DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, in line 2, replace “a first 802.11 protocol data unit (PDU)” with --a first 802.11 protocol protocol data unit (PDU)--.
Regarding claim 10, in line 2, replace “a first 802.11 protocol data unit (PDU)” with --802.11 protocol protocol data unit (PDU)--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,081,383 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent claims of the present application merely broaden the scope of independent claims of US Patent No. 12,081,383 B2 respectively, by eliminating that the second 802.11 protocol PDU transmits concurrently with the first 802.11 PDU and the PDUs are quasi-orthogonal based on the length of the first CP portion and the length oof the second CP portion.
It has been held that the omission an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same as before. In Re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also, note Ex Parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (Bd.App. 1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one skilled in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fang et al (US 2018/0184378 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Fang discloses a station (STA) comprising:
a processor (Fig. 2, processor 210) and a transmitter (Fig. 2, circuitry 204) configured to transmit a first 802.11 protocol data unit (PDU) (Fig. 3A) including a first cyclic prefix (CP) portion (Fig. 3A, guards);
the processor and the transmitter configured to transmit a second 802.11 protocol PDU (Fig. 5), the second 802.11 protocol PDU including a second CP portion (Fig. 5, preamble 506), wherein the transmission of the first 802.11 protocol PDU and the transmission of the second 802.11 protocol PDU are at least quasi-orthogonal (15th paragraph, LP-WU packet and OFDMA signals are orthogonally transmitted. Fig. 3B illustrated an OFDMA packet 300 with an overload signal or a LP-WUR signal. Herein, the signals are orthogonal which encompass the at least quasi-orthogonal, as claimed).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Fang discloses that wherein the transmission of the second 802.11 protocol PDU at least partially overlaps in time with the transmission of the first 802.11 protocol PDU (Fig. 3B).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Fang discloses that wherein the second 802.11 protocol PDU is transmitted by the STA at least partially overlaps with one or more resource units (RUs) of the first 802.11 protocol PDU (Fig. 3B, LP-WU is arranged within RU 5).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Fang discloses that wherein the first 802.11 protocol PDU is an 802.1lax physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) PDU (PPDU) (Fig. 3A).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Fang discloses that wherein the second 802.11 protocol PDU is an 802.11ba physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) PDU (PPDU) (Fig. 5. Herein, LP-WUR is 802.11ba standard).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Fang discloses that wherein the processor is further configured to determine shaping sequences such that a time domain response of OOK symbols of the second 802.11 protocol PDU includes a plurality of on-off keying (OOK) symbols subsequent to the second CP portion (16th paragraph, OOK modulated WU signal including LP-WU symbols).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Fang discloses that wherein the processor is further configured to blank OOK symbol included in the second 802.11 protocol PDU (Fig. 7, block 702, OFDMA signal includes OFDMA symbols interspersed with nulls to define OOK modulated signal).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Fang discloses that wherein the STA is an access point (AP)-STA (Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Fang discloses that wherein the first 802.11 protocol PDU and the second 802.11 protocol PDU are transmitted in a same 20 MHz channel (Fig. 3A and 25th paragraph).
Conclusion
ANH VU H. LY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/ANH VU H LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472