DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Applicant’s communication filed on 08/25/2026. Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending in this application.
In view of applicant’s amendment and arguments regarding objections to the claims, the objection is hereby withdrawn.
In view of applicant’s amendment and arguments regarding rejection of claims 14 and 17 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and (b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first and/or second paragraph, set forth in the previous Office Action, the rejection(s) is/are hereby withdrawn.
The applicant's amendment and arguments to the rejection of independent claims 1, 9 and 17 are fully considered, however, they still failed to overcome the applied references, as is explained in greater detail below in the body of the rejection.
The applicant's arguments to the rejection of claim 5 are fully considered, however they are not deemed to be persuasive; for examiner response to the applicant’s arguments see “Response to Arguments” section below.
Response to Arguments
On pages 14 – 15 of the Remarks, the Applicant argues rejection of claim 5 by stating
“The Office Action has not shown that such phase information indicates a "mechanical displacement" as recited in claim 5. Paragraph [0182] of ZHANG states that the devices "may determine whether to transmit one or more additional reference signals for the other device to use for further adjustments of the antenna panels," but does not describe transmitting "an indication of the second mechanical displacement."
However, the Examiner never stated that transmission of additional reference signals for further adjustments was the same as recited by the claim “an indication of the second mechanical displacement.”
First, Zhang clearly teaches performing a second mechanical displacement different from the first mechanical displacement, and the Applicant did not appear to argue otherwise. Particularly, the Examiner stated in the previous office action:
“after performing initial mechanical adjustment 630 in FIG 6, paragraph 0182: the first wireless device 605 may determine whether to transmit one or more additional reference signals for the other device to use for further adjustments of the antenna panels based on the alignment feedback information (“perform a different mechanical adjustment of the at least one antenna panel, wherein the different mechanical adjustment includes a second mechanical displacement different from the first mechanical displacement”).”
The underlined portion clearly indicates that additional mechanical adjustments are to be made.
Second, the Examiner also clearly indicated that the claimed feature of transmitting an indication of the [already performed] second mechanical displacement is not explicitly disclosed by Zhang. However, the Examiner presented an explanation why it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to transmit such an indication. Particularly, the Examiner stated:
“…in FIG 6 and paragraph 0181, upon completion of the first mechanical displacement 630, at 645, the first wireless device 605 may transmit, to the second wireless device 610 (“the network node”), a message indicating alignment feedback information for the first antenna panel and the second antenna panel. The alignment feedback information may include an indication that a difference between a first phase measurement at a first antenna element of the first set of two or more antenna elements of the first antenna panel and a second phase measurement at a second antenna element of the first set of two or more antenna elements of the first antenna panel satisfies a threshold. Since paragraph 0182 teaches that an additional mechanical adjustment may be performed in the future, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application, upon completion of the additional mechanical adjustment at a future time, and similar to transmission of the feedback message 645 after the first mechanical adjustment, to also transmit, to the second wireless device 610, an additional message indicating alignment feedback information for the first antenna panel and the second antenna panel. Doing so would have allowed the wireless device 610 to know of whether the additional mechanical adjustment was successful.”
In other words, transmission of the message indicating alignment feedback information after the first mechanical “displacement” represents an indication of this first mechanical displacement. Thus, Zhang teaches this type of indication but with respect to the first mechanical displacement. The Examiner stated that since additional mechanical adjustment may be performed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to do just the same thing: transmit an additional message indicating alignment feedback information after performing “the second mechanical displacement”. To put it in plain language, if this was done after the first mechanical adjustment, why not to do it after the second mechanical adjustment? The Examiner also presented the rationale or motivation for doing it: it would have allowed the wireless device 610 to know whether the additional mechanical adjustment was successful.
Summarizing, an obvious step of transmission of the additional message indicating alignment feedback information after performing “the second mechanical displacement” would be the same as transmission of broadly claimed “indication of the second mechanical displacement”, since the word “indication” is very broad and may include any type of information that would convey the message that an additional displacement was performed. In this case, second feedback information would do just that.
Therefore, this Applicant’s argument is not found to be persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240014550 (Zhang) in view of US 20180376275 (Jiang) and further in view of information well known in the art as may be evidenced by US 20250350991 (Niu).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17, Zhang teaches “A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Par. 0173: the process flow 600 illustrates communications between a first wireless device 605 and a second wireless device 610, which may represent examples of corresponding devices as described with reference to FIGS. 1-5. The first wireless device 605 and the second wireless device 610 may each represent an example of a UE), comprising:
a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (these components are implicit for a user equipment such as mobile phone), the processing system configured to cause the UE to:
communicate, in accordance with an alignment of one or more antenna panels of the UE, information for a mechanical adjustment of at least one antenna panel (paragraph 0175: The first wireless device 605 may be equipped with a first antenna panel including a set of one or more antenna elements deployed in a circular shape, a rectangular shape, or some other shape around a central antenna element of the antenna panel, as described with reference to FIGS. 1-5. Paragraphs 0176 – 0177: At 615, the first wireless device 605 and the second wireless device 610 may communicate signaling that indicates that each of the first wireless device 605 and the second wireless device 610 has a panel rotation capability. To communicate the signaling, the first wireless device 605 may transmit a capability message to the second wireless device 610 that indicates that the first wireless device 605 supports the panel rotation capability, which may be associated with a capability to adjust an angular rotation of an antenna panel at the first wireless device 605. At 620, the first wireless device 605 and the second wireless device 610 may communicate a panel rotation procedure configuration based on the panel rotation capability.)…” “…each antenna panel…” of the set of antenna panels “…comprising at least one respective antenna array (par. 0047: each of the wireless devices may include an orbital angular momentum (OAM) antenna system having multiple antenna elements arranged in one or more concentric circular antenna arrays, or an antenna system having one or more rectangular antenna arrays, or some other shape of antenna arrays. The antenna arrays including antenna elements may be referred to as antenna panels herein. Also par. 0093, 0095. Paragraph 0096: antenna arrays (e.g., antenna panels). Paragraph 0107: An antenna panel 220 may represent an example of an antenna array, or the antenna panel 220 may include multiple antenna arrays, or both. For example, each antenna panel 220 may include an array of one or more antenna elements.)…” “…the information for the mechanical adjustment…” “…associated with performing the mechanical adjustment (paragraph 0178: At 625, the second wireless device 610 may transmit a reference signal. The second wireless device 610 may transmit the reference signal based on the panel rotation procedure configuration. The panel rotation procedure configuration may include scheduling information associated with the reference signal.);
perform, in accordance with the information, the mechanical adjustment of the at least one antenna panel (paragraph 0179: At 630, the first wireless device 605 may adjust an angular rotation of the first antenna panel of the first wireless device 605 based on measurements of the reference signal at the first set of two or more antenna elements. The first wireless device 605 may adjust the angular rotation of the first antenna panel); and
communicate using the at least one antenna panel in accordance with performing the mechanical adjustment (paragraphs 0181 – 0182: At 645, the first wireless device 605 may transmit, to the second wireless device 610, a message indicating alignment feedback information for the first antenna panel and the second antenna panel. The second wireless device 610 may transmit one or more feedback messages including alignment feedback information to the first wireless device 605. The first wireless device 605, the second wireless device 610, or both may determine whether to transmit one or more additional reference signals for the other device to use for further adjustments of the antenna panels based on the alignment feedback information.).”
In Zhang, each of the wireless devices appears to have a single antenna panel (although containing one or more of antenna arrays), therefore, Zhang does not teach that there is “a set of antenna panels of the UE” so that each antenna panel “of the set of antenna panels” contains at least one antenna array, and that the adjustment of at least one antenna panel is “relative to another antenna panel of the set of antenna panels of the UE.”
In similar art, Jiang also teaches an electronic device having control circuitry which may control a mechanical positioner to mechanically adjust an orientation of the phased antenna array to steer the millimeter wave signals towards the location of the external device (see abstract). Paragraph 0041: To optimize millimeter wave communications, device 10 may include mechanical adjustment components 42 (positioner 42). Mechanical adjustment components 42 may include one or more mechanically moveable (adjustable) structures that are controlled to mechanically adjust the position of antennas 40 with respect to device 10 and/or the external device (e.g., to maintain line of sight with the external device). Paragraph 0042: antennas 40 are arranged in a phased antenna array. In this scenario, mechanical positioner 42 may mechanically adjust the position of some of the antennas in the array (e.g., particular rows or columns of antennas or any other set of antennas) or may mechanically adjust the position of the entire array at a given time. FIG 3 and 4 and paragraph 0046 clearly show plurality of antenna panels 50 on the surface of the device. Thus, Jiang clearly teaches “a set of antenna panels of the UE”. Further, paragraph 0067: positioner components 42 may adjust the orientation of any desired subset of the antennas 40 within array 60 (e.g., positioner 42 may mechanically adjust an individual antenna 40 in array 60, an entire row or column of antennas 40 in array 60, or any other desired subset of the antennas in array 60). Positioner 42 may mechanically adjust each antenna 40 individually. Thus, by teaching that only an individual antenna out of set of antennas may be adjusted, Jiang clearly teaches adjustment of at least one antenna panel “relative to another antenna panel of the set of antenna panels of the UE.”
Additionally, Jiang teaches “each antenna panel of the set of antenna panels comprising at least one respective antenna array (paragraph 0044: antennas 40 (e.g., single antennas and/or phased antenna arrays); paragraph 0046: By forming phased antenna arrays at different locations along wall 12E, on housing surface 52, and/or on housing surface 12R (e.g., as shown in FIGS. 3 and 4), the different phased antenna arrays on device 10 may collectively provide line of sight coverage to any point on a sphere surrounding device 10; paragraph 0061: device 10 may use additional arrays (e.g., other arrays that cover areas in the full sphere of coverage around device 10 not covered by a given array 60), paragraph 0069: device 10 may include multiple arrays 60 formed on respective substrates 80 (e.g., on different sides of device 10), paragraph 0071: Device 10-1 and 10-2 may each include one or more phased antenna arrays 60, paragraph 0096: Devices 10-1, 10-2, 10-3, and 10-4 may each include one or more phased antenna arrays (e.g., device 10-1 may include one or more phased arrays 60 of antennas 40)).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize the capability of mechanically adjusting only a subset of antennas or even individual antenna disclosed by Jiang, in the system of Zhang. Doing so would have expanded the flexibility of antenna adjustment by allowing adjustment of individual antennas in addition to adjustment of the entire panel.
Additionally or alternatively, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize the process of antenna adjustment including the message flow disclosed by Zhang, in the system of Jiang with predictable results, the results being simply adding the message flow between the devices including exchange of capabilities of whether the devices support mechanical antenna adjustment since, according to the Supreme Court, “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Lastly, while teaching in paragraph 0178 that the panel rotation procedure configuration may include scheduling information associated with the reference signal, Zhang does not teach that the information includes “indicating a start time and a duration” for the adjustment.
However, determining and “indicating a start time and a duration” for an antenna adjustment is well known in the art, as may be evidenced, for example, by Niu (see FIG 3 with corresponding description in paragraphs 0123 – 0152. Particularly, paragraphs 0124 – 0127: In S201, the first node determines time configuration information related to the antenna port adjustment information. The time configuration information includes at least one of: a duration, or an index of the duration; a start time, or an index of the start time. Paragraph 0132: In S202, the first node sends the time configuration information related to the antenna port adjustment information to the second node.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize well known in the art determination and indication of a start time and a duration of any antenna adjustment, in the system of Zhang to yield predictable results, since, according to the Supreme Court, “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007). Doing so would have also allowed the other wireless device to know when the adjustment is to start and how long it will last.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches “measure one or more performance metrics associated with communications between the UE and a network node (FIG 6 and paragraph 0173: second wireless device 610 may represent an example of a base station, a network entity. Paragraph 0134: The panel rotations may be based on the measurement of relative phases at one or more pairs of transmit and receive antenna elements 315 (“one or more performance metrics”).), wherein communicating the information for the mechanical adjustment is associated with at least one of the one or more performance metrics satisfying a condition (Paragraph 0159: the first device may compare a first phase measurement (“one or more performance metrics”) to a phase tolerance threshold. The devices may determine to use the phase measurements for adjusting the angular rotation of an antenna panel based on the phase measurements satisfying the phase tolerance threshold (“at least one of the one or more performance metrics satisfying a condition”). Paragraph 0179: at 630, the first wireless device 605 may adjust an angular rotation of the first antenna panel of the first wireless device 605 based on measurements of the reference signal at the first set of two or more antenna elements. The first wireless device 605 may adjust the angular rotation of the first antenna panel based on one or more phase measurements. However, the reference signal is transmitted subsequent to transmission of messages 615 and 620 in FIG 6, which represent “communicating the information for the mechanical adjustment”. Therefore, since the precondition for antenna adjustment is that the phase measurements meeting the phase tolerance threshold, this communication of messages 615 and 620 “is associated with at least one of the one or more performance metrics satisfying a condition”).”
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches “wherein the one or more performance metrics include one or more of: an alignment metric (Paragraph 0159: the first device may compare a first phase measurement (representing “an alignment metric”) to a phase tolerance threshold. The devices may determine to use the phase measurements for adjusting the angular rotation of an antenna panel based on the phase measurements satisfying the phase tolerance threshold), a throughput metric, a robustness metric, an outage probability, a bit error rate, a cross talk metric, or a signal leakage metric (Since the claim is written in the alternative form (“one or more of A, B, C, D, E, F, or G”), it is sufficient to meet at least one of the limitations “A” or “B” or “C” or “D” or “E” or “F” or “G” in the claim to meet the limitations of the whole claim. In this case the limitation “A” is met.).”
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches “wherein, to cause the UE to communicate the information for the mechanical adjustment, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to: receive, from a network node, the information for the mechanical adjustment (paragraph 0177: the second wireless device 610 (“a network node”) may transmit a configuration message to the first wireless device 605 that indicates the panel rotation procedure configuration. Paragraph 0178: the panel rotation procedure configuration may include scheduling information associated with the reference signal.), wherein the mechanical adjustment includes a first mechanical displacement of the at least one antenna panel (paragraphs 0049, 0102 – 0103, 0108 and elsewhere: mechanical rotation of the antenna panel).”
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches or fairly suggests “wherein, to cause the UE to perform the mechanical adjustment, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to: perform a different mechanical adjustment of the at least one antenna panel, wherein the different mechanical adjustment includes a second mechanical displacement different from the first mechanical displacement (after performing initial mechanical adjustment 630 in FIG 6, paragraph 0182: the first wireless device 605 may determine whether to transmit one or more additional reference signals for the other device to use for further adjustments of the antenna panels based on the alignment feedback information (“perform a different mechanical adjustment of the at least one antenna panel, wherein the different mechanical adjustment includes a second mechanical displacement different from the first mechanical displacement”).); and transmit, to the network node, an indication of the second mechanical displacement (although not explicitly disclosed by Zhang, in FIG 6 and paragraph 0181, upon completion of the first mechanical displacement 630, at 645, the first wireless device 605 may transmit, to the second wireless device 610 (“the network node”), a message indicating alignment feedback information for the first antenna panel and the second antenna panel. The alignment feedback information may include an indication that a difference between a first phase measurement at a first antenna element of the first set of two or more antenna elements of the first antenna panel and a second phase measurement at a second antenna element of the first set of two or more antenna elements of the first antenna panel satisfies a threshold. Since paragraph 0182 teaches that an additional mechanical adjustment may be performed in the future, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application, upon completion of the additional mechanical adjustment at a future time, and similar to transmission of the feedback message 645 after the first mechanical adjustment, to also transmit, to the second wireless device 610, an additional message indicating alignment feedback information for the first antenna panel and the second antenna panel. Doing so would have allowed the wireless device 610 to know of whether the additional mechanical adjustment was successful.).”
Additional explanations may be found in section Response to Arguments above which is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches “wherein, to cause the UE to receive the information for the mechanical adjustment, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to: receive the information for the mechanical adjustment via at least one of a downlink control channel, a downlink control message, or downlink signaling (paragraph 0177: the second wireless device 610 (“a network node”) may transmit a configuration message to the first wireless device 605 that indicates the panel rotation procedure configuration. Paragraph 0112: The panel rotation procedure configuration 230 may be transmitted via a control message, such as an RRC message, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), downlink control information (DCI), or some other type of control message or control signaling.).”
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches “to cause the UE to communicate the information for the mechanical adjustment, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to a network node (FIG 6 and paragraph 0173: second wireless device 610 may represent an example of a base station, a network entity.), the information for the mechanical adjustment (Paragraphs 0176 – 0177: At 615, the first wireless device 605 and the second wireless device 610 may communicate signaling that indicates that each of the first wireless device 605 and the second wireless device 610 has a panel rotation capability. To communicate the signaling, the first wireless device 605 may transmit a capability message to the second wireless device 610 that indicates that the first wireless device 605 supports the panel rotation capability, which may be associated with a capability to adjust an angular rotation of an antenna panel at the first wireless device 605.).”
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches “wherein, to cause the UE to transmit the information, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to: transmit the information via at least one of an uplink control channel, an uplink control message, or uplink signaling (paragraph 0103: The first and second wireless devices may communicate signaling, such as one or more capability messages, that indicates that each of the first and second wireless devices support a panel rotation capability. When the first wireless device is user equipment and the second wireless device is a base station, message 615 in FIG 6 transmitted from the first wireless device 605 to the second wireless device 610 would be done through “uplink signaling”. Paragraph 0112: the devices may exchange signaling to indicate a panel rotation capability. The UE 115-a may transmit a first capability message 225 to the network entity 105-a. The panel rotation procedure configuration 230 may be transmitted via a control message, such as an RRC message, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), uplink control information (UCI), , or some other type of control message or control signaling.).”
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches “transmitting a capability message that indicates at least one of a UE capability for performing the mechanical adjustment (Paragraphs 0176 – 0177: At 615, the first wireless device 605 and the second wireless device 610 may communicate signaling that indicates that each of the first wireless device 605 and the second wireless device 610 has a panel rotation capability. To communicate the signaling, the first wireless device 605 may transmit a capability message to the second wireless device 610 that indicates that the first wireless device 605 supports the panel rotation capability, which may be associated with a capability to adjust an angular rotation of an antenna panel at the first wireless device 605.) or a UE capability for measuring one or more performance metrics associated with communications between the UE and a network node (Since the claim is written in the alternative form (“at least one of A or B”), it is sufficient to meet at least one of the limitations “A” or “B” in the claim to meet the limitations of the whole claim. In this case the limitation “A” is met.).”
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches “wherein the UE capability for performing the mechanical adjustment includes one or more of: a mechanical adjustment capability (Paragraphs 0176 – 0177: At 615, the first wireless device 605 and the second wireless device 610 may communicate signaling that indicates that each of the first wireless device 605 and the second wireless device 610 has a panel rotation capability. To communicate the signaling, the first wireless device 605 may transmit a capability message to the second wireless device 610 that indicates that the first wireless device 605 supports the panel rotation capability, which may be associated with a capability to adjust an angular rotation of an antenna panel at the first wireless device 605. This represents “a mechanical adjustment capability”), a rotational displacement capability (Paragraphs 0176 – 0177: At 615, the first wireless device 605 and the second wireless device 610 may communicate signaling that indicates that each of the first wireless device 605 and the second wireless device 610 has a panel rotation capability. To communicate the signaling, the first wireless device 605 may transmit a capability message to the second wireless device 610 that indicates that the first wireless device 605 supports the panel rotation capability, which may be associated with a capability to adjust an angular rotation of an antenna panel at the first wireless device 605. This represents “a rotational displacement capability”), a translational displacement capability, an angular displacement capability (Paragraphs 0176 – 0177: At 615, the first wireless device 605 and the second wireless device 610 may communicate signaling that indicates that each of the first wireless device 605 and the second wireless device 610 has a panel rotation capability. To communicate the signaling, the first wireless device 605 may transmit a capability message to the second wireless device 610 that indicates that the first wireless device 605 supports the panel rotation capability, which may be associated with a capability to adjust an angular rotation of an antenna panel at the first wireless device 605. Rotating also represents “an angular displacement capability”), a duration for performing the mechanical adjustment, a duration for transitioning from performing the mechanical adjustment to communicating in accordance with performing the mechanical adjustment (Since the claim is written in the alternative form (“one or more of A, B, C, D, E, or F”), it is sufficient to meet at least one of the limitations “A” or “B” or “C” or “D” or “E” or “F” in the claim to meet the limitations of the whole claim. In this case the limitations “A”, “B” and “D” are met.).”
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches “refraining from communicating for the duration associated with performing the mechanical adjustment (as may be seen in FIG 6, there is no transmission of any messages shown during the operations 630 and 640 associated with mechanical adjusting of the antennas ).”
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches “wherein the information for the mechanical adjustment comprises at least one of: an angular distance, a translational distance, a rotational distance, a key performance indicator, or other physical properties (Paragraphs 0176 – 0177: At 615, the first wireless device 605 and the second wireless device 610 may communicate signaling that indicates that each of the first wireless device 605 and the second wireless device 610 has a panel rotation capability. To communicate the signaling, the first wireless device 605 may transmit a capability message to the second wireless device 610 that indicates that the first wireless device 605 supports the panel rotation capability, which may be associated with a capability to adjust an angular rotation of an antenna panel at the first wireless device 605. Capability to rotate antenna panel represents “the information for the mechanical adjustment comprises” “other physical properties”. With respect to the rest of the conditions, since the claim is written in the alternative form (“at least one of A, B, C, D, or E”), it is sufficient to meet at least one of the limitations “A” or “B” or “C” or “D” or “E” in the claim to meet the limitations of the whole claim. In this case the limitation “E” is met.).”
Regarding claim 14, Zhang alone or in combination with Jiang teaches “wherein the mechanical adjustment includes: a displacement of the at least one antenna panel with respect to an initial position of the at least one antenna panel (in Zhang, rotation of the antenna panel represents “a displacement” “with respect to an initial position”, as shown in FIG 4A-B), or a displacement of the at least one antenna panel with relative to the other antenna panel (Jiang, paragraph 0042: antennas 40 are arranged in a phased antenna array. In this scenario, mechanical positioner 42 may mechanically adjust the position of some of the antennas in the array (e.g., particular rows or columns of antennas or any other set of antennas). Further, paragraph 0067: positioner components 42 may adjust the orientation of any desired subset of the antennas 40 within array 60 (e.g., positioner 42 may mechanically adjust an individual antenna 40 in array 60, an entire row or column of antennas 40 in array 60, or any other desired subset of the antennas in array 60). Positioner 42 may mechanically adjust each antenna 40 individually. Thus, by teaching that only an individual antenna out of set of antennas may be adjusted, Jiang clearly teaches adjustment “of the at least one antenna panel with relative to the other antenna panel”).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang in combination with Jiang teaches or fairly suggests “wherein communicating the information for the mechanical adjustment associated comprises: communicating information for a first mechanical adjustment of a first antenna panel of the set of antenna panels; and communicating information for a second mechanical adjustment of a second antenna panel of the set of antenna panels (indeed, turning to the Applicant’s own disclosure, paragraph 0119 explicitly states that “In some aspects, the first mechanical adjustment and the second mechanical adjustment are a same mechanical adjustment.” Therefore, this limitation is automatically met when both mechanical adjustments of the same first and second antenna panels are the same, which is not forbidden by the claim language. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that this limitation would also be met for two adjustment operations as shown in Zhang’s FIG 6 but spread in time (when the initial adjustment operation for the wireless device 605 is performed at one time point, and another adjustment operation is performed at another, later time point with the same or different wireless device 610 for the same or different antenna panel (indeed, multiple antenna panels could be present in the device, as disclosed by Jiang).).”
Regarding claim 16, Zhang in combination with Jiang teaches or fairly suggests “wherein communicating the information for the first mechanical adjustment of the first antenna panel of the set of antenna panels comprises:
receiving, from a first network node (FIG 6 and paragraph 0173: second wireless device 610 may represent an example of a base station, a network entity.), information for the first mechanical adjustment in accordance with a first one or more performance metrics associated with communications between the UE and the first network node satisfying a first condition (paragraph 0177: the second wireless device 610 (“a network node”) may transmit a configuration message to the first wireless device 605 that indicates the panel rotation procedure configuration. Paragraph 0178: the panel rotation procedure configuration may include scheduling information associated with the reference signal (an example of “information for the first mechanical adjustment”). Paragraph 0159: the first device may compare a first phase measurement (“a first one or more performance metrics”) to a phase tolerance threshold. The devices may determine to use the phase measurements for adjusting the angular rotation of an antenna panel based on the phase measurements satisfying the phase tolerance threshold (“a first one or more performance metrics associated with communications between the UE and the first network node satisfying a first condition”). Paragraph 0179: at 630, the first wireless device 605 may adjust an angular rotation of the first antenna panel of the first wireless device 605 based on measurements of the reference signal at the first set of two or more antenna elements. The first wireless device 605 may adjust the angular rotation of the first antenna panel based on one or more phase measurements from the measurements of the reference signal.); and
wherein communicating the information for the second mechanical adjustment associated with the second antenna panel of the UE comprises:
receiving, from a second network node, information for the second mechanical adjustment in accordance with a second one or more performance metrics associated with communications between the UE and the second network node satisfying at least one of the first condition or a second condition (this limitation simply repeats the previous limitation but with respect to “a second network node”. It is either implicit or it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application that when the wireless device 605 at some other later time starts communicating with a different (“second”) network device, to use exactly same procedure and the same criteria as disclosed by Zhang with respect to the first network device.).”
Regarding claim 18, Zhang teaches “wherein the information for the mechanical adjustment includes one or more of: an indication of a physical property of the UE (Paragraphs 0176 – 0177: At 615, the first wireless device 605 and the second wireless device 610 may communicate signaling that indicates that each of the first wireless device 605 and the second wireless device 610 has a panel rotation capability. To communicate the signaling, the first wireless device 605 may transmit a capability message to the second wireless device 610 that indicates that the first wireless device 605 supports the panel rotation capability, which may be associated with a capability to adjust an angular rotation of an antenna panel at the first wireless device 605. Capability to rotate antenna panel represents “an indication of a physical property of the UE”.), an indication of an adjustment of the physical property of the UE (Paragraphs 0176 – 0177: At 615, the first wireless device 605 and the second wireless device 610 may communicate signaling that indicates that each of the first wireless device 605 and the second wireless device 610 has a panel rotation capability. To communicate the signaling, the first wireless device 605 may transmit a capability message to the second wireless device 610 that indicates that the first wireless device 605 supports the panel rotation capability, which may be associated with a capability to adjust an angular rotation of an antenna panel at the first wireless device 605. Capability to rotate antenna panel represents “an indication of an adjustment of the physical property of the UE”.), one or more key performance indicators for initiating an additional mechanical adjustment, or one or more key performance indicators that triggered the mechanical adjustment (With respect to the rest of the conditions, since the claim is written in the alternative form (“one or more of A, B, C, or D”), it is sufficient to meet at least one of the limitations “A” or “B” or “C” or “D” in the claim to meet the limitations of the whole claim. In this case the limitations “A” and “B” are met.).”
Regarding claim 19, Zhang in combination with Jiang teaches “wherein the UE comprises a first antenna panel, of the set of antenna panels, associated with communications via a first frequency range and a second antenna panel, of the set of antenna panels, associated with communications via a second frequency range (Jiang, paragraph 0034: Different types of antennas may be used for different bands and combinations of bands. For example, one type of antenna may be used in forming a local wireless link antenna and another type of antenna may be used in forming a remote wireless link antenna.).”
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240014550 (Zhang) in view of US 20180376275 (Jiang) and information well known in the art as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of US 20120329407 (Rousu).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang in combination with Jiang does not teach “wherein the information for the mechanical adjustment is associated with cross-frequency leakage of the communications via the first frequency range and the communications via the second frequency range.”
As explained in the rejection of claim 19 above, Jiang teaches “communications via the first frequency range and the communications via the second frequency range (Jiang, paragraph 0034: Different types of antennas may be used for different bands and combinations of bands. For example, one type of antenna may be used in forming a local wireless link antenna and another type of antenna may be used in forming a remote wireless link antenna.).”
On the other side, Rousu in paragraph 0033 teaches that neighboring antennas in an antenna arrangement may not be independent of each other due to coupling that is present between the antennas. This may result in adjacent channel leakage (“cross-frequency leakage”). The coupling decreases as the separation between antenna elements is made larger.
Therefore, since Jiang teaches utilizing different antennas for communication in different frequency bands, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application that the arrangement of the antennas communicating in different frequency bands disclosed by Jiang may result in adjacent channel leakage between the closely spaced antennas which may be overcome by increasing separation between antennas in the device of combined Zhang and Jiang’s disclosures, as disclosed by Rousu.
Since the individual antennas in the device of combined Zhang and Jiang’s disclosures are individually movable with respect to each other, as disclosed by Jiang (see explanation in the rejection of claim 1 above), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application that, upon detection of such adjacent channel leakage disclosed by Rousu, to implement physical adjustment of antenna panels by increasing the separation between the affected antennas. Since the process of mechanical antenna adjustment is disclosed by Zhang and includes communication of “information for a mechanical adjustment”, when the device of combined Zhang, Jiang and Rousu’s disclosures is to implement physical adjustment of antenna panels by increasing the separation between the affected antennas, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize the process disclosed by Zhang, which includes transmission of various information to assist the device in mechanical adjustment. Doing so would have allowed to achieve the best possible antenna alignment with the counterpart communicating devices (by, for example, utilizing such alternative metrics as disclosed by Jiang in paragraph 0076 – 0077) while at the same time increasing separation between interfering antennas to overcome adjacent channel leakage.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GENNADIY TSVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648