DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 10/16/2024 (two IDSs filed 10/16/2024 have issues) fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(b)(5) which requires each publication listed must be identified by a date. Because the lined through non-patent literature references fail to identify a date they have not been considered (at least a year is required). It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Applicant should note that the large number of references (650 references cited) in the eleven attached IDSs have been considered by the examiner in the same manner as other documents in Office search files are considered by the examiner while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search. See MPEP 609.05(b). Applicant is requested to point out any particular references in the IDS which they believe may be of particular relevance to the instant claimed invention in response to this office action.
Claim Objections
Claims 24 and 77 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 24, line 7 recites “the tibial stem component” which is believed to be in error for --the tibial stem-- (see line 3).
Claim 24, lines 11-12 list paragraph numbers and claims. It seems this was not meant to be recited in the claim.
Claim 77, lines 2-3 recite “the tibial stem component” which is believed to be in error for --the tibial stem--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 77 and 80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 77 requires obtaining rotation data from measurements made by a plurality of rotation-measuring accelerometers. What is a rotation-measuring accelerometer? How does this differ from the accelerometer of claim 24? Are these accelerometers the same as the accelerometers of claim 24? If they are different, what is the purpose of the rotation-measuring accelerometers if the accelerometers of claim 24 measure the range of motion which includes rotation?
Claim 80 depends from canceled claim 29 which is unclear. For examination, claim 80 is presumed to depend from claim 79.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24 and 66-83 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roche US 2010/0100011 (hereafter referred to as Roche; cited in IDS) in view of Wasielewski US 2004/0243148 (hereafter referred to as Wasielewski; cited in IDS) and Janna et al. US 2010/0152621 (hereafter referred to as Janna; cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 24, Roche discloses a method comprising: obtaining acceleration data from measurements made by a plurality of acceleration-measuring accelerometers 610 positioned on a tibial component 604 of a knee replacement prosthesis located in-situ in a knee of a patient (figs.6-7) wherein the measurements are made within a period of time (par.34 discloses the position sensors are mems accelerometers for measuring spatial orientation and position in three dimensions and accelerometers inherently provide acceleration data; par.44 discloses the sensors can be permanently incorporated into the skeletal structure and final implant device for post-operative monitoring and long term device monitoring; par.42 discloses data is taken periodically or by command); recording and storing the acceleration data in a memory (par.42 discloses the data can be stored in memory located with the implant), transferring the acceleration data from the memory associated with the implant to a memory in a location outside the knee replacement prosthesis (par.42 discloses sending the information stored in the memory to the processing unit 506). Roche further discloses using accelerometers on the tibia and femur to provide positional information and relational information, wherein the accelerometers can measure all three dimensions (par.37) and wherein the sensors work in conjunction to define implant-to-implant alignment and joint kinematics (par.47). It appears the system of Roche determines range of motion of the knee replacement prosthesis using the sensor data since the sensors are used to provide positional and relational information, but Roche doesn’t specifically disclose analyzing the acceleration data to determine a range of motion of the knee replacement prosthesis.
Wasielewski teaches a method of knee replacement, in the same field of endeavor, wherein positional and orientational information from sensors on a tibial prosthesis 218 and femoral prosthesis 220 are used to discern if the knee prosthesis 222 and the range of motion associated therewith are within proper tolerances (par.73; fig.13). The sensors of Wasielewski are accelerometers (par.16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use data from the accelerometers of the knee replacement prosthesis of Roche to determine a range of motion of the knee replacement prosthesis as taught by Wasielewski in order ensure the knee replacement prosthesis range of motion is within proper tolerances and functioning properly. Roche in view of Wasielewski discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but Roche does not disclose that the accelerometers and memory are located within the tibial stem. Roche discloses the tibial implant comprising sensors is used in outpatient review of the implant (par.52) and for post-operative and long term device monitoring (par.44). Since the goal of knee replacement surgery is generally to return the patient to their normal activities, which include walking, it appears that data would be collected during post-operative ambulation by the patient. However, Roche does not specifically disclose analyzing data that was collected during post-operative ambulation by the patient.
Janna teaches a method of using a smart implant, in the same field of endeavor, wherein accelerometers and memory can be located within a tibial stem of a knee replacement prosthesis (par.27 discloses accelerometers within a tibial stem and par.89 and fig.5 disclose electronic components 18, which include memory, are embedded in the implant). Janna teaches sensors are embedded for the purpose of being unobtrusive, biocompatible, and in no way affecting the established biomechanical performance (par.103). Janna further teaches collecting accelerometer data during ambulation postoperatively (pars.25, 196), for the purpose of determining the healing progression status of a subject (par.196).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the accelerometers and memory of the device of Roche within the tibial stem as taught by Janna in order to attach the sensors and memory to the prosthesis such that they are unobtrusive, biocompatible, and avoid affecting the biomechanical performance. It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Roche and analyze acceleration data collected during post-operative ambulation as taught by Janna in order to monitor the healing progression status of the patient.
Regarding claim 66, Janna teaches a sampling rate of 1-2000 Hz (par.148). It would have been obvious to select this sampling rate for the method of Roche in order to collect sufficient data for analyzing.
Regarding claim 67, Janna teaches healing can take 6 months (par.98) therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to obtain the acceleration data of Roche over several months in order to access healing.
Regarding claim 68, see Roche par.42 for the data being taken periodically or by command.
Regarding claims 69 and 70, Roche discloses post-operative and long term device monitoring (par.44).
Regarding claims 71-73, Roche discloses accelerometers for measuring position in all three dimensions (par.34). Roche doesn’t disclose specific times of collection including days or weeks. Janna teaches measurements may be taken at predetermined time periods such as daily or weekly. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to monitor the data daily or weekly as taught by Janna in order to monitor the healing progression.
Regarding claim 74, see Roche par.43 for the data collected being used to identify issues before they become problems for the patient and provide information for improving the orthopedic device.
Regarding claims 75 and 76, the acceleration data of Roche in view of Wasielewski and Janna inherently identifies a level of patient activity and function. The acceleration data shows movement of the patient which indicates activity and function.
Regarding claim 77, while the claim is unclear, it appears the accelerometers of Roche in view of Wasielewski and Janna provide rotation data. If the rotation-measuring accelerometers of claim 77 are different from the accelerometers of claim 24, it would have been obvious to add rotation sensors since Wasielewski teaches the combination of gyroscopes for detecting rotation and accelerometers for detecting accelerations for sensing inertial movement within a three-dimensional space.
Regarding claim 78, Roche discloses data can be taken periodically or by command. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the patient to command data be taken as needed.
Regarding claims 79 and 80, Wasielewski teaches sensor output data may be used to generate a visual representation of the position and/or orientation of the component for the purpose of allowing the surgeon to visualize the position and orientation of components and any changes thereto (pars. 49-51). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Roche to include the step of using the acceleration data to create an image of the knee replacement system as taught by Wasielewski in order to allow the surgeon to visualize the knee replacement system and any changes thereto. Since Roche discloses using the sensors for post-operative and long term prosthesis monitoring (par.44), it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the data to create the visual display of the prosthesis over several months.
Regarding claim 81, Wasielewski further teaches a range of motion is determined at the time of surgery which is considered a baseline (par.73).
Regarding claim 82, see Roche fig.7 for a total knee arthroplasty.
Regarding claim 83, while Roche fig.7 shows a total knee arthroplasty, it is commonplace in the art to only perform partial knee arthroplasty when only a portion of the knee requires replacement to preserve healthy bone. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a tibial stem component of a partial knee arthroscopy as needed for a particular patient not requiring a total knee arthroplasty.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Disilvestro et al. US 2005/0010300 discloses information storage portion 26 located within a tibial stem 18 (fig.8).
/MEGAN Y WOLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774