DEATAILED ACTION
This communication is response to claims filed on 09/09/26.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-10 & 12-20 are amended.
Claims 15, 13 & 15 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ amendment filed on 09/09/26, regarding a specification objection (title) has been considered and is persuasive . Therefore, the specification to the claim is withdrawn.
Applicants’ amendment filed on 09/09/26, regarding a claim objection (4, 7-9 & 13-20) has been considered and is persuasive . Therefore, the objection to the claim is withdrawn.
8. Applicant's arguments and amendment filed on 08/12/26, regarding to a 102 & 103 rejection have been fully considered but they are moot with the new ground of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, 12-14 & 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (hereinafter referred as Liu) International Publication No. WO 2019/199391 A1, in view of Jung et al. (hereinafter referred as Jung) International Publication No. WO 2021/150075 A1.
Regarding claims 1 & 13: Liu discloses a terminal device (See FIG. 13 & Para. 00117; a User Equipment (UE))/method, comprising:
at least one processor (See FIG. 13 & Para. 00117; a User Equipment (UE) includes processor), and
at least one memory (See FIG. 13 & Para. 00117; a User Equipment (UE) includes processor includes memory) including a computer program, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor are configured with the computer program, to cause the terminal device at least to:
perform radio resource management (RRM) measurement through a wake-up receiver (WUR) to obtain a first RRM measurement result (See Para. 00112-00115; the UE performs RRM measurement in relaxed RRM measurement mode, including, one RRM measurement for multiple DRX cycles. it further teaches performing cell reselection “based on the RRM measurement),
perform a first operation based on the first RRM measurement result (See Para. 00122; based on the RRM measurement,” the UE may reselect a second cell. Thus, Liu expressly teaches an operation based upon an RRM measurement result),
Liu does not explicitly disclose perform a first operation based on second RRM measurement threshold; where the second RRM measurement threshold is different from a first RRM measurement threshold,
the first RRM measurement threshold comprises one or more of the following: an intra-frequency measurement threshold or an inter-frequency/inter-system measurement threshold.
However, Jung from the same field of endeavor discloses perform a first operation based on the first RRM measurement result (See FIG. 17; operations 1710-1730; the terminal identifies satisfaction of low-mobility/not-cell-edge criteria and determines whether to perform frequency measurement based on that identification);
perform a first operation based on second RRM measurement threshold (See FIG. 17 & Para. 0420-0422; SsearchThresholdP for Srxlev and SsearchThresholdQ for Squal as thresholds for relaxed frequency measurement. The terminal compares Srxlev against SsearchThresholdP and Squal against SsearchThresholdQ to determine satisfaction of the criterion);
where the second RRM measurement threshold is different from a first RRM measurement threshold (See Figs 16-17 and related paragraph & Para. 0034-0036; SsearchThresholdP may be ≤ SIntraSearchP and SnonIntraSearchP, and SsearchThresholdQ may be ≤ their corresponding Q thresholds),
the first RRM measurement threshold comprises one or more of the following: an intra-frequency measurement threshold or an inter-frequency/inter-system measurement threshold (See Para. 0291-0292; identifies SnonIntraSearchP/Q as thresholds for an inter-frequency or inter-RAT frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include perform a first operation based on second RRM measurement threshold; where the second RRM measurement threshold is different from a first RRM measurement threshold, the first RRM measurement threshold comprises one or more of the following: an intra-frequency measurement threshold or an inter-frequency/inter-system measurement threshold as taught by Jung in the system Liu to relax frequency measurement by a terminal in a wireless communication system by effectively providing a service in a mobile communication system (See Technical-Field; lines 2-3).
Regarding claims 2 & 14: The combination of Liu and Jung disclose the terminal device/method.
Furthermore, Liu discloses the terminal device/method, wherein the first operation comprises one or more of cell reselection (See Para. 00121; based on the RRM measurement, the UE may reselect a second cell).
Regarding claim 3: The combination of Liu and Jung disclose the method.
Furthermore, Jung discloses the method, wherein a first adjustment parameter is used to adjust the first RRM measurement result; or a first adjustment parameter is used to reduce the first RRM measurement result (See FIG. 16 & related paragraphs: alpha = Srxlev – Qrxlevmeas and corresponding: beta = Squal – Qqualmeas).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein a first adjustment parameter is used to adjust the first RRM measurement result; or a first adjustment parameter is used to reduce the first RRM measurement result as taught by Jung in the system Liu to relax frequency measurement by a terminal in a wireless communication system by effectively providing a service in a mobile communication system (See Technical-Field; lines 2-3).
Regarding claims 5 & 16: The combination of Liu and Jung disclose the terminal device/method.
Furthermore, Jung discloses the terminal device/method, wherein the first RRM measurement result comprises a plurality of measurement quantities (See FIG. 16; Jung uses at least Srxlev (receive-level quantity) and Squal (quality quantity)), a first measurement quantity in the plurality of measurement quantities corresponds to a first adjustment parameter in a plurality of adjustment parameters, and different measurement quantities in the plurality of measurement quantities correspond to different adjustment parameters or a same adjustment parameter in the plurality of adjustment parameters threshold (See Figs 16-17 and related paragraph & Para. 0034-0036; SsearchThresholdP may be ≤ SIntraSearchP and SnonIntraSearchP, and SsearchThresholdQ may be ≤ their corresponding Q thresholds) ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first RRM measurement result comprises a plurality of measurement quantities, a first measurement quantity in the plurality of measurement quantities corresponds to a first adjustment parameter in a plurality of adjustment parameters, and different measurement quantities in the plurality of measurement quantities correspond to different adjustment parameters or a same adjustment parameter in the plurality of adjustment parameters threshold as taught by Jung in the system Liu to relax frequency measurement by a terminal in a wireless communication system by effectively providing a service in a mobile communication system (See Technical-Field; lines 2-3).
Regarding claims 6 & 17: The combination of Liu and Jung disclose the terminal device/method.
Furthermore, Jung discloses the terminal device/method, wherein a first adjustment parameter is used to adjust the first RRM measurement threshold (See FIG. 17; SsearchThresholdP ≤ SIntraSearchP + alpha).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein a first adjustment parameter is used to adjust the first RRM measurement threshold as taught by Jung in the system Liu to relax frequency measurement by a terminal in a wireless communication system by effectively providing a service in a mobile communication system (See Technical-Field; lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 7: The combination of Liu and Jung disclose the method.
Furthermore, Jung discloses the terminal device/method, wherein the second RRM measurement threshold is obtained by adjusting the first RRM measurement threshold using the first adjustment parameter (See FIG. 16; SsearchThresholdP ≤ SnonIntraSearchP + alpha, where: alpha = Srxlev – Qrxlevmeas).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first RRM measurement threshold is a measurement threshold in a low-mobility criterion, and a first adjustment parameter is used to adjust an evaluation duration in the low-mobility criterion as taught by Jung in the system Liu to relax frequency measurement by a terminal in a wireless communication system by effectively providing a service in a mobile communication system (See Technical-Field; lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 8: The combination of Liu and Jung disclose the method.
Furthermore, Jung discloses the terminal device/method, wherein the first RRM measurement threshold comprises one or more of following a measurement threshold in a low-mobility criterion (See Para. 0279-0280; Jung identifies SsearchDeltaP as the threshold for variation of Srxlev in the low-mobility criterion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first RRM measurement threshold comprises one or more of following a measurement threshold in a low-mobility criterion as taught by Jung in the system Liu to relax frequency measurement by a terminal in a wireless communication system by effectively providing a service in a mobile communication system (See Technical-Field; lines 2-3).
Regarding claims 10 & 18: The combination of Liu and Jung disclose the method.
Furthermore, Jung discloses the terminal device/method, wherein the first RRM measurement threshold is a measurement threshold in a low-mobility criterion, and the first adjustment parameter is used to adjust an evaluation duration in the low-mobility criterion (See Para. 0279-0280; Jung identifies SsearchDeltaP as the threshold for variation of Srxlev in the low-mobility criterion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first RRM measurement threshold is a measurement threshold in a low-mobility criterion, and the first adjustment parameter is used to adjust an evaluation duration in the low-mobility criterion as taught by Jung in the system Liu to relax frequency measurement by a terminal in a wireless communication system by effectively providing a service in a mobile communication system (See Technical-Field; lines 2-3).
Regarding claims 12 & 19: The combination of Liu and Jung disclose the method.
Furthermore, Jung discloses the terminal device/method, wherein the first RRM measurement threshold comprises one or more of following measurement thresholds: a cell reselection threshold, a measurement threshold in a not-cell-edge criterion, and a measurement threshold in a low-mobility criterion (See FIGs. 6 & 8-13; identifies relaxed neighboring-cell measurement for cell-reselection evaluation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first RRM measurement threshold comprises one or more of following measurement thresholds: a cell reselection threshold, a measurement threshold in a not-cell-edge criterion, and a measurement threshold in a low-mobility criterion as taught by Jung in the system Liu to relax frequency measurement by a terminal in a wireless communication system by effectively providing a service in a mobile communication system (See Technical-Field; lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 20: Liu discloses a chip See FIG. 13 & Para. 00117; a User Equipment (UE)), comprising:
a processor (See FIG. 13 & Para. 00117; a User Equipment (UE) includes processor) configured to invoke a program from a memory (See FIG. 13 & Para. 00117; a User Equipment (UE) includes processor includes memory) to cause a device installed with the chip to perform steps of:
performing, by a terminal device, radio resource management (RRM) measurement through a wake-up receiver (WUR) to obtain a first RRM measurement result (See Para. 00112-00115; the UE performs RRM measurement in relaxed RRM measurement mode, including, one RRM measurement for multiple DRX cycles. it further teaches performing cell reselection “based on the RRM measurement),
performing, by the terminal device, a first operation based on the first RRM measurement result See Para. 00122; based on the RRM measurement,” the UE may reselect a second cell. Thus, Liu expressly teaches an operation based upon an RRM measurement result).
Liu does not explicitly disclose perform a first operation based on second RRM measurement threshold; where the second RRM measurement threshold is different from a first RRM measurement threshold, the first RRM measurement threshold comprises one or more of the following: an intra-frequency measurement threshold or an inter-frequency/inter-system measurement threshold.
However, Jung from the same field of endeavor discloses perform a first operation based on the first RRM measurement result (See FIG. 17; operations 1710-1730; the terminal identifies satisfaction of low-mobility/not-cell-edge criteria and determines whether to perform frequency measurement based on that identification);
perform a first operation based on second RRM measurement threshold (See FIG. 17 & Para. 0420-0422; SsearchThresholdP for Srxlev and SsearchThresholdQ for Squal as thresholds for relaxed frequency measurement. The terminal compares Srxlev against SsearchThresholdP and Squal against SsearchThresholdQ to determine satisfaction of the criterion);
where the second RRM measurement threshold is different from a first RRM measurement threshold (See Figs 16-17 and related paragraph & Para. 0034-0036; SsearchThresholdP may be ≤ SIntraSearchP and SnonIntraSearchP, and SsearchThresholdQ may be ≤ their corresponding Q thresholds),
the first RRM measurement threshold comprises one or more of the following: an intra-frequency measurement threshold or an inter-frequency/inter-system measurement threshold (See Para. 0291-0292; identifies SnonIntraSearchP/Q as thresholds for an inter-frequency or inter-RAT frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include perform a first operation based on second RRM measurement threshold; where the second RRM measurement threshold is different from a first RRM measurement threshold, the first RRM measurement threshold comprises one or more of the following: an intra-frequency measurement threshold or an inter-frequency/inter-system measurement threshold as taught by Jung in the system Liu to relax frequency measurement by a terminal in a wireless communication system by effectively providing a service in a mobile communication system (See Technical-Field; lines 2-3).
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 4, 9, 11 & 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
13. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Li et al. 2022/0007225 A1 (Title: Method for measurement relaxation, user equipment..…) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. Jung et al. 2021/0235344 A1 (Title: Method and apparatus for relaxing RRM measurement in…) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Koskinen et al. 2024/0224103 A1 (Title: RRM link monitoring measurements for redcap UE…) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469