DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/578,449 (filed on 08/24/2023) and 63/587,759 (filed on 10/04/2023) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters that are not mentioned in the description: 200 (in figures 5A-5B) and 304a (in figure 9). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the reference character “308A”, which is mentioned in the description (in paragraphs 0054). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities that requires appropriate corrections:
In paragraph 0033, line 1, the phrase “a reel 104 assembly” should read -- a reel assembly 104 --.
In paragraph 0055, line 4, the phrase “The tab(s) 325” should read -- The tab(s) 352 --.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 8-12, and 14-17 are objected to because of the following informalities that requires appropriate corrections:
In claim 1, line 3, the limitation “each of the end plates” should read -- each end plate --.
In claim 1, line 5, the limitation “each of the end plates” should read -- each end plate --.
In claim 5, line 3, the limitation “and reel” should read -- and the reel --.
In claim 8, line 9, the limitation “each of the protrusion of the plurality the plurality of protrusions” should read -- each protrusion of the plurality of protrusions --.
In claim 9, line 2, the limitation “aligned along a cutout in the end plate” should read -- aligned along the cutout in each end plate --.
In claim 10, line 10, the limitation “each of the protrusions” should read -- each protrusion --.
In claim 11, line 2, the limitation “integral with the end plate” should read -- integral with each corresponding end plate --.
In claim 12, line 2-3, the limitation “wherein one or more of the endplates” should read -- wherein the one or more endplates --.
In claim 12, line 4, the limitation “wherein one or more of the endplates” should read -- wherein the one or more endplates --.
In claim 12, line 5-6, the limitation “the cutout of one or more of the endplates” should read -- the cutout of the one or more endplates --.
In claim 12, line 10, the limitation “wherein one or more of the flanges” should read -- wherein the one or more flanges --.
In claim 12, line 11-13, the limitation “the central opening of one or more of the flanges…the protrusions of one or more of the endplates extend one or more of the apertures” should read -- the central opening of the one or more flanges…the protrusions of the one or more endplates extend into the one or more apertures --.
In claim 12, line 15, the limitation “the one or more of endplates” should read -- the one or more endplates --.
In claim 14, line 1, the limitation “wherein one or more of the protrusions” should read -- wherein each of the one or more protrusions --.
In claim 15, line 2-3, the limitation “orthogonal to one or more of the end plates…relative to one or more of the end plates” should read -- orthogonal to the one or more endplates…relative to the one or more endplates --.
In claim 16, line 2-3, the limitation “and reel” should read -- and the reel --.
In claim 17, line 3, the limitation “into one or more of the side wall apertures in one or more of the side walls” should read -- into the one or more side wall apertures in the one or more side walls --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is recites the limitation “the orthogonal surface” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Is the orthogonal surface in line 8 referring to the inner surface of the end plate, the locking surface of the flap, or another entirely distinct surface? Clarification by the applicant is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Honsinger et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0250871 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Honsinger’).
In regards to claim 8, Honsinger teach (Figures 1-9) a reel assembly locking mechanism (projections 136/146 and openings 186) comprising: a plurality of apertures (openings 186 in the flanges 182/183 of the reel 180) circumscribing a flange (flanges 182/183) positioned at an end of a reel (reel 180) that is mounted in a reel stand (reel holder 100 and container 190; where said reel holder 100 if formed by the first reel holder member 102 and first reel holder member 104); a plurality of protrusions (projections 136 on the first ring member 130 of the first reel holder member 102, or projections 146 on the second ring member 140 of the second reel holder member 104) extending outwards from an inner face (first side 131 of the first ring member 130/first side 141 of the second ring member 140) of an end plate (first reel holder member 102/second reel holder member 104; where said first reel holder member 102 is formed by the first frame member 110 and the first ring member 130, while said second reel holder member 104 is formed by the second frame member 120 and the second frame member 120) that extends upwards from a base (end wall 193c of the container 190) of the reel stand (reel holder 100 and container 190); each protrusion (projections 136/146) being a flap (as clearly illustrated in figures 1-6 and 9) having a locking surface (flat inner surfaces of the projections 136/146; where said flat inner surfaces faces inwards towards a central axis extend through the center of the openings 114/124/134/144 and the center of the reel 180) that extends generally orthogonally to the inner face (first side 131/141) of the end plate (first reel holder member 102/second reel holder member 104), and a ramp surface (sloped surfaces of the projections 136/146; where said sloped surfaces tapers from the first side 131/141 towards the distal ends of the projections 136/146, and faces outwards away from a central axis extend through the center of the openings 114/124/134/144 and the center of the reel 180) that is angled relative to the inner face (first side 131/141) of the end plate (first reel holder member 102/second reel holder member 104) and that extends along a top edge of the locking surface (flat inner surfaces of the projections 136/146); wherein the plurality of protrusions (projections 136/146) are oriented in a particular circumferential direction (as clearly illustrated in figures 1-6 and 9), and are aligning with and extends into (as clearly illustrated in figures 5-6 and 9) at least a subset of the plurality of apertures (openings 186) (see also paragraphs 0021-0034).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett et al. (U.S. Patent 5,704,479 A hereinafter referred to as “Barnett”) in view of Cox et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2017/0036884 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Cox”).
In regards to claim 1, Barnett teach (Figures 1-4) a reel assembly (wire package system 20) comprising: a reel stand (insert 28) having a base (base portion 36), and two end plates (end walls 38/40 with the support flaps 42/44) that extend upwards from opposing ends of the base (base portion 36); each end plate (end walls 38/40 with the support flaps 42/44) including a cutout (notches 48) that extends downwards from a top edge (bend lines 46) of each end plate (end walls 38/40 with the support flaps 42/44); a reel (spool 22 with the supporting tube 26) having a longitudinally extending core (supporting tube 26), and at least two flanges (flanges 32) that are positioned at opposing ends of the core (supporting tube 26); each flange (flanges 32) including a central opening (openings of the centrally-disposed through-bore 32); wherein each flange (flanges 32) receives a respective portion of the core (supporting tube 26) that extends through the central opening (openings of the centrally-disposed through-bore 32) into each respective cutout (notches 48) of each respective end plate (end walls 38/40 with the support flaps 42/44) (see also Col. 2, line 66 - Col. 4, line 23). Yet, Barnett fails to teach, an inside face of each end plate (end walls 38/40 with the support flaps 42/44) including a plurality of protrusions that are radially aligned along at least a portion of the cutout (notches 48), each flange (flanges 34) including a plurality of apertures that circumscribe the central opening (openings of the centrally-disposed through-bore 32), or such a plurality of protrusions being configured to extend into such a plurality of apertures.
However, Cox teach (Figures 1-13) a reel assembly (combined structure of the container 10, the reel assembly 100, the core 104, and the flanges 108) comprising: a reel stand (reel assembly 100) having two end plates (end stands 112); each end plate (end stands 112) including a cutout (innermost opening wall 276), and a protrusion (lock insert 116, which is formed of the lock head 328 and the curved body 324) that is radially aligned along at least a portion of the cutout (innermost opening wall 276); a reel (combined structure of the core 104 and the flanges 108) having a longitudinally extending core (core 104), and at least two flanges (flanges 108) that are positioned at opposing ends of the core (core 104); each of the flanges (flanges 108) including a central opening (innermost opening 148), and an aperture (rectangular opening 176/contoured opening 188 of the lock receiver 120) that circumscribe the central opening (innermost opening 148); wherein each protrusion (lock head 328 of the lock insert 116) extend into each corresponding aperture (rectangular opening 176/contoured opening 188 of the lock receiver 120) to rotationally fix the flanges (flanges 108) to the end plates (end stands 112), so as to block/imped the rotation of the reel (combined structure of the core 104 and the flanges 108) relative to the end plates (end stands 112) of the reel stand (reel assembly 100) (see also paragraphs 0023-0080).
Accordingly, based on the suggestions in Cox, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide each reel stand end plate in Barnett’s reel assembly with a plurality of protrusions (which extend from the inside face of each reel stand end plate), and to provide each reel flange in said reel assembly with a plurality of apertures (which circumscribe the central opening of each reel flange); where the protrusions on the reel stand end plates are configured to be selectively inserted into the apertures in the reel flanges to fix/block the rotation of the reel relative to the reel stand. Selectively locking the reel to the reel stand using in such a manner (i.e. by inserting the protrusions on the reel stand end plates into the apertures in in the reel flanges), would be advantageous in preventing the inadvertent/accidental/unintentional rotation of the reel, when the reel assembly is being transported or when it is being stored; thereby preventing unplanned unwinding and dispensing of the elongated material that is wound around the reel. Furthermore, it would have been an obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange multiple protrusions on the inner surface of each end plate forming the reel stand, and to arrange multiple apertures on the outer surface of each flange forming the reel. Such a modification would allow a user/operator to lock or fix each flange of the reel to each respective end plate of the reel stand at multiple locations (instead of having to perfectly align a single protrusion on the reel stand end plate with a single aperture in the reel flange); which will result in the modified reel assembly including redundant locking means/feature for blocking or obstructing the rotation of the reel relative to the reel stand (this is specially advantageous in an event where one or more protrusions becomes damaged, worn, and/or broken overtime), while also simplify the process of locking or fixing the reel to the reel stand.
In regards to claims 2 and 7, Barnett in view of Cox teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Barnett further teach (Figures 1-4), each of the cutouts (notches 48) being U-shaped (as clearly illustrated in figures 1, 3, and 5); and the reel assembly (wire package system 20) is composed of a corrugated material (as disclosed in the Abstract, Col. 2, line 11-22, and Col. 4, line 23, the wire package system 20 is made of a paper product/carboard).
In regards to claims 3-4, Barnett in view of Cox teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Cox further teach (Figures 1-13), each of the protrusions (lock insert 116, which is formed of the lock head 328 and the curved body 324) being a flap (lock head 328 with the curved body 324; where said curved body 324 of the lock insert 116 acts as a flap that is configured to displace the lock head 328 in an axial direction along the rotational axis 268) that is angled relative to a plane of the associated end plate (end stands 112); the flap (lock head 328 with the curved body 324) including a ramp surface (sloped face of the locking tabs 336; where said sloped face extend/tapers from the flat end surface 332 towards the tip of the end face 337), and a locking surface (end face 337 of the locking tabs 336); wherein the locking surface (end face 337 of the locking tabs 336) is generally orthogonal to the associated end plate (end stands 112), and the ramp surface (sloped face of the locking tabs 336) is angled relative to the associated end plate (end stands 112) along a top edge of the locking surface (end face 337 of the locking tabs 336).
Therefore, when the reel stand and the reel of the Barnett’s reel assembly are altered using the suggestions of Cox as explained above in the claim 1 rejection statement (i.e. when the inner surface of each end plate in said reel stand is provided with a plurality of protrusions, and when the outer surface of each flange in said reel is provided with a plurality of apertures for selectively receiving the plurality of protrusions), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the protrusions on each end plate of the reel stand in the modified reel assembly does include: a locking surface that is oriented orthogonal to each associated end plate, and a ramp surface that is extend from the top edge of the locking surface and that is angled relative to each associated end plate. Configuring each end plate of the reel stand with a plurality of protrusions, and each flange of the reel with a plurality of apertures, is beneficial for the reasons set forth above in the claim 1 rejection statement.
In regards to claims 5-6, Barnett in view of Cox teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Barnett further teach (Figures 1-4), the reel assembly (wire package system 20) additionally comprising a package (container 30) having two side walls (sidewalls 54 and 56), a front wall (sidewall 58) that extend upwards from the base (base portion 36), a rear wall (sidewall 60) that also extend upwards from the base (base portion 36), and a window (payout slot 70) in the front wall (sidewall 58); wherein the reel stand (insert 28) and the reel (spool 22 with the supporting tube 26) are positioned inside the package (container 30). Yet, the package (container 30) of the reel assembly (wire package system 20) illustrated figures 1-4 does not appear to have two side wall apertures for receiving any portion of the core (supporting tube 26) therethrough.
Nevertheless, Barnett additionally teach (Figures 10-12) an alternate embodiment of a package (container 30 illustrated in figure 11) for the reel assembly (wire package system 20); the package (container 30 container 30 illustrated in figure 11) having two side walls (sidewalls 54 and 56), and two side wall apertures (openings on the sidewalls 54 and 56, which are created by removing the perforated punch-outs 118 and 120); wherein each respective portion of the core (supporting tube 26') that extends into each respective cutout (notches 126/128) of each respective end plate (support flaps 122/124), farther extends into a respective one of the side wall apertures (openings on the sidewalls 54 and 56, which are created by removing the perforated punch-outs 118 and 120) (see also Col. 5, line 9-46).
Hence, using the additional teachings in Barnett’s disclosure, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the package of the reel assembly illustrated in figure 1-4, with two side wall apertures for receiving associated end portions of the core in the reel. Arranging such side wall apertures on the side walls of the package, and extending the end portions of the core though both the cutouts in the end plates of the reel stand and the side wall apertures of the package, would lead to the reel being supported by both the end plates of the reel stand and the side walls of the package; which would optimize the overall reel supporting structure and the functionality/usability of the reel assembly by enabling even a heavy reel to be adequately supported within the package, in a rotatable manner.
In regards to claim 9, Barnett in view of Cox teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Yet, Barnett fail to teach, each end plate (end walls 38/40 with the support flaps 42/44) of the reel stand (insert 28) including a plurality of protrusions that are radially aligned along the cutout (notches 48) in each end plate (end walls 38/40 with the support flaps 42/44).
Whereas, as detailed above, Cox does teach (Figures 1-13) a reel stand (reel assembly 100) of a reel assembly (combined structure of the container 10, the reel assembly 100, the core 104, and the flanges 108) having two end plates (end stands 112); each end plate (end stands 112) including a cutout (innermost opening wall 276), and a protrusion (lock insert 116, which is formed of the lock head 328 and the curved body 324) that is radially aligned along a cutout (innermost opening wall 276); wherein each protrusion (lock head 328 of the lock insert 116) is operatively configured to extend into a corresponding aperture (rectangular opening 176/contoured opening 188 of the lock receiver 120) formed on each flange (flanges 108) of a reel (combined structure of the core 104 and the flanges 108) in the reel assembly (combined structure of the container 10, the reel assembly 100, the core 104, and the flanges 108), such that the flanges (flanges 108) of the reel (combined structure of the core 104 and the flanges 108) are rotationally fix to the end plates (end stands 112) of the reel stand (reel assembly 100), thereby blocking/impeding the rotation of the reel (combined structure of the core 104 and the flanges 108) relative to the end plates (end stands 112) of the reel stand (reel assembly 100).
Thus, when the reel stand and the reel of the Barnett’s reel assembly are altered using the suggestions of Cox as explained above in the claim 1 rejection statement (i.e. when the inner surface of each end plate in said reel stand is provided with a plurality of protrusions, and when the outer surface of each flange in said reel is provided with a plurality of apertures for selectively receiving the plurality of protrusions), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that each end plate of the reel stand in the modified reel assembly does include a plurality of protrusions that are configured to be selectively inserted into a plurality of apertures formed on each flange of the reel in said modified reel assembly. Furthermore, it would have been an obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to radially aligned said protrusions along each corresponding cutout in the end plate of the reel stand in a manner which would allow for the proper alignment of said protrusions with the apertures that circumscribe the central opening in each flange of the reel. Such a modification would allow a user/operator to lock or fix each reel flange of the reel to each respective reel stand end plate of the reel stand at multiple locations, by easily aligning and inserting the protrusions on said reel stand end plates into the apertures of the reel flange; which will result in the modified reel assembly including redundant locking means/feature for blocking or obstructing the rotation of the reel relative to the reel stand (this is specially advantageous in an event where one or more protrusions becomes damaged, worn, and/or broken overtime), while also simplify the process of locking or fixing the reel to the reel stand.
In regards to claims 10-11, Barnett in view of Cox teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Cox further teach (Figures 1-13), each of the protrusions (lock insert 116, which is formed of the lock head 328 and the curved body 324) being U-shaped (figure 10A clearly illustrate, the lock insert ends 320 and the curved body 324 of the lock insert 116 defining a substantially U-shaped profile), and being integral (as disclosed by paragraph 0053) with each corresponding end plate (end stands 112).
Resultingly, when the reel stand and the reel of the Barnett’s reel assembly are altered using the suggestions of Cox as explained above in the claim 1 rejection statement (i.e. when the inner surface of each end plate in said reel stand is provided with a plurality of protrusions, and when the outer surface of each flange in said reel is provided with a plurality of apertures for selectively receiving the plurality of protrusions), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that each end plate of the reel stand in the modified reel assembly does include a plurality of protrusion that are U-shaped, and that are formed integrally with each corresponding end plate. Arranging such protrusions on each end plate of the reel stand is advantageous for the reasons set forth above in the claim 1 rejection statement.
In regards to claim 12, Barnett teach (Figures 1-4) a reel assembly (wire package system 20) comprising: a reel stand (insert 28) having a base (base portion 36), and one or more endplates (end walls 38/40 with the support flaps 42/44) that extend orthogonally from the base (base portion 36); each end plate (end walls 38/40 with the support flaps 42/44) including a cutout (notches 48); a reel (spool 22 with the supporting tube 26) having a longitudinally extending core (supporting tube 26), and one or more flanges (flanges 32); each flange (flanges 32) being positioned at either a first end of the longitudinally extending core (end of the supporting tube 26 that is located near the end wall 38/support flap 42) or a second end of the longitudinally extending core (end of the supporting tube 26 that is located near the end wall 40/support flap 44); each flange (flanges 32) including a central opening (openings of the centrally-disposed through-bore 32); wherein one or both of the first end of the longitudinally extending core (end of the supporting tube 26 that is located near the end wall 38/support flap 42) and the second end of the longitudinally extending core (end of the supporting tube 26 that is located near the end wall 40/support flap 44) extend into the cutout (notches 48) of each endplate (end walls 38/40 with the support flaps 42/44) (see also Col. 2, line 66 - Col. 4, line 23). Yet, Barnett fails to teach, each endplate (end walls 38/40 with the support flaps 42/44) including one or more protrusions that are radially aligned along at least a portion of the cutout (notches 48), each flange (flanges 34) including one or more apertures that are radially aligned along at least a portion of the central opening (openings of the centrally-disposed through-bore 32), or said one or more protrusions being configured to extend into said one or more apertures.
On the contrary, Cox teach (Figures 1-13) a reel assembly (combined structure of the container 10, the reel assembly 100, the core 104, and the flanges 108) comprising: a reel stand (reel assembly 100) having one or more endplates (end stands 112); each endplate (end stands 112) including a cutout (innermost opening wall 276), and a protrusion (lock insert 116, which is formed of the lock head 328 and the curved body 324) that is radially aligned along at least a portion of the cutout (innermost opening wall 276); a reel (combined structure of the core 104 and the flanges 108) having a longitudinally extending core (core 104), and one or more flanges (flanges 108) that are positioned at opposing ends of the longitudinally extending core (core 104); each flange (flanges 108) including a central opening (innermost opening 148), and an aperture (rectangular opening 176/contoured opening 188 of the lock receiver 120) that is radially aligned along at least a portion of the central opening (innermost opening 148); wherein each protrusion (lock head 328 of the lock insert 116) extend into each corresponding aperture (rectangular opening 176/contoured opening 188 of the lock receiver 120) to rotationally fix the flanges (flanges 108) to the endplates (end stands 112), so as to block/imped the rotation of the reel (combined structure of the core 104 and the flanges 108) relative to the endplates (end stands 112) of the reel stand (reel assembly 100) (see also paragraphs 0023-0080).
Consequently, based on the suggestions in Cox, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide each reel stand endplate in Barnett’s reel assembly with at least one protrusion, and to provide each reel flange in said reel assembly with at least one aperture; where the protrusions on the reel stand endplates are configured to be selectively inserted into the apertures in the reel flanges to fix/block the rotation of the reel relative to the reel stand. Selectively locking the reel to the reel stand using in such a manner (i.e. by inserting the protrusions on the reel stand endplates into the apertures in in the reel flanges), would be advantageous in preventing the inadvertent/accidental/unintentional rotation of the reel, when the reel assembly is being transported or when it is being stored; thereby preventing unplanned unwinding and dispensing of the elongated material that is wound around the reel.
In regards to claims 13 and 18, Barnett in view of Cox teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Barnett further teach (Figures 1-4), each of the cutouts (notches 48)) on the endplates (end walls 38/40 with the support flaps 42/44) being U-shaped (as clearly illustrated in figures 1, 3, and 5); and the reel assembly (wire package system 20) is composed of a corrugated material (as disclosed in the Abstract, Col. 2, line 11-22, and Col. 4, line 23, the wire package system 20 is made of a paper product/carboard).
In regards to claims 14-15, Barnett in view of Cox teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Cox further teach (Figures 1-13), the protrusion (lock insert 116, which is formed of the lock head 328 and the curved body 324) being a flap (lock head 328 with the curved body 324; where said curved body 324 of the lock insert 116 acts as a flap that is configured to displace the lock head 328 in an axial direction along the rotational axis 268); the flap (lock head 328 with the curved body 324) including a ramp surface (sloped face of the locking tabs 336; where said sloped face extend/tapers from the flat end surface 332 towards the tip of the end face 337), and a locking surface (end face 337 of the locking tabs 336); wherein the locking surface (end face 337 of the locking tabs 336) is generally orthogonal to the associated endplate (end stands 112), and the ramp surface (sloped face of the locking tabs 336) is angled relative to the associated endplate (end stands 112).
Therefore, when the reel stand and the reel of the Barnett’s reel assembly are altered using the suggestions of Cox as explained above in the claim 12 rejection statement (i.e. when each endplate in said reel stand is provided with at least one protrusion, and when each flange in said reel is provided with at least one aperture for selectively receiving the protrusion), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the protrusion on each endplate of the reel stand in the modified reel assembly does include: a locking surface that is oriented orthogonal to each associated endplate, and a ramp surface that is angled relative to each associated endplate. Configuring each endplate of the reel stand with at least protrusion, and each flange of the reel with at least aperture, is beneficial for the reasons set forth above in the claim 12 rejection statement.
In regards to claims 16-17, Barnett in view of Cox teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Barnett further teach (Figures 1-4), the reel assembly (wire package system 20) additionally comprising a box (container 30) having one or more side walls (sidewalls 54 and 56), a front wall (sidewall 58), a rear wall (sidewall 60), and a window (payout slot 70) in the front wall (sidewall 58); wherein the reel stand (insert 28) and the reel (spool 22 with the supporting tube 26) are positioned inside the box (container 30). Yet, the box (container 30) of the reel assembly (wire package system 20) illustrated figures 1-4 does not appear to have one or more side wall apertures that are provided in one or more side walls (sidewalls 54 and 56) for correspondingly receiving the first end of the longitudinally extending core (end of the supporting tube 26 that is located near the end wall 38/support flap 42) and the second end of the longitudinally extending core (end of the supporting tube 26 that is located near the end wall 40/support flap 44).
However, Barnett additionally teach (Figures 10-12) an alternate embodiment of a box (container 30 illustrated in figure 11) for the reel assembly (wire package system 20); the box (container 30 container 30 illustrated in figure 11) having one or more side walls (sidewalls 54 and 56), and one or more side wall apertures (openings on the sidewalls 54 and 56, which are created by removing the perforated punch-outs 118 and 120) that are provided in said one or more side walls (sidewalls 54 and 56); wherein the first and second ends of the longitudinally extending core (supporting tube 26') that extends into the cutouts (notches 126/128) of the endplates (support flaps 122/124), farther extends into the side wall apertures (openings on the sidewalls 54 and 56, which are created by removing the perforated punch-outs 118 and 120) (see also Col. 5, line 9-46).
Thus, using the additional teachings in Barnett’s disclosure, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the package of the reel assembly illustrated in figure 1-4, with two side wall apertures for receiving associated end portions of the longitudinally extending core in the reel. Arranging such side wall apertures on the side walls of the package, and extending the first/second ends of the longitudinally extending core though both the cutouts in the end plates of the reel stand and the side wall apertures of the package, would lead to the reel being supported by both the endplates of the reel stand and the side walls of the package; which would optimize the overall reel supporting structure and the functionality/usability of the reel assembly by enabling even a heavy reel to be adequately supported within the package, in a rotatable manner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See the attached PTO-892 for complete list of pertinent prior art references made of record by the examiner.
/R.J.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654