DETAILED ACTION
This final rejection is responsive to communication filed April 1, 2026. Claims 1, 6, 7, 15, and 20 are currently amended. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1, 15, and 20 have been amended to add the limitation querying…without performing a scan for one or more keywords associated with the log query request across a remainder of the plurality of log storage clusters. This limitation is not described in the specification, and thus represents new matter. Claims 2-14 and 16-19 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected claims 1, 15, and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1, 15 and 20 recite “identifying log addressing information corresponding to the log identifier, wherein the log addressing information comprises (i) a storage cluster identifier of a specific log storage cluster of the plurality of log storage clusters to which a corresponding piece of log information belongs, (ii) location information of a specific storage partition of the plurality of storage partitions to which the corresponding piece of log information belongs in the specific log storage cluster, (iii) a number of the multiple pieces of log information included in the specific storage partition, and (iv) location information of the corresponding piece of log information in the specific storage partition. ” The broadest reasonable interpretation of these steps is that the steps fall within the mental process groupings of abstract ideas because they cover concepts performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III. For example, and user can mentally identify these features by observation and evaluation.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The limitations “in response to receiving a log query request directed to a plurality of log storage clusters, acquiring a log identifier corresponding to the log query request, wherein each of the plurality of log storage clusters comprises a plurality of storage partitions, and wherein each of the plurality of storage partitions stores multiple pieces of log information” and “querying the corresponding piece of log information corresponding to the log query request from the specific log storage cluster according to the log addressing information without performing a scan for one or more keywords associated with the log query request across a remainder of the plurality of log storage clusters” are mere data gathering and output recited at a high level of generality, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. Further, in claims 15 and 20, the processor and memory are use recited at a high level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application, and the claims are directed to the judicial exception.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the recitations of “in response to receiving a log query request directed to a plurality of log storage clusters, acquiring a log identifier corresponding to the log query request, wherein each of the plurality of log storage clusters comprises a plurality of storage partitions, and wherein each of the plurality of storage partitions stores multiple pieces of log information” and “querying the corresponding piece of log information corresponding to the log query request from the specific log storage cluster according to the log addressing information without performing a scan for one or more keywords associated with the log query request across a remainder of the plurality of log storage clusters” are recited at a high level of generality. These elements amount to receiving or transmitting data over a network and storing and retrieving information in memory and are well-understood, routine, conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II.
Further as discussed above, the recitation of a processor and memory to perform limitations amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept.
Claims 2-5 and 16-19 recite additional limitations that are mental processes. The limitations “determining index information matching the query mode, wherein the index information comprises a mapping relationship between query information and log identifiers”, “determining the index information matching a point search mode as a mapping relationship between field information and the log identifiers if the query mode is the point search mode; determining the index information matching a range query mode as a mapping relationship between numerical range information and the log identifiers if the query mode is the range query mode; determining the index information matching a prefix query mode as a mapping relationship between prefix information and the log identifiers if the query mode is the prefix query mode; and determining the index information matching a full text word segmentation query mode as a mapping relationship between word segmentation information and the log identifiers if the query mode is the full text word segmentation query mode”, and “determining a log identifier corresponding to each of the pieces of the target word segmentation information from the mapping relationship between the word segmentation information and the log identifiers according to each of the pieces of the target word segmentation information; determining a same log identifier as the log identifier corresponding to the log query request from the log identifiers corresponding to the respective ones of the pieces of the target word segmentation information”. The broadest reasonable interpretation of these steps is that the steps fall within the mental process groupings of abstract ideas because they cover concepts performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III. For example, and user can mentally determine the recited features by observation and evaluation.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements “wherein the log query request comprises target query information and a query mode”, “acquiring the log identifier corresponding to the log query request from the mapping relationship between the query information and the log identifiers according to the target query information”, “wherein the target query information is at least one selected from the group consisting of target field information, target numerical range information, target prefix information, and multiple pieces of target word segmentation information”, and “wherein the target query information comprises the multiple pieces of target word segmentation information” are limitations that further describe gathered and thus are mere data gathering recited at a high level of generality, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application, and the claims are directed to the judicial exception.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the recitations of “wherein the log query request comprises target query information and a query mode”, “acquiring the log identifier corresponding to the log query request from the mapping relationship between the query information and the log identifiers according to the target query information”, “wherein the target query information is at least one selected from the group consisting of target field information, target numerical range information, target prefix information, and multiple pieces of target word segmentation information”, and “wherein the target query information comprises the multiple pieces of target word segmentation information” are recited at a high level of generality. These elements amount to receiving or transmitting data over a network are well-understood, routine, conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept.
Claim 6 recites “determining the log addressing information corresponding to the log identifier from stored associations between the log identifiers and multiple pieces of log addressing information based on the log identifier.” The broadest reasonable interpretation of this step is that it falls within the mental process groupings of abstract ideas because it covers concepts performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III. For example, and user can mentally determine log addressing from stored associations using observation and evaluation.
The judicial exception of claim 6 is not integrated into a practical application and the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no additional elements in claim 6.
Claim 7 does not include any further limitations directed to the abstract idea. However, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 7 recites the additional elements “querying a target log storage cluster corresponding to the storage cluster identifier of one of the plurality of log storage clusters to which the corresponding piece of log information belongs from the plurality of log storage clusters; based on the location information of the one of the plurality of storage partitions to which the corresponding piece of log information belongs in the one of the plurality of log storage clusters, the number of the multiple pieces of log information included in the one of the plurality of storage partitions to which the corresponding piece of log information belongs, acquiring the multiple pieces of log information included in the one of the plurality of storage partitions to which the corresponding piece of log information belongs from the target log storage cluster; based on the location information of the corresponding piece of log information in the one of the plurality of storage partitions to which the corresponding piece of log information belongs, acquiring the corresponding piece of log information corresponding to the log query request from the multiple pieces of log information included in the one of the plurality of storage partitions to which the corresponding piece of log information belongs.” These additional elements are mere data output recited at a high level of generality, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application, and the claims are directed to the judicial exception.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the recitations of “querying a target log storage cluster corresponding to the storage cluster identifier of one of the plurality of log storage clusters to which the corresponding piece of log information belongs from the plurality of log storage clusters; based on the location information of the one of the plurality of storage partitions to which the corresponding piece of log information belongs in the one of the plurality of log storage clusters, the number of the multiple pieces of log information included in the one of the plurality of storage partitions to which the corresponding piece of log information belongs, acquiring the multiple pieces of log information included in the one of the plurality of storage partitions to which the corresponding piece of log information belongs from the target log storage cluster; based on the location information of the corresponding piece of log information in the one of the plurality of storage partitions to which the corresponding piece of log information belongs, acquiring the corresponding piece of log information corresponding to the log query request from the multiple pieces of log information included in the one of the plurality of storage partitions to which the corresponding piece of log information belongs” are recited at a high level of generality. These elements amount to storing and retrieving information in memory and are well-understood, routine, conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept.
Claims 8-13 recite “wherein, before acquiring the log identifier corresponding to the log query request in response to receiving the log query request directed to the plurality of log storage clusters, the method further comprises: determining the log identifier of each of the pieces of the log information and the log addressing information of each of the pieces of the log information stored in the plurality of log storage clusters. The broadest reasonable interpretation of this step is that it falls within the mental process groupings of abstract ideas because it covers concepts performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III. For example, and user can mentally determine log identifiers and log addressing using observation and evaluation.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional element of “associating and storing the log identifier and the log addressing information corresponding to each of the pieces of the log information to obtain an addressing file corresponding to the plurality of log storage clusters” is recited at a high level of generality represents insignificant extra-solution activity. Even when viewed in combination, this additional element does not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application, and the claims are directed to the judicial exception.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the recitations of “associating and storing the log identifier and the log addressing information corresponding to each of the pieces of the log information to obtain an addressing file corresponding to the plurality of log storage clusters” is recited at a high level of generality. This element amounts to storing and retrieving information in memory and is well-understood, routine, conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept.
Claim 14 recites “determining a proportion of the multiple pieces of first log information and the multiple pieces of second log information, wherein the first log identifier corresponds to log information with normal request status, and the second log identifier corresponds to log information with abnormal request status. The broadest reasonable interpretation of this step is that it falls within the mental process groupings of abstract ideas because it covers concepts performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III. For example, and user can mentally determine a proportion of first and second log information using observation and evaluation.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional element of “wherein the storage cluster identifier is request status log information, and the method further comprises: acquiring multiple pieces of first log information corresponding to a first log identifier and multiple pieces of second log information corresponding to a second log identifier from one of the plurality of log storage clusters corresponding to the request status log information” is recited at a high level of generality represents mere data gathering and insignificant extra-solution activity. Even when viewed in combination, this additional element does not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application, and the claim is directed to the judicial exception.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the recitations of “wherein the storage cluster identifier is request status log information, and the method further comprises: acquiring multiple pieces of first log information corresponding to a first log identifier and multiple pieces of second log information corresponding to a second log identifier from one of the plurality of log storage clusters corresponding to the request status log information” is recited at a high level of generality. This element amounts to storing and retrieving information in memory and is well-understood, routine, conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II. Even when considered in combination, this additional element represents insignificant extra-solution activity, which does not provide an inventive concept.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2018/0102938 A1) in view of Auch et al. (US 2016/0301753 A1).
With respect to claims 1, 15, and 20 Yoon teaches a method for querying log information; an electronic device, comprising: a processor (paragraph 214), and a memory (paragraph 220) communicatively connected with the processor; wherein the memory stores computer-executable instructions; the processor executes the computer-executable instructions stored in the memory to implement a method for querying log information; and a computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores computer-executable instructions (paragraph 223), when the processor executes the computer-executable instructions, a method for querying log information is implemented, and the method for querying log information, comprising:
in response to receiving a log query request directed to a plurality of log storage clusters (paragraph 117), acquiring a log identifier corresponding to the log query request (message identifier of the log message is stored in association with the cluster identifier; identify one or more constraints from the query so as to retrieve a specific set of machine-generated data records (e.g., log records) (paragraphs 42, 44, and 118), wherein each of the plurality of log storage clusters comprises a plurality of storage areas, and wherein each of the plurality of storage areas stores multiple pieces of log information (paragraphs 77-80);
identifying log addressing information corresponding to the log identifier, wherein the log addressing information comprises: (i) a storage cluster identifier of a specific log storage cluster of the plurality of log storage clusters to which a corresponding piece of log information belongs (paragraphs 42, 44 and 118), (iii) a number of the multiple pieces of log information included in a specific storage partition (paragraphs 38, 134, and 153), and (iv) location information of the corresponding piece of log information in the specific storage partition (paragraphs 71, 73 and 123); and
querying the corresponding piece of log information corresponding to the log query request from the specific log storage cluster according to the log addressing information without performing a scan for one or more keywords associated with the log query request across a remainder of the plurality of log storage clusters (paragraphs 118-119).
Although Yoon teaches log message identifiers and constraints from the query so as to retrieve log records, which obviously implies acquiring log message identifiers corresponding to the log request; and although Yoon teaches storage areas such as those of HDFS, which fundamentally partitions data into blocks, Yoon does not explicitly recite acquiring a log identifier corresponding to the log query request; multiple storage partitions; or (ii) location information of a specific storage partition of the plurality of storage partitions to which the corresponding piece of log information belongs in the specific log storage cluster.
Auch teaches acquiring a log identifier (log stream identifier) corresponding to the log query request (paragraph 54);
multiple storage partitions (paragraph 67); and
identifying log addressing information corresponding to the log identifier, wherein the log addressing information comprises (ii) location information of a specific storage partition of the plurality of storage partitions to which the corresponding piece of log information belongs in the specific log storage cluster (paragraph 54).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the log addressing information corresponding to the log identifier of Yoon to acquire a log identifier and to determine location information of storage partitions as taught by Auch to enable requested log entries to be returned more quickly (Auch, paragraph 54). Further, because Yoon already determines location information, the modification would entail incorporating known elements (i.e. location information for partitions) to achieve predictable results of storing and querying log information.
With respect to claims 2 and 16, Yoon in view of Auch teaches wherein the log query request comprises target query information and a query mode (Yoon, paragraphs 77 and 117-118; Auch, paragraph 54);
the acquiring a log identifier corresponding to the log query request comprises: determining index information matching the query mode, wherein the index information comprises a mapping relationship between query information and log identifiers (Yoon, paragraphs 88-89 and 115; Auch, paragraphs 51 and 54);
acquiring the log identifier corresponding to the log query request from the mapping relationship between the query information and the log identifiers according to the target query information (Yoon, paragraphs 115 and 117-118; Auch, paragraph 54).
With respect to claims 3 and 17, Yoon in view of Auch teaches wherein the determining index information matching the query mode is at least one selected from the group consisting of:
determining the index information matching a point search mode as a mapping relationship between field information and the log identifiers if the query mode is the point search mode (Yoon, paragraphs 62, 71, 89 and 115);
determining the index information matching a range query mode as a mapping relationship between numerical range information and the log identifiers if the query mode is the range query mode (Auch, paragraphs 51 and 54);
determining the index information matching a prefix query mode as a mapping relationship between prefix information and the log identifiers if the query mode is the prefix query mode; and
determining the index information matching a full text word segmentation query mode as a mapping relationship between word segmentation information and the log identifiers if the query mode is the full text word segmentation query mode (Yoon, paragraph 79).
With respect to claims 4 and 18, Yoon in view of Auch teaches wherein the target query information is at least one selected from the group consisting of target field information, target numerical range information, target prefix information, and multiple pieces of target word segmentation information (Yoon, paragraphs 77, 117-118; Auch, paragraph 54).
With respect to claim 6, Yoon in view of Auch teaches wherein the identifying log addressing information corresponding to the log identifier comprises: determining the log addressing information corresponding to the log identifier from stored associations between the log identifiers and multiple pieces of log addressing information based on the log identifier (Yoon, paragraphs 42, 44 and 118; Auch, paragraph 54).
With respect to claim 7, Yoon in view of Auch teaches wherein the querying the corresponding piece of log information corresponding to the log query request from the specific log storage cluster according to the log addressing information comprises:
querying a target log storage cluster corresponding to the storage cluster identifier of one of the plurality of log storage clusters to which the corresponding piece of log information belongs from the plurality of log storage clusters (Yoon, paragraphs 118-119; Auch, paragraph 54);
based on the location information of the one of the plurality of storage partitions to which the corresponding piece of log information belongs in the one of the plurality of log storage clusters (Auch, paragraph 54), the number of the multiple pieces of log information included in the one of the plurality of storage partitions to which the corresponding piece of log information belongs (Yoon, paragraphs 38, 134, and 153), acquiring the multiple pieces of log information included in the one of the plurality of storage partitions to which the corresponding piece of log information belongs from the target log storage cluster (Yoon, paragraph 119; Auch, paragraph 54);
based on the location information of the corresponding piece of log information in the one of the plurality of storage partitions to which the corresponding piece of log information belongs, acquiring the corresponding piece of log information corresponding to the log query request from the multiple pieces of log information included in the one of the plurality of storage partitions to which the corresponding piece of log information belongs (Yoon, paragraphs 71, 73, 118 and 123).
With respect to claims 8-11 and 13, Yoon in view of Auch teaches wherein, before acquiring the log identifier corresponding to the log query request in response to receiving the log query request directed to the plurality of log storage clusters, the method further comprises:
determining the log identifier of each of the pieces of the log information and the log addressing information of each of the pieces of the log information stored in the plurality of log storage clusters (Yoon, paragraphs 42, 44, 115; Auch, paragraphs 51 and 54); and
associating and storing the log identifier and the log addressing information corresponding to each of the pieces of the log information (Yoon, paragraphs 42, 44, 115; Auch, paragraph 54) to obtain an addressing file corresponding to the plurality of log storage clusters (Auch, paragraph 32).
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2018/0102938 A1) in view of Auch et al. (US 2016/0301753 A1) as applied to claims 4 and 18 above, and further in view of Huang (US 2009/0164449 A1).
With respect to claims 5 and 19, Yoon in view of Auch teaches the acquiring the log identifier corresponding to the log query request from the mapping relationship between the query information and the log identifiers according to the target query information (Yoon, paragraphs 115 and 117-118; Auch, paragraph 54); and word segmentation (paragraphs 122-123).
Yoon in view of Auch does not explicitly teach wherein the target query information comprises the multiple pieces of target word segmentation information; determining a log identifier corresponding to each of the pieces of the target word segmentation information from the mapping relationship between the word segmentation information and the log identifiers according to each of the pieces of the target word segmentation information; or determining a same log identifier as the log identifier corresponding to the log query request from the log identifiers corresponding to the respective ones of the pieces of the target word segmentation information.
Huang teaches wherein the target query information comprises the multiple pieces of target word segmentation information (paragraph 24);
determining a log identifier corresponding to each of the pieces of the target word segmentation information from the mapping relationship between the word segmentation information (tokens) and the log identifiers (file identifier or log ID) according to each of the pieces of the target word segmentation information (paragraph 22); and
determining a same log identifier as the log identifier corresponding to the log query request from the log identifiers corresponding to the respective ones of the pieces of the target word segmentation information (paragraphs 22 and 24).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified Yoon to determine log identifiers based on target query information comprising multiple pieces of word segmentation as taught by Huang to enable improved searching of log information and improved search results that allow the entire context around a word to be provided and thus potentially identifies further relevant and useful information (Huang, paragraphs 22 and 40). Further, Yoon teaches indexing and mapping of log identifiers and thus the modification would only entail mapping additional data with log identifiers to provide querying of log data.
With respect to claim 12, Yoon in view of Auch and Huang teaches wherein, before acquiring the log identifier corresponding to the log query request in response to receiving the log query request directed to the plurality of log storage clusters, the method further comprises:
determining the log identifier of each of the pieces of the log information and the log addressing information of each of the pieces of the log information stored in the plurality of log storage clusters (Yoon, paragraphs 42, 44, 115; Auch, paragraphs 51 and 54); and
associating and storing the log identifier and the log addressing information corresponding to each of the pieces of the log information (Yoon, paragraphs 42, 44, 115; Auch, paragraph 54) to obtain an addressing file corresponding to the plurality of log storage clusters (Auch, paragraph 32).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2018/0102938 A1) in view of Auch et al. (US 2016/0301753 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Aso et al. (US 2021/0320937 A1).
With respect to claim 14, Yoon in view of Auch teaches wherein the storage cluster identifier is request status log information, and the method further comprises: acquiring multiple pieces of first log information corresponding to a first log identifier and multiple pieces of second log information corresponding to a second log identifier from one of the plurality of log storage clusters corresponding to the request status log information (Yoon, paragraphs 44, 114-115 and 118); determining a proportion of the multiple pieces of first log information and the multiple pieces of second log information (paragraphs 100, 134 and 153); and identifying an abnormal characteristic or pattern (paragraph 152).
Yoon in view of Auch does not explicitly teach wherein the first log identifier corresponds to log information with normal request status, and the second log identifier corresponds to log information with abnormal request status.
Aso teaches wherein the first log identifier corresponds to log information with normal request status (normal-type log, InfoID is “1”), and the second log identifier corresponds to log information with abnormal request status (abnormal-type log, InfoID is “2”) (paragraphs 58-59).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the log identifiers of Yoon to refer to norma and abnormal statuses as taught by Aso to enable different log IDs consisting of a type and detailed contents of logs to be formed for the respective log types so as to be discriminated from each other (Aso, paragraph 59). It would have further been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art because Yoon teaches log identifiers and teaches detecting and alerting of abnormal data, and thus it would be beneficial to identify normal and abnormal statuses by swapping Yoon’s message/log identifiers to indicate type as taught by Aso.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that claim 1 as a whole integrates into a practical application of improving efficiency of querying stored log information because the log information is queried directly from the specific log storage cluster without performing a scan for one or more keywords across a remainder of log storage clusters. The examiner disagrees. First, the examiner would like to note that the specification does not describe querying without performing a scan for one or more keywords across a remainder of log storage clusters, and thus this limitation is new matter. Nonetheless, the receiving a query request and querying limitations are mere data gathering and output recited at a high level of generality, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. Further, these steps are well-understood, routine and conventional. For example, the querying step amounts to storing and retrieving information in memory. The examiner does not find the claim to disclose limitations directed to improving efficiency of querying stored log information that not well-understood, routine and conventional.
Applicant further argues that Yoon’s clusters do not comprise a plurality of storage areas or store log information. The examiner disagrees. Yoon teaches performing log processing and storing processed data (paragraphs 77-78). He further teaches the processed data is stored within both a text/indexed data store 110a (e.g., as a SOLR cluster) and a raw/historical data store 110b (e.g., as a HDFS cluster), which are clustered architectures (paragraphs 78-80).
Applicant further argues that Yoon fails to teach log addressing information that comprises a number of the multiple pieces of log information included in a specific storage partition. The examiner disagrees. Yoon teaches “associated count for each value identifying a number of log messages in the cluster having the value,” “ identify, for each of the set of clusters, a number (or “count”) of log messages assigned to the cluster” and “a quantity of log messages being assigned to each cluster” (paragraphs 38, 134, and 153). Although the examiner states that Yoon does not explicitly teach storage partitions (as in multiple storage partitions), Yoon does teach storing log messages in clusters in storage areas such as those of HDFS, which fundamentally partitions data into blocks or partitions. Therefore, Yoon teaches a number of the multiple pieces of log information included in a specific storage partition (i.e. wherever the cluster is stored).
Applicant further argues that the number of log messages assigned to a cluster in Yoon is not used to generate query results. The examiner disagrees. Yoon teaches that the query system can query log message data store to identify, for each cluster, one or more representative log messages assigned to the cluster. He further teaches that the number of representative messages identified for a cluster may depend on how many messages are in the cluster and/or in another cluster (paragraph 119). Yoon also teaches periodically (e.g., at routine intervals) querying cluster data store to determine a quantity of log messages being assigned to each cluster (paragraph 153), and using this information to trigger an alert such as to merge clusters. Part of querying is also determining whether any clusters are to be merged together (paragraph 120). Therefore, it is clear that the number of log messages assigned to a cluster in Yoon is used to generate query results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALICIA M WILLOUGHBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2156