) preamble associated with a RACH procedure (see at least pg. 32 ¶ [0107]; “As shown by reference number 704, the UE 120 may transmit a RAM, which may include a preamble (sometimes referred to as a random access preamble, a physical RACH (PRACH) preamble, or a RAM preamble));
determine, based on at least one rule, at least one second slot from the one or more slots to use for at least one subsequent transmission associated with the RACH procedure (see at least pg. 37 ¶ 0129]; “An SSB may be mapped to a RACH occasion in accordance with one-to-one mapping.”); and
transmit the at least one subsequent transmission in the at least one second slot in accordance with the at least one rule (see at least pg. 37 ¶ [0130]; "In some cases, multiple RACH transmissions (e.g., Msg1 repetitions) can be transmitted in multiple RACH occasions. For example, as shown, a first RACH transmission (Msg1#0) can be transmitted in the first RACH occasion (RO#0), a second RACH transmission (Msg1#1) can be transmitted in the second RACH occasion (RO#1), a third RACH transmission (Msg1#2) can be transmitted in the third RACH occasion (RO#2), and a fourth RACH transmission (Msg1#3) can be transmitted in the fourth RACH occasion (RO#3)")).
Regarding claim 2, Abotabi teaches the apparatus of claim 1. In addition, Abotabi teaches wherein the at least one subsequent transmission comprises at least one of: one or more RACH preamble retransmissions, or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (pg. 37 ¶ [0130]; "In some cases, multiple RACH transmissions (e.g., Msg1 repetitions) can be transmitted in multiple RACH occasions. For example, as shown, a first RACH transmission (Msg1#0) can be transmitted in the first RACH occasion (RO#0), a second RACH transmission (Msg1#1) can be transmitted in the second RACH occasion (RO#1) (...) ").
Regarding claim 3, Abotabi teaches the apparatus of claim 2. In addition, Abotabi teaches wherein the at least one rule dictates that: when the first slot is configured as an SBFD slot, the one or more RACH preamble retransmissions are to be transmitted in an SBFD slot; and when the first slot is configured as an HD slot, the one or more RACH preamble retransmissions are to be transmitted in an HD slot (see at least pg. 5, ¶ [0028]; "The method may include transmitting, in a half-duplex slot and in accordance with a RACH transmission repetition scheme, a first quantity of RACH transmissions. The method may include transmitting, in accordance with the RACH transmission repetition scheme and in a full-duplex slot associated with an SBFD configuration, a second quantity of RACH transmissions, the first quantity and the second quantity being based on a half-duplex slot type and a full-duplex slot type, respectively. ").
Regarding claim 4, Abotabi teaches the apparatus of claim 3. In addition, Abotabi teaches wherein the at least one rule dictates that: when the first slot is configured as an SBFD slot, the PUSCH transmission are to be transmitted in an SBFD slot; and when the first slot is configured as an HD slot, the PUSCH transmission are to be transmitted in an HD slot (see at least pgs. 33-34, ¶ [0115]; "For example, the RAM preamble may include some or all contents of message 1 (e.g., a PRACH preamble), and the RAM payload may include some or all contents of message 3 (e.g., a UE identifier, uplink control information (UCI), and/or a PUSCH transmission) ") - in the view of (D1: page 5, par. [0028]) and disclosure above, the Examiner understands that a payload of the preamble may include some contents of msg3, including PUSCH transmissions).
Regarding claim 5, Abotabi teaches the apparatus of claim 3. In addition, Abotabi teaches wherein the at least one rule dictates that: the PUSCH transmission may be transmitted in an SBFD slot or an HD slot independent of whether the first slot is configured as an SBFD slot or an HD slot (see at least pg. 37-38, ¶ [0132]; "Some aspects of the techniques and apparatuses described herein may provide a flexible multiple RACH transmission scheme utilizing half-duplex slots and full- duplex slots. For example, in some aspects, a network node may configure a UE with different quantities of RACH transmissions for each slot type. For example, in some aspects, the network node may transmit an indication of a quantity of RACH transmissions for half-duplex slots and a quantity of RACH transmissions for full- duplex slots. In some aspects, a quantity of RACH transmissions for full-duplex slots may be a function of a quantity of RACH transmissions for half-duplex slots. ") – in the view of (D1: page 33-34, par. [0115]) and disclosure above, the Examiner understands that the disclosure describes flexibility of RACH transmissions within HD and SBFD slots, meaning that a range of slots can be configured as HD and SBFD at the same time, allowing to transmit data independently whether slot is of HD or SBFD type).
Regarding claim 6, Abotabi teaches the apparatus of claim 2. In addition, Abotabi teaches wherein the at least one rule dictates that the one or more RACH preamble retransmissions may be transmitted in an SBFD slot or an HD slot independent of whether the first slot is configured as an SBFD slot or an HD slot (see at least pg. 37-38, ¶ [0132]; "Some aspects of the techniques and apparatuses described herein may provide a flexible multiple RACH transmission scheme utilizing half-duplex slots and full- duplex slots. For example, in some aspects, a network node may configure a UE with different quantities of RACH transmissions for each slot type. For example, in some aspects, the network node may transmit an indication of a quantity of RACH transmissions for half-duplex slots and a quantity of RACH transmissions for full- duplex slots. In some aspects, a quantity of RACH transmissions for full-duplex slots may be a function of a quantity of RACH transmissions for half-duplex slots. ") – in the view of (D1: page 33-34, par. [0115]) and disclosure above, the Examiner understands that the disclosure describes flexibility of RACH transmissions within HD and SBFD slots, meaning that a range of slots can be configured as HD and SBFD at the same time, allowing to transmit data independently whether slot is of HD or SBFD type).
Regarding claim 9, Abotabi teaches the apparatus of claim 1. In addition, Abotabi teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive signaling indicating a subset of the one or more slots to consider as available for use for the at least one subsequent transmission (see at least pg. 39, ¶ [0136]).
Regarding claim 10, Abotabi teaches the apparatus of claim 9. In addition, Abotabi teaches wherein the signaling is received after the UE transmits the RACH preamble (see at least Figs. 7A, 7B and pg. 39, ¶ [0136]).
Regarding claim 11, Abotabi teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (see at least Fig. 9 (904)), comprising:
at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions (see at least ¶ [0025]); and
one or more processors (see at least ¶ [0025]) configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to:
transmit configuration information indicating one or more slots including subband full duplex (SBFD) slots and half duplex (HD) slots (see at least pg. 39, ¶ [0136] (" (...) the UE 902 may receive, configuration information (...) The configuration information may be associated with a RACH transmission repetition scheme. The RACH transmission repetition scheme may include, for example, information associated with repetitions of RACH transmissions in an SBFD configuration. In some aspects, the configuration information may be indicative of a first quantity of RACH transmissions associated with a half-duplex slot type and a second quantity of RACH transmissions associated with a full-duplex slot type.' ");
receive, in a first slot, a random access channel (RACH) preamble associated with a RACH procedure (see at least pg. 32 ¶ [0107]; “As shown by reference number 704, the UE 120 may transmit a RAM, which may include a preamble (sometimes referred to as a random access preamble, a physical RACH (PRACH) preamble, or a RAM preamble));
determine, based on at least one rule, at least one second slot from the one or more slots to monitor for at least one subsequent transmission associated with the RACH procedure (see at least pg. 37 ¶ 0129]; “An SSB may be mapped to a RACH occasion in accordance with one-to-one mapping.”); and
receive the at least one subsequent transmission in the at least one second slot in accordance with the at least one rule (see at least pg. 37 ¶ [0130]; "In some cases, multiple RACH transmissions (e.g., Msg1 repetitions) can be transmitted in multiple RACH occasions. For example, as shown, a first RACH transmission (Msg1#0) can be transmitted in the first RACH occasion (RO#0), a second RACH transmission (Msg1#1) can be transmitted in the second RACH occasion (RO#1), a third RACH transmission (Msg1#2) can be transmitted in the third RACH occasion (RO#2), and a fourth RACH transmission (Msg1#3) can be transmitted in the fourth RACH occasion (RO#3)")).
Regarding claim 12, Abotabi teaches the apparatus of claim 11. In addition, Abotabi teaches wherein the at least one subsequent transmission comprises at least one of: one or more RACH preamble retransmissions, or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (pg. 37 ¶ [0130]; "In some cases, multiple RACH transmissions (e.g., Msg1 repetitions) can be transmitted in multiple RACH occasions. For example, as shown, a first RACH transmission (Msg1#0) can be transmitted in the first RACH occasion (RO#0), a second RACH transmission (Msg1#1) can be transmitted in the second RACH occasion (RO#1) (...) ").
Regarding claim 13, Abotabi teaches the apparatus of claim 12. In addition, Abotabi teaches wherein the at least one rule dictates that:
when the first slot is configured as an SBFD slot, the one or more RACH preamble retransmissions are to be transmitted in an SBFD slot; and
when the first slot is configured as an HD slot, the one or more RACH preamble retransmissions are to be transmitted in an HD slot (see at least pg. 5, ¶ [0028]; "The method may include transmitting, in a half-duplex slot and in accordance with a RACH transmission repetition scheme, a first quantity of RACH transmissions. The method may include transmitting, in accordance with the RACH transmission repetition scheme and in a full-duplex slot associated with an SBFD configuration, a second quantity of RACH transmissions, the first quantity and the second quantity being based on a half-duplex slot type and a full-duplex slot type, respectively. ").
Regarding claim 14, Abotabi teaches the apparatus of claim 13. In addition, Abotabi teaches wherein the at least one rule dictates that: when the first slot is configured as an SBFD slot, the PUSCH transmission are to be transmitted in an SBFD slot; and when the first slot is configured as an HD slot, the PUSCH transmission are to be transmitted in an HD slot (see at least pgs. 33-34, ¶ [0115]; "For example, the RAM preamble may include some or all contents of message 1 (e.g., a PRACH preamble), and the RAM payload may include some or all contents of message 3 (e.g., a UE identifier, uplink control information (UCI), and/or a PUSCH transmission) ") - in the view of (D1: page 5, par. [0028]) and disclosure above, the Examiner understands that a payload of the preamble may include some contents of msg3, including PUSCH transmissions).
Regarding claim 15, Abotabi teaches the apparatus of claim 13. In addition, Abotabi teaches wherein the at least one rule dictates that: the PUSCH transmission may be transmitted in an SBFD slot or an HD slot independent of whether the first slot is configured as an SBFD slot or an HD slot (see at least pg. 37-38, ¶ [0132]; "Some aspects of the techniques and apparatuses described herein may provide a flexible multiple RACH transmission scheme utilizing half-duplex slots and full- duplex slots. For example, in some aspects, a network node may configure a UE with different quantities of RACH transmissions for each slot type. For example, in some aspects, the network node may transmit an indication of a quantity of RACH transmissions for half-duplex slots and a quantity of RACH transmissions for full- duplex slots. In some aspects, a quantity of RACH transmissions for full-duplex slots may be a function of a quantity of RACH transmissions for half-duplex slots. ") – in the view of (D1: page 33-34, par. [0115]) and disclosure above, the Examiner understands that the disclosure describes flexibility of RACH transmissions within HD and SBFD slots, meaning that a range of slots can be configured as HD and SBFD at the same time, allowing to transmit data independently whether slot is of HD or SBFD type).
Regarding claim 16, Abotabi teaches the apparatus of claim 12. In addition, Abotabi teaches wherein the at least one rule dictates that the one or more RACH preamble retransmissions may be transmitted in an SBFD slot or an HD slot independent of whether the first slot is configured as an SBFD slot or an HD slot (see at least pg. 37-38, ¶ [0132]; "Some aspects of the techniques and apparatuses described herein may provide a flexible multiple RACH transmission scheme utilizing half-duplex slots and full- duplex slots. For example, in some aspects, a network node may configure a UE with different quantities of RACH transmissions for each slot type. For example, in some aspects, the network node may transmit an indication of a quantity of RACH transmissions for half-duplex slots and a quantity of RACH transmissions for full- duplex slots. In some aspects, a quantity of RACH transmissions for full-duplex slots may be a function of a quantity of RACH transmissions for half-duplex slots. ") – in the view of (D1: page 33-34, par. [0115]) and disclosure above, the Examiner understands that the disclosure describes flexibility of RACH transmissions within HD and SBFD slots, meaning that a range of slots can be configured as HD and SBFD at the same time, allowing to transmit data independently whether slot is of HD or SBFD type).
Regarding claim 19, Abotabi teaches the apparatus of claim 11. In addition, Abotabi teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit signaling indicating a subset of the one or more slots to consider as available for use for the at least one subsequent transmission, wherein the signaling is transmitted after the network entity receives the RACH preamble (see at least pg. 39, ¶ [0136]).
Regarding claim 20, Abotabi teaches A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see at least Fig. 9 (902); UE), comprising:
receiving configuration information indicating one or more slots including subband full duplex (SBFD) slots and half duplex (HD) slots (see at least pg. 39, ¶ [0136] (" (...) the UE 902 may receive, configuration information (...) The configuration information may be associated with a RACH transmission repetition scheme. The RACH transmission repetition scheme may include, for example, information associated with repetitions of RACH transmissions in an SBFD configuration. In some aspects, the configuration information may be indicative of a first quantity of RACH transmissions associated with a half-duplex slot type and a second quantity of RACH transmissions associated with a full-duplex slot type.' ");
transmitting, in a first slot (see at least pg. 6 ¶ [0030]; “The method may include transmitting, in a first valid RACH occasion of an uplink subband associated with a subband full-duplex configuration, a first RACH transmission of a plurality of RACH transmissions”), a random access channel (RACH) preamble associated with a RACH procedure (see at least pg. 32 ¶ [0107]; “As shown by reference number 704, the UE 120 may transmit a RAM, which may include a preamble (sometimes referred to as a random access preamble, a physical RACH (PRACH) preamble, or a RAM preamble));
determining, based on at least one rule, at least one second slot from the one or more slots to use for at least one subsequent transmission associated with the RACH procedure (see at least pg. 37 ¶ 0129]; “An SSB may be mapped to a RACH occasion in accordance with one-to-one mapping.”); and
transmitting the at least one subsequent transmission in the at least one second slot in accordance with the at least one rule (see at least pg. 37 ¶ [0130]; "In some cases, multiple RACH transmissions (e.g., Msg1 repetitions) can be transmitted in multiple RACH occasions. For example, as shown, a first RACH transmission (Msg1#0) can be transmitted in the first RACH occasion (RO#0), a second RACH transmission (Msg1#1) can be transmitted in the second RACH occasion (RO#1), a third RACH transmission (Msg1#2) can be transmitted in the third RACH occasion (RO#2), and a fourth RACH transmission (Msg1#3) can be transmitted in the fourth RACH occasion (RO#3)")).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 7, 8, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NATASHA W COSME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465