DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12086625 Brar et al hereinafter Brar. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Referring to Claim 1. Brar discloses a method comprising:
communicatively coupling a first physical port of a network virtualization device (NVD)
included in a datacenter to a first top-of-rack (TOR) switch and a second TOR switch (refer to claim 1);
communicatively coupling a second physical port of the NVD with a network interface
card (NIC) associated with a host machine, the second physical port providing a plurality of
logical ports for communications between the NVD and the NIC (refer to claim 1);
receiving, by the NVD, a packet from the host machine via one of the plurality of logical
ports, the packet being destined for a destination host machine (refer to claim 1 and 7);
obtaining an IP address of a remote NVD that serves the destination host machine (refer to claim 7 and 1);
modifying, by the NVD, a header of the packet to include the IP address of the remote
NVD as an intended destination of the packet and a software interface IP address of the NVD as
being a source of the packet (refer to claim 1 and 7); and
transmitting, by the NVD, the packet to one of the first TOR and the second TOR to
facilitate communication of the packet to the destination host machine (refer to claim 1, 2 and 8).
Referring to Claim 2. Brar disclosed the method of claim 1, Brar discloses wherein the first physical port of the NVD is associated with a first IP address, a second IP address, a first MAC address, and a second MAC address (refer to claim 1 and 3).
Referring to Claim 3. Brar disclosed the method of claim 1, Brar discloses wherein the second physical port of the NVD is associated with a first overlay IP address, a second overlay IP address, a first overlay MAC address, and a second overlay MAC address (refer to Claim 1 and 4).
Referring to Claim 4. Brar disclosed the method of claim 1, Brar discloses wherein the destination host machine is a remote host machine included in a customer on-premises network (refer to claim 1 and 5).
Referring to Claim 5. Brar disclosed the method of claim 1, Brar discloses wherein the destination host machine is a remote host machine included in the datacenter and is served by the remote NVD (refer to claim 1 and 9).
Referring to Claim 6. Brar disclosed the method of claim 1, Brar discloses wherein the packet originates from a virtual machine executing on the host machine, the method further comprising:
determining, based on a configuration of the NVD, a particular logical port from the
plurality of logical ports that is to be used for communicating the packet from the host machine
to the NVD; and transmitting the packet from the host machine to the NVD using the particular logical port (refer to claim 1 and 2).
Referring to Claim 7. Brar disclosed the method of claim 1, Brar discloses wherein the NVD executes a flow hashing operation to select the one of the first TOR and the second TOR to facilitate communication of the packet to the destination host machine (refer to claim 1 and 8).
Referring to Claim 8. Brar disclosed the method of claim 1, Brar discloses transmitting, by one of the first TOR and the second TOR, the packet to a remote NVD via a network fabric; and forwarding, by the remote NVD, the packet to the destination host machine (refer to claim 1 and 8).
Referring to Claims 9-19, claims are rejected under similar rational as claims 1-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kommula et al hereinafter Kommula (US 2026/0058900) in view of Matthews et al hereinafter Matthews (US 11,057,318).
Referring to Claim 1. Kommula discloses a method comprising:
communicatively coupling a first physical port of a network virtualization device (NVD)
(servers, each has virtualized functions and have physical NICs with ports, and each NIC has virtualized NIC with virtualized ports, refer to par 0048) included in a datacenter to a first top-of-rack (TOR) switch and a second TOR switch (refer to Fig 1 and par 0048);
communicatively coupling a second physical port of the NVD with a network interface
card (NIC) associated with a host machine, the second physical port providing a plurality of
logical ports for communications between the NVD and the NIC (each physical NIC contains multiple virtual NICs and where each NIC contains multiple ports, refer to par 0048 and Fig 1, and par 0048-0049);
receiving, by the NVD, a packet from the host machine via one of the plurality of logical
ports, the packet being destined for a destination host machine (receive from a service controller, refer to par 0106, and destinate to a host machine, refer to par 0107, par 0048 and Fig 1, 0037-0038, networks includes the customer site, and the server machine which is the virtualize device, the network includes customer site, refer to par 0043);
obtaining an IP address of a remote NVD that serves the destination host machine (refer to par 0101, 0107);
modifying, by the NVD, a header of the packet to include the IP address of the remote
NVD as an intended destination of the packet and a software interface IP address of the NVD as
being a source of the packet (modify header, refer to par 0101, 0119, 0120, 0182); and
transmitting, by the NVD, the packet to one of the first TOR and the second TOR to
facilitate communication of the packet to the destination host machine (transmit the packets, refer to par Fig 1, 0119-0121).
Although Kommula disclosed the invention substantially as claimed, Kommula did not explicitly stating physical ports providing plurality logical ports.
Matthews, in analogous art, disclosing the overlay network on the physical network and a physical port providing a plurality of logical ports (refer to Col 34, Lines 60- Col 35, Lines 15)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kommula with Matthews because Matthews’s teaching would allow the system of Kommula to improve the effective of cloud computing system while reducing complexity of physical network and associated with maintenance cost.
Referring to Claim 2. Kommula with Matthews disclosed the method of claim 1, Kommula discloses wherein the first physical port of the NVD is associated with a first IP address, a second IP address, a first MAC address, and a second MAC address (L2/L3 has IP address and MAC addresses, refer to par 0007, 0072, 0149, refer to par 0186).
Referring to Claim 3. Kommula with Matthews disclosed the method of claim 1, Kommula discloses wherein the second physical port of the NVD is associated with a first overlay IP address, a second overlay IP address, a first overlay MAC address, and a second overlay MAC address (overlay virtual device has IP address/MAC address, refer to par 0072, 0149, 0186, 0007, 0120).
Referring to Claim 4. Kommula with Matthews disclosed the method of claim 1, Kommula discloses wherein the destination host machine is a remote host machine included in a customer on-premises network (Fig 1, 0037-0038, networks includes the customer site, and the server machine which is the virtualize device, refer to par 0043).
Referring to Claim 5. Kommula with Matthews disclosed the method of claim 1, Kommula discloses wherein the destination host machine is a remote host machine included in the datacenter and is served by the remote NVD (the host machine includes in the datacenter, and served by the server/NVD, refer to par 0043).
Referring to Claim 6. Kommula with Matthews disclosed the method of claim 1, Kommula discloses wherein the packet originates from a virtual machine executing on the host machine, the method further comprising:
determining, based on a configuration of the NVD, a particular logical port from the
plurality of logical ports that is to be used for communicating the packet from the host machine
to the NVD; and transmitting the packet from the host machine to the NVD using the particular logical port (determine based on the controller determination and calculation, which port to communicate the package, which includes destination address, port, source address, port information refer to par 0048, 0081, 0119-0120, 0186).
Referring to Claim 7. Kommula with Matthews disclosed the method of claim 1, Kommula discloses wherein the NVD executes a flow hashing operation to select the one of the first TOR and the second TOR to facilitate communication of the packet to the destination host machine (compute hash/LAG hash method is used to calculate the path to take through which TOR to reach the destination, par 0167, 0043, 0054-0055, 0082, 0119-0120, 0186).
Referring to Claim 8. Kommula with Matthews disclosed the method of claim 1, Kommula discloses comprising: transmitting, by one of the first TOR and the second TOR, the packet to a remote NVD via a network fabric; and forwarding, by the remote NVD, the packet to the destination host machine (refer to Fig 1 and 0043, communication is transmitted through one of the TOR to a remote NVD via network fabric, see Fig 1 to remote server/NVD, see Fig 1, 0119-0120).
Referring to Claims 9-18, claims are rejected under similar rational as claims 1-8.
Referring to Claim 19. Kommula with Matthews disclosed the non-transitory computer readable medium storing specific computer-executable instructions of claim 17, Kommula discloses wherein the destination host machine is a remote host machine included in a customer on-premises network (Fig 1, 0037-0038, networks includes the customer site, and the server machine which is the virtualize device, can communicate with the customer site, refer to par 0043).
Conclusion
/KAREN C TANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447