CTNF 18/812,636 CTNF 89034 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 AIA Claim s 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites the limitation: via respective power transmission mechanisms in Line 8, and via a respective power transmission mechanism in line 12 it is unclear if the power transmission mechanism of Line 12 is the same type as the power transmission mechanisms of Line 8. For the purposes of examination, the limitation of line 12 will be interpreted by the Examiner as “ via a respective power transmission mechanism of the respective power transmission mechanisms” Regarding Claims 2-20: the claims are rejected for depending from a rejected claim Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 16, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being Anticipated by Borders et al. (US 20170174431 A1) . Regarding Claim 6, Borders discloses: A system, comprising: a buffer conveyor (12 & 180); and at least one powered conveyor (56 & 164 & 166) configured to selectively transfer power to the buffer conveyor via a power transmission mechanism that moves between an engaged configuration and a retracted configuration (Fig. 6A) [0030 & 0075 & 0076 & 0077]. Regarding Claim 7, Borders discloses: a movement system (14 & 20 & 120 & 150 & 154) configured to selectively align the at least one powered conveyor with the buffer conveyor [0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0045 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0059 & 0060 & 0061 & 0062 & 0063 & 0064 & 0065 & 0066 & 0067 & 0068]; wherein the movement system comprises at least one of a gantry system or a robotic arm (Fig. 1 & Fig. 6A & Fig. 9) [0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0045 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0059 & 0060 & 0061 & 0062 & 0063 & 0064 & 0065 & 0066 & 0067 & 0068]. Regarding Claim 8, Borders discloses: the buffer conveyor comprises one of a plurality of buffer conveyors arranged as shelves within a frame (Fig. 1 & Fig. 9); wherein the at least one powered conveyor is configured to selectively transfer power to individual ones of the plurality of buffer conveyors via the power transmission mechanism (50 & 52 & 174 & 176) [0033 & 0075 & 0076 & 0077]; and wherein the movement system is configured to selectively align the at least one powered conveyor with individual ones of the plurality of buffer conveyors [0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0045 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0059 & 0060 & 0061 & 0062 & 0063 & 0064 & 0065 & 0066 & 0067 & 0068]. Regarding Claim 9, Borders discloses: the at least one powered conveyor further comprises: a drive motor and a drive shaft configured to cause movement of a conveyor belt associated with the at least one powered conveyor [0033 & 0075 & 0076 & 0077]; wherein the power transmission mechanism is configured to transfer power from the drive motor to the buffer conveyor [0033 & 0075 & 0076 & 0077]; and wherein the buffer conveyor further comprises: a buffer shaft (178) configured to receive power from the drive motor via the power transmission mechanism [0033 & 0075 & 0076 & 0077], thereby causing movement of a conveyor belt associated with the buffer conveyor [0033 & 0075 & 0076 & 0077]. Regarding Claim 10, Borders discloses: the power transmission mechanism is configured to cause the conveyor belt associated with the at least one powered conveyor and the conveyor belt associated with the buffer conveyor to move in a same direction [0033 & 0075 & 0076 & 0077]. Regarding Claim 16, Borders discloses: a controller configured to at least: instruct the movement system to align the at least one powered conveyor with the buffer conveyor [abstract & 0003 & 0006 & 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0035 & Claim 6]; cause, via the power transmission mechanism, engagement between the at least one powered conveyor and the buffer conveyor (Fig. 6A) [0033]; and cause transfer of an item (18 & 112) between the at least one powered conveyor and the buffer conveyor [0033]. Regarding Claim 17, Borders discloses: A method, comprising: determining, by a controller, to transfer an item (18 & 112) between at least one powered conveyor (56 & 164 & 166) and a buffer conveyor (12 & 180) [abstract & 0003 & 0006 & 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0035 & Claim 6]; causing, by the controller, actuation of a power transmission mechanism of the at least one powered conveyor from a retracted configuration [when the forearm is in a position retracted from the shelf the transfer gear is moved away from the buffer gear] to an engaged configuration (Fig. 6A) to transfer power from the at least one powered conveyor to the buffer conveyor [0033 & 0074 & 0075]; and causing, by the controller via the power transmission mechanism, transfer of the item between the at least one powered conveyor and the buffer conveyor [0033 & 0074 & 0075 & 0082 & 0083]. Regarding Claim 18, Borders discloses: causing actuation of the power transmission mechanism further comprises: causing, by the controller, actuation of the power transmission mechanism to transfer power from a drive motor and a drive shaft of the at least one powered conveyor to a buffer shaft of the buffer conveyor [0033 & 0074 & 0075] . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 4, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borders et al. (US 20170174431 A1) in view of DeVries (US 20180029796 A1) . Regarding Claim 1, Borders teaches: A buffer wall system, comprising: a frame (22); a plurality of passive buffer conveyors (12) arranged as shelves within the frame; a gantry system (14 & 20 & 150 & 154) configured to move among the plurality of passive buffer conveyors [0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030]; a gantry infeed/outfeed conveyor (56 & 164 & 166) associated with the gantry system (Fig. 1 & Fig. 6A) [0033], the gantry infeed/outfeed conveyor configured to selectively engage with and transfer power to individual passive buffer conveyors of the plurality of passive buffer conveyors via respective power transmission mechanisms (50 & 52 & 174 & 176) [0033]; and a controller configured to at least: instruct movement of the gantry system to align one of the gantry infeed/outfeed conveyor with a selected passive buffer conveyor [0035 & Claim 6]; cause engagement, via a respective power transmission mechanism (52 & 174), between the one of the gantry infeed/outfeed conveyor and the selected passive buffer conveyor (Fig. 6A) [0033]; and cause transfer of an item (18) between the one of the gantry infeed/outfeed conveyor and the selected passive buffer conveyor [0033]. Borders does not teach: a gantry infeed conveyor and a gantry outfeed conveyor DeVries teaches: A buffer wall system (1), comprising: a frame (2); a plurality of buffer conveyors (131) arranged as shelves within the frame; a gantry system (105) configured to move among the plurality of passive buffer conveyors [0312 & 0314 & 0319]; a gantry infeed conveyor (108a) and a gantry outfeed (109a) conveyor associated with the gantry system [0312 & 0314 & 0319], a controller configured to at least: instruct movement of the gantry system to align one of the gantry infeed conveyor or the gantry outfeed conveyor with a selected buffer conveyor [0038 & 0090 & 0092 & 0100 & 0101 & 0102 & 0103 & 0104 & 0105 & 0106 & 0272 & 0273 & 0274 & 0291]; cause transfer of an item between the one of the gantry infeed conveyor or the gantry outfeed conveyor and the selected buffer conveyor [0038 & 0090 & 0092 & 0100 & 0101 & 0102 & 0103 & 0104 & 0105 & 0106 & 0272 & 0273 & 0274 & 0291 & 0312 & 0314 & 0319]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the buffer wall system having a frame, plurality of passive buffer conveyors arranged as shelves within the frame, a gantry system configured to move among the passive buffer conveyors, a gantry infeed/outfeed conveyor which selectively engage with and transfer power to individual passive buffer conveyors via respective power transmission mechanisms, and a controller configured to instruct movement of the gantry system, cause engagement via the respective power transmission mechanism, and cause transfer of an item between the gantry infeed/outfeed conveyor and the selected passive buffer conveyor taught by Borders with the buffer wall system having a frame, plurality of passive buffer conveyors arranged as shelves within the frame, a gantry system configured to move among the passive buffer conveyors, a gantry infeed conveyor and a gantry outfeed conveyor which selectively engage with articles to/from individual passive buffer conveyors, and a controller configured to instruct movement of the gantry system, and cause transfer of an item between the gantry infeed conveyor and the gantry outfeed conveyor and the selected passive buffer conveyor taught by DeVries in order to provide a system with increased throughput by utilizing multiple dedicated transfer mechanisms. Regarding Claim 4, Borders teaches: each of the gantry infeed/outfeed conveyor comprises a respective drive motor that is operatively coupled to the respective power transmission mechanism [0075 & 0076]; and wherein the selected passive buffer conveyor is driven by the respective drive motor via engagement with the respective power transmission mechanism [0075 & 0076]. Borders does not teach: a gantry infeed conveyor and a gantry outfeed conveyor DeVries teaches: a gantry infeed conveyor (108a) and a gantry outfeed (109a) conveyor associated with the gantry system [0312 & 0314 & 0319], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the buffer wall system having a frame, plurality of passive buffer conveyors arranged as shelves within the frame, a gantry system configured to move among the passive buffer conveyors, a gantry infeed/outfeed conveyor which selectively engage with and transfer power to individual passive buffer conveyors via respective power transmission mechanisms, and a controller configured to instruct movement of the gantry system, cause engagement via the respective power transmission mechanism, and cause transfer of an item between the gantry infeed/outfeed conveyor and the selected passive buffer conveyor taught by Borders with the buffer wall system having a frame, plurality of passive buffer conveyors arranged as shelves within the frame, a gantry system configured to move among the passive buffer conveyors, a gantry infeed conveyor and a gantry outfeed conveyor which selectively engage with articles to/from individual passive buffer conveyors, and a controller configured to instruct movement of the gantry system, and cause transfer of an item between the gantry infeed conveyor and the gantry outfeed conveyor and the selected passive buffer conveyor taught by DeVries in order to provide a system with increased throughput by utilizing multiple dedicated transfer mechanisms. Regarding Claim 5, Borders teaches: individual ones of the plurality of passive buffer conveyors comprise modular buffer conveyors having friction fit engagement with respective sidewalls of the frame [0033] [it is implied by the pulley relationship that the buffer conveyor endless belt would interact with the pully by friction] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borders et al. (US 20170174431 A1) in view of DeVries (US 20180029796 A1) as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Battles et al. (US 20090000912 A1) . Regarding Claim 2, Borders teaches: the item is transferred from the gantry infeed/outfeed conveyor to the selected passive buffer conveyor [0033]; and Borders in view of DeVries does not teach: wherein the controller is further configured to associate the item with the selected passive buffer conveyor. Battles teaches: A buffer wall system, comprising: a frame (154); a plurality of passive buffers (156) arranged as shelves within the frame (Fig. 6 & Fig. 7A & Fig. 7B & Fig. 8A & Fig. 8B & Fig. 8C & Fig. 8D & Fig. 8E); a gantry system (104A & 152 & 200) configured to move among the plurality of passive buffers [0048 & 0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0052 & 0053 & 0057 & 0060 & 0061 & 0062 & 0064 & 0065]; a gantry infeed/outfeed conveyor (200) associated with the gantry system (Fig. 7A) [0044 & 0045 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0052 & 0053 & 0057 & 0060 & 0061 & 0062 & 0064 & 0065]; and a controller (190) configured to at least: instruct movement of the gantry system to align one of the gantry infeed/outfeed conveyor with a selected passive buffers [0039 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0055 & 0062 & 0063 & 0064 & 0065 & 0066 & 0067 & 0068]; cause transfer of an item (18) between the one of the gantry infeed/outfeed conveyor and the selected passive buffer [0039 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0055 & 0062 & 0063 & 0064 & 0065 & 0066 & 0067 & 0068]. the item is transferred from the gantry infeed conveyor to the selected passive buffer conveyor [0044 & 0045 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0052 & 0053 & 0057 & 0060 & 0061 & 0062 & 0064 & 0065]; and wherein the controller is further configured to associate the item with the selected passive buffer conveyor [0046 & 0063 & 0065 & 0066 & 0067 & 0068 & 0069 & 0070 & 0071 & 0078]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the buffer wall system having a frame, plurality of passive buffer conveyors arranged as shelves within the frame, a gantry system configured to move among the passive buffer conveyors, a gantry infeed conveyor and a gantry outfeed conveyor which selectively engage with and transfer power to individual passive buffer conveyors via respective power transmission mechanisms, and a controller configured to instruct movement of the gantry system, cause engagement via the respective power transmission mechanism, and cause transfer of an item between the gantry infeed conveyor and the gantry outfeed conveyor and the selected passive buffer conveyor taught by Borders and DeVries with the buffer wall system having a frame, plurality of passive buffer conveyors arranged as shelves within the frame, a gantry system configured to move among the passive buffer conveyors, a gantry infeed conveyor/outfeed conveyor which selectively engage with articles to/from individual passive buffer conveyors, and a controller configured to instruct movement of the gantry system, and cause transfer of an item between the gantry a gantry infeed/outfeed conveyor and the selected passive buffer conveyor, the controller is further configured to associate the item with the selected passive buffer conveyor taught by Battles in order to provide a system with increased throughput by providing a catalog which allows a location guide for all of the items thereby directing the infeed/outfeed conveyor to exact locations rather than requiring searching which increases the efficiency of the system. Regarding Claim 3, Borders teaches: the item is transferred from the selected passive buffer conveyor to the gantry infeed/outfeed conveyor; and wherein the controller is further configured to: disassociate the item from the selected passive buffer conveyor. Borders in view of DeVries does not teach: wherein the controller is further configured to: disassociate the item from the selected passive buffer conveyor. Battles teaches: A buffer wall system, comprising: a frame (154); a plurality of passive buffers (156) arranged as shelves within the frame (Fig. 6 & Fig. 7A & Fig. 7B & Fig. 8A & Fig. 8B & Fig. 8C & Fig. 8D & Fig. 8E); a gantry system (104A & 152 & 200) configured to move among the plurality of passive buffers [0048 & 0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0052 & 0053 & 0057 & 0060 & 0061 & 0062 & 0064 & 0065]; a gantry infeed/outfeed conveyor (200) associated with the gantry system (Fig. 7A) [0044 & 0045 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0052 & 0053 & 0057 & 0060 & 0061 & 0062 & 0064 & 0065]; and a controller (190) configured to at least: instruct movement of the gantry system to align one of the gantry infeed/outfeed conveyor with a selected passive buffers [0039 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0055 & 0062 & 0063 & 0064 & 0065 & 0066 & 0067 & 0068]; cause transfer of an item (18) between the one of the gantry infeed/outfeed conveyor and the selected passive buffer [0039 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0055 & 0062 & 0063 & 0064 & 0065 & 0066 & 0067 & 0068]. the item is transferred to the gantry infeed/outfeed conveyor from the selected passive buffer conveyor [0044 & 0045 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050 & 0051 & 0052 & 0053 & 0057 & 0060 & 0061 & 0062 & 0064 & 0065]; and wherein the controller is further configured to: disassociate the item from the selected passive buffer conveyor [0046 & 0063 & 0065 & 0066 & 0067 & 0068 & 0069 & 0070 & 0071 & 0078]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the buffer wall system having a frame, plurality of passive buffer conveyors arranged as shelves within the frame, a gantry system configured to move among the passive buffer conveyors, a gantry infeed conveyor and a gantry outfeed conveyor which selectively engage with and transfer power to individual passive buffer conveyors via respective power transmission mechanisms, and a controller configured to instruct movement of the gantry system, cause engagement via the respective power transmission mechanism, and cause transfer of an item between the gantry infeed conveyor and the gantry outfeed conveyor and the selected passive buffer conveyor taught by Borders and DeVries with the buffer wall system having a frame, plurality of passive buffer conveyors arranged as shelves within the frame, a gantry system configured to move among the passive buffer conveyors, a gantry infeed conveyor/outfeed conveyor which selectively engage with articles to/from individual passive buffer conveyors, and a controller configured to instruct movement of the gantry system, and cause transfer of an item between the gantry a gantry infeed/outfeed conveyor and the selected passive buffer conveyor, the controller is further configured to disassociate the item from the selected passive buffer conveyor taught by Battles in order to provide a system with increased throughput by providing a catalog which allows a location guide for all of the items thereby directing the infeed/outfeed conveyor to exact locations rather than requiring searching which increases the efficiency of the system . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borders et al. (US 20170174431 A1) in view of Bastian et al. (US 20080181753 A1) . PNG media_image1.png 207 531 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 11, Borders does not teach: the power transmission mechanism further comprises: a swing arm rotatably coupled to the drive shaft of the drive motor; and a transfer gear associated with the swing arm, and operatively coupled to a drive gear of the drive shaft. Bastian teaches: A system, comprising: a buffer conveyor (124); and at least one powered conveyor (104) configured to selectively transfer power to the buffer conveyor via a power transmission mechanism (1002 & 1004 & 1006 & 1008) that moves between an engaged configuration and a retracted configuration (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11) [0057 & 0058 & 0059]. the at least one powered conveyor further comprises: a drive motor and a drive shaft configured to cause movement of a conveyor belt associated with the at least one powered conveyor [0057]; wherein the power transmission mechanism is configured to transfer power from the drive motor to the buffer conveyor (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11) [0057]; and wherein the buffer conveyor further comprises: a buffer shaft (1014) (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11) configured to receive power from the drive motor via the power transmission mechanism [0057 & 0058], thereby causing movement of a conveyor belt associated with the buffer conveyor [0057 & 0058 & 0059]. the power transmission mechanism further comprises: a swing arm (1006) rotatably coupled (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11) to the drive shaft of the drive motor [0057 & 0058]; and a transfer gear (1008) associated with the swing arm, and operatively coupled to a drive gear of the drive shaft [0057]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the buffer conveyor system having a buffer conveyor, at least one powered conveyor configured to selectively transfer power to the buffer conveyor via a power transmission mechanism that moves between an engaged configuration and a retracted configuration, a drive motor and a drive shaft configured to cause movement of a conveyor belt of the powered conveyor, the power transmission mechanism is configured to transfer power from the drive motor to the buffer conveyor, and a buffer shaft configured to receive power from the drive motor via the power transmission mechanism causing movement of a conveyor belt associated with the buffer conveyor taught by Borders with the buffer wall system having a frame, plurality of passive buffer conveyors arranged as shelves within the frame, a gantry system configured to move among the passive buffer conveyors, a gantry infeed conveyor and a gantry outfeed conveyor which selectively engage with articles to/from individual passive buffer conveyors, and a controller configured to instruct movement of the gantry system, and cause transfer of an item between the gantry infeed conveyor and the gantry outfeed conveyor and the selected passive buffer conveyor, where the power transmission mechanism further comprises a swing arm rotatably coupled to the drive shaft of the drive motor and a transfer gear associated with the swing arm, and operatively coupled to a drive gear of the drive shaft taught by Bastian in order to provide an inter-conveyor transfer system with a means of engaging and disengaging a power transfer means while the conveyors are aligned in order to prevent damage to the system during engagement when the conveyors are out of alignment thereby allowing the alignment of the conveyors to be confirmed prior to engagement of the power transfer means. Regarding Claim 12, Borders teaches: wherein in a retracted position, the transfer gear is disengaged from a buffer gear (50 & 176) coupled to the buffer shaft of the buffer conveyor [when the forearm is in a position retracted from the shelf the transfer gear is moved away from the buffer gear] ; and wherein in an engaged position, the transfer gear is engaged with the buffer gear coupled to the buffer shaft of the buffer conveyor (Fig. 6A). Borders does not teach: a swing arm carrying the transfer gear moving from a retracted position disengaged from a buffer gear to an engaged position engaged with a buffer gear. Bastian teaches: wherein in a retracted position of the swing arm, the transfer gear is disengaged from a buffer gear coupled to the buffer shaft of the buffer conveyor (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11) [0057 & 0058]; and wherein in an engaged position of the swing arm, the transfer gear is engaged with the buffer gear coupled to the buffer shaft of the buffer conveyor (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11) [0057 & 0058]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the buffer conveyor system having a buffer conveyor, at least one powered conveyor configured to selectively transfer power to the buffer conveyor via a power transmission mechanism that moves between an engaged configuration and a retracted configuration, a drive motor and a drive shaft configured to cause movement of a conveyor belt of the powered conveyor, the power transmission mechanism is configured to transfer power from the drive motor to the buffer conveyor, and a buffer shaft configured to receive power from the drive motor via the power transmission mechanism causing movement of a conveyor belt associated with the buffer conveyor, where in a retracted position, the transfer gear is disengaged from a buffer gear coupled to the buffer shaft of the buffer conveyor and in an engaged position, the transfer gear is engaged with the buffer gear coupled to the buffer shaft of the buffer conveyor taught by Borders with the buffer wall system having a frame, plurality of passive buffer conveyors arranged as shelves within the frame, a gantry system configured to move among the passive buffer conveyors, a gantry infeed conveyor and a gantry outfeed conveyor which selectively engage with articles to/from individual passive buffer conveyors, and a controller configured to instruct movement of the gantry system, and cause transfer of an item between the gantry infeed conveyor and the gantry outfeed conveyor and the selected passive buffer conveyor, where the power transmission mechanism further comprises a swing arm rotatably coupled to the drive shaft of the drive motor and a transfer gear associated with the swing arm, and operatively coupled to a drive gear of the drive shaft where in a retracted position of the swing arm, the transfer gear is disengaged from a buffer gear coupled to the buffer shaft of the buffer conveyor and in an engaged position of the swing arm, the transfer gear is engaged with the buffer gear coupled to the buffer shaft of the buffer conveyor taught by Bastian in order to provide an inter-conveyor transfer system with a means of engaging and disengaging a power transfer means while the conveyors are aligned in order to prevent damage to the system during engagement when the conveyors are out of alignment thereby allowing the alignment of the conveyors to be confirmed prior to engagement of the power transfer means. Regarding Claim 13, Borders does not teach: in the engaged position, reaction forces among the drive gear, the transfer gear, and the buffer gear bias the transfer gear and the swing arm toward the engaged position. Bastian teaches: in the engaged position, reaction forces among the drive gear, the transfer gear, and the buffer gear bias the transfer gear and the swing arm toward the engaged position (Fig. 10) [0057]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the buffer conveyor system having a buffer conveyor, at least one powered conveyor configured to selectively transfer power to the buffer conveyor via a power transmission mechanism that moves between an engaged configuration and a retracted configuration, a drive motor and a drive shaft configured to cause movement of a conveyor belt of the powered conveyor, the power transmission mechanism is configured to transfer power from the drive motor to the buffer conveyor, and a buffer shaft configured to receive power from the drive motor via the power transmission mechanism causing movement of a conveyor belt associated with the buffer conveyor, where in a retracted position, the transfer gear is disengaged from a buffer gear coupled to the buffer shaft of the buffer conveyor and in an engaged position, the transfer gear is engaged with the buffer gear coupled to the buffer shaft of the buffer conveyor taught by Borders with the buffer wall system having a frame, plurality of passive buffer conveyors arranged as shelves within the frame, a gantry system configured to move among the passive buffer conveyors, a gantry infeed conveyor and a gantry outfeed conveyor which selectively engage with articles to/from individual passive buffer conveyors, and a controller configured to instruct movement of the gantry system, and cause transfer of an item between the gantry infeed conveyor and the gantry outfeed conveyor and the selected passive buffer conveyor, where the power transmission mechanism further comprises a swing arm rotatably coupled to the drive shaft of the drive motor and a transfer gear associated with the swing arm, and operatively coupled to a drive gear of the drive shaft where in a retracted position of the swing arm, the transfer gear is disengaged from a buffer gear coupled to the buffer shaft of the buffer conveyor and in an engaged position of the swing arm, the transfer gear is engaged with the buffer gear coupled to the buffer shaft of the buffer conveyor, and in the engaged position, reaction forces among the drive gear, the transfer gear, and the buffer gear bias the transfer gear and the swing arm toward the engaged position taught by Bastian in order to provide an inter-conveyor transfer system with a means of engaging and disengaging a power transfer means while the conveyors are aligned in order to prevent damage to the system during engagement when the conveyors are out of alignment thereby allowing the alignment of the conveyors to be confirmed prior to engagement of the power transfer means. Regarding Claim 14, Borders teaches: the power transmission mechanism further comprises: an arm (212) that is moved between two positions by a motor [0033 & 0093 & 0094 & 0095]; and a pushrod (214 & 216) that is operatively connected between the servo arm and the transfer gear (Fig. 6A & Fig. 14) [0095]; wherein movement of the arm between the two positions causes corresponding movement of the transfer gear via the pushrod between the retracted position and the engaged position (Fig. 6A & Fig. 14) [0033]. Borders does not teach: the arm is a servo arm, and the motor is a servo motor; the transfer gear is movably mounted to a swing arm. Bastian teaches: the transfer gear (1008) is movably mounted to a swing arm (1006). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a robotic arm that is a servo arm powered by servo motors in order to provide a robotic arm with improved positional accuracy to prevent errors in the system due to mis-positioning of the arm since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that robotic servo arms driven by servo motors were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the buffer conveyor system having a buffer conveyor, at least one powered conveyor configured to selectively transfer power to the buffer conveyor via a power transmission mechanism that moves between an engaged configuration and a retracted configuration, a drive motor and a drive shaft configured to cause movement of a conveyor belt of the powered conveyor, the power transmission mechanism is configured to transfer power from the drive motor to the buffer conveyor, and a buffer shaft configured to receive power from the drive motor via the power transmission mechanism causing movement of a conveyor belt associated with the buffer conveyor, where in a retracted position, the transfer gear is disengaged from a buffer gear coupled to the buffer shaft of the buffer conveyor and in an engaged position, the transfer gear is engaged with the buffer gear coupled to the buffer shaft of the buffer conveyor, the power transmission mechanism further comprises an arm that is moved between two positions by a motor, a pushrod that is operatively connected between the servo arm and the transfer gear, and wherein movement of the arm between the two positions causes corresponding movement of the transfer gear via the pushrod between the retracted position and the engaged position taught by Borders with the buffer wall system having a frame, plurality of passive buffer conveyors arranged as shelves within the frame, a gantry system configured to move among the passive buffer conveyors, a gantry infeed conveyor and a gantry outfeed conveyor which selectively engage with articles to/from individual passive buffer conveyors, and a controller configured to instruct movement of the gantry system, and cause transfer of an item between the gantry infeed conveyor and the gantry outfeed conveyor and the selected passive buffer conveyor, where the power transmission mechanism further comprises a swing arm rotatably coupled to the drive shaft of the drive motor and a transfer gear associated with the swing arm, and operatively coupled to a drive gear of the drive shaft where in a retracted position of the swing arm, the transfer gear is disengaged from a buffer gear coupled to the buffer shaft of the buffer conveyor and in an engaged position of the swing arm, the transfer gear is engaged with the buffer gear coupled to the buffer shaft of the buffer conveyor, and the transfer gear is movably mounted to a swing arm taught by Bastian in order to provide an inter-conveyor transfer system with a means of engaging and disengaging a power transfer means while the conveyors are aligned in order to prevent damage to the system during engagement when the conveyors are out of alignment thereby allowing the alignment of the conveyors to be confirmed prior to engagement of the power transfer means. Regarding Claim 15, Borders teaches: the pushrod comprises a bias element (214) to facilitate engagement between teeth of the transfer gear and teeth of the buffer gear [0095]. Regarding Claim 19, Borders teaches: causing actuation of the power transmission mechanism further comprises: causing, by the controller via a motor, movement of an arm (212) to respective engaged position [0033 & 0093 & 0094 & 0095], thereby causing engagement among a drive gear of the drive shaft, a transfer gear (52 & 174) of the transfer arm (1000), and a buffer gear (50 & 176) of the buffer shaft (Fig. 6A) [0033]. Borders does not teach: the arm is a servo arm, and the motor is a servo motor; causing, by the controller, movement of a swing arm to a respective engaged position, thereby causing engagement among a drive gear of the drive shaft, a transfer gear of the swing arm, and a buffer gear of the buffer shaft. Bastian teaches: A method, comprising: determining, by a controller, to transfer an item (120) between at least one powered conveyor (104) and a buffer conveyor (124) [0046 & 0047 & 0048]; causing, by the controller, actuation of a power transmission mechanism of the at least one powered conveyor from a retracted configuration (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11) [0058] to an engaged configuration (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11) [0057 & 0058] to transfer power from the at least one powered conveyor to the buffer conveyor [0057 & 0058 & 0059]; and causing, by the controller via the power transmission mechanism, transfer of the item between the at least one powered conveyor and the buffer conveyor [0044 & 0057 & 0058 & 0059]; causing actuation of the power transmission mechanism further comprises: causing, by the controller, actuation of the power transmission mechanism to transfer power from a drive motor and a drive shaft of the at least one powered conveyor to a buffer shaft of the buffer conveyor [0057 & 0058 & 0059]; causing actuation of the power transmission mechanism further comprises: causing, by the controller, movement of a swing arm to a respective engaged position (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11) [0057 & 0058 & 0059], thereby causing engagement among a drive gear of the drive shaft, a transfer gear (1008) of the swing arm (1006), and a buffer gear of the buffer shaft (1014) (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11) [0057 & 0058]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a robotic arm that is a servo arm powered by servo motors in order to provide a robotic arm with improved positional accuracy to prevent errors in the system due to mis-positioning of the arm since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that robotic servo arms driven by servo motors were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of determining by a controller to transfer an item between at least one powered conveyor and a buffer conveyor, causing, by the controller, actuation of a power transmission mechanism of the at least one powered conveyor from a retracted configuration to an engaged configuration to transfer power from the at least one powered conveyor to the buffer conveyor, and causing, by the controller via the power transmission mechanism, transfer of the item between the at least one powered conveyor and the buffer conveyor where causing actuation of the power transmission mechanism further comprises causing, by the controller, actuation of the power transmission mechanism to transfer power from a drive motor and a drive shaft of the at least one powered conveyor to a buffer shaft of the buffer conveyor, where causing actuation of the power transmission mechanism further comprises: causing, by the controller via a motor, movement of an arm to respective engaged position, thereby causing engagement among a drive gear of the drive shaft, a transfer gear of the transfer arm, and a buffer gear of the buffer shaft taught by Borders with the method of determining by a controller to transfer an item between at least one powered conveyor and a buffer conveyor, causing, by the controller, actuation of a power transmission mechanism of the at least one powered conveyor from a retracted configuration to an engaged configuration to transfer power from the at least one powered conveyor to the buffer conveyor, and causing, by the controller via the power transmission mechanism, transfer of the item between the at least one powered conveyor and the buffer conveyor where causing actuation of the power transmission mechanism further comprises causing, by the controller, actuation of the power transmission mechanism to transfer power from a drive motor and a drive shaft of the at least one powered conveyor to a buffer shaft of the buffer conveyor, where causing actuation of the power transmission mechanism further comprises: causing, by the controller via a motor, movement of an arm to respective engaged position, thereby causing engagement among a drive gear of the drive shaft, a transfer gear of the transfer arm, and a buffer gear of the buffer shaft and causing, by the controller, movement of a swing arm to a respective engaged position, thereby causing engagement among a drive gear of the drive shaft, a transfer gear of the swing arm, and a buffer gear of the buffer shaft taught by Bastian in order to provide an inter-conveyor transfer system with a means of engaging and disengaging a power transfer means while the conveyors are aligned in order to prevent damage to the system during engagement when the conveyors are out of alignment thereby allowing the alignment of the conveyors to be confirmed prior to engagement of the power transfer means. Regarding Claim 20, Borders teaches: the drive motor and the drive shaft cause movement of a conveyor belt (56 & 164 & 166) associated with the at least one powered conveyor in a first direction [0033 & 0069 & 0070 & 0071 & 0075 & 0076 & 0077 & 0082]; and wherein engagement among the drive gear , the transfer gear (52 & 174), and the buffer gear (50 & 176) causes corresponding movement of a conveyor belt associated with the buffer conveyor in the first direction [0033 & 0075 & 0076 & 0077] . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent publications US 20130129455 A1, US 20180362252 A1, US 10065798 B2, US 10513394 B2, US 20150336741 A1, US 10173839 B2, US 8276739 B2, US 20120215344 A1, US 8170712 B2, US 8538578 B2, US 5364220 A, and US 20200338597 A1 have been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: buffer storage systems with gantry transfer systems . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRENDAN P TIGHE whose telephone number is 571-272-4872. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday, 7:00-5:30 EST If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, SAUL RODRIGUEZ can be reached on 571-272-7097. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652 /SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 2 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 3 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 4 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 5 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 6 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 7 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 8 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 9 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 10 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 11 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 12 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 13 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 14 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 15 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 16 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 17 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 18 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 19 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 20 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 21 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 22 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 23 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 24 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 25 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 26 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 27 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 28 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 29 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 30 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/812,636 Page 31 Art Unit: 3652