Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-20 of U.S. Patent No. US12097395B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
Instant Application
Conflicting Patent US12097395
Claims 1 and 2
Claim 1
Claims 3-20
Claim 3-20 respectively
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryczek (US 20190374803 A1) in view of Moffa (US 20180169450 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ryczek discloses a fire suppression system (10), comprising: a cartridge (20) for holding a pressurized gas (para [0029]), the cartridge (20) operatively connected to a valve (30) (para [0030]); and a monitoring assembly (50, 56, 100) connected to the cartridge (20), the monitoring assembly comprising: a support bracket (34) for securing the cartridge (20) to the monitoring assembly. Ryczek fails to explicitly disclose at least one weight sensor for detecting a weight of the cartridge.
Moffa discloses a spring- based mechanism to measure the weight of the agent tank 320 (para [0011 and 0061]). Moffa further discloses in accordance with various embodiments, one or more sensors and at least one communications module can be included within fire suppression system 200. The sensors can be used to measure a current state at the nozzle 210, the cartridge, the agent tank, the release assembly, or other component states (e.g., temperatures, pressures, flow rates, volumes, and the like, (para [0051]). In addition, Moffa discloses Release assembly 330 can include one or more sensors (e.g., switches, accelerometers, scales, spring-based mechanism, etc.) to determine whether the cartridge is installed and to identify whether release assembly 330 is loaded or unloaded. These sensors can be provided by a number of manufacturers and can be integrated into various points on the assembly or included as part of an aftermarket add-on kit. When these sensors (e.g., micro switches) are available, the system can monitor the outputs of these sensors as I/O points allowing the system to determine whether cartridge 310 is installed and whether release assembly 330 is loaded or unloaded (para [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Ryczek’s fire suppression system with Moffa’s weight sensor because this can provide better indication of whether sufficient fire suppression agent is present within the tank.
Regarding claim 4, Ryczek discloses a fire suppression system (10), wherein the fire suppression system (10) further comprises a cylinder (20, 12) for holding a fire suppression agent (para [0028]).
Regarding claim 5, Ryczek discloses a fire suppression system (10), with the support bracket (34). Ryczek fails to explicitly disclose at least one weight sensor.
Moffa discloses a spring- based mechanism to measure the weight of the agent tank 320 (para [0011 and 0061]). Moffa further discloses in accordance with various embodiments, one or more sensors and at least one communications module can be included within fire suppression system 200. The sensors can be used to measure a current state at the nozzle 210, the cartridge, the agent tank, the release assembly, or other component states (e.g., temperatures, pressures, flow rates, volumes, and the like, (para [0051]). In addition, Moffa discloses Release assembly 330 can include one or more sensors (e.g., switches, accelerometers, scales, spring-based mechanism, etc.) to determine whether the cartridge is installed and to identify whether release assembly 330 is loaded or unloaded. These sensors can be provided by a number of manufacturers and can be integrated into various points on the assembly or included as part of an aftermarket add-on kit. When these sensors (e.g., micro switches) are available, the system can monitor the outputs of these sensors as I/O points allowing the system to determine whether cartridge 310 is installed and whether release assembly 330 is loaded or unloaded (para [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Ryczek’s fire suppression system with Moffa’s weight sensor because this can provide better indication of whether sufficient fire suppression agent is present within the tank.
Regarding claim 6, Ryczek discloses a fire suppression system (10), wherein the at least one sensor (58) is in contact with the valve (30) (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, Ryczek discloses the fire suppression system (10), wherein the valve (30) comprises a piercing pin (36), the piercing pin positioned approximately central to the support bracket (para [0031]).
Regarding claim 8, Ryczek discloses the fire suppression system (10), wherein the valve (30) and the cartridge (20) are vertically oriented, with the cartridge (20) positioned above the valve (30) (Figs. 1 and 6).
Regarding claim 9, Ryczek discloses the fire suppression system (10) wherein the valve (30) and the cartridge (20) are vertically oriented. the cartridge (50) positioned below the valve (30).
Regarding claim 11, Ryczek discloses a cartridge monitoring assembly (100), comprising: a support bracket (34) for securing a cartridge (20) containing a pressurized gas to the cartridge monitoring assembly (100) for a pressurized gas triggering device (36).
Ryczek fails to explicitly disclose at least one weight sensor for detecting a weight of the cartridge.
Moffa discloses a spring- based mechanism to measure the weight of the agent tank 320 (para [0011 and 0061]). Moffa further discloses in accordance with various embodiments, one or more sensors and at least one communications module can be included within fire suppression system 200. The sensors can be used to measure a current state at the nozzle 210, the cartridge, the agent tank, the release assembly, or other component states (e.g., temperatures, pressures, flow rates, volumes, and the like; para [0051]). In addition, Moffa discloses Release assembly 330 can include one or more sensors (e.g., switches, accelerometers, scales, spring-based mechanism, etc.) to determine whether the cartridge is installed and to identify whether release assembly 330 is loaded or unloaded. These sensors can be provided by a number of manufacturers and can be integrated into various points on the assembly or included as part of an aftermarket add-on kit. When these sensors (e.g., micro switches) are available, the system can monitor the outputs of these sensors as I/O points allowing the system to determine whether cartridge 310 is installed and whether release assembly 330 is loaded or unloaded (para [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Ryczek’s fire suppression system with Moffa’s weight sensor because this can provide better indication of whether sufficient fire suppression agent is present within the tank.
Regarding claim 12, Ryczek discloses the cartridge monitoring assembly (100); the support bracket (34) of the monitoring assembly (the actuator 30 may additionally or alternatively be configured to activate in response to receiving an electrical signal from the automatic activation system 50). Referring to Fig. 1, the automatic activation system 50 includes a controller 56 that monitors signals from one or more fire detectors or sensors, shown as temperature sensor 58 (e.g., thermocouples, resistance temperature detectors, etc., para [0036]).
Ryczek fails to explicitly disclose one weight sensor comprises at least one electrical weight sensor.
Moffa teaches at least one weight sensor comprises at least one electrical weight sensor (para [0011], [0061] and [0066]).
The reasons for combining and motivation are the same as recited in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Ryczek discloses the cartridge monitoring (100); connected to the support bracket (34) of the monitoring assembly (para [0031]) [the fire suppressant tank 12 may include a valve, a puncture device, or another type of opening device or activator assembly that is configured to fluidly couple the internal volume 14 to the pipe 40 in response to the pressure within the internal volume 14 exceeding the threshold pressure. Such an opening device may be configured to activate mechanically (e.g., the force of the pressure causes the opening device to activate, etc.) or the opening device may include a separate pressure sensor in communication with the internal volume 14 that causes the opening device to activate; para [0032].
Ryczek fails to explicitly disclose at least one weight sensor comprises at least one mechanical weight sensor.
Moffa teaches at least one weight sensor (para [0011 and 0061]) comprises at least one mechanical weight sensor (para [0011], [0061] and [0066]).
The reasons for combining and motivation are the same as recited in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Ryczek discloses the cartridge monitoring assembly (100); Ryczek fails to explicitly disclose the at least one weight sensor [0066]) comprises at least one of: a spiral spring, a cantilever, a helical coil, a strain gauge, and a load cell
Moffa teaches wherein the at least one weight sensor (para [0011], [0061], comprises at least one of: a spiral spring, a cantilever, a helical coil, a strain gauge, and a load cell (para [0011], [0061], [0066]).
The reasons for combining and motivation are the same as recited in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Ryczek discloses the cartridge monitoring assembly (100); contact with a valve (30), the valve comprising a piercing pin positioned approximately central to the support bracket (34), the valve (30) configured to release the pressurized gas when activated (para [0029]-[0030]). Ryczek fails to explicitly disclose at least one weight sensor.
Moffa teaches at least one weight sensor (para [0011 and 0061]).
The reasons for combining and motivation are the same as recited in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryczek in view of Moffa in further view of Rousseau et al (US 9993673 B2).
Regarding claim 10, Ryczek discloses the fire suppression system (10); the valve (30) and cartridge (20). Rydzek and Moffa fail to explicitly disclose wherein the valve and the cartridge are horizontally oriented.
Rousseau teaches the valve (95) and the cartridge (50) are horizontally oriented (Figs. 1 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use fire suppression system as modified with Rousseau valve and the cartridge configuration because this allows to save vertical space and fit in tight low-clearance areas.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 are allowable over the prior of record.
Claims 2-3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 2-3 the prior art of record taken alone and in combination does not disclose a fire suppression system comprising a controller to trigger a communication of a trouble condition when the monitoring assembly detects a weight variance greater than a threshold and the threshold is determined based upon a minimum amount of pressurized gas needed to actuate the valve.
Regarding claims 16-20, the prior art of record taken alone and in combination does not disclose a method for detecting a weight of a cartridge installed within a fire suppression system, the method comprising comparing the weight of the cartridge with a previously calculated full weight value to determine a weight variance of the cartridge; and triggering a communication, with the controller, when the weight variance of the cartridge is greater than a threshold and wherein the fire suppression system further comprises a controller to trigger a communication of a trouble condition when the monitoring assembly detects a weight variance greater than a threshold.
Conclusion
/MIREILLE S SADATE-MOUALEU/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855