DETAILED ACTION
Claims 17-32 are pending and are currently under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-32 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green et al (US 2017/0253897) (IDS Reference), Sievernich et al (WO 2009/141367)(IDS Reference), and Krieger (2011).
Green teaches a composition comprising L-glufosinate. Green further teaches that L-glufosinate is much more potent that D-glufosinate and is preferable to the racemate (see entire document, for instance, [0003]-[0004]). Green teaches a method of making substantially pure L-glufosinate, and teaches compositions comprising up to 99% L-glufosinate (see entire document, for instance, [0060]). The L-glufosinate is taught as being the L-glufosinate ammonium (see entire document, for instance, [0070] and [0081]). Green further teaches that phenoxyacetic herbicides can be utilized in the composition, and teaches 2,4-D is a known phenoxyacetic herbicide (see entire document, for instance, [0101]). Green further teaches that the composition can comprise aqueous or non-aqueous carriers (see entire document, for instance, [0015]).
Green, while teaching all of the instantly claimed components, does not directly teach the ratio of the L-glufosinate to 2,4-D choline.
Sievernich teaches an herbicidal composition comprising herbicides A, B, and C, wherein herbicide A is taught as being a salt of glufosinate, including ammonium salt, herbicide B is pyroxasulfone, and C.3.4 is taught as being 2,4-D (see entire document, for instance, Abstract, claims 1 and 13, page 5, lines 25-26, and page 32, lines 22-23). Sievernich teaches that the ratio of herbicide A to herbicide B is preferably 100:1 to 1:2 (see entire document, for instance, page 5, lines 35-37). Sievernich teaches a ratio of B (pyroxasulfone) to C.3.4 (2,4-D) of 500:1 to 1:5 (see entire document, for instance, the paragraph bridging pages 33 and 34). Sievernich teaches that the herbicides can be applied simultaneously (see entire document, for instance, page 3, lines 8-10). Sievernich further teaches that the composition is a useful herbicide for crop plants that are resistant to glufosinate (see entire document, for instance, paragraph bridging pages 99 and 100). The composition can be applied pre- or post-emergence (see entire document, for instance, page 108, lines 24-34).
Krieger teaches the use of 2,4-D choline salt is a particularly useful form of 2,4-D herbicide (see entire document, for instance, pages 211-212).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to utilize L-glufosinate and 2,4-D choline in the instantly claimed amounts since Sievernich directly teaches glufosinate and 2,4-D are useful for herbicidal compositions in amounts that directly overlap the instantly claimed range and Krieger teaches that the choline salt is an herbicidally useful salt of 2,4-D. It is noted that MPEP 2144.05 states: “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Further, it is noted that MPEP 2144.05 states: "Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).”
It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to utilize the herbicidal composition of Green, Sievernichm and Krieger for controlling undesirable vegetation in a field with glufosinate resistant crops, such as cotton, since Green teaches the combination of L-glufosinate and 2,4-D and Sievernich teaches that compositions comprising said two herbicides are useful for controlling undesirable vegetation for fields with glufosinate resistant crops, including cotton (see entire document, for instance, page 98, lines 38-39).
Double Patenting
Claims 14-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,262,716. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims teach controlling undesirable vegetation utilizing L-glufosinate and 2,4-D choline. The patent recites using more than 95% of the L-enantiomer and a ratio of the components that overlaps the instant claims. While the patented claims are directed to treating soybeans, and the instant method claims are directed to cotton, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an effective herbicidal combination for soybeans on cotton in order to arrive at the same herbicidal benefits as found for soybeans.
Conclusion
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611