DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/22/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US. Pub: 2021/0091320 A1~ hereinafter “Choi”) in view of Soh (US. Pub: 2022/0197343 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses (in at least fig. 5B) a display apparatus, comprising: a display panel including a display area (DA) and a non-display area (PA); a transistor part (TFT) on the display panel, the transistor part including at least one thin film transistor (TFT) and first and second planarization layers (111, 113; [0106]); an emission part (OLED) on the transistor part, the emission part including a bank (180) disposed on the second planarization layer (113); an encapsulation part (TFE) on the emission part; a touch part ([0133]) on the encapsulation part; a first dam (not labeled; it’s formed on top of item 147) disposed in the non-display area (PA) and comprising the second planarization layer (113) and the black bank (180; [0115]; i.e. same materials are being used); a second dam (not labeled; it’s formed on top of item 171) disposed in the non-display area and comprising the first and second planarization layers and the bank; a first line (147) disposed under the first and second planarization layers; a second line (171) disposed under the bank and the second planarization layer (113); and a third line (170) disposed under the bank, wherein the first line (147), the second line (171), and the third line (170) are electrically connected by contact in at least one region between the first dam and the second dam (see at least fig. 5B).
Choi does not expressly disclose one or more plates having one or more opening patterns extending in parallel in a first direction is included below the display panel.
Soh discloses (in at least figs.1-10) a display device comprised of, in part, one or more plates (SP1, SP2, SC1, SC2) having one or more opening patterns (see fig. 6) extending in parallel in a first direction is included below the display panel (DP) in order to support the display panel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Choi with the plates of Soh in order to provide suitable support and protection to the display panel.
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses (in at least fig. 5B) the at least one thin film transistor (TFT) disposed in the display area (DA) includes an oxide semiconductor layer ([0100]).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses (in at least fig. 5B) the least one thin film transistor (TFT) disposed in the display area (DA) includes a switching transistor or a driving transistor for driving of a subpixel ([0098]).
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses (in at least fig. 5B) a gate driving circuit configured with the at least one thin film transistor (TFT-P) disposed in the non-display area (PA), wherein the at least one thin film transistor (TFT-P) of the gate driving circuit includes an oxide semiconductor layer or a polycrystalline semiconductor layer ([0098]-[0100]).
Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses (in at least fig. 5B) the least one thin film transistor (TFT-P) disposed in the non-display area (PA) includes a gate driver including a transistor or an emission transistor for driving of a GIP (fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 6, Choi discloses (in at least fig. 5B) the first line (147), the second line (171), and the third line (170), but fails to disclose the lines are disposed to overlap a portion of the gate driver.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lines of Choi such that they are disposed to overlap a portion of the gate driver, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7, Choi discloses (in at least fig. 5B) the least one thin film transistor (TFT) disposed in the display area (DA) and the least one thin film transistor (TFT-P) disposed in the non-display area (PA) are formed simultaneously in a same process.
The limitation “formed simultaneously in a same process” is a product-by-process limitation. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 8, Choi discloses (in at least fig. 5B) a buffer layer (101) disposed on the substrate (100), wherein the transistor part (TFT, TFT-P) is disposed on the buffer layer.
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses (in at least fig. 5B) the first planarization layer (111) is disposed on the at least one thin film transistor (TFT, TFT-P), and wherein the second planarization layer (113) is disposed on the first planarization layer.
Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses (in at least fig. 5B) the first planarization layer (111) is disposed on a source electrode and a drain electrode of the at least one thin film transistor.
Regarding claim 11, Choi discloses (in at least fig. 5B) the first planarization layer (111) is disposed on a portion of the first line.
Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses (in at least fig. 5B) a connection electrode (see fig. 5B) disposed on the first planarization layer (111), and wherein the second planarization layer (113) is disposed on the connection electrode and a portion of the second line.
Regarding claim 13, Choi discloses (in at least [0114]) the black bank is formed of one or more materials of an inorganic insulating material including SiNx or SiOx or an organic insulating material including benzocyclobutene (BCB), acryl resin, epoxy resin, phenolic resin, polyamide resin, or polyimide resin.
Regarding claim 14, Soh discloses (in at least figs.1-10) the display panel is foldable along a certain curvature radius with respect to the first direction.
Regarding claim 15, Soh discloses (in at least figs.1-10) the display panel is folded such that a display surfaces corresponding to the display area face each other.
Regarding claim 16, Soh discloses (in at least figs.1-10) an external display panel exposed on an outside when the display panel is folded.
Regarding claim 17, Soh discloses (in at least figs.1-10) the one or more opening patterns are configured in a discontinuous shape.
Regarding claim 18, Soh discloses (in at least figs.1-10) a length of each of the one or more opening patterns is shorter than a width of the one or more plates in the first direction.
Regarding claim 19, Soh discloses (in at least figs.1-10) the one or more opening patterns have an oblong shape, a rectangular shape, a rhombus or a diamond shape, or a circular shape.
Regarding claim 20, Choi as modified by Soh discloses (in at least figs.1-11 Choi) a hole region (see at least fig. 11C) disposed at a periphery of the display area.
Regarding claim 21, Choi as modified by Soh discloses (in at least figs.1-11 both refs) the hole region is in a portion of at least one of the one or more plates, the transistor part, the emission part, the encapsulation part, or the touch part.
Regarding claim 22, Choi as modified by Soh discloses (in at least figs.1-11 [0063] Choi) one or more of a camera, a sensor, or an optical part are disposed in the hole region.
Regarding claim 23, Choi as modified by Soh discloses (in at least figs.1-11 [0063] Choi) a display area of the hole region is provided in a sparse structure and has a structure which may receive light from the outside by a camera in the hole region (see fig. 11C).
Regarding claim 24, Choi as modified by Soh discloses (in at least figs.1-11 both refs) an external display panel exposed on an outside when the display panel is folded; and a hole region disposed at a periphery of a display area of the outside display panel.
Regarding claim 25, Choi as modified by Soh discloses (in at least figs.1-11 both refs) a light emitting device layer configured by stacking two or more of the emission parts,
Regarding claim 26, Choi as modified by Soh does not expressly disclose a first charge generating layer provided between the two or more of the emission parts.
However, it is well-known in the art to form display device comprises a first charge generating layer provided between the two or more of the emission parts as evident by Han et al. (US. Pub: 2022/0165815 A1~hereinafter “Han”) at least ([0073]) in order to generate charge to the light emitting layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Choi as modified by Soh with the charge generating layer Han in order to generate charge to the light emitting layer.
Regarding claim 27, Choi discloses (in at least fig. 5B) the first line, the second line, and the third line are configured to transfer a voltage to a cathode electrode of the emission part.
Regarding claim 28, Han discloses (in at least fig. 3) a capping layer (171) disposed on the cathode electrode (153).
Regarding claim 29, Choi discloses (in at least fig. 5B) the encapsulation part comprises first to third encapsulation layers (310, 320, 330), wherein the touch part ([0133]) is disposed on the third encapsulation layer (see fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 30, Choi discloses (in at least fig. 5B; [0133]-[0139]) the touch part comprises a buffer layer, a bridge electrode, a touch electrode, an insulation layer, and a passivation layer .
Regarding claim 31, Choi discloses (in at least fig. 5B; [0133]-[0139]) the passivation layer of the touch part is disposed on the touch electrode, wherein the passivation layer extends to an area where a connection part between the display panel and an FPCB disposed in the non-display area.
Regarding claim 32, Choi discloses (in at least fig. 5B; [0133]-[0139]) the passivation layer includes one or more materials of an inorganic insulating material including SiNx or SiOx or an organic insulating material including BCB, acryl resin, epoxy resin, phenolic resin, polyamide resin, or polyimide resin.
Claim(s) 33-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US. Pub: 2021/0091320 A1~ hereinafter “Choi”) in view of Soh (US. Pub: 2022/0197343 A1) and further in view of Kishimoto et al. (US. Pub: 2022/0291716 A1~hereinafter “Kishimoto”).
Regarding claim 33, Choi as modified by Soh discloses all the claimed limitations except for a polarization member disposed on the passivation layer; a first adhesive member disposed between the passivation layer and the polarization member; and a cover member disposed on the polarization member.
Kishimoto in the same field of endeavor discloses (in at least fig. 3) a polarization member (210; [0096]) disposed on the display panel (10); a first adhesive member (AD1) disposed between the display panel (10) and the polarization member (210); and a cover member (230) disposed on the polarization member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Choi as modified by Soh with the polarization member teaching of Kishimoto for the benefit of reducing external light reflections and glare.
Regarding claim 34, Kishimoto discloses (in at least fig. 3) a second adhesive member (AD2) disposed between the polarization member (210) and the cover member (230).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Choi as modified by Soh and Kishimoto discloses (in at least [0061]; [0100] Kishimoto) a patterned layer of a black matrix (240) disposed along a border portion of the passivation layer.
Regarding claim 36, Kishimoto discloses (in at least [0100]) the black matrix is formed of an organic layer including a resin material.
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Choi as modified by Soh and Kishimoto does not expressly disclose the black matrix is formed of a colored organic resin such as acryl, epoxy, or polyimide resin, which includes one of carbon black and a black pigment.
However, Kishimoto discloses ([0100]) “the light-blocking layer 240 includes an inorganic black pigment such as carbon black or an organic black pigment.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a colored organic resin such as acryl, epoxy, or polyimide resin, which includes one of carbon black and a black pigment to form the black matrix or light blocking layer of Kishimoto, since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination.
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875