DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the vertical pins and holes per claims 3 and 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0145611 A1 to Kuehmstedt.
Regarding claim 1, Kuehmstedt discloses a system comprising: a stacked enclosure (Fig.5) comprising multiple structural modules (20) arranged in a vertically oriented stack, each structural module disposed at a different vertical level (Fig.3, 4, 5), each structural module having a substantially same footprint (Fig.1), each structural module configured to house support equipment for a data center (all modules are capable of housing support equipment), and one or more interstitial layers (10) disposed between adjacent structural modules.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the support equipment comprises one or more fuel tanks, one or more power distribution centers (PDCs), one or more generators, and one or more chillers (the claim only requires that the modules are capable of housing equipment; the modules of Kuehmstedt are capable of housing generators, chillers, fuel tanks, etc.; houses equipment from energy conversion system).
Regarding claim 3, wherein at least some of the structural modules or interstitial layers comprises vertical pins (12, 13) arranged around a perimeter of a top or bottom surface of that structural module or interstitial layer, wherein the vertical pins are configured to be inserted into corresponding holes (Fig.3) on a bottom or top surface of an adjoining structural module or interstitial layer.
Regarding claim 4, wherein at least some of the structural modules are constructed with a truss frame (frames of stair sections, Fig.5).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the stacked enclosure further comprises one or more external passageways having at least one stairway (Fig.5) that extends between two or more of the structural modules (extends between and provides access from one module to a module above or below).
Regarding claim 6, further comprising: one or more conduits (19) extending between different ones of the structural modules and configured to carry one or more of: air, fuel, water, electricity, or data (Paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 16, Kuehmstedt discloses a system comprising: multiple stacked enclosures (Fig.5) arranged adjacent each other in a row, each stacked enclosure comprising: multiple structural modules (20, Fig.3, 4, 5) arranged in a vertically oriented stack, each structural module disposed at a different vertical level (Fig.3-5), each structural module having a substantially same footprint (Fig.1), each structural module configured to house support equipment for a data center (all modules are capable of housing support equipment); and one or more interstitial layers (10) disposed between adjacent structural modules.
Regarding claim 17, wherein the support equipment comprises one or more fuel tanks, one or more power distribution centers (PDCs), one or more generators, and one or more chillers (the claim only requires that the modules are capable of housing equipment; the modules of Kuehmstedt are capable of housing generators, chillers, fuel tanks, etc.; houses equipment from energy conversion system).
Regarding claim 18, wherein at least some of the structural modules or interstitial layers (10) comprises vertical pins (12, 13) arranged around a perimeter of a top or bottom surface of that structural module or interstitial layer, wherein the vertical pins are configured to be inserted into corresponding holes (Fig.3) on a bottom or top surface of an adjoining structural module or interstitial layer.
Regarding claim 19, wherein at least some of the structural modules are constructed with a truss frame (frames of stair sections, Fig.5).
Regarding claim 20, wherein at least one of the multiple stacked enclosures further comprises one or more external passageways (stairs, Fig.5) having at least one stairway that extends between two or more of the structural modules (extends between and provides access from one module to a module above or below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Regarding claim 7, Kuehmstedt discloses modules but does not specifically disclose wherein at least one of the structural modules has a height of at least 7 feet.
Containers, specifically ISO containers typically used for stacked enclosures have known heights, specifically a height of 8’6”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the modules of Kuehmstedt with a height of at least 7 feet since common iso containers are known to be greater than 7 feet and further to provide enough headspace for a user to move freely inside the modules as well as maximizing interior space for equipment.
Claim(s) 1-7 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0109163 A1 to Paine et al. in view of US 2022/0145611 A1 to Kuehmstedt.
Regarding claim 1, Paine et al. disclose a system comprising: a stacked enclosure (Fig.10A) comprising multiple structural modules (Fig1) arranged in a vertically oriented stack, each structural module disposed at a different vertical level (Fig.10A), each structural module having a substantially same footprint (Fig.1), each structural module configured to house support equipment for a data center (all modules are capable of housing support equipment).
Paine et al. does not specifically disclose one or more interstitial layers disposed between adjacent structural modules.
Kuehmstedt discloses one or more interstitial layers (10) disposed between adjacent structural modules.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided interstitial layers as taught by Kuehmstedt between the vertically stacked modules of Paine so to provide sufficient heat dissipation of the stacked containers.
Regarding claim 2, Paine et al. disclose wherein the support equipment comprises one or more fuel tanks, one or more power distribution centers (PDCs), one or more generators, and one or more chillers (the claim only requires that the modules are capable of housing equipment; the modules of Paine and Kuehmstedt are capable of housing generators, chillers, fuel tanks, etc.).
Regarding claim 3, Paine and Kuehmstedt discloses wherein at least some of the structural modules or interstitial layers comprises vertical pins (244 and 12, 13) arranged around a perimeter of a top or bottom surface of that structural module or interstitial layer, wherein the vertical pins are configured to be inserted into corresponding holes (242 and Fig.3) on a bottom or top surface of an adjoining structural module or interstitial layer.
Regarding claim 4, Paine discloses wherein at least some of the structural modules are constructed with a truss frame (104, Fig.1).
Regarding claim 5, Paine discloses wherein the stacked enclosure further comprises one or more external passageways having at least one stairway that extends between two or more of the structural modules (104, Fig.1; Fig.5A, 10A).
Regarding claim 6, Paine discloses further comprising: one or more pipes, cables, or conduits (Paragraph [0027], ]0064], [0066], [0080], etc.) extending between different ones of the structural modules and configured to carry one or more of: air, fuel, water, electricity, or data (electricity is generated and distributed; baffles provide movement of air; fuel is moved throughout, etc.).
Regarding claim 7, Paine discloses wherein at least one of the structural modules has a height of at least 7 feet (Paragraph [0245]).
Regarding claim 16, Paine et al. disclose a system comprising: multiple stacked enclosures (Fig.10A) arranged adjacent each other in a row, each stacked enclosure comprising: multiple structural modules (Fig.10A) arranged in a vertically oriented stack, each structural module disposed at a different vertical level (Fig.10A), each structural module having a substantially same footprint (Fig.1 and 10A), each structural module configured to house support equipment for a data center (all modules are capable of housing support equipment).
Paine et al. does not specifically disclose one or more interstitial layers disposed between adjacent structural modules.
Kuehmstedt discloses one or more interstitial layers (10) disposed between adjacent structural modules.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided interstitial layers as taught by Kuehmstedt between the vertically stacked modules of Paine so to provide sufficient heat dissipation of the stacked containers.
Regarding claim 17, Paine in view of Kuehmstedt disclose wherein the support equipment comprises one or more fuel tanks, one or more power distribution centers (PDCs), one or more generators, and one or more chillers (the claim only requires that the modules are capable of housing equipment; the modules of Paine and Kuehmstedt are capable of housing generators, chillers, fuel tanks, etc.).
Regarding claim 18, Paine and Kuehmstedt discloses wherein at least some of the structural modules or interstitial layers comprises vertical pins (244 and 12, 13) arranged around a perimeter of a top or bottom surface of that structural module or interstitial layer, wherein the vertical pins are configured to be inserted into corresponding holes (242 and Fig.3) on a bottom or top surface of an adjoining structural module or interstitial layer.
Regarding claim 19, Paine discloses wherein at least some of the structural modules are constructed with a truss frame (104, Fig.1).
Regarding claim 20, Paine discloses wherein at least one of the multiple stacked enclosures further comprises one or more external passageways having at least one stairway that extends between two or more of the structural modules (104, Fig.1; Fig.5A, 10A).
Claim(s) 8-11 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0109163 A1 to Paine et al. in view of US 2022/0145611 A1 to Kuehmstedt in view of US 2016/0057894 A1 to Chen.
Regarding claim 8, Paine discloses wherein the structural modules comprise a fuel storage module (130), a PDC module (102), a generator module (101).
Although Paine and Kuehmstedt disclose ways to cool some of the modules, they do not specifically disclose providing a cooling/chiller module.
Chen discloses providing a data center system with a cooling module (221).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to have provided the system of Paine with a cooling module as taught by Chen so to ensure the modules of the system are maintained at the appropriate temperatures.
Regarding claim 9, Paine discloses wherein the fuel storage module includes a fuel tank (602) configured to hold fuel used to power at least one generator disposed in the generator module.
Regarding claim 10, Paine does not specifically disclose wherein the fuel tank has a capacity of at least 5,000 gallons and occupies substantially all of a horizontal cross section of the fuel storage module.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the necessary size fuel tank to effectively fuel all necessary equipment parts and further to optimize the amount of the fuel module occupied by the tank.
Regarding claim 11, Paine discloses wherein the PDC module includes at least one uninterruptible power supply (UPS) module (Paragraph [0010]) and at least one battery (216, 716, 816, 916).
Regarding claim 13, Paine discloses wherein the generator module comprises at least one generator and at least one engine (200) configured to power the generator.
Regarding claim 14, Chen also discloses wherein the generator module further comprises a water storage tank (2212) and a pump (2213) package configured to power water from the water storage tank to the chiller module.
Regarding claim 15, Paine discloses wherein the modules disclose air intakes, but does not necessarily disclose the intakes on the floor layers.
Kuehmstedt discloses wherein the interstitial layers provide air flow and heat dissipation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provide the air intakes on the floor of the module of Paine so to engage the interstitial layers taught by Kuehmstedt so to provide sufficient airflow without the need to provide the air intake on the outer walls of the modules.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0109163 A1 to Paine et al. in view of US 2022/0145611 A1 to Kuehmstedt in view of US 2016/0057894 A1 to Chen in view of US 2010/0302744 A1 to Englert et al.
Regarding claim 12, Paine does not specifically disclose wherein the PDC module comprises a raceway system embedded in a floor space of the PDC module, the raceway system configured to house at least one of: busway, cabling, or piping.
Englert et al. discloses providing a lower portion of the modules as a raceway system (102; Abstract) configured to house cabling (104, Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided framework in the lower portion of the modules to provide raceways to house cables so to ensure cables can be protected, easily accessed, and easily maneuverable into and out of the modules.
Conclusion
RDK
/RYAN D KWIECINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635