DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement
This final office action is in response to the amendment filed on 06/22/2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 5, 6, 11, 15, 16, 21, 25, and 26 have been amended.
Claims 1-30 are now pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/22/2026 regarding the 35 U.S.C. 101 and 102 rejections of claims 1-30 have been fully considered. The Applicant argues the following.
(1) As per the 101 rejection, the Applicant argues, in summary, that claim 1, as amended, recites a series of automated steps that involve transformation of data from one form to another, which steps cannot be performed by a human mind since they require machine-based computation in a computing system. The Applicant also argues that claim 1 as amended recites a specific technological solution that improves computer-based data processing and predictive analytics outputs from heterogeneous multi-source data.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner submits that although the claims recite steps performed by a computer, the claims still describe a mental process of collecting, aggregating, transforming data to predict a future value and generate and display a report, which can be performed mentally with pen and paper without a computer. Per MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), mental processes include claims directed to collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer. Also, MPEP 2106.04(a) states that a claim recites a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim.
The Examiner also submits that the additional elements recited in the claims and listed in Steps 2A(2) and 2B do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide an inventive concept because the additional elements do not improve the functioning of a computer beyond its original capabilities (e.g. data processing and analysis). The Applicant’s specification does support or recite such an improvement. Per MPEP 2106.05 (a), if it is asserted that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes, a technical explanation as to how to implement the invention should be present in the specification. That is, the disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. An indication that the claimed invention provides an improvement can include a discussion in the specification that identifies a technical problem and explains the details of an unconventional technical solution expressed in the claim, or identifies technical improvements realized by the claim over the prior art. The additional elements reflects the mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer. Applying an abstract idea on a computer does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection is maintained.
(2) As per the 102 rejection, the Applicant argues that Natali fails to teach the limitations recited in amended claim 1.
The Examiner finds the Applicant’s arguments persuasive. Therefore, the 102 rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further search and consideration, a new ground of 103 rejection is applied to claim 1. See details below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 11, and 21 recite the limitations of “…the at least one quantitative data element associated with the entity comprises at least one derived output generated by correlating data collected from at least two of the geographically diverse sources; the derived output is not present in any single one of the geographically diverse sources;”. Support for this limitation was not found in the Applicant’s specification nor in the Applicant’s remarks. Therefore, claims 1, 11, and 21 contain new matter and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a). Dependent claims 2-10, 12-20, and 22-30 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention, “Predictive Analysis Based on Aggregated Corporate and Financial Data”, is directed to an abstract idea, specifically Mental Processes, without significantly more. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements individually or in combination provide mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
Step 1: Claims 1-30 are directed to a statutory category, namely a process (claims 1-10), a manufacture (claims 11-20), and a machine (claims 21-30).
Step 2A (1): Independent claims 1, 11, and 21 are directed to an abstract idea of Mental Processes, based on the following claim limitations: “performing predictive analysis based on aggregated multi-source data; collecting/collect data associated with an entity from a plurality of geographically diverse sources, wherein the plurality of geographically diverse sources comprises at least two of: job posting data sources, government labor market data sources, government education data sources, and corporate financial data sources; aggregating/aggregate the collected data to generate an aggregated data set organized according to a multi-dimensional taxonomy comprising at least two of: a geographic dimension, an occupational dimension, and a corporate financial dimension; storing/store the aggregated data; transforming/transform the aggregated data set to generate an interactive analytical report depicting a geographic distribution of at least one quantitative data element associated with the entity; and displaying/display the generated report; wherein: the at least one quantitative data element associated with the entity comprises at least one derived output generated by correlating data collected from at least two of the geographically diverse sources; the derived output is not present in any single one of the geographically diverse sources; and the derived output comprises a predicted future value of at least one quantitative data element associated with the entity.”. These claim limitations describe a process of collecting, aggregating, transforming data to predict a future value and generate and display a report, which can practically be performed mentally with pen and paper. Dependent claims 2-10, 12-20, and 22-30 further describe the elements of the data and the generated report. Therefore, these limitations, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the abstract groupings of Mental Processes which include concepts performed in the human mind such as observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. Mental Processes include claims directed to collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer. The courts have found claims requiring a generic computer or nominally reciting a generic computer may still recite a mental process even though the claim limitations are not performed entirely in the human mind. Therefore, claims 1-30 as a whole are directed to an abstract idea and are not patent eligible.
Step 2A (2): The claims as a whole do not integrate this abstract idea into a practical application. In particular, claims 1, 8, 10, 11, 18, 20 and 21, 28, 30 recite additional elements of “computer-implemented; a processor; a storage device; an output device (claims 1, 11, and 21); an input device (claims 8, 10, 18, 20, 28, and 30); A non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising instructions stored thereon, that when performed by one or more hardware processing devices, perform the steps (claim 11); A system… comprising: a processor, configured to; a storage device, communicatively coupled to the processor, configured to; an output device, communicatively coupled to the processor, configured to (claim 21) ”. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims do not recite (a) an improvement to another technology or technical field and (b) an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself and (c) implementing the abstract idea with or by use of a particular machine, (d) effecting a particular transformation or reduction of an article, or (e) applying the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. These additional elements evaluated individually and in combination are viewed as computing and display devices that are used to perform the abstract process of collecting, aggregating, transforming data to predict a future value and generate and display a report. Limitations that recite mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea are not indicative of integration into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, claims 1-30 as a whole do not include individual or a combination of additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and thus are not patent eligible.
Step 2B: The claims as a whole do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Claims 1, 8, 10, 11, 18, 20 and 21, 28, 30 recite additional elements of “computer-implemented; a processor; a storage device; an output device (claims 1, 11, and 21); an input device (claims 8, 10, 18, 20, 28, and 30); A non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising instructions stored thereon, that when performed by one or more hardware processing devices, perform the steps (claim 11); A system… comprising: a processor, configured to; a storage device, communicatively coupled to the processor, configured to; an output device, communicatively coupled to the processor, configured to (claim 21) ”. These additional elements evaluated individually and in combination are viewed as mere instructions to apply or implement the abstract idea on a computer. Applying an abstract idea on a computer does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, claims 1-30 as a whole do not include individual or a combination of additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea and thus are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natali, JR. et al. (US 2022/0019337 A1) in view of Goodson et al. (US 2010/0030722 A1).
As per claims 1, 11, and 21 (Currently Amended), Natali teaches a computer-implemented method for performing predictive analysis based on aggregated data, comprising; a non-transitory computer-readable medium for performing predictive analysis based on aggregated data, comprising instructions stored thereon, that when performed by one or more hardware processing devices, perform the steps of; a system for performing predictive analysis based on aggregated data, comprising: a processor, configured to (Natali e.g. This disclosure relates to a method and system of displaying highly variable information associated with one or more entities on an interactive digitally rendered map [0002]. The invention relates to a method and system of providing financial and investment education information and, more particularly, to a method and system of providing a map displaying the locations and attributes of objects or entities that are the subject of financial and investment education information [0002]. FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of hardware infrastructure for an interactive map display system according to an embodiment of the invention; [0024]. Hardware infrastructure for an exemplary embodiment of an interactive map display system 100 according to the invention will be described. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 1, the hardware infrastructure has a system architecture depicted with reference to FIG. 1, the system 100 is built on one or more network routers 2 (for instance, a wireless router) and connected to a web server 5 (the front end of the system, as will be discussed), and/or a database application server 4 (the back end of the system, as will be discussed), each having access to one or more data files. The system 100 also utilizes known hardware components, including, a firewall 6, a network 9, and the computing device 10 of the user. In an embodiment, the computing device 10 may be a tablet computer or smart phone with a touchscreen display 11. The computing device 10 is to be provided with a memory device that is a storage device having computer components and recording media used to retain digital data. The processor of the computing device is a central processing unit (CPU) that manipulates data stored in the memory device by performing computations [0049]. FIG. 19 is a flow diagram depicting in an embodiment, the transmission of company data to the client and presentation of an information window upon selection of an icon, according to an exemplary embodiment of the invention; [0042].):
Natali teaches at a processor, automatically collecting/collect data associated with an entity from a plurality of geographically diverse sources, wherein the plurality of geographically diverse sources comprises at least two of: job posting data sources, government labor market data sources, government education data sources, and corporate financial data sources; (Natali e.g. In an embodiment, the application database server 4 may house a data aggregator API that can connect, using techniques known to those skilled in the art, to one of a database file or a third party API, to obtain frequently updated information relevant to the subject matter of an interactive map display [0050]. In an embodiment, the data aggregator may access a database file containing information relevant to financial or stock market information, or alternatively to regularly updated statistical information related to sports teams and players, as non-limiting examples (Fig. 1 and [0050]). The selection module enables the user to select a user selectable button that could be displayed following a specific user action, such as a “right-click” where a mouse event occurs. The user selectable button could be used to facilitate a function within the system, such as “Buy Now”, “Buy Local”, “Trade”, “View Job Listings”, etc. [0080]. In another exemplary embodiment, where the aim of the system is to advance the education of the user researching the entities, there may beneficially be included within the additional information panel 206 links to job descriptors associated with such an organization. For example, research a technology company, or alternatively, an energy company, as non-limiting examples, may bring up links within the additional information panel to explore career paths in the technology sector, or energy sector, respectively. Alternatively, there may be provided a link to current job openings or internship opportunities within the selected organization [0132].).
Natali teaches at the processor, automatically aggregating/aggregate the collected data to generate an aggregated data set organized according to a multi-dimensional taxonomy comprising at least two of: a geographic dimension, dimension, and a corporate financial dimension; (Natali e.g. In an embodiment, the application database server 4 may house a data aggregator API that can connect, using techniques known to those skilled in the art, to one of a database file or a third party API, to obtain frequently updated information relevant to the subject matter of an interactive map display (Fig. 1 and [0050]). In the depicted embodiment, there are icons 202 depicted on the interactive map 200 representative of the location of corporate entities on the S&P 500 index of funds, though it is contemplated that maps may be prepared with icons 202 representing locations, businesses, entities, persons, or items distinct from those shown in FIG. 8 [0060]. The backend database houses a list of businesses categorized by product or services, along with the database containing longitude and latitude coordinates which may be associated with an area or radius surrounding the user device. The selection module thus can determine which businesses meet the criteria, whether distance, or business category, to be displayed on the map display when the user initiates a “buy local” action [0088]. The filter module is configured to allow the user to apply filters to a listing of the entries, such as by selecting the categories of icons that are to be included in the display list. The filtering of entries may alternatively be based on a variety of factors, including distance from the user's location (or a user defined location), sector or class (such S&P 500 sector, or industry group), share price, change in share price, market cap, P/E ratio, revenue, and/or number of employees [0090].)
Natali teaches at a storage device, storing / causing a storage device to store / a storage device, communicatively coupled to the processor, configured to store the aggregated data set; (Natali e.g. FIG. 5 provides an exemplary schematic diagram of the hardware infrastructure for an interactive map display system 100 according to the invention and depicts a third-party data API 122 that can be in electronic communication with a Map Database 126. The third party data API 122 may provide any nature of information, for example, frequently updated information, that is required for preparation of the interactive map display 222 [0053]. The Map Database 126 electronically communicates with, to receive and house data from one or more third-party data API providers 122, an may additionally provide internally populated data created or provided by the map administrator, such as the location coordinates (for example, longitude and latitude coordinates) for the accurate location of the primary icon elements 202a on the map image 222, as will be discussed [0053]. Examples of data that can be stored in the Map Database 126 include stock ticker information, prices, company sectors, market capitalizations, etc. [0053].)
Natali teaches at the processor, automatically transforming the aggregated data set to generate an interactive analytical report depicting a…geographic distribution of at least one quantitative data element associated with the entity; and (Natali e.g. One skilled in the art may utilize the teachings herein to create any variety of maps utilizing information that is frequently variable, and tied to an object or entity that is able to be geographically located and displayed on a map [0053]. The collective information of the Map Database 126 can be accessed by the user through the Map API 130 and rendered on the user's device 10 using the Map Web Application 138 [0054]. Through the use of the graphical user interface on the screen 11 of the user's computing device 10, the user can transform the interactive map display 222 and perform interactions with the map, with a variety of tools, as will be discussed below. Depending on the user's interaction, new data sets or data visualizations may be selected or the display may be refined on the client device 10 [0054]. The icon display module is configured to provide, for each of the primary icon elements 202a, a rendering of the primary icon element 202a in the location on the map image 222 being displayed, corresponding to the geographic coordinates (i.e., Longitude and Latitude) according the information for the entity represented by that icon 202, as stored in the database 126 for each item within that data set that is chosen by the user for display (i.e., for all of the visible icons 202 on the portion of the map image 222 being displayed); or alternatively, for each item contained within a default data set of the map administrator's choosing [0067]. In still another embodiment, the database may be populated using a combination of automated and manual processes, for example manually triggering software to access the updated information, for example, provided as a text string, and a computer program may then transpose or transform the data as needed for preparing the interactive map 200 display [0255].)
Natali teaches at an/causing output device, displaying/ to display; an output device, communicatively coupled to the processor, configured to display the generated report (Natali e.g. In an exemplary embodiment, the interactive map display system 100 provides a digitally rendered interactive map 200, for example, as shown with reference to FIG. 8 [0058]. In the depicted embodiment, there are icons 202 depicted on the interactive map 200 representative of the location of corporate entities on the S&P 500 index of funds, though it is contemplated that maps may be prepared with icons 202 representing locations, businesses, entities, persons, or items distinct from those shown in FIG. 8 [0060].).
Natali teaches wherein: the at least one quantitative data element associated with the entity comprises at least one derived output generated by correlating data collected from at least two of the geographically diverse sources; the derived output is not present in any single one of the geographically diverse sources; and (Natali e.g. With reference to FIG. 18, there is depicted an embodiment of the interactive map 200 that depicts connections represented as connecting lines 330 between primary icon elements 202a on the interactive map 200. Such links may be useful in data mining or discovering connections between entities. For the embodiment of FIG. 18, the icons 202 depicted represent companies, and the links depicted as connecting lines 330 represent revenue flowing between connections, though it is contemplated that the connections may represent a variety of factors, for example, the strength or extent of financial ties, debt, or investment relationships between icons on the interactive map 200, or other connections that may be examined, such as connections through suppliers/purchaser relationships, shared suppliers or customers, or connections through references in news articles, as non-limiting examples [0120]. The strength of each individual connection, which may be, for example, the monetary value represented through the connection, the % of revenue, value of business to business contracts, or credit extended between entities, as non-limiting examples, may be indicated on the interactive map 200 by varying any one or more of color, opacity, or thickness of the line on the interactive map 200 [0120]. Additional columns with data within the database could measure the number of news mentions or other quantitative data which may be used to measure strength or magnitude of various data relationships, and may be utilized in the creation of connection lines 330 on the display [0123]. The thickness, color, or intensity of a visually rendered connection (or connections) may be governed by an algorithm or algorithms (housed in either the database or on the front end) evaluating quantitative factors of the relationship, such as number of news mentions, percentage of revenue, etc., the values of which could be contained in the database as previously described [0125].)
Natali does not explicitly teach, however, Goodson teaches generating predictive quantitative data and the derived output comprises a predicted future value of at least one quantitative data element associated with the entity. (Goodson e.g. A system and method for measuring a performance of an entity and for predicting its future performance is disclosed (Abstract). The first step to building a predictive model for startup type entities is to create a method to compute the performance of such entities through a standardized scoring system [0026]. Data collection includes retrieving data from internal sources, such as a social network platform that showcases entity profiles, and external sources including mainstream media and social media. Other information may also be collected, such as the entity's funding, traffic on the entity's website (or equivalent traffic in sales of widgets, for example), industry specific information (e.g., numbers of patents filed, regulatory agency compliance), and analyst modifications to the dataset [0027]. Using this information as one of many other inputs, a predictive model computing system may predict the future success of an entity, such as an early stage startup, and provide an estimated valuation of the entity at some point in the future [0028]. By measuring all aspects of an entity's current performance (or cross-sectional snapshot) in a quantitative way (financial health, team robustness, positioning in the space/sector, efficiency, popularity, etc.), the performance scores of an entity over a time period are received to build historical data for the entity. Thus, a longitudinal record of a statistically significant database of entities enable the creation and continual modification of predictive models based on identified patterns of predictive indicators. Using the predictive indicators, the future performance of a particular entity may be predicted based on its current conformation, team composition, positioning in the space and overall performance. In one embodiment, a graph may report the progress of an entity over time and report the future performance of the entity. In another embodiment, the scores of several entities may be displayed in an index sorted by a ranking of the scores [0031].)
The Examiner submits that before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Natali’s method and system for presenting an interactive map display to include predicting and displaying a future value of at least one quantitative data element as taught by Goodson in order to assess the risks and potential returns of any given entity (Goodson e.g. [0006]).
As per claims 2, 12, and 22 (Original), Natali in view of Goodson teach the method of claim 1, the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, and the system of claim 21, Natali teaches wherein the entity comprises a corporation (Natali e.g. In the depicted embodiment, there are icons 202 depicted on the interactive map 200 representative of the location of corporate entities on the S&P 500 index of funds, though it is contemplated that maps may be prepared with icons 202 representing locations, businesses, entities, persons, or items distinct from those shown in FIG. 8 [0060].).
As per claims 3, 13, and 23 (Original), Natali in view of Goodson teach the method of claim 2, the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, and the system of claim 22, Natali teaches wherein the geographic distribution of at least one quantitative data element associated with the entity comprises a geographic distribution of job listings associated with the corporation (Natali e.g. The selection module enables the user to select a user selectable button that could be displayed following a specific user action, such as a “right-click” where a mouse event occurs. The user selectable button could be used to facilitate a function within the system, such as “Buy Now”, “Buy Local”, “Trade”, “View Job Listings”, etc. [0080].).
As per claims 4, 14, and 24 (Original), Natali in view of Goodson teach the method of claim 2, the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, and the system of claim 22, Natali teaches wherein the interactive analytical report further depicts corporate data describing the corporation (Natali e.g. Such an interactive map allows the user to search and review rapidly changed or unpredictably updated information, for example, financial information, for a plurality of entities displayed on the interactive map simultaneously [0006]. In the depicted embodiment, there are icons 202 depicted on the interactive map 200 representative of the location of corporate entities on the S&P 500 index of funds, though it is contemplated that maps may be prepared with icons 202 representing locations, businesses, entities, persons, or items distinct from those shown in FIG. 8 [0060]. For example, the primary icon element 202a may represent a corporate entity, having a location at a specific address depicted on the interactive map 200, which may be a place of business or company headquarters [0066].)
As per claims 5, 15, and 25 (Currently Amended), Natali in view of Goodson teach the method of claim 4, the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, and the system of claim 24, Natali teaches wherein the corporate data describes at least one selected from the group consisting of: corporate valuation; board of directors; headquarters; competitors; locations of schools from which the corporation is hiring; job postings associated with the company; and job skills the company is currently seeking (Natali e.g. In an exemplary embodiment of the interactive map display system, the secondary icon element includes a visualization metric representing frequently updated data of changing values and changing on a periodic basis. In an exemplary embodiment, the visualization metric is a bubble metric representing a changing financial data [0017]. The selection module enables the user to select a user selectable button that could be displayed following a specific user action, such as a “right-click” where a mouse event occurs. The user selectable button could be used to facilitate a function within the system, such as “Buy Now”, “Buy Local”, “Trade”, “View Job Listings”, etc. [0080]. In another exemplary embodiment, where the aim of the system is to advance the education of the user researching the entities, there may beneficially be included within the additional information panel 206 links to job descriptors associated with such an organization. For example, research a technology company, or alternatively, an energy company, as non-limiting examples, may bring up links within the additional information panel to explore career paths in the technology sector, or energy sector, respectively. Alternatively, there may be provided a link to current job openings or internship opportunities within the selected organization [0132].).
As per claims 6, 16, and 26 (Currently Amended), Natali in view of Goodson teach the method of claim 4, the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, and the system of claim 24, Natali teaches wherein the corporate data describes at least one selected from the group consisting of: financial data; and stock data; (Natali e.g. In an exemplary embodiment of the interactive map display system, the secondary icon element includes a visualization metric representing frequently updated data of changing values and changing on a periodic basis [0017]. In an exemplary embodiment, the visualization metric is a bubble metric representing a changing financial data [0017]. In the depicted embodiment, there are icons 202 depicted on the interactive map 200 representative of the location of corporate entities on the S&P 500 index of funds, though it is contemplated that maps may be prepared with icons 202 representing locations, businesses, entities, persons, or items distinct from those shown in FIG. 8 [0060]. As has been previously described, each icon 202 on the map display 200 may represent a unique data object, with its own associated data sets, such as stock performance, financial metrics, company descriptions, sports statistics, etc. (Fig. 7 and [0108]).)
As per claims 7, 17, and 27 (Original), Natali in view of Goodson teach the method of claim 2, the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, and the system of claim 22, Natali teaches wherein the interactive analytical report further depicts historical job information associated with the corporation (Natali e.g. The selection module enables the user to select a user selectable button that could be displayed following a specific user action, such as a “right-click” where a mouse event occurs. The user selectable button could be used to facilitate a function within the system, such as “Buy Now”, “Buy Local”, “Trade”, “View Job Listings”, etc. [0080]. In another exemplary embodiment, where the aim of the system is to advance the education of the user researching the entities, there may beneficially be included within the additional information panel 206 links to job descriptors associated with such an organization. For example, research a technology company, or alternatively, an energy company, as non-limiting examples, may bring up links within the additional information panel to explore career paths in the technology sector, or energy sector, respectively. Alternatively, there may be provided a link to current job openings or internship opportunities within the selected organization [0132].).
As per claims 8, 18, and 28 (Original), Natali in view of Goodson teach the method of claim 1, the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, and the system of claim 21, Natali teaches further comprising: causing an input device to receive user input specifying report parameters (Natali e.g. In an exemplary embodiment of the interactive map display system, the secondary icon element includes a visualization metric representing frequently updated data of changing values and changing on a periodic basis [0017]. In an embodiment, the secondary icon element includes a bubble data visualization positioned around the primary icon element. The secondary icon element may further provide a visualization metric based on data values associated with a user selected parameter [0017].); and wherein generating the interactive analytical report comprises generating the interactive analytical report using the specified report parameters. (Natali e.g. Through the use of the graphical user interface on the screen 11 of the user's computing device 10, the user can transform the interactive map display 222 and perform interactions with the map, with a variety of tools, as will be discussed below. Depending on the user's interaction, new data sets or data visualizations may be selected or the display may be refined on the client device 10 [0054]. The interactive map 200 may be customized to each user, such that the user would be capable of filtering the icons to be displayed to include only those icons representing companies that the user has invested in, or has been placed on a watch list [0090].)
As per claims 9, 19, and 29 (Original), Natali in view of Goodson teach the method of claim 1, the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, and the system of claim 21, Natali teaches wherein the interactive analytical report comprises an interactive map-based report graphically depicting quantitative data for a plurality of regions on a geographic map (Natali e.g. Such an interactive map allows the user to search and review rapidly changed or unpredictably updated information, for example, financial information, for a plurality of entities displayed on the interactive map simultaneously [0006]. FIG. 10 is another screen shot of the user interface for an interactive map display system according to the invention showing a representative map as rendered on a display of a computing device, where an icon having a secondary icon element 202b indicating positive growth of the stock price has been selected and the display includes an additional information panel for the selected icon; [0033]. The scale of the interactive map 200 display may be adjusted to revert to a default scale on the display by the user selecting the full scale button in the interface, whereupon the scale of the interactive map 200 will be adjusted to display the region of focus for the interactive map 200 display, which may be the continental United States, or any other global region, as may be desirable for the information being depicted in the interactive map 200 [0059].).
As per claim 10, 20, and 30 (Original), Natali in view of Goodson teach the method of claim 9, the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19, and the system of claim 29, Natali teaches further comprising: causing an input device to receive user input specifying a level of granularity for the map; and displaying the interactive map-based report at the specified level of granularity (Natali e.g. In an exemplary embodiment, the interactive map display system further has a search panel for entry of a search string and displaying a list of results [0020]. The interactive map 200 may be customized to each user, such that the user would be capable of filtering the icons to be displayed to include only those icons representing companies that the user has invested in, or has been placed on a watch list [0090]. In an exemplary embodiment, and as can be seen with reference to FIG. 8, the interactive map 200 display may provide the user a control option to selectively filter the categories of the icons to be displayed on the interactive map 200 [0092]. FIG. 23 is a flow diagram depicting in an embodiment, the categorization and filtering of the display of icons on the map, according to an exemplary embodiment of the invention [0046].).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3624
/Jerry O'Connor/Supervisory Patent Examiner,Group Art Unit 3624