DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the applicants' communication filed on August 22, 2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on August 22, 2024 have been reviewed and accepted by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 5, 11, 15, and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/812,900 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the broadened claims of the present application are anticipated by the more narrow claims elements of the U.S. Patent/co-pending application. Claim(s) 1, 11, and 19 is/are anticipated by claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6, and 7 of the U.S. Patent/co-pending application. Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are anticipated by claim(s) 1 of the U.S. Patent/co-pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pub No.: US 2017/0223598 A1 (herein “Ho”).
Claims 1, 11, and 19
Consider claim 1, Ho teaches a method comprising:
detecting, by a mobile virtual network operator consuming a first amount of resources to serve a client of the mobile virtual network operator according to a current configuration, a proportion of time that the client connects to a first network infrastructure operated by a first mobile network operator in at least one location that is covered by a second network infrastructure operated by a second mobile network operator (see Ho Fig. 3, [0015], [0025] note determining that a user of an MVNO has detected a condition indicative of a current or predicted level of cellular activity via the first cellular connection below an inactivity threshold. Additionally, Ho [0022] explains predicted periods of inactivity and/or times of the day when the condition can be determined);
simulating, by the mobile virtual network operator, that the mobile virtual network operator performed a network switch to switch a home network of the client from the first network infrastructure operated by the first mobile network operator to the second network infrastructure operated by the second mobile network operator (see Ho Fig. 3, [0015], [0025] note determining that the difference between the current cellular connection and the new cellular connection is greater than a minimum strength improvement threshold);
calculating, by the mobile virtual network operator based on the simulating, a second amount of resources that would be consumed by the mobile virtual network operator to serve the client after performing the network switch at least in part by modifying a consumption rate for resource consumption on the second network infrastructure based on the proportion of time that the client connects to the first network infrastructure in the at least one location that is covered by the second network infrastructure (see Ho Fig. 3, [0015], [0023], [0025] note determining that the difference between the current cellular connection and the new cellular connection is greater than a minimum strength improvement threshold, among other conditions such as data pricing differences between the cellular carriers);
detecting, by the mobile virtual network operator, that the second amount of resources that was calculated based on the simulating is less than the first amount of resources based on the current configuration (see Ho Fig. 3, [0015], [0025] note determining that the difference between the current cellular connection and the new cellular connection is greater than a minimum strength improvement threshold); and
performing, by the mobile virtual network operator in response to detecting that the second amount of resources that was calculated based on the simulating is less than the first amount of resources based on the current configuration, the network switch (see Ho Fig. 3, [0015], [0025] note terminating the first connection and establishing the second connection with the second cellular carrier of the MVNO);
wherein: both the first mobile network operator and the second mobile network operator agreed to provide cell service to clients of the mobile virtual network operator through the first network infrastructure and the second network infrastructure, respectively, prior to the network switch (see Ho [0014], [0017] note MNO 120a and 120b both associated with MVNO 124).
Claim(s) 11 and 19 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 1.
Claims 2, 12, and 20
Consider claim 1, Ho teaches wherein the mobile virtual network operator also functions as the first mobile network operator (see Ho [0017] note each cellular carrier can be associated with an MVNO).
Claim(s) 12 and 20 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 2.
Claims 3 and 13
Consider claim 3, Ho teaches wherein the mobile virtual network operator also functions as the second mobile network operator (see Ho [0017] note each cellular carrier can be associated with an MVNO).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 23.
Claims 4 and 14
Consider claim 4, Ho teaches wherein the first mobile network operator and the second mobile network operator comprise third-party mobile network operators that are distinct from the mobile virtual network operator (see Ho [0017] note the MVNO purchase services from the cellular carriers 120).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 4.
Claims 5 and 15
Consider claim 5, Ho teaches further comprising:
receiving, by the mobile virtual network operator from the first mobile network operator a call detail record for the client that fails to specify a geolocation of the client (see Ho [0027] the particular location of the user can not be determined); and
geolocating, by the mobile virtual network operator, the client at least in part by matching a cell identifier from the call detail record that identifies a cell of a cell tower of the first mobile network operator that connected to the client with a geolocation for the cell identifier that is specified in a third-party database of cell identifier geolocations despite the call detail record for the client failing to specify the geolocation of the client (see Ho [0027] note determining generalized location information for the user when the user’s particular location can not be determined) .
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 5.
Claims 6 and 16
Consider claim 6, Ho teaches wherein the third-party database is open source (see Ho [0023], [0027] note sent content or communications from server 128).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 6.
Claims 7 and 17
Consider claim 7, Ho teaches further comprising verifying, prior to the network switch, that the client is not excluded as a candidate from the network switch, by performing a set of verification tests (see Ho [0020] establishing the connection based on location as the mobile computing device conditions change).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 7.
Claims 8 and 18
Consider claim 8, Ho teaches wherein the set of verification tests comprises:
verifying whether the client is geolocatable (see Ho [0020] establishing the connection based on location as the mobile computing device conditions change. Additionally Ho [0027] further explains the user controlling whether the location information is collected/collectable);
verifying whether a client device of the client is compatible with the second mobile network operator; or
verifying that a tenure of the client is longer than a threshold tenure.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 8.
Claim 9
Consider claim 9, Ho teaches wherein the set of verification tests comprises: verifying that an amount of data usage of the client is greater than a threshold amount; verifying that an amount of savings is greater than a threshold savings; or verifying that the client is primarily located at an area of interest where the second mobile network operator has launched (see Ho [0020] note the mobile computing device 104 moving into a location serviced by the second cellular carrier).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/MARCUS HAMMONDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647