DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/24/2025,05/14/2025,11/20/2024 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-3,11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) or USC 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Cheung (US PG Pub 20040251750 hereinafter “Cheung”).
Re-claim 1, Cheung discloses an energy harvesting device (1a) comprising: a housing (4);a first magnet (6) provided at a first end of the housing (4);a second magnet (8)provided at a second end of the housing (4), wherein the first magnet and the second magnet (6,8) are aligned along a first axis (see fig.1, axis in horizontal direction);a free magnet (2) provided between the first magnet and the second magnet (6,8) along the first axis (see fig.1), wherein the first magnet, the free magnet and the second magnet (6,2,8) arranged such that the free magnet (2) is repelled by both the first magnet and the second magnet (6,8, see fig.1, see P[0032]), thereby causing the free magnet (2) to oscillate (2 is called oscillating magnet) between the first magnet and the second magnet (6,8, see P[0032, magnet 2 moves between 6 and 8) along the first axis (horizontal direction) in response to a vibration of the housing (kinetic energy movement of housing causes magnet to move, tilt or movement, see P{0032]); and one or more turns of wire (14) provided circumferentially around the first axis between the first magnet and the second magnet (see fig.1), each of the one or more turns of wire having a first terminal end (annotated fig.1) and a second terminal end (annotated fig.1), wherein oscillation of the free magnet (2) between the first magnet and the second magnet (6,8) along the first axis induces a voltage across the first terminal end and the second terminal end (see P[0033], movement of magnet relative to its enclosure generates current in coil, between its terminals, magnetic field cutting the turns of the coils. See details of P[0033]).
Re-claim 2, Cheung discloses the energy harvesting device of claim 1, further comprising an adjustment mechanism (housing 4 houses the magnets at is end, therefore and decides distance between magnet 6 and 8) operatively coupled to the first magnet (5) and configured to allow for adjustment of a distance(distance between ends of 4 which connects between first and second magnet, see fig.1) between the first magnet and the second magnet (6 and 8) along the first axis (length of 4 decides the distance).
Re-claim 3, Cheung discloses the energy harvesting device of claim 1, wherein the housing (4) further comprises a hollow shaft (inside of 4)configured to house the free magnet (2) and wherein interior walls of the hollow shaft (inside of 4) are textured such that air or debris within the shaft can pass by the free magnet (2) as it oscillates, thereby minimizing viscous damping of the oscillation of the free magnet (see P[0032], bead like bearings 10, 12 allow the magnet to freely move within the enclosure, lubricant can be debris)).
Re-claim 11, Cheung discloses the energy harvesting device of claim 1, wherein the energy harvesting device is coupled to an asset (ride, movement of vehicle, machinery, etc, 130) and wherein the free magnet (2) is configured to oscillate between the first magnet (6) and the second magnet (8) along the first axis in response to a vibration of the asset(130).
Re-claim 12, Cheung discloses the energy harvesting device of claim 11, wherein the asset is any one of a machine, a machine component or a vehicle (can be vehicle, vibration, machinery, see P[0030]).
Re-claim 13, Cheung discloses the energy harvesting device of claim 11, wherein the asset is a shipping container (car is vehicle which is used to ship and is a container, P[0030]) or pallet.
Re-claim 14, Cheung discloses the energy harvesting device of claim 1, further comprising: an electronics module (16-22,20,64,66,74) electrically coupled to the first terminal end and the second terminal end of the one or more turns of wire (annotated fig.1a, connected to coils 14),wherein the voltage induced across the first terminal end and the second terminal end of the one or more turns of wire (16) is configured to power the electronics module (18) to transmit a data characterizing the vibration to an external device (XMIt, sensor ,to 20, to device 74,72).
Re-claim 15, Cheung discloses the energy harvesting device of claim 14, further comprising one or more sensors (20, sensor) electrically coupled to the electronics module (to circuit in fig.1a-other figures), wherein the voltage induced across the first terminal end and the second terminal end of the one or more turns of wire (14) is further configured to power the one or more sensors (environmental sensors) to acquire metadata corresponding to the vibration and wherein the electronics module is configured to transmit the metadata to the external device (P[P[0058], Coils 60 and 62 are connected to respective full-wave bridge rectifying circuits 64 and 66, the outputs of which charge batteries 68 and 70, respectively, within an overall operating system 72. The batteries provide power for an operating device 74, such as an environmental sensor, transmitter, flashlight or cellular telephone, that can be operated by mechanical inputs such as a walking motion, wave motion or wind. Alternately, the bridge outputs can be connected directly to the operating device if real time power is desired.]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4,7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheung (US PG Pub 20040251750 hereinafter “Cheung”) in view of Kinoshita (US PG Pub 20130285479 hereinafter “Kinoshita”).
Re-claim 4, Cheung discloses the energy harvesting device of claim 3.
Cheung fails to explicitly teach wherein the texture of the interior walls of the hollow shaft is any one of slotted, spined, rifled, ridged or fluted.
However, Kinoshita teaches wherein the texture of the interior walls of the hollow shaft is any one of slotted, spined, rifled, ridged or fluted (41,42 interior of 27,28, see figl.11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the interior of the shaft of Cheung wherein the texture of the interior walls of the hollow shaft is any one of slotted, spined, rifled, ridged or fluted as shown by Kinoshita to hold the device inner parts or to fix parts properly having better fit (Kinoshita, P[0077]).
Re-claim 7, Cheung as modified discloses the energy harvesting device of claim 1.
Cheung as modified fails to explicitly teach wherein a center of the free magnet along the first axis is hollow.
However, Kinoshita teaches wherein a center of the free magnet (14,15)along the first axis is hollow (11 inside magnet 14,13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify magnets of Cheung wherein a center of the free magnet along the first axis is hollow as shown by Kinoshita to hold the device inner parts provide guide bar in the device to protect against large vibrations guide vibration of magnets properly (Kinoshita, P[0045-0055]).
Re-claim 8, Cheung as modified discloses the energy harvesting device of claim 7.
Cheung as modified fails to explicitly teach a wire or a rod extending though the center of the free magnet and configured to guide the oscillatory motion of the free magnet along the first axis.
However, Kinoshita teaches wherein a wire or a rod (11) extending though the center of the free magnet (15) and configured to guide the oscillatory motion of the free magnet along the first axis P[0055], 11 is guide bar).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify magnets of Cheung wherein a wire or a rod extending though the center of the free magnet and configured to guide the oscillatory motion of the free magnet along the first axis as shown by Kinoshita to hold the device inner parts provide guide bar in the device to protect against large vibrations guide vibration of magnets properly (Kinoshita, P[0045-0055]).
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheung (US PG Pub 20040251750 hereinafter “Cheung”) in view of Li (US PG Pub 20230198364 hereinafter “Li”).
Re-claim 9, Cheung as modified discloses the energy harvesting device of claim 1.
Cheung as modified fails to explicitly teach a low magnetic reluctance material disposed circumferentially outside of the one or more turns of wire.
However, Li teaches wherein a low magnetic reluctance material (material of 12, Copper which has low magnetic permeability low magnetic reluctance material. .999) disposed circumferentially outside of the one or more turns of wire (4, see fig.2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify magnets of Cheung wherein a low magnetic reluctance material disposed circumferentially outside of the one or more turns of wire as shown by Li provide dampening function of the magnetic flux (Li, P[0021-0022]).
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheung in view of Deak, and in further view of Deak Sr. (US Patent 12573931 hereinafter “Deak”).
Re-claim 10, Cheung as modified discloses the energy harvesting device of claim 9.
Cheung as modified fails to explicitly teach wherein the low magnetic reluctance material is a soft iron.
However, Deak teaches wherein the low magnetic reluctance material is a soft iron (Col.1, L.45-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify Cheung wherein the low magnetic reluctance material is a soft iron as shown by Deak provide dampening function of the magnetic flux and provide better structure (Deak, Col.1, L.46-60).
Claim 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheung (US PG Pub 20040251750 hereinafter “Cheung”) in view of Taylor et al. (US PG Pub 20130265153 hereinafter “Taylor”).
Re-claim 16, Cheung discloses the energy harvesting device of claim 15.
Cheung fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more sensors comprise an accelerometer and the metadata comprises a peak acceleration of the energy harvesting device.
However, Taylor teaches wherein the one or more sensors comprise an accelerometer (645) and the metadata comprises a peak acceleration of the energy harvesting device (acceleration of device is detected by 645, using 610, P[0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify Cheung wherein the one or more sensors comprise an accelerometer and the metadata comprises a peak acceleration of the energy harvesting device as shown by Taylor to transmit acceleration and deceleration, provide measurements to device and users, control and detect impact, minimize damage and impact, minimize damaged goods (Taylor, P[0049]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re-claim 5, recites with claim 1, 5. (Original) The energy harvesting device of claim 1, wherein the housing further comprises a hollow shaft configured to house the free magnet and the energy harvesting device further comprises: a plurality of springs operatively coupling the free magnet to the interior of the hollow shaft, wherein the plurality of springs are oriented in parallel along the first axis and each have a first stiffness along the first axis and a relatively higher second stiffness along a second axis that is perpendicular to the first axis.”
The combination of limitations of claim 5 with claim 1 are unique, the prior art of record, ip.com search, AI Sim search or any other prior art fail to teach the combined limitations of claim 5 with claim 1. The combination is allowable.
Claim 6 is rejected to as being dependent on claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in PTO892.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher M. Koehler can be reached on 5712723560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MAGED M ALMAWRI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834