DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to claims filed on 08/22/24.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement’s
4. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 08/22/24 & 02/25/26 have being considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawing
5. The drawings filed on 08/22/24 are accepted by the examiner.
Specification
6. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Examiner suggested to change the title to “PERFROMING A RADIO RESOURCE MANAGEMENT (RRM) MEASUREMENT THROUGH A WAKE-UP RECEIVER (WUR)”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims Objections
7. Claims 4, 7-9 & 13-20 are objected to because of minor informalities:
8. Claim 4, in part, recites, “…the determining…in line 1. Since it is recited for the first time in the claim, for clarity it is suggested to change “the determining” to “determining”.
9. Claim 4, in part, recites, “…a first operation based on the first RRM measurement result, a first RRM measurement threshold, and a first adjustment parameter…in lines 2-3. For consistency and clarification with “a first operation based on the first RRM measurement result, a first RRM measurement threshold, and a first adjustment parameter” recited in claim 1, lines 2-3, it is suggested to change “a first operation based on the first RRM measurement result, a first RRM measurement threshold, and a first adjustment parameter” in lines 2-3, to “ the first operation based on the first RRM measurement result, the first RRM measurement threshold, and the first adjustment parameter”.
10. Claims 7-8 are also objected for the same reason as claim 4 above.
11. Claim 9 is also objected since they are depend upon objected claim set forth above.
12. Claim 13, recites, “a terminal device, comprising at least one processor, and at least one memory including a computer program”. It’s suggested to amend it to, “a terminal device, comprising: at least one processor, and at least one memory including a computer program”
13. Claims 14-19 are also objected since they are depend upon objected independent claim set forth above.
14. Claim 20, recites, “a chip, comprising a processor configured to invoke a program from a memory to cause a device installed with the chip to perform the method according to claim 1.” It is suggested to amend it to, “a chip, comprising: a processor configured to invoke a program from a memory to cause a device installed with the chip to perform the steps of performing, by a terminal device, radio resource management (RRM) measurement through a wake-up receiver (WUR) to obtain a first RRM measurement result” to avoid hybrid claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
16. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 12-14, 16-17 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhenguo et al. (hereinafter referred as Zhenguo) International Publication Application No. WO 2019/029467 A1 (as disclosed in the IDS).
Regarding claims 1 & 13: Zhenguo discloses a terminal device (See FIG. 15 & Para. 0232; a User Equipment (UE) 1500)/communication method, comprising
at least one processor (See FIG. 15 & Para. 0232; a User Equipment (UE) 1500 includes processor 1501), and
at least one memory (See FIG. 15 & Para. 0232; a User Equipment (UE) 1500 includes a memory 1502) including a computer program, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor are configured with the computer program, to cause the terminal device at least to:
perform radio resource management (RRM) measurement through a wake-up receiver (WUR) to obtain a first RRM measurement result (See Para. 0111 & 0131; the terminal device receives the synchronization frames respectively sent by each of the N base station 21 of the candidate serving cell through the WUR interface before performing cell reselection. Also, the terminal device 20 receives the first synchronization frame respectively sent by each of the candidate base station of the N candidate base station, the first synchronization frame sent by each candidate base station is separately measured, for example, and respectively measuring the first synchronization frame sent by each candidate base station or respectively measuring).
Regarding claims 2 & 14: Zhenguo discloses a terminal device/communication method, wherein the method further comprises: performing, by the terminal device, a first operation based on the first RRM measurement result, a first RRM measurement threshold, and a first adjustment parameter, wherein the first operation comprises one or more of cell selection, cell reselection, cell handover, RRM measurement relaxation, beam management, supplementary uplink (SUL) carrier switching, or switching between a 2-step random access procedure and a 4-step random access procedure (See Para. 0111; the cell reselection performed by the terminal device is a periodic measurement trigger or an event trigger. For example, when the terminal device measures the reference signal or the synchronization frame of the source serving cell and finds that the received power is less than a specific threshold, the terminal device is triggered to perform cell reselection, that is N candidate serving cells for cell reselection).
Regarding claim 3: Zhenguo discloses the communication method, wherein the first adjustment parameter is used to adjust the first RRM measurement result; or the first adjustment parameter is used to reduce the first RRM measurement result (See Para. 0138; the terminal device 20 adjusts the start time of the WUR interface 201 in the active state and the duration of the active state to a sixth duration that is less than the fifth duration).
Regarding claims 5 & 16: Zhenguo discloses a terminal device/communication method, wherein the first RRM measurement result comprises a plurality of measurement quantities, a first measurement quantity in the plurality of measurement quantities corresponds to the first adjustment parameter in a plurality of adjustment parameters, and different measurement quantities in the plurality of measurement quantities correspond to different adjustment parameters or a same adjustment parameter in the plurality of adjustment parameters (See Para. 0111; the specific criteria for determining the target serving cell based on the measurement results of N candidate serving cells can be determined by the terminal device 20. For example, the terminal device 20 may select the candidate serving cell with the highest received power as the target serving cell for cell reselection).
Regarding claims 6 & 17: Zhenguo discloses a terminal device/communication method, wherein the first adjustment parameter is used to adjust the first RRM measurement threshold; or the first adjustment parameter is used to reduce the first RRM measurement threshold (See Para. 0138; the terminal device 20 adjusts the start time of the WUR interface 201 in the active state and the duration of the active state to a sixth duration that is less than the fifth duration).
Regarding claims 12 & 19: Zhenguo discloses a terminal device/communication method, wherein the first RRM measurement threshold comprises one or more of following measurement thresholds (See Para. 0111; For example, when the terminal device measures the reference signal or the synchronization frame of the source serving cell and finds that the received power is less than a specific threshold, the terminal device is triggered to perform cell reselection, that is N candidate serving cells for cell reselection).
Regarding claim 20: Zhenguo discloses a chip (See FIG. 15 & Para. 0232; a User Equipment (UE) 1500), comprising a processor (See FIG. 15 & Para. 0232; a User Equipment (UE) 1500 includes processor 1501) configured to invoke a program from a memory (See FIG. 15 & Para. 0232; a User Equipment (UE) 1500 includes a memory 1502) to cause a device installed with the chip to perform the steps:
perform radio resource management (RRM) measurement through a wake-up receiver (WUR) to obtain a first RRM measurement result (See Para. 0111 & 0131; the terminal device receives the synchronization frames respectively sent by each of the N base station 21 of the candidate serving cell through the WUR interface before performing cell reselection. Also, the terminal device 20 receives the first synchronization frame respectively sent by each of the candidate base station of the N candidate base station, the first synchronization frame sent by each candidate base station is separately measured, for example, and respectively measuring the first synchronization frame sent by each candidate base station or respectively measuring).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
18. Claims 10 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhenguo, in view of 3GPP et al. (hereinafter referred as 3GPP) NPL Document, “3GPP; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access (E_UTRA); UE procedures in idle mode (Release 16) December 2021” (as disclosed in the IDS).
Regarding claims 10 & 18: Zhenguo discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with an exception of wherein the first RRM measurement threshold is a measurement threshold in a low-mobility criterion, and the first adjustment parameter is used to adjust an evaluation duration in the low-mobility criterion.
However, 3GPP from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the first RRM measurement threshold is a measurement threshold in a low-mobility criterion, and the first adjustment parameter is used to adjust an evaluation duration in the low-mobility criterion (See Section 5.2.43; Mobility of the UE such as normal mobility state a medium mobility state and high mobility state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first RRM measurement threshold is a measurement threshold in a low-mobility criterion, and the first adjustment parameter is used to adjust an evaluation duration in the low-mobility criterion as taught by 3GPP in the system of Zhenguo, would have yield predictable results of interoperability and compatibility between the telecommunication equipment vendors and service providers and resulted in the improve system (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Allowable Subject Matter
19. Claims 4, 7-9, 11 & 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
20. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Li et al. 2022/0007225 A1 (Title: Method for measurement relaxation, user equipment..…) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. Jung et al. 2021/0235344 A1 (Title: Method and apparatus for relaxing RRM measurement in…) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Koskinen et al. 2024/0224103 A1 (Title: RRM link monitoring measurements for redcap UE…) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469