DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species D [Fig. 6] in the reply filed on 5/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 4, 13, 14 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/12/2026. Claims 3, 4 and 13, 14 were indicated as part of claims 1-20 that purportedly read on the elected species. However, these claims do not read on elected Species D [Fig. 6], but rather to Species C [Fig. 5] where the at least one actuator 512 is further configured to receive a command signal from a thrust reverser manual control interface 504 In the elected Species D [Fig. 6], the on/off actuator 610 is what is configured to receive a command from the manual control interface 610.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-12 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lair (5181676) in view of Vaughan et al (2013/0146708) and optionally in view of Mickelson et al (2021/0285399). Lair teaches (1, 11) A gas turbine engine for an aircraft comprising OR A jet nozzle for a gas turbine engine: a jet nozzle including: an upper split duct panel 30; a lower split duct panel 30 coupled with the upper split duct panel 30 via a first overlap joint and a second overlap joint [see Figs. 7, 8, between 92 and about axis 58, see col. 6, line 34-55]; and at least one actuator 50 configured to: receive a command signal from a controller; and based on the command signal [virtually inherent], reposition the upper split duct panel 30 and lower split duct panel 30 such that an effective area of the jet nozzle is adjusted [e.g. Fig. 13]. (2, 12) wherein the jet nozzle further includes: a first seal housing [right of 56] disposed over the first overlap joint; a first seal [between 92 and on axis 58 in Fig. 7] inserted in the first seal housing; a second seal housing disposed over the second overlap joint; and a second seal inserted in the first seal housing [symmetry about pivot axis of the panels / doors 30]. (5, 15) at least one on/off actuator 52 [Fig. 14], coupled in series with the at least one actuator 50, (6, 16) wherein the on/off actuator is configured to reposition the upper split duct panel 30 and lower split duct panel 30 such that a thrust of the gas turbine engine is reversed. (7, 17) the at least one actuator is used to to reduce the effective area of the jet nozzle [Fig. 13 shows cruise position is reduced compared to takeoff] . (8, 18) the at least one actuator is used to increase the effective area of the jet nozzle of a non-cruise operating condition [Fig. 13 shows non-cruise position is increased compared to cruise or unlatch]. (9, 19) wherein the at least on actuator 50 is a linear actuator 50 [col. 5, lines 32-47]. In Lair at least one actuator configured to: receive a command signal from a controller; and based on the command signal, is virtually inherent as actuators are controlled on an aircraft engine during flight. More specifically, Vaughan et al teach at least one actuator 694 configured to: receive a command signal from a controller 602 or 604; and based on the command signal, reposition the upper split duct panel and lower split duct panel [two nozzles / split panels 400 are exemplary, ¶ 0027] such that an effective area of the jet nozzle is adjusted. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the actuator of Lair, configured to: receive a command signal from a controller; and based on the command signal, as taught by Vaughan et al, to the reposition the upper split duct panel and lower split duct panel such that an effective area of the jet nozzle is adjusted, in the manner taught by both Lair and Vaughan et al, as using a controller with commands is the conventional method of controlling the actuator as well as the area of the nozzle. For claims 5, 15, Lair already teaches the device and the non-italicized limitations but does not teach (5, 15) at least one on/off actuator, coupled in series with the at least one actuator, configured to receive a command signal from a thrust reverser manual control interface; (6, 16) wherein the on/off actuator is configured to, in response to the command signal from the thrust reverser manual control interface, reposition the upper split duct panel and lower split duct panel such that a thrust of the gas turbine engine is reversed. Vaughan et al teach (5, 15) at least one on/off actuator 652 configured to receive a command signal from a thrust reverser manual control interface [signals from pilot operated]; (6, 16) wherein the on/off actuator is configured to, in response to the command signal from the thrust reverser manual control interface [signals from pilot] – see ¶ 0031 which teaches the pilot [operated interface – inherent to provide signals] provides signals from the pilot which control the FADEC controller 602 as well as the other controllers 604 for controlling the variable area and thrust reverser. Mickelsen et al also teach that thrust reverser manual control interface 30, 702 provides the input to the controller 20, 712. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ have the one on/off actuator coupled in series with the at least one actuator of Lair, configured to receive a command signal from a thrust reverser manual control interface; wherein the on/off actuator of Lair, is configured to, in response to the command signal from the thrust reverser manual control interface, reposition the upper split duct panel and lower split duct panel such that a thrust of the gas turbine engine is reversed, as taught by Vaughan et al, and optionally Mickelsen et al, as the pilot user interface allows pilot control over operation of the thrust reverser which is operated on landing and where Mickelsen et al may also optionally show the thrust reverser manual control interface that the pilot operates to generate the pilot signals that control the controller. For claims 9, 10, Lair already teaches a linear actuator as the at least one actuator and the non-italicized limitations but does not teach a linear variable differential transformer (LVDT) actuator; (10, 20) wherein the LVDT actuator includes a positioning feedback sensor configured to provide position feedback information to the controller. Vaughan et al teach (9, 19) wherein the at least on actuator 694 is a linear variable differential transformer (LVDT) actuator [¶ 0042-0043, 0038]; (10, 20) wherein the LVDT actuator includes a positioning feedback sensor 696 configured to provide position feedback information to the controller 602 and to help provide information to determine to the appropriate command [¶ 0038]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the at least one linear actuator of Lair, a variable differential transformer (LVDT) actuator; wherein the LVDT actuator includes a positioning feedback sensor configured to provide position feedback information to the controller, as taught by Vaughan et al, in order to accurately know the position of the actuator used for controlling the area of the nozzle. Lair already teaches the operation of claims 7, 17 and the non-italicized limitations but do not teach (7, 17) wherein the command signal includes a command to reduce the effective area of the jet nozzle in response to a detection by the controller of a cruise operating condition. (8, 18) wherein the command signal includes a command to increase the effective area of the jet nozzle in response to a detection by the controller of a non-cruise operating condition. Vaughan et al teach the controller 602 or 604 is used to operate the nozzle 400 and it is based on the (7, 17) wherein the command signal includes a command to control the effective area of the jet nozzle in response to a detection by the controller of a cruise operating condition [see ¶ 0045 for cruise condition]. (8, 18) wherein the command signal includes a command to increase the effective area of the jet nozzle in response to a detection by the controller of a non-cruise operating condition [see ¶ 0045, e.g. takeoff, landing]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ (7, 17) wherein the command signal includes a command to reduce the effective area of the jet nozzle in response to a detection by the controller of a cruise operating condition; and (8, 18) wherein the command signal includes a command to increase the effective area of the jet nozzle in response to a detection by the controller of a non-cruise operating condition, using the controller and detecting of the cruise / non-cruise conditions, as taught by Vaughan et al, in order to automate the control over the area based on whether cruise and/or non-cruise conditions are met.
Similarly for claims, (3, 13) wherein: the at least one actuator 694 is further configured to receive a command signal from a thrust reverser manual control interface [taught by Vaughan et al in ¶ 0031]; and the command signal received from the thrust reverser manual control interface has priority over the command signal received from the controller 602 or 604 [note that the FADEC controller 602 and also controls controller 604 for the variable area nozzle, the controller is controlled based on the signals from the pilot and thus indicates the pilot’s interface has priority since subsequent FADEC controller 602 commands reflect the pilot signals. Furthermore, since the operation of the thrust reverser during landing is a highly critical time to stop / aerodynamically brake the aircraft [col. 1, lines 12-21 of Lair], the thrust reverser manual control interface having priority over the command signal from the variable area controller would be beneficial for pilot control of the thrust reverser, noting that control over the variable area aspect is not required during landing and whereas operating the thrust reverser during landing is imperative. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to (3, 13) wherein: the at least one actuator is further configured to receive a command signal from a thrust reverser manual control interface; and the command signal received from the thrust reverser manual control interface has priority over the command signal received from the controller, as taught by Vaughan et al, so that the pilot has control over the operation of the thrust reverser during the critical time of landing to stop / aerodynamically brake the aircraft.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lair (5181676) in view of Vaughan et al (2013/0146708), as applied above, and further in view of either Joshi et al (9416752) or Rolt (2016/0010590). Lair in view of Vaughan et al already teach these limitations. For an alternate treatment of these limitations, either Joshi or Rolt may be applied. Rolt teaches (7, 17) wherein the command signal includes a command to reduce the effective area of the jet nozzle in response to a detection by the controller [Fig. 9] of a cruise operating condition [¶ 0009 teaches reducing the area at cruise, ¶ 0073 teaches reducing the area at top of climb which is the beginning of cruise altitude, alternately the intermediate areas at cruise are decreased relative to that of takeoff].; (8, 18) wherein the command signal includes a command to increase the effective area of the jet nozzle in response to a detection by the controller [Fig. 9] of a non-cruise operating condition [e.g. top of climb has minimum area is increased during cruise or maximum area at takeoff compared to the areas of cruise / climb, see ¶ 0073; also thrust reversal mode in Fig. 8 has increased area relative to cruise / climb]. Joshi et al teach (7, 17) wherein the command signal includes a command to reduce the effective area of the jet nozzle [see col. 3, line 36-col. 4, line 26] in response to a detection by the controller [see col. 5, lines 17+] of a cruise operating condition; (8, 18) wherein the command signal includes a command to increase the effective area of the jet nozzle in response to a detection by the controller [see col. 5, lines 17+] of a non-cruise operating condition [startup, takeoff, landing, flight at low altitudes near occupied areas]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ (7, 17) wherein the command signal includes a command to reduce the effective area of the jet nozzle in response to a detection by the controller of a cruise operating condition; (8, 18) wherein the command signal includes a command to increase the effective area of the jet nozzle in response to a detection by the controller of a non-cruise operating condition, as taught by either Joshi et al or Rolt, as typically done in the art to use the desired operating condition to reduce or increase the effective area of the nozzle.
Contact Information
The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Ted Kim/
Telephone
571-272-4829
Primary Examiner
Fax
571-273-8300
May 29, 2026