CTNF 18/812,819 CTNF 90515 DETAILED ACTION The action is responsive to the Application filed on 08/22/2024. Claims 1-16 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 15 and 16 are independent claims. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: DISPLAY CONTROL DEVICE, CONTROL METHOD, AND RECORDING MEDIUM FOR CHANGING A HOME SCREEN . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Vries et al. (US 20240393933 A1, hereinafter de Vries) in view of Marimuthu et al. (US 20150378537 A1, hereinafter Marimuthu) . As to claim 1 , de Vries discloses a display control device having a plurality of home screens each including a field for performing a predetermined function, the display control device comprising: one or more processors and one or more memories (“The one or more processors 120 run or execute various software programs and/or sets of instructions stored in memory 102 to perform various functions for device 100 and to process data,” de Vries paragraph 0041) , cooperating to: control display of a predetermined screen that includes a first field indicating a first home screen included in the plurality of home screens and that is different from the first home screen ("As shown in FIG. 6Z, in response to detecting user input 602-15 on first input region 506 meets a first set of one or more criteria (e.g., a long press without a release from first input region 506), device 100 displays affordances for available focus modes, including a 'Do Not Disturb' mode affordance 618-2, a 'Work' mode affordance 618-4, a 'Sleep' mode affordance 618-8, a 'Driving' mode affordance 618-10, and a 'Personal' mode affordance 618-12," de Vries paragraph 0257; "In some embodiments, device 100 displays focus modes that have already been configured (e.g., previously set up and configured by the user). In some embodiments, device 100 displays some focus modes even if those focus modes are not yet configured (e.g., and when selected, will prompt the user to either configure the focus mode, and/or provide suggested settings for configuring the focus mode," de Vries paragraph 0257; "In some embodiments, in conjunction with changing the notification delivery behavior for a respective set of applications in response to the first input, the electronic device also implements different application content display rules, and/or different wake screen/home screen arrangements (e.g., wallpaper of dark screen, wall paper, and/or apps available on home screen) for a respective operating mode, and will toggle on/off these rules along with the notification delivery behavior rules for a respective focus mode," de Vries paragraph 0304; "In some embodiments, the plurality of operating modes that are toggled on and off and/or selected also includes operating modes that present application content for different sets of applications using different sets of display rules, and/or have different arrangements of application icons and widgets, background, wallpaper, visual appearances for one or more system user interfaces (e.g., time element, font, color scheme, and other visual features), such as the wake screen user interface, lock screen user interface, and/or home screen user interfaces," de Vries paragraph 0306, each focus mode has an associated home screen icons, layout and background; de Vries Figure 6Z 618-2, 618-4, 618-8, 618-10, 618-12) ; and set a background color for each of the plurality of home screens ("In some embodiments, device 100 displays focus modes that have already been configured (e.g., previously set up and configured by the user). In some embodiments, device 100 displays some focus modes even if those focus modes are not yet configured (e.g., and when selected, will prompt the user to either configure the focus mode, and/or provide suggested settings for configuring the focus mode," de Vries paragraph 0257; "In some embodiments, in conjunction with changing the notification delivery behavior for a respective set of applications in response to the first input, the electronic device also implements different application content display rules, and/or different wake screen/home screen arrangements (e.g., wallpaper of dark screen, wall paper, and/or apps available on home screen) for a respective operating mode, and will toggle on/off these rules along with the notification delivery behavior rules for a respective focus mode," de Vries paragraph 0304; "In some embodiments, the plurality of operating modes that are toggled on and off and/or selected also includes operating modes that present application content for different sets of applications using different sets of display rules, and/or have different arrangements of application icons and widgets, background, wallpaper, visual appearances for one or more system user interfaces (e.g., time element, font, color scheme, and other visual features), such as the wake screen user interface, lock screen user interface, and/or home screen user interfaces," de Vries paragraph 0306, each focus mode has an associated home screen icons, layout and background; de Vries Figure 6Z 618-2, 618-4, 618-8, 618-10, 618-12) , wherein the first field included in the predetermined screen in a first form ("In some embodiments, in conjunction with changing the notification delivery behavior for a respective set of applications in response to the first input, the electronic device also implements different application content display rules, and/or different wake screen/home screen arrangements (e.g., wallpaper of dark screen, wall paper, and/or apps available on home screen) for a respective operating mode, and will toggle on/off these rules along with the notification delivery behavior rules for a respective focus mode," de Vries paragraph 0304; "In some embodiments, the plurality of operating modes that are toggled on and off and/or selected also includes operating modes that present application content for different sets of applications using different sets of display rules, and/or have different arrangements of application icons and widgets, background, wallpaper, visual appearances for one or more system user interfaces (e.g., time element, font, color scheme, and other visual features), such as the wake screen user interface, lock screen user interface, and/or home screen user interfaces," de Vries paragraph 0306, changing the color scheme of on-screen elements including the fields) . However de Vries does not appear to explicitly disclose a limitation: wherein the first field included in the predetermined screen in a first form when the background color of the first home screen is set to the first form, and wherein the first field included in the predetermined screen in a second form when setting of the background color of the first home screen is changed from the first form to the second form. Marimuthu teaches a limitation: wherein the first field included in the predetermined screen in a first form when the background color of the first home screen is set to the first form ("In some implementations, the user may submit information indicating a manner in which color customizing application 220 is to cause a color scheme to be applied to different user interfaces of user device 210 (e.g., user interfaces of different applications of user device 210). For example, the user may submit information indicating a manner in which color customizing application 220 is to cause a color associated with a lock screen user interface of user device 210 (e.g., a background color) to match a primary color of the color scheme, a color associated with a home screen user interface of user device 210 to match a secondary color of the color scheme and a texture represented by the color scheme, colors of application icons of the home screen to match the primary color, a color associated with user interfaces of one or more applications of user device 210 to match a combination of the secondary color and a tertiary color of the color scheme, a color of one or more portions of user interfaces of a particular application of user device 210 to match an object represented by the color scheme, etc," Marimuthu paragraph 0048, colors of on-screen elements can be changed to match a set background color (i.e., an on-screen element's color will change when the background color is changed)) , and wherein the first field included in the predetermined screen in a second form when setting of the background color of the first home screen is changed from the first form to the second form ("In some implementations, the user may submit information indicating a manner in which color customizing application 220 is to cause a color scheme to be applied to different user interfaces of user device 210 (e.g., user interfaces of different applications of user device 210). For example, the user may submit information indicating a manner in which color customizing application 220 is to cause a color associated with a lock screen user interface of user device 210 (e.g., a background color) to match a primary color of the color scheme, a color associated with a home screen user interface of user device 210 to match a secondary color of the color scheme and a texture represented by the color scheme, colors of application icons of the home screen to match the primary color, a color associated with user interfaces of one or more applications of user device 210 to match a combination of the secondary color and a tertiary color of the color scheme, a color of one or more portions of user interfaces of a particular application of user device 210 to match an object represented by the color scheme, etc," Marimuthu paragraph 0048, colors of on-screen elements can be changed to match a set background color (i.e., an on-screen element's color will change when the background color is changed)) . Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of de Vries to automatically determine label colors based on a picked background color as taught by Marimuthu. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the colors could match without the user having to manually determine each color thus reducing steps for the user and resulting in greater ease of use. As to claim 2 , de Vries as modified by Marimuthu further discloses the display control device according to Claim 1, wherein the predetermined screen is a screen including a plurality of fields each indicating one of the plurality of home screens ("As shown in FIG. 6Z, in response to detecting user input 602-15 on first input region 506 meets a first set of one or more criteria (e.g., a long press without a release from first input region 506), device 100 displays affordances for available focus modes, including a 'Do Not Disturb' mode affordance 618-2, a 'Work' mode affordance 618-4, a 'Sleep' mode affordance 618-8, a 'Driving' mode affordance 618-10, and a 'Personal' mode affordance 618-12," de Vries paragraph 0257; de Vries Figure 6Z 618-2, 618-4, 618-8, 618-10, 618-12) . As to claim 3 , de Vries as modified by Marimuthu further discloses the display control device according to Claim 1, wherein the predetermined screen is a selection screen for selecting any one of the plurality of home screens ("As shown in FIG. 6Z, in response to detecting a user input 618-16 on the 'Work' mode affordance 618-16, device 100 displays additional information (e.g., textual information) 618-6 about the 'Work' mode. A respective focus mode affordance allows a selection of functions to be turned on and off during the focus modes (e.g., notifications, network connection, incoming communication requests, display brightness, and/or other functions and parameters) and optionally the duration of the focus mode (e.g., a respective time from a reference time, a respective time until a particular triggering event, a respective time until a particular time of day, one hour from now, two hours from now, until tomorrow morning, until I leave this location, and/or other types of durations) can be selected," de Vries paragraph 0258) . As to claim 4 , de Vries as modified by Marimuthu further discloses the display control device according to Claim 3, wherein the one or more processors and the one or more memories further cooperating to control display of any one of the home screens that is selected on the selection screen ("As shown in FIG. 6Z, in response to detecting user input 602-15 on first input region 506 meets a first set of one or more criteria (e.g., a long press without a release from first input region 506), device 100 displays affordances for available focus modes, including a 'Do Not Disturb' mode affordance 618-2, a 'Work' mode affordance 618-4, a 'Sleep' mode affordance 618-8, a 'Driving' mode affordance 618-10, and a 'Personal' mode affordance 618-12," de Vries paragraph 0257; "As shown in FIG. 6Z, in response to detecting a user input 618-16 on the 'Work' mode affordance 618-16, device 100 displays additional information (e.g., textual information) 618-6 about the 'Work' mode. A respective focus mode affordance allows a selection of functions to be turned on and off during the focus modes (e.g., notifications, network connection, incoming communication requests, display brightness, and/or other functions and parameters) and optionally the duration of the focus mode (e.g., a respective time from a reference time, a respective time until a particular triggering event, a respective time until a particular time of day, one hour from now, two hours from now, until tomorrow morning, until I leave this location, and/or other types of durations) can be selected. For example, if the user selects the 'Work' mode," de Vries paragraph 0258, user can select any focus mode affordance to change to the focus mode's respective home screen) . As to claim 5 , de Vries as modified by Marimuthu further discloses the display control device according to Claim 1, wherein the first field is a field for selecting the first home screen from among the plurality of home screens ("As shown in FIG. 6Z, in response to detecting a user input 618-16 on the ‘Work’ mode affordance 618-16, device 100 displays additional information (e.g., textual information) 618-6 about the ‘Work’ mode. A respective focus mode affordance allows a selection of functions to be turned on and off during the focus modes (e.g., notifications, network connection, incoming communication requests, display brightness, and/or other functions and parameters) and optionally the duration of the focus mode (e.g., a respective time from a reference time, a respective time until a particular triggering event, a respective time until a particular time of day, one hour from now, two hours from now, until tomorrow morning, until I leave this location, and/or other types of durations) can be selected," de Vries paragraph 0258) . As to claim 6 , de Vries as modified by Marimuthu further discloses the display control device according to Claim 1, wherein the first field is a field for displaying the first home screen among the plurality of home screens ("As shown in FIG. 6Z, in response to detecting user input 602-15 on first input region 506 meets a first set of one or more criteria (e.g., a long press without a release from first input region 506), device 100 displays affordances for available focus modes, including a 'Do Not Disturb' mode affordance 618-2, a 'Work' mode affordance 618-4, a 'Sleep' mode affordance 618-8, a 'Driving' mode affordance 618-10, and a 'Personal' mode affordance 618-12," de Vries paragraph 0257; de Vries Figure 6Z 618-2, 618-4, 618-8, 618-10, 618-12) . As to claim 7 , de Vries as modified by Marimuthu further discloses the display control device according to Claim 1, wherein the first field is a soft key indicating the first home screen ("As shown in FIG. 6Z, in response to detecting a user input 618-16 on the 'Work' mode affordance 618-16, device 100 displays additional information (e.g., textual information) 618-6 about the 'Work' mode. A respective focus mode affordance allows a selection of functions to be turned on and off during the focus modes (e.g., notifications, network connection, incoming communication requests, display brightness, and/or other functions and parameters) and optionally the duration of the focus mode (e.g., a respective time from a reference time, a respective time until a particular triggering event, a respective time until a particular time of day, one hour from now, two hours from now, until tomorrow morning, until I leave this location, and/or other types of durations) can be selected," de Vries paragraph 0258) . As to claim 8 , de Vries as modified by Marimuthu further discloses the display control device according to Claim 1, wherein the first field has a color of the background color of an icon representing the first home screen ("In some implementations, the user may submit information indicating a manner in which color customizing application 220 is to cause a color scheme to be applied to different user interfaces of user device 210 (e.g., user interfaces of different applications of user device 210). For example, the user may submit information indicating a manner in which color customizing application 220 is to cause a color associated with a lock screen user interface of user device 210 (e.g., a background color) to match a primary color of the color scheme, a color associated with a home screen user interface of user device 210 to match a secondary color of the color scheme and a texture represented by the color scheme, colors of application icons of the home screen to match the primary color, a color associated with user interfaces of one or more applications of user device 210 to match a combination of the secondary color and a tertiary color of the color scheme, a color of one or more portions of user interfaces of a particular application of user device 210 to match an object represented by the color scheme, etc," Marimuthu paragraph 0048, colors of on-screen elements can be changed to match a set background color (i.e., an on-screen element's color will change when the background color is changed)) . As to claim 9 de Vries as modified by Marimuthu further discloses the display control device according to Claim 1, wherein the one or more processors and one or more memories further cooperating to control display of the first field included in the predetermined screen in a first form if the background color of the first home screen is set to the first form and an instruction to display the predetermined screen is received, and wherein the one or more processors and one or more memories further cooperating to control display of the first field included in the predetermined screen in a second form if setting of the background color of the first home screen is changed from the first form to the second form by the setting unit and an instruction to display the predetermined screen is received ("In some implementations, the user may submit information indicating a manner in which color customizing application 220 is to cause a color scheme to be applied to different user interfaces of user device 210 (e.g., user interfaces of different applications of user device 210). For example, the user may submit information indicating a manner in which color customizing application 220 is to cause a color associated with a lock screen user interface of user device 210 (e.g., a background color) to match a primary color of the color scheme, a color associated with a home screen user interface of user device 210 to match a secondary color of the color scheme and a texture represented by the color scheme, colors of application icons of the home screen to match the primary color, a color associated with user interfaces of one or more applications of user device 210 to match a combination of the secondary color and a tertiary color of the color scheme, a color of one or more portions of user interfaces of a particular application of user device 210 to match an object represented by the color scheme, etc," Marimuthu paragraph 0048, colors of on-screen elements can be changed to match a set background color (i.e., an on-screen element's color will change when the background color is changed)) . As to claim 10 de Vries as modified by Marimuthu further discloses the display control device according to Claim 1, wherein a field for displaying the predetermined screen is displayed in the predetermined field of the first home screen ("In response to detecting user input 602-14, device 100 displays, in session region 502-24, an indication of a current association of first input region 506 to the system application for configuring the focus mode of the device 100. Session region 502-24 includes a preview (e.g., an icon 618-1 corresponding to the system application for controlling the focus mode being turned on) of the application first input region 506 is currently associated with, and a textual label," de Vries paragraph 0255; "FIG. 6Z illustrates that while session region 502-24 is displayed, in response to detecting user input 602-15 (FIG. 6Y), device 100 replaces display of home screen 500 with display of focus mode user interface 618-14. In some embodiments, focus mode user interface 618-14 is provided on a top layer of display content, with an intervening layer that blurs and/or partially obscures the home screen 500, which is the lowest layer of display content," de Vries Figure 6Y 502-24, label with indication of which focus mode is activated) . As to claim 11 de Vries as modified by Marimuthu further discloses the display control device according to Claim 10, wherein information indicating the first home screen is displayed in the field for displaying the predetermined screen ("In response to detecting user input 602-14, device 100 displays, in session region 502-24, an indication of a current association of first input region 506 to the system application for configuring the focus mode of the device 100. Session region 502-24 includes a preview (e.g., an icon 618-1 corresponding to the system application for controlling the focus mode being turned on) of the application first input region 506 is currently associated with, and a textual label," de Vries paragraph 0255; de Vries Figure 6Y 502-24, label with indication of which focus mode is activated) . As to claim 12 de Vries as modified by Marimuthu further discloses the display control device according to Claim 11, wherein the information indicating the first home screen includes a name of the first home screen and an icon representing the first home screen ("In response to detecting user input 602-14, device 100 displays, in session region 502-24, an indication of a current association of first input region 506 to the system application for configuring the focus mode of the device 100. Session region 502-24 includes a preview (e.g., an icon 618-1 corresponding to the system application for controlling the focus mode being turned on) of the application first input region 506 is currently associated with, and a textual label," de Vries paragraph 0255; de Vries Figure 6Y 502-24, label with indication of which focus mode is activated) . As to claim 14 de Vries as modified by Marimuthu further discloses the display control device according to Claim 1, wherein the one or more processors and the one or more memories further cooperating to: set icons each representing one of the plurality of home screens ("As shown in FIG. 6Z, in response to detecting user input 602-15 on first input region 506 meets a first set of one or more criteria (e.g., a long press without a release from first input region 506), device 100 displays affordances for available focus modes, including a “Do Not Disturb” mode affordance 618-2, a “Work” mode affordance 618-4, a “Sleep” mode affordance 618-8, a “Driving” mode affordance 618-10, and a “Personal” mode affordance 618-12," de Vries paragraph 0257; de Vries Figure 6Z 618-2, 618-4, 618-8, 618-10 and 618-12 has both a label and an icon for reach focus mode) . As to claim 15 , de Vries discloses a method for controlling a display control device having a plurality of home screens each including a field for performing a predetermined function, the method comprising: displaying a predetermined screen that includes a first field indicating a first home screen included in the plurality of home screens and that is different from the first home screen ("As shown in FIG. 6Z, in response to detecting user input 602-15 on first input region 506 meets a first set of one or more criteria (e.g., a long press without a release from first input region 506), device 100 displays affordances for available focus modes, including a 'Do Not Disturb' mode affordance 618-2, a 'Work' mode affordance 618-4, a 'Sleep' mode affordance 618-8, a 'Driving' mode affordance 618-10, and a 'Personal' mode affordance 618-12," de Vries paragraph 0257; "In some embodiments, device 100 displays focus modes that have already been configured (e.g., previously set up and configured by the user). In some embodiments, device 100 displays some focus modes even if those focus modes are not yet configured (e.g., and when selected, will prompt the user to either configure the focus mode, and/or provide suggested settings for configuring the focus mode," de Vries paragraph 0257; "In some embodiments, in conjunction with changing the notification delivery behavior for a respective set of applications in response to the first input, the electronic device also implements different application content display rules, and/or different wake screen/home screen arrangements (e.g., wallpaper of dark screen, wall paper, and/or apps available on home screen) for a respective operating mode, and will toggle on/off these rules along with the notification delivery behavior rules for a respective focus mode," de Vries paragraph 0304; "In some embodiments, the plurality of operating modes that are toggled on and off and/or selected also includes operating modes that present application content for different sets of applications using different sets of display rules, and/or have different arrangements of application icons and widgets, background, wallpaper, visual appearances for one or more system user interfaces (e.g., time element, font, color scheme, and other visual features), such as the wake screen user interface, lock screen user interface, and/or home screen user interfaces," de Vries paragraph 0306, each focus mode has an associated home screen icons, layout and background; de Vries Figure 6Z 618-2, 618-4, 618-8, 618-10, 618-12) ; and setting a background color for each of the plurality of home screens ("In some embodiments, device 100 displays focus modes that have already been configured (e.g., previously set up and configured by the user). In some embodiments, device 100 displays some focus modes even if those focus modes are not yet configured (e.g., and when selected, will prompt the user to either configure the focus mode, and/or provide suggested settings for configuring the focus mode," de Vries paragraph 0257; "In some embodiments, in conjunction with changing the notification delivery behavior for a respective set of applications in response to the first input, the electronic device also implements different application content display rules, and/or different wake screen/home screen arrangements (e.g., wallpaper of dark screen, wall paper, and/or apps available on home screen) for a respective operating mode, and will toggle on/off these rules along with the notification delivery behavior rules for a respective focus mode," de Vries paragraph 0304; "In some embodiments, the plurality of operating modes that are toggled on and off and/or selected also includes operating modes that present application content for different sets of applications using different sets of display rules, and/or have different arrangements of application icons and widgets, background, wallpaper, visual appearances for one or more system user interfaces (e.g., time element, font, color scheme, and other visual features), such as the wake screen user interface, lock screen user interface, and/or home screen user interfaces," de Vries paragraph 0306, each focus mode has an associated home screen icons, layout and background; de Vries Figure 6Z 618-2, 618-4, 618-8, 618-10, 618-12) , wherein in displaying, the first field included in the predetermined screen is displayed in a first form ("In some embodiments, in conjunction with changing the notification delivery behavior for a respective set of applications in response to the first input, the electronic device also implements different application content display rules, and/or different wake screen/home screen arrangements (e.g., wallpaper of dark screen, wall paper, and/or apps available on home screen) for a respective operating mode, and will toggle on/off these rules along with the notification delivery behavior rules for a respective focus mode," de Vries paragraph 0304; "In some embodiments, the plurality of operating modes that are toggled on and off and/or selected also includes operating modes that present application content for different sets of applications using different sets of display rules, and/or have different arrangements of application icons and widgets, background, wallpaper, visual appearances for one or more system user interfaces (e.g., time element, font, color scheme, and other visual features), such as the wake screen user interface, lock screen user interface, and/or home screen user interfaces," de Vries paragraph 0306, changing the color scheme of on-screen elements including the fields) . However de Vries does not appear to explicitly disclose a limitation wherein in displaying, the first field included in the predetermined screen is displayed in a first form if the background color of the first home screen is set to the first form, and the first field included in the predetermined screen is displayed in a second form if setting of the background color of the first home screen is changed from the first form to the second form in setting a background color. Marimuthu teaches a limitation wherein in displaying, the first field included in the predetermined screen is displayed in a first form if the background color of the first home screen is set to the first form, and the first field included in the predetermined screen is displayed in a second form if setting of the background color of the first home screen is changed from the first form to the second form in setting a background color ("In some implementations, the user may submit information indicating a manner in which color customizing application 220 is to cause a color scheme to be applied to different user interfaces of user device 210 (e.g., user interfaces of different applications of user device 210). For example, the user may submit information indicating a manner in which color customizing application 220 is to cause a color associated with a lock screen user interface of user device 210 (e.g., a background color) to match a primary color of the color scheme, a color associated with a home screen user interface of user device 210 to match a secondary color of the color scheme and a texture represented by the color scheme, colors of application icons of the home screen to match the primary color, a color associated with user interfaces of one or more applications of user device 210 to match a combination of the secondary color and a tertiary color of the color scheme, a color of one or more portions of user interfaces of a particular application of user device 210 to match an object represented by the color scheme, etc," Marimuthu paragraph 0048, colors of on-screen elements can be changed to match a set background color (i.e., an on-screen element's color will change when the background color is changed)). Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of de Vries to automatically determine label colors based on a picked background color as taught by Marimuthu. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the colors could match without the user having to manually determine each color thus reducing steps for the user and resulting in greater ease of use. As to claim 16 , de Vries discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing one or more control programs including executable instructions, which when executed by a computer of a display control device having a plurality of home screens each including a field for performing a predetermined function, cause the computer to perform a method (“The one or more processors 120 run or execute various software programs and/or sets of instructions stored in memory 102 to perform various functions for device 100 and to process data,” de Vries paragraph 0041) comprising: displaying a predetermined screen that includes a first field indicating a first home screen included in the plurality of home screens and that is different from the first home screen ("As shown in FIG. 6Z, in response to detecting user input 602-15 on first input region 506 meets a first set of one or more criteria (e.g., a long press without a release from first input region 506), device 100 displays affordances for available focus modes, including a 'Do Not Disturb' mode affordance 618-2, a 'Work' mode affordance 618-4, a 'Sleep' mode affordance 618-8, a 'Driving' mode affordance 618-10, and a 'Personal' mode affordance 618-12," de Vries paragraph 0257; "In some embodiments, device 100 displays focus modes that have already been configured (e.g., previously set up and configured by the user). In some embodiments, device 100 displays some focus modes even if those focus modes are not yet configured (e.g., and when selected, will prompt the user to either configure the focus mode, and/or provide suggested settings for configuring the focus mode," de Vries paragraph 0257; "In some embodiments, in conjunction with changing the notification delivery behavior for a respective set of applications in response to the first input, the electronic device also implements different application content display rules, and/or different wake screen/home screen arrangements (e.g., wallpaper of dark screen, wall paper, and/or apps available on home screen) for a respective operating mode, and will toggle on/off these rules along with the notification delivery behavior rules for a respective focus mode," de Vries paragraph 0304; "In some embodiments, the plurality of operating modes that are toggled on and off and/or selected also includes operating modes that present application content for different sets of applications using different sets of display rules, and/or have different arrangements of application icons and widgets, background, wallpaper, visual appearances for one or more system user interfaces (e.g., time element, font, color scheme, and other visual features), such as the wake screen user interface, lock screen user interface, and/or home screen user interfaces," de Vries paragraph 0306, each focus mode has an associated home screen icons, layout and background; de Vries Figure 6Z 618-2, 618-4, 618-8, 618-10, 618-12) ; and setting a background color for each of the plurality of home screens ("In some embodiments, device 100 displays focus modes that have already been configured (e.g., previously set up and configured by the user). In some embodiments, device 100 displays some focus modes even if those focus modes are not yet configured (e.g., and when selected, will prompt the user to either configure the focus mode, and/or provide suggested settings for configuring the focus mode," de Vries paragraph 0257; "In some embodiments, in conjunction with changing the notification delivery behavior for a respective set of applications in response to the first input, the electronic device also implements different application content display rules, and/or different wake screen/home screen arrangements (e.g., wallpaper of dark screen, wall paper, and/or apps available on home screen) for a respective operating mode, and will toggle on/off these rules along with the notification delivery behavior rules for a respective focus mode," de Vries paragraph 0304; "In some embodiments, the plurality of operating modes that are toggled on and off and/or selected also includes operating modes that present application content for different sets of applications using different sets of display rules, and/or have different arrangements of application icons and widgets, background, wallpaper, visual appearances for one or more system user interfaces (e.g., time element, font, color scheme, and other visual features), such as the wake screen user interface, lock screen user interface, and/or home screen user interfaces," de Vries paragraph 0306, each focus mode has an associated home screen icons, layout and background; de Vries Figure 6Z 618-2, 618-4, 618-8, 618-10, 618-12) , wherein in displaying, the first field included in the predetermined screen is displayed in a first form ("In some embodiments, in conjunction with changing the notification delivery behavior for a respective set of applications in response to the first input, the electronic device also implements different application content display rules, and/or different wake screen/home screen arrangements (e.g., wallpaper of dark screen, wall paper, and/or apps available on home screen) for a respective operating mode, and will toggle on/off these rules along with the notification delivery behavior rules for a respective focus mode," de Vries paragraph 0304; "In some embodiments, the plurality of operating modes that are toggled on and off and/or selected also includes operating modes that present application content for different sets of applications using different sets of display rules, and/or have different arrangements of application icons and widgets, background, wallpaper, visual appearances for one or more system user interfaces (e.g., time element, font, color scheme, and other visual features), such as the wake screen user interface, lock screen user interface, and/or home screen user interfaces," de Vries paragraph 0306, changing the color scheme of on-screen elements including the fields) . However de Vries does not appear to explicitly disclose a limitation wherein in displaying, the first field included in the predetermined screen is displayed in a first form if the background color of the first home screen is set to the first form, and the first field included in the predetermined screen is displayed in a second form if setting of the background color of the first home screen is changed from the first form to the second form in setting a background color. Marimuthu teaches a limitation wherein in displaying, the first field included in the predetermined screen is displayed in a first form if the background color of the first home screen is set to the first form, and the first field included in the predetermined screen is displayed in a second form if setting of the background color of the first home screen is changed from the first form to the second form in setting a background color ("In some implementations, the user may submit information indicating a manner in which color customizing application 220 is to cause a color scheme to be applied to different user interfaces of user device 210 (e.g., user interfaces of different applications of user device 210). For example, the user may submit information indicating a manner in which color customizing application 220 is to cause a color associated with a lock screen user interface of user device 210 (e.g., a background color) to match a primary color of the color scheme, a color associated with a home screen user interface of user device 210 to match a secondary color of the color scheme and a texture represented by the color scheme, colors of application icons of the home screen to match the primary color, a color associated with user interfaces of one or more applications of user device 210 to match a combination of the secondary color and a tertiary color of the color scheme, a color of one or more portions of user interfaces of a particular application of user device 210 to match an object represented by the color scheme, etc," Marimuthu paragraph 0048, colors of on-screen elements can be changed to match a set background color (i.e., an on-screen element's color will change when the background color is changed)). Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of de Vries to automatically determine label colors based on a picked background color as taught by Marimuthu. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the colors could match without the user having to manually determine each color thus reducing steps for the user and resulting in greater ease of use . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Vries et al. (US 20240393933 A1, hereinafter de Vries) in view of Marimuthu et al. (US 20150378537 A1, hereinafter Marimuthu) in further view of Yoshida (US 20110199637 A1, hereinafter Yoshida) . As to claim 13 de Vries as modified by Marimuthu discloses the display control device according to Claim 1, however neither de Vries nor Marimuthu appear to explicitly disclose a limitation wherein the field for performing a predetermined function is one of a field for performing a print function and a field for performing a scan function. Yoshida teaches a limitation wherein the field for performing a predetermined function is one of a field for performing a print function and a field for performing a scan function (Yoshida Figure 6 "Scan" and "Copy" icons) . Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of de Vries to include print and scan icons in a home screen as taught by Yoshida. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that de Vries’ home screen changing mechanism and customization could work with more kinds of home screen icons and more kinds of devices, thus enhancing the utility of the finished product . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20230367452 A1 to Graham et al. discloses devices, methods, and graphical user interfaces for providing focus modes where a focus mode can be selected from a variety of focus modes to select a particular home screen with a particular icon arrangement and background color; US 9953101 B1 to Walliser discloses customized home screens for electronic devices where a user can select a particular home screen from a variety of home screens where each home screen has its own icon arrangement and background color; US 20170075551 A1 to Robinson et al. discloses a home screen for wearable devices where a home screen of a variety of home screens can be selected and where each home screen has its own icon arrangement and background color; and US 20120169768 A1 to Roth et al. discloses a mobile terminal and control method thereof where a variety of desktop icons and labels are displayed to the user and the user can select a particular desktop to be displayed. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DANIEL SAMWEL whose telephone number is (313) 446-6549. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Thursday 8:00-6:00 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kieu Vu can be reached at (571) 272-4057. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DANIEL SAMWEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/812,819 Page 2 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/812,819 Page 4 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/812,819 Page 5 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/812,819 Page 6 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/812,819 Page 7 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/812,819 Page 8 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/812,819 Page 9 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/812,819 Page 10 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/812,819 Page 11 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/812,819 Page 12 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/812,819 Page 13 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/812,819 Page 14 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/812,819 Page 15 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/812,819 Page 16 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/812,819 Page 17 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/812,819 Page 18 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/812,819 Page 19 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/812,819 Page 20 Art Unit: 2171