DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The amendments filed October 30, 2024 have been entered and examined accordingly.
Claim Interpretation
In this application, the claims recite the following limitations that invoke an interpretation under 35 USC 112(f):
“a load-joint locking and displacement prevention means” is being interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). Per the specification and the claims, this is being interpreted (in the independent claims) as requiring (1) a locking means (interlocks), or (2) a displacement prevention means (cams), or (3) both (or equivalents).
“joint-material stabilizing device” is being interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). Per the specification, this structure is being interpretated as cams (or equivalents)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “said head is polygonal” which depends from claim 1 which recites that the head comprises “a multiplicity of head side faces” which renders the scope indefinite. It is unclear how claim 7 further limits, or defines, the structure as presented in claim 1. It appears that claim 1 already requires at least three sides, thus rendering the scope of claim 7 unclear.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "said at least one dummy joint" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hagenah US Patent Application Publication 2005/0066607 hereinafter referred to as Hagenah.
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Hagenah discloses a paving stone or paving slab (20), comprising: a base (see annotated figure below) comprising a load-joint locking and displacement prevention means (22 and 56) and a multiplicity of base side faces (as shown on the Figures, there are four shown); a head arranged on said base (see annotated figure below) having a head upper side (23) and a multiplicity of head side faces (as shown on the Figures, there are four shown); said head on its head upper side having a smaller periphery in a horizontal section than a nominal-dimension-based periphery of said base (space (38) versus space (32), given the chamfered edge as shown on Figure 8); said head side faces in a laid state of the paving stone or the paving slab form,
together with a head side face of an adjacent identical or similar paving stone or identical or
similar paving slab, a surface joint (38) with a surface-joint width which is the same as or larger
than a load-joint (32) width of a load joint between bases of adjacent identical or similar paving
stones or identical or similar paving slabs [0030 - 10mm for the surface joint versus 4mm for the load-joint]; and joint axes of said load joint and of said surface joint lying one on top of the other in a polysurface and said load joint and said surface joint connected to one another (as shown on Figures 9-16). Hagenah further discloses the additional limitation of claim 17, wherein Hagenah further discloses joint material (grass) in the-said surface joints (31) [0038].
[AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (line dividing the base and head)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (head of paver)][AltContent: textbox (base of paver)][AltContent: connector]
Annotated Figure 8 of Hagenah
Regarding claim 2, Hagenah further discloses the wherein said base side faces extend vertically [0001].
Regarding claim 3, Hagenah further discloses wherein said base is quadrilateral in said horizontal section (as shown on the figures).
Regarding claim 4, Hagenah further discloses wherein the load-joint locking and displacement prevention means has at least one spacer cams (56) on at least one of said base side faces for locking said load joints (the depressions (56) are considered equivalent structures as the disclosed spacer cams because they perform the same function as noted in [0039] that the depression (56) prevents horizontal shifting just like the disclosed spacer cams. Additionally, the specification does not define the structural scope of “cam” nor does it appear to be used in its normal meaning of a disk/plate that translates motion).
Regarding claim 5, Hagenah further discloses wherein the load-joint locking and displacement prevention means has at least two parallel, vertical, outwardly protruding interlock portions (22) on at least one of said base side faces for preventing displacement [0029], which in said laid state of the paving stone or the paving slab interact with said interlock portions on a base side face of an adjacent identical or similar paving stone or an adjacent identical or similar paving slab [0030-0033].
Regarding claim 6, Hagenah further discloses the load-joint locking and displacement prevention means has a load-joint locking device separate from a displacement prevention device (as cited in claims 4 and 5, Hagenah discloses distinct elements).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Hagenah further discloses wherein the head is polygonal in said horizontal section (as shown on the figures).
Regarding claim 8, Hagenah further discloses wherein the head side faces and said base side faces extend in side-parallel fashion (as shown on the figures).
Regarding claim 9, Hagenah further discloses wherein the head side faces extend downward with their cross sections widening (as shown on Figure 8 - via chamfer (27)).
Regarding claim 10, Hagenah further discloses comprising a console as claimed (see annotated figure below).
[AltContent: textbox (console)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (base of paver)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (head of paver)][AltContent: ][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Annotated Figure 8 of Hagenah
Regarding claim 11, Hagenah further discloses wherein said head side faces merge into said console (as shown on the Figure 8).
Regarding claim 12, Hagenah further discloses wherein said console extends horizontally (as shown on Figure 8, the console extends in both a vertical and horizontal direction).
Regarding claim 13, Hagenah further discloses at least one joint-material stabilizing device on at least one of said head side faces (see mapping to the console above - Examiner notes that this claim is directly off of claim 1, and therefore can be mapped to the same structure of claim 10).
Regarding claim 14, Hagenah further discloses at least one dummy joint (see mapping above to the console - Examiner notes that this claim is directly off of claim 1, and therefore can be mapped to the same structure of claim 10).
Regarding claim 15, Hagenah further discloses wherein said base is made of concrete (see title of the invention).
Regarding claim 18, Hagenah further discloses wherein said paving stones or paving slabs are configured and arranged such that straight profiles of said surface joints with identical surface-joint widths are produced or upper sides of said paving stones or paving slabs are flat or configured or arranged such that profiles of said surface joints with irregular surface-joint widths are produced [0032-0040].
Regarding claim 19, Hagenah further discloses wherein said base has a greater height than said head (as shown on the figures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagenah as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sturley US Patent Application Publication 2008/0217584 hereinafter referred to as Sturley.
Regarding claim 16, Hagenah discloses the paving stone according to claim 1 as discussed above. Hagenah fails to disclose wherein the head and base are made of distinct materials. Sturley teaches an analogous paving brick with a head (604, 606 - Figures 15-18) and a base (602). The head is made of a photoluminescent material in order to providing lighting in low light conditions [0004 and 0005]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the head and base portions of Hagenah with distinct materials, such as a photoluminescent material for the head to achieve the advantage of proving light for users.
Regarding claim 20, Hagenah fails to disclose wherein said head is fastened by adhesive bonding to said base. Sturley teaches an analogous paving brick with a head (604, 606 - Figures 15-18) and a base (602). The head is made of a photoluminescent material in order to providing lighting in low light conditions [0004 and 0005]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the head and base portions of Hagenah with distinct materials, such as a photoluminescent material for the head to achieve the advantage of proving light for users. With this modification, Sturley further teaches wherein the head portion would be adhered to the base [0077, 0088].
Regarding claim 21, Hagenah further discloses further comprising said head is made of one of natural stone, ceramic, glass, brick, wood, plastic, or metal. Sturley teaches an analogous paving brick with a head (604, 606 - Figures 15-18) and a base (602). The head is made of a photoluminescent material in order to providing lighting in low light conditions [0004 and 0005]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the head and base portions of Hagenah with distinct materials, such as a photoluminescent material for the head to achieve the advantage of proving light for users. With this modification, the head portion is made from plastic [0078].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu US Patent 5,409,325 teaches a paver with distinct materials for the head and base as well as being formed with interlocking elements between the pavers.
Scheiwiller US Patent Application Publication 2008/0101860 teaches an analogous paver with concave and convex interlocking side faces with a head portion and a base portion.
Geiger US Patent Application Publication 2002/0104283 teaches an analogous interlocking paver.
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676