DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement
This non-final office action is in response to claims filed on 08/22/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/09/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention, “Predictive Analysis Based on Aggregated Corporate and Financial Data”, is directed to an abstract idea, specifically Mental Processes, without significantly more. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements individually or in combination provide mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
Step 1: Claims 1-30 are directed to a statutory category, namely a process (claims 1-10), a manufacture (claims 11-20), and a machine (claims 21-30).
Step 2A (1): Independent claims 1, 11, and 21 are directed to an abstract idea of Mental Processes, based on the following claim limitations: “performing predictive analysis based on aggregated data; collecting/collect data associated with an entity from a plurality of geographically diverse sources; aggregating/aggregate the collected data; storing/store the aggregated data; generating/generate, from the aggregated data, an interactive analytical report depicting a geographic distribution of at least one quantitative data element associated with the entity; and displaying the generated report”. These claim limitations describe a process of collecting and aggregating data to generate and display a report, which can practically be performed mentally with pen and paper. Dependent claims 2-10, 12-20, and 22-30 further describe the elements of the data and the generated report. Therefore, these limitations, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the abstract groupings of Mental Processes which include concepts performed in the human mind such as observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. Mental Processes include claims directed to collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer. The courts have found claims requiring a generic computer or nominally reciting a generic computer may still recite a mental process even though the claim limitations are not performed entirely in the human mind. Therefore, claims 1-30 are directed to an abstract idea and are not patent eligible.
Step 2A (2): This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claims 1, 8, 10, 11, 18, 20 and 21, 28, 30 recite additional elements of “computer-implemented; a processor; a storage device; an output device (claims 1, 11, and 21); an input device (claims 8, 10, 18, 20, 28, and 30); A non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising instructions stored thereon, that when performed by one or more hardware processing devices, perform the steps (claim 11); A system… comprising: a processor, configured to; a storage device, communicatively coupled to the processor, configured to; an output device, communicatively coupled to the processor, configured to (claim 21) ”. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims do not recite (a) an improvement to another technology or technical field and (b) an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself and (c) implementing the abstract idea with or by use of a particular machine, (d) effecting a particular transformation or reduction of an article, or (e) applying the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. These additional elements evaluated individually and in combination are viewed as computing and display devices that are used to perform the abstract process of collecting and aggregating data to generate and display a report. Limitations that recite mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea are not indicative of integration into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, claims 1-30 do not include individual or a combination of additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and thus are not patent eligible.
Step 2B: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Claims 1, 8, 10, 11, 18, 20 and 21, 28, 30 recite additional elements of “computer-implemented; a processor; a storage device; an output device (claims 1, 11, and 21); an input device (claims 8, 10, 18, 20, 28, and 30); A non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising instructions stored thereon, that when performed by one or more hardware processing devices, perform the steps (claim 11); A system… comprising: a processor, configured to; a storage device, communicatively coupled to the processor, configured to; an output device, communicatively coupled to the processor, configured to (claim 21) ”. These additional elements evaluated individually and in combination are viewed as mere instructions to apply or implement the abstract idea on a computer. Applying an abstract idea on a computer does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, claims 1-30 do not include individual or a combination of additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception and thus are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Natali, Jr. et al. (US 2022/0019337 A1).
As per claims 1, 11, and 21, Natali teaches a computer-implemented method for performing predictive analysis based on aggregated data, comprising; a non-transitory computer-readable medium for performing predictive analysis based on aggregated data, comprising instructions stored thereon, that when performed by one or more hardware processing devices, perform the steps of; a system for performing predictive analysis based on aggregated data, comprising: a processor, configured to (Natali e.g. This disclosure relates to a method and system of displaying highly variable information associated with one or more entities on an interactive digitally rendered map [0002]. The invention relates to a method and system of providing financial and investment education information and, more particularly, to a method and system of providing a map displaying the locations and attributes of objects or entities that are the subject of financial and investment education information [0002]. FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of hardware infrastructure for an interactive map display system according to an embodiment of the invention; [0024]. Hardware infrastructure for an exemplary embodiment of an interactive map display system 100 according to the invention will be described. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 1, the hardware infrastructure has a system architecture depicted with reference to FIG. 1, the system 100 is built on one or more network routers 2 (for instance, a wireless router) and connected to a web server 5 (the front end of the system, as will be discussed), and/or a database application server 4 (the back end of the system, as will be discussed), each having access to one or more data files. The system 100 also utilizes known hardware components, including, a firewall 6, a network 9, and the computing device 10 of the user. In an embodiment, the computing device 10 may be a tablet computer or smart phone with a touchscreen display 11. The computing device 10 is to be provided with a memory device that is a storage device having computer components and recording media used to retain digital data. The processor of the computing device is a central processing unit (CPU) that manipulates data stored in the memory device by performing computations [0049]. FIG. 19 is a flow diagram depicting in an embodiment, the transmission of company data to the client and presentation of an information window upon selection of an icon, according to an exemplary embodiment of the invention; [0042].):
Natali teaches at a processor, automatically collecting/collect data associated with an entity from a plurality of geographically diverse sources; (Natali e.g. In an embodiment, the application database server 4 may house a data aggregator API that can connect, using techniques known to those skilled in the art, to one of a database file or a third party API, to obtain frequently updated information relevant to the subject matter of an interactive map display [0050]. In an embodiment, the data aggregator may access a database file containing information relevant to financial or stock market information, or alternatively to regularly updated statistical information related to sports teams and players, as non-limiting examples (Fig. 1 and [0050]).).
Natali teaches at the processor, automatically aggregating/aggregate the collected data; (Natali e.g. In an embodiment, the application database server 4 may house a data aggregator API that can connect, using techniques known to those skilled in the art, to one of a database file or a third party API, to obtain frequently updated information relevant to the subject matter of an interactive map display (Fig. 1 and [0050]).)
Natali teaches at a storage device, storing / causing a storage device to store / a storage device, communicatively coupled to the processor, configured to store the aggregated data; (Natali e.g. FIG. 5 provides an exemplary schematic diagram of the hardware infrastructure for an interactive map display system 100 according to the invention and depicts a third-party data API 122 that can be in electronic communication with a Map Database 126. The third party data API 122 may provide any nature of information, for example, frequently updated information, that is required for preparation of the interactive map display 222 [0053]. The Map Database 126 electronically communicates with, to receive and house data from one or more third-party data API providers 122, an may additionally provide internally populated data created or provided by the map administrator, such as the location coordinates (for example, longitude and latitude coordinates) for the accurate location of the primary icon elements 202a on the map image 222, as will be discussed [0053]. Examples of data that can be stored in the Map Database 126 include stock ticker information, prices, company sectors, market capitalizations, etc. [0053].)
Natali teaches at the processor, generating/generate, from the aggregated data, an interactive analytical report depicting a geographic distribution of at least one quantitative data element associated with the entity; and (Natali e.g. The collective information of the Map Database 126 can be accessed by the user through the Map API 130 and rendered on the user's device 10 using the Map Web Application 138 [0054]. Through the use of the graphical user interface on the screen 11 of the user's computing device 10, the user can transform the interactive map display 222 and perform interactions with the map, with a variety of tools, as will be discussed below. Depending on the user's interaction, new data sets or data visualizations may be selected or the display may be refined on the client device 10 [0054].)
Natali teaches at an output device, displaying/display; an output device, communicatively coupled to the processor, configured to display the generated report (Natali e.g. In an exemplary embodiment, the interactive map display system 100 provides a digitally rendered interactive map 200, for example, as shown with reference to FIG. 8 [0058]. In the depicted embodiment, there are icons 202 depicted on the interactive map 200 representative of the location of corporate entities on the S&P 500 index of funds, though it is contemplated that maps may be prepared with icons 202 representing locations, businesses, entities, persons, or items distinct from those shown in FIG. 8 [0060].).
As per claims 2, 12, and 22, Natali teaches the method of claim 1, the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, and the system of claim 21, wherein the entity comprises a corporation (Natali e.g. In the depicted embodiment, there are icons 202 depicted on the interactive map 200 representative of the location of corporate entities on the S&P 500 index of funds, though it is contemplated that maps may be prepared with icons 202 representing locations, businesses, entities, persons, or items distinct from those shown in FIG. 8 [0060].).
As per claims 3, 13, and 23, Natali teaches the method of claim 2, the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, and the system of claim 22, wherein the geographic distribution of at least one quantitative data element associated with the entity comprises a geographic distribution of job listings associated with the corporation (Natali e.g. The selection module enables the user to select a user selectable button that could be displayed following a specific user action, such as a “right-click” where a mouse event occurs. The user selectable button could be used to facilitate a function within the system, such as “Buy Now”, “Buy Local”, “Trade”, “View Job Listings”, etc. [0080].).
As per claims 4, 14, and 24, Natali teaches the method of claim 2, the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, and the system of claim 22, wherein the interactive analytical report further depicts corporate data describing the corporation (Natali e.g. Such an interactive map allows the user to search and review rapidly changed or unpredictably updated information, for example, financial information, for a plurality of entities displayed on the interactive map simultaneously [0006]. In the depicted embodiment, there are icons 202 depicted on the interactive map 200 representative of the location of corporate entities on the S&P 500 index of funds, though it is contemplated that maps may be prepared with icons 202 representing locations, businesses, entities, persons, or items distinct from those shown in FIG. 8 [0060]. For example, the primary icon element 202a may represent a corporate entity, having a location at a specific address depicted on the interactive map 200, which may be a place of business or company headquarters [0066].)
As per claims 5, 15, and 25, Natali teaches the method of claim 4, the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, and the system of claim 24, wherein the corporate data describes at least one selected from the group consisting of: financial data; stock data; corporate valuation; board of directors; headquarters; competitors; locations of schools from which the corporation is hiring; job postings associated with the company; and job skills the company is currently seeking (Natali e.g. In an exemplary embodiment of the interactive map display system, the secondary icon element includes a visualization metric representing frequently updated data of changing values and changing on a periodic basis [0017]. In an exemplary embodiment, the visualization metric is a bubble metric representing a changing financial data [0017].).
As per claims 6, 16, and 26, Natali teaches the method of claim 4, the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, and the system of claim 24, wherein the corporate data describes at least one selected from the group consisting of: financial data; stock data; (Natali e.g. In an exemplary embodiment of the interactive map display system, the secondary icon element includes a visualization metric representing frequently updated data of changing values and changing on a periodic basis [0017]. In an exemplary embodiment, the visualization metric is a bubble metric representing a changing financial data [0017].)
As per claims 7, 17, and 27, Natali teaches the method of claim 2, the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, and the system of claim 22, wherein the interactive analytical report further depicts historical job information associated with the corporation (Natali e.g. The selection module enables the user to select a user selectable button that could be displayed following a specific user action, such as a “right-click” where a mouse event occurs. The user selectable button could be used to facilitate a function within the system, such as “Buy Now”, “Buy Local”, “Trade”, “View Job Listings”, etc. [0080]. In another exemplary embodiment, where the aim of the system is to advance the education of the user researching the entities, there may beneficially be included within the additional information panel 206 links to job descriptors associated with such an organization. For example, research a technology company, or alternatively, an energy company, as non-limiting examples, may bring up links within the additional information panel to explore career paths in the technology sector, or energy sector, respectively. Alternatively, there may be provided a link to current job openings or internship opportunities within the selected organization [0132].).
As per claims 8, 18, and 28, Natali teaches the method of claim 1, the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, and the system of claim 21, further comprising: causing an input device to receive user input specifying report parameters (Natali e.g. In an exemplary embodiment of the interactive map display system, the secondary icon element includes a visualization metric representing frequently updated data of changing values and changing on a periodic basis [0017]. In an embodiment, the secondary icon element includes a bubble data visualization positioned around the primary icon element. The secondary icon element may further provide a visualization metric based on data values associated with a user selected parameter [0017].); and wherein generating the interactive analytical report comprises generating the interactive analytical report using the specified report parameters. (Natali e.g. Through the use of the graphical user interface on the screen 11 of the user's computing device 10, the user can transform the interactive map display 222 and perform interactions with the map, with a variety of tools, as will be discussed below. Depending on the user's interaction, new data sets or data visualizations may be selected or the display may be refined on the client device 10 [0054]. The interactive map 200 may be customized to each user, such that the user would be capable of filtering the icons to be displayed to include only those icons representing companies that the user has invested in, or has been placed on a watch list [0090].)
As per claims 9, 19, and 29, Natali teaches the method of claim 1, the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, and the system of claim 21, wherein the interactive analytical report comprises an interactive map-based report graphically depicting quantitative data for a plurality of regions on a geographic map (Natali e.g. Such an interactive map allows the user to search and review rapidly changed or unpredictably updated information, for example, financial information, for a plurality of entities displayed on the interactive map simultaneously [0006]. FIG. 10 is another screen shot of the user interface for an interactive map display system according to the invention showing a representative map as rendered on a display of a computing device, where an icon having a secondary icon element 202b indicating positive growth of the stock price has been selected and the display includes an additional information panel for the selected icon; [0033]. The scale of the interactive map 200 display may be adjusted to revert to a default scale on the display by the user selecting the full scale button in the interface, whereupon the scale of the interactive map 200 will be adjusted to display the region of focus for the interactive map 200 display, which may be the continental United States, or any other global region, as may be desirable for the information being depicted in the interactive map 200 [0059].).
As per claim 10, 20, and 30, Natali teaches the method of claim 9, the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19, and the system of claim 29, further comprising: causing an input device to receive user input specifying a level of granularity for the map; and displaying the interactive map-based report at the specified level of granularity (Natali e.g. In an exemplary embodiment, the interactive map display system further has a search panel for entry of a search string and displaying a list of results [0020]. The interactive map 200 may be customized to each user, such that the user would be capable of filtering the icons to be displayed to include only those icons representing companies that the user has invested in, or has been placed on a watch list [0090]. In an exemplary embodiment, and as can be seen with reference to FIG. 8, the interactive map 200 display may provide the user a control option to selectively filter the categories of the icons to be displayed on the interactive map 200 [0092]. FIG. 23 is a flow diagram depicting in an embodiment, the categorization and filtering of the display of icons on the map, according to an exemplary embodiment of the invention [0046].).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure include FOR: Crabtree, J. (WO-2018112374-A1) “Multi-corporation Venture Plan Validation and Inclusion of Time Series Geospatial Markers in Analyses Employing an Advanced Decision Platform” and NPL: S. M. Kumar and M. Belwal, "Performance dashboard: Cutting-edge business intelligence and data visualization," 2017 International Conference On Smart Technologies For Smart Nation (SmartTechCon), Bangalore, 2017, pp. 1201-1207.
/A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3624
/Jerry O'Connor/Supervisory Patent Examiner,Group Art Unit 3624