DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akenine-Moller et al. (PGPUB Document No. US 2017/0345206, hereinafter referred to as “Moller”).
Regarding claim 10, Moller teaches an image rendering device comprising computer readable storage medium storing computer instructions, when executed by one or more processors, the computer instructions implement an image rendering method, comprising:
Receiving one or more input models (object that is to be rendered such as character model 1302 (Moller: 0120));
Filtering the one or more input models to obtain one or more filtered input models, a plurality of filtering parameters used in the filtering being established based on data that have an input model already been eliminated in a rendered image frame (“the invention records a bitmask when performing an occlusion query, where one bit per tile (e.g., a tile of 8×8 pixels) is stored. During the occlusion query the bitmask is initialized so that each bit indicates whether the proxy is fully occluded in that tile. The bitmask is used later, when rendering the detailed geometry (i.e., the contained draw call), to efficiently remove work in tiles where we know the detailed geometry will be fully occluded.” The bitmask essentially is filtering the input (Moller: 0118));
And rendering a current image frame based on the one or more filtered input models (the resulting final rendered image frame 1640 (Moller: 0137)).
Regarding claim 11, Moller teaches the image rendering device of claim 10, wherein a method for establishing the filtering parameters includes:
Establishing initial filtering parameters corresponding to the input model (the bitmask is initialized so that each bit indicates whether the proxy is fully occluded in that tile (Moller: 0118));
Filtering the input model using the initial filtering parameters, and using the filtered input model for image rendering (The bitmask is used later, when rendering the detailed geometry (i.e., the contained draw call), to efficiently remove work in tiles where we know the detailed geometry will be fully occluded (Moller: 0118));
And updating the corresponding filtering parameters based on the data of the input model that has already been eliminated during the image rendering process (the occlusion query comprises of the step of the HiZ-test updating the OQ mask buffer and OQ mask register based on whether a tile is occluded or not (Moller: 0132, FIG.14)),
and performing image rendering on a subsequent image frame based on the updated filtering parameters (predicated draw calls 1630 which generate the final rendered image frames 1640, use the information from the bitmask 1615 to ignore tiles which are fully occluded (Moller: 0137)).
Regarding claim 13, Moller teaches the image rendering device of claim 11, wherein updating the corresponding filtering parameters based on the data of the input model that has already been eliminated during the image rendering process includes:
Updating the corresponding filtering parameters using the data of the input module that has already been eliminated during one of more first processes (in FIG. 14, in response to an occlusion query at 1400, each tile overlapping the proxy geometry is selected at 1401 and an HiZ test is performed using the tile at 1402. Results of the HiZ test 1402 are stored in the occlusion query (0Q) mask buffer at 1404. For example, if the tile is fully occluded, then a 1 will be stored for that tile within the OQ mask buffer 1404. In contrast, if the tile is partially occluded or not occluded, then a 0 will be stored within the OQ mask buffer. In addition, at 1403, an OQ register may be updated as well (Moller: 0132)),
The one or more first process including one or more of a backface culling process, a frustum culling process, and a rasterization culling process (the culling of Moller pertain to the rasterization process (Moller: FIG.15, FIG.16, 0134)).
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4 are corresponding method claim(s) of claim(s) 10, 11 and 13. The limitations of claim(s) 1, 2 and 4 are substantially similar to the limitations of claim(s) 10, 11 and 13. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected substantially similar to claim(s) 1, 2 and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moller as applied to the claim(s) above, and further in view of Voorhies (US Patent No. 7995056).
Regarding claim 12, Moller teaches the image rendering device of claim 11, wherein updating the corresponding filtering parameters based on the data of the input model that has already been eliminated during the image rendering process includes:
Updating the corresponding filtering parameters when the data of the input model that has been eliminated in the current image frame meets a threshold condition (“Results of the HiZ test 1402 are stored in the occlusion query (OQ) mask buffer at 1404. For example, if the tile is fully occluded, then a 1 will be stored for that tile within the OQ mask buffer 1404. In contrast, if the tile is partially occluded or not occluded, then a 0 will be stored within the OQ mask buffer. In addition, at 1403, an OQ register may be updated as well” (Moller: 0132)).
However, Moller does not expressly teach but Voorhies teaches the threshold condition being related to a probability of the data being eliminated in the subsequent image frame after the current image frame (The occlusion assessment metric provides an indication of the probability that an image is "occluded" by the culling data and a pixel associated with the image can be eliminated early in a pipeline (Voorhies: col.3, line 62 – 66)).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Moller such as to implement the assessment metric of Voorhies, because this enables added efficiency by implementing a probabilistic metric over the binary occlusion of Moller.
Claim 3 is similar in scope to claim 12. Therefore, the rejection to claim 3 similarly apples to claim 3.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9 and 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DAVID H CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616